Regent Singapore

• Thread starter Thread starter happy sunny
  • Start date Start date
hi tougei
okie, thxs. i shall check with Evelyn.

hi iluydia
my wedding gown is from allure charix. i am trying my best to diet b4 my PS cos i hv to squeeze into my WG... hehe.

hey gals
i need help on the songs. any recommendations... still lookin but not yet find wat i like.. sigh

hi girl ren yu
it is a norm for photographer to charge extra if the event takes place over 2 days.

HI i have looked through Jon Keng website, not bad! am going to meet him up.

berryhappy is also one of my short listed photographer, but her pricing is slightly higher than others. so KIV first

Is photolanguage by Ray? I have a friend whose studio photos are taken by Ray, her wedding is in Jan 2005

Hi Dor, what kind of songs are you looking for? Jazz?

Hi ladies. Today the thread seems to have slowed down quite abit...

Hi Dor, what flowers are you getting from Greenpoint? Is it just for the bouquet, corsages or for the ballroom deco? Think $400 should be able to buy you ALOT of flowers hehe

Dor, what kind of music are you looking for in particular?

As for the music, I supposed I have to look for jazz songs since the theme is Jazz
But I know nuts about jazz...

By the way, for the 45 mins ensemble in the 2005 package, does anyone know how does it work? I mean, can we select the songs we want to be played or will the musician just play whatever he wants??

Tougei, from what i understand from Sunil, when it's time for the guests to enter the BR, the saxaphonists will be playing behind the door and while the guests starts entiering, he will be joined by 2 bass and playing on the stage...and during ur 1st marchin, the musicians will be playing somewhere....so i reckon u won need the 1st marchin song already...and this will last till like 2 march-in or so...then after that will be just normal jazz songs...think regent can help u arrange the songs...
I think if u let ur planner know what song u like, think they can do something abt that.

Hi Bugbear

Oh, there will be 2 more bass players? Hehe, didn't ask in details abt the ensemble. But was thinking, wouldn't it be better if the saxaphonist start playing only during the 1st March-in? More impact since most of the guests will be anticipating the march-in. During the cocktail, most ppl will be mingling and many will be late.

By the way, have you decided on your banquet venue yet??

wah you gals have band for the wedding, that is nice
i don't think i will be entitled to that cuz mine is not at the BR

Hi caitlin, you are with Blush Blush? I went to their shop recently, i think their gowns are quite pretty.

tougei...heheh...i have not...maybe after the 7th month, will go talk to Hyatt and see what they can give us...then decide between hyatt or regent...of course unless regent agrees to let us book lor :p

Hhmm...according to Sunil, they wanted the 1st impact to be there when the guests were ushered in lor...hhmm...if u want them to start on the 1st march-in..maybe u can let your planner know?? I am sure they can arrange that for u.

Hi Tougei
the $400 is a package for both PS & AD bouquet+ corsages+car deco+following car+ fresh flower for bride hairdo. All in.
Btw, i dun think i have the ensemble as mine is on a wkday. i would like to have it. For the songs, i wan something instrumental, something different.Not sure how it can be done.

hi girl ren yu
yup... ray ong from photolanguage. i like his style but he is beyond my budget. get him if u wan to hv a good shot for ur AD, esp B/W photos. He did a good job for my sister.

Hi Bugbear. Ok thanks

Hi Dor, Oh I see. Actually is $400 considered ex or cheap? Sorrie, I don't have a good grasp of the market rate for flowers yet. But I like the idea of having flowers in the hair. Very sweet and romantic
Will you be having flowers in hair for PS or AD?

The ensemble is in the package for weekdays too leh. Think if you engage them separately it will be abt $500.

Hi i have met up with Jon Keng. his style is that he likes to take close up photos & he is very young!

sorry what is the $400 flower package that you are talking about? from which florist? actually i like Poppy because I like their attitude towards flower decor. another one that I like is this florist at wheelock place, alll imported flowers & very ex.

hallo gals, anyone thinking of asking regent hotel to do something different for dessert? or something diff for food presentation? since i'm doing buffet, i was thinking of asking them to give me fusion food. not sure if this is possible becuase i think summer palace is catering the food.

Girl, No harm asking...think Regent is quite flexibe and willing to listen for new ideas...as for the chiense banquet, i think they already did a fusion...presenting western desserts

Morning!!

Hi huiling, you heard of the chocolate fountain from Hyatt? Perhaps you can do something similar, like a chocolate fondue thingy. The olive tree has it for its buffet too
Shouldn't be very difficult to arrange since it seems to be just a pot with chocolate bubbling inside. The guests will then dip their sticks of fruits into it.

I want the western dessert too but my package doesn't have it (only for Sat and Sun) so I will have to top up for it
Thought that it will be something special for them to remember since it is the last course so the impression should be stronger.

Tougei...i think if u can, top up for western dessert. it will be something out of the norm. I believe it will strike an impression on your guests.

Hi Bugbear. yes, i think so too

Yours is the weekend package rite? So you will have the western dessert? I tried their pistacho mousse before. Not very nice
Perhaps their cashew & mango tart will be better...Wonder if we can choose other desserts from the Capers' menu. I tried another one - some banana spring roll with ice cream. Very good!!

Hhmm...tougei...the banana spring roll with ice cream sounds good. Maybe i will check if we can change the desserts

thanks for your feedback! I'm going to ask for dessert!!! hahaha.

am thinking of getting tan yoong for WG, is he very expensive?

Hi Huiling,

I tihnk TY's basic price for the WG is $2000 but it does not cover additional lace, crystal beading etc. When I went down and tried gowns I really liked, his assistant told me that the surcharges were between $800 to $1400.

Recently heard a horror story from a friend whose classmate used TY for her wedding. Apparently he made her cry during the lead-up to the wedding!

What is most impt I tihnk is rapport with your designer...Why don't you go down to meet him? I picked Blush Blush cause of the good reviews I had received, the fact that he is very transparent with his price so I don't have to worry about last minute surcharges and the rapport I had with him.

why did the classmate cry? wah, TY really sounded expensive. hmm. am going down to visit his shop later, see how

Hi Huiling,

I'm not sure why she cried. But when my friend heard that I didn't use TY because of the price, he said it was a blessing in disguise cause his classmate was really made to feel miserable.

From the reviews of TY on the forum, he seems really fantastic though...I agree you should just go down and see how. His asst is super nice...you can try as many gowns as you like! I think I tried 7 gowns there! And she was immensely patient! The only other place which allowed me to try so many gowns was Kai Bridal.

hi all, went to TY already. his price is indeed higher than the average. went a gown that is very nice, but cost $2500 just to rent.

actually he specialises in using organza to create a dreamy feel, and i dont like organza, whew! good thing i dont like the gowns else really have to spend quite a bit

HAhah...girl, u are real lucky. Heard that a lot of gals went to TY and got 'stucked' there...and end up putting a lot into the gowns...that's why i dare not go...heheh...later xin yang yang...

Morning girls!

Yeah I was one of those xin yang yang girls who almost became TY bride.
But I found the gowns pretty but uncomfortable to wear...a bit scratchy...so that helped make the decision easier.
Didn't think I would be an elegant bride if I keep feeling like scratching (and my skin turns red very easily when I scratch.

Morning gals..

as promised, update on my meeting wif regent..

we hv discussed wif evelyn, she said she can use the new theme, so we picked the jazz theme..
she said there will b a weddin tis sat so we will b goin down to view the setup of the ballroom..

hmm, they hv quite a lot of nice wedding favours to choose from.. the key chain was rather cute but we still like the old couple figurine the best so we stick to tt

for the jazz theme, there will b 4 flower stands on the ground n 4 on the stage.. i tink tts enuff for us.. the table theme will b ivory..

oh, evelyn said their system might not b able to play burned cd.. sigh.. we hv to reselect our march in songs liao.. cos my bf ripped the songs n converted them to mp3 many yrs back, he lost the original cd.. n we cant find it in cd stores now.. so hv to look for alternatives..

anyone wan to noe anything else?

i tink TY is a very good designer, my fren had a very good experience there..
so was quite surprised to hear tt his bride cried.. well.. then again, u never noe..

Chubbyrain, think originally they are also having 4 floral stands by the march in which i thot 6 will be better. The 4 on stage was also there when i checked.Great that u have finalised ur stuff....did u check out the bubble machine?
Ya, i was told that we need to use orignal CD...better be safe than sorry...hehe
about the table theme,is there other alternative?
how about the flowers? Have u confirm the color?

Hi Jan snow,

oh ya. bubble machine.. evelyn said i can use tt for the cake-cutting..
no prob.. but i din c tt yesterday cos the setup was for a conf yesterday..

there r 2 other theme for the table arrangement.. 1 is red n another one is more peranakan style..
i hv asked her to use champange roses

u plannin to rent the projector? its very ex leh

ya lor the pjt thingy...they very strict
so we may do without the presentation loh...
u still renting fr them????
Huh, u mean they do not have the gold theme???
I would opt for cream/white roses and lilies....
cos i am looking at a white wedding .,,,

yeah, good thing I don't like organza, whew, else have to spend quite abit on TY.

i'm going to visit The Bridal Wardrobe later.

so far, i have shortlisted Bridal Veil and Margaret Bride

Hi Jan snow,
i might try to borrow projector from my co.. see how

i tink they still hv the gold theme.. no worries

Hi girl,
how abt dang?
i m a dang bride

Hi chubbyrain, thanks for the update and boy am i glad that u managed to get what u wanted! good for you!!

wah...this sat got a wedding ar...good leh...then can see the full ballroom setup, but any idea which theme they using? The old ones or the new themes?

I also feel that 4 stands along the aisle is a little too little...cos regent ballroom looks quite long...dunno how much to top up for 2 additional stands.

Chubby, u opt for the saxaphonists?? wah...regent cannot play ripped discs ar...then i must faster go buy the CD of the song that i ike liao...if not by the time i need it, no more in the stores

Hi bugbear,

the couple is using the new jazz theme for their weddin tis sat.. i wan to use the jazz theme too, so i will b goin down..

hmm, i din ask her how much we need to top up to get 2 additional stands..

as for the ensemble.. haha, i dunno got saxaphonist or not.. hmm, actually, me n FH quite chin chai.. :P

Hi caitlin..
hmm, never tot of tt.. guess i will try to do tt.. me never shop online.. moutain tortoise wan

thxs!

lala...if u are able to get a projector from ur office or somewhere...then u can bring it and connect...then don have to pay.

U ladies planning to show montage??

chubby rain... wat time r u going down... i am not sure whether i can reach thr by 6.30 though

paisei, u mentioned that u have the ensemble so urs is a weekend 2004 package la...
i like the ensemble but too bad mine is a weekdae 2004 so dun have loh.....

Hi bugbear,
ya, planning to show montage.. but juz weddin photos only, no childhood photos

Hi jan snow,
i will most prob go down at ard 630

yes, mine is weekend 2004 package..

Can someone advise? If we cant use 'burned' CDs, then how do we select the songs we want to be played? I may like some songs from this CD, and others from another CD. Even if I stick to only 1 CD, not all the songs will be suitable as some will be sad songs etc.

Hi Chubbyrain. Glad to know that you have settled your stuff liao

Ladies, are we still going down on 16 sept for lala's wedding??

Tougei...i am also pondering over this..does it mean that we have to give them all our CDs...then they will queue the songs nicely for us?

Hhmm, i might not be able to make it for lala wedding...cos i have class at 6.30

Hi tougei n bugbear,
we can bring all the different cds, they will help us que the songs nicely..

she did say if we wan to use burned cds, we can do tt.. but we need to sign an indemnity form, in the case tt cd cant play during our march-ins,its not regent's fault..
so its whether we wan to take tt risk or not .

ah yo...like that ar...think better to give them all the different CDs...and pray hard that they don mix up the songs

Hi. Can we bring both burned ones and original? If the burned ones doesn't work then we use the original? By the way Chubbyrain, will you have rehearsal or something just before your dinner to make sure everything works?

Anyone doing solemisation just before dinner? Can Regent provide function room for just that one hour?

Hi bugbear n tougei,
hee, tts wat i plan to do, bring both original n burned ones.. must hv contingency plan mah

yup, there will b rehearsal b4 the dinner, but me no need to b involved.. only the groom, our overall coordinator n emcees need to attend tt.. the bride can rest in the suite ;P hehe..

me doin solemnisation b4 dinner.. i hv asked them for a small room but they cannot commit. its okie lah, worse come to worse, we will hv solemnisation in our suite cos ours is a small affair for like 20 pple only

Chubby...don worry...the room can fit 20...heheh...tested already...cos the last time i went for the workshop, we get to view the suite and almost 20 ppl went into the suite at the same time. Sunil also joked that it's a good guage for solemnization :D

Hi Chubbyrain,
Sunil has agreed to lend us the projector on a complimentary basis.

good idea to bring both the original & the burned ones

Hi lala, but i thot regent does not hav in house pjt? i woz told that they need to outsource and that is the reason why they insisted that the rental cannot be waived...wow...u must have given many things to justify the cost? its about $350 rite????

Hi bugbear,
wah, then its not tt bad
we were tinkin of the suite as a last resort.. phew..

Hi lala,
lucky u..
i need to source for one liao..

Hi Jan snow,
is it?? I have no idea coz the projector was written in the contract. Aiyo, me better double check ....

maybe we were given the waiver for few items due to the fact that we are a last min couple. We were formally from Oriental, thus 3 months before wedding in Jul, I called up Regent to check if the date we want is still available. I think since the date is already so near to wedding, they are not expecting any couples liao, thus when we called, they just say okie to many things loh ...