Regent Singapore

• Thread starter Thread starter happy sunny
  • Start date Start date
Lala...good choice on ur BS. DC gowns are so dreamy, so sexy!! I also love their gowns...when is ur hubby leaving for his biz trip? Maybe the 2 of you can go somewhere near first?? then next time do a long honeymoon again

Chubby...your AD is also drawing near huh...all ready for the day??

Hi Caitlin,
Andrew Tay is charging $950 for 7 rolls for AD and for his PS couples, he is giving another 2 rolls. His website is http://www.thexxxxxdge.com.sg/index.html (remove the xxxxx in between the and dge).

Hi Bugbear,
Actually I didn't do much research prior to decide on Divine. I have 2 friends recommended Divine, my intention was to see see look look only but when I was there, I felt the service very sincere and professional, not pushy is my concern coz afraid that after signing, they will push me to get this & that. Initially I was not really impressed by their gowns (don't know why also) but at their bridal fashion show, then noticed their sexy and dreamy gowns, thus signed up there & then ... also cheaper at the show

Hi lala n bugbear,

yes, my AD is comin! exactly 3 weeks away now! preparation should b on track

Hi Lala,
me also using andrew tay for my AD as well..
hehe.. u on leave next week ah?
i only hv time to take leave 1 day b4 my AD, cos intending to clear all my leave for a 17-day HM!
not enuff leave man..

Chubby!! Urs is 1st Oct right?? You must be so excited now! Which theme did u opt for?? Mind if i hop by earlier to peep peep??

Wah, 17days HM...where u going?? So shiok to be on leave huh

hallo chubby! wah, your wedding coming soon
you must be very busy now!

any one engaging a videographer? I'm looking for a cheap cheap one. just need him for three hours to take down the church ceremony.

btw, my guest list has shrunk to 60 for luncheon. have tried contacting sunil whether regent can take in 60, but he has not get back to me. sigh~ may have to start looking all over again. am considering four seasons hotel penthouse function room, either East room or West room. have not seen the rooms yet. see how.

gals, are you interested in meeting up?

huling, isn't you big day in Dec 05? You should give allowance for expansion! I think I read earlier in the thread that someone did it at Capers. I think thats pretty nice too. I had dinner there when we signed and it was very nice and quiet. The food was great too! Pricey but great!

Chubby > I would like to pop by for a look too!!! hey did anyone find out about the waiter's attire? What are they wearing?

I don't think I ever realised how much there was involved in getting married. I booked my hotel and thats the only thing done! fiance starting to stress me to book all the stuff we need. Was told by a friend that the date we chosen is a hot date! Thank goodness we paid for the deposit before the chinese calender came out. Now to haggle with the Make Up, BS and photo people. *bleh*

Hahah...Sharky...u so cute...usually is the bride who will stress their FH to be more involved with the preparation...but for u, it's the other way round...ur hubby is stressing u to settle things :p

Girl, if your date is not in the peak months, think regent can close 1 eye and let u have the place even if u fall below their min. Try talk to them...

leave room for expansion...hmm, but then hor, our luncheon is for friends whom we know for many years. so like for my fiance, after so many years, his good friends are still that group of people... haha. so i don't think our list is going to expand.

so sharkey, what are the things to take care of ar? because i always thought that the thing to consider is just venue, BS, and guest list and RSVP!
are you doing ala carte? maybe you can try leon lim for makeup.

bugbear, my wedding is in december leh, i think it is peak period, must wait for regent to reply.

Hi bugbear n sharky,

nope, my weddin is not on 1st Oct.. its on a weekend.. dun tink i wanna disclose actual date.. hv i done tt earlier? :P in case regent staff checkin tis thread..
i will b using jazz theme

Hi girl,
wats ur budget for the videographer? i engaged 1 for full day, he chargin me 900 bucks.. comes wif video montage, express highlights n 2 DVDs(edited). let me noe if u r interested, i can PM u the details

Hi Chubbyrain,

I am looking around for a videographer too.
Can you PM me the details too? Thanks.

I visited Regent on Sat and met up with Patrina. The jazz theme is so beautiful and am really tempted. But she could not commit to me having only 30 tables. I also prefer it if the ballroom was not on the 1st floor...

Will visit Hyatt and Conrad this week and make my decision soon...

Lala
4 more days to your wedding, you must be very excited now
...Scheduled any spa treatments yet?

Huiling,
Yes!!!!
I would like to meet up (even if I don't end up a Regent bride. ;p)

caitlin, both hyatt and conrad has very nice ballroom!! Let me know the outcome of ur visit to Hyatt, k?? I also looking at Hyatt. Thanks.

Sorry Chubbyrain...

Didn't know I cannot accept PM. My fiancee's e-mail is [email protected]

How do I activate PM?

Bugbear, I am not looking at the Hyatt ballroom but the Orchid room which is smaller.
Have been there once to meet the coordinator Anjali, but didn't ask any questions then so now must meet again.

Did you take a look at their garden? It's very pretty for a garden wedding. Only setback is you have to pay extra $3000 for them to reserve a function room for you in case it rains, and there's a strict "curfew" of 11 p.m. cause it may disturb the hotel guests otherwise.

Chubby, received ur PM. thanks.

Caitlin...ooh, sorry, i did not look at the poolside...but heard that it's very nice.

hi chubbyrain, pls PM me regarding the videographer
thanks! YOu mean the Regent people will log in here? *faint*

hi caitlin, you keen to meet up? actually i think the Nov 2005 brides are meeting up next Friday at 7 or 7.30pm. anyone keen? we could go to the same place, but if you prefer a small gathering, we can seat among ourselves. it will be fun to have so many brides to be around!

anyone else wants to meet up??? it will be fun!!

oh yeah, I have been to Hyatt garden for a wedding! my friend just used the garden for solemnisation for a while, then after that we went into the ballroom for dinner.

hey lala, remember to BREATHE!!! and be a pretty bride

Hi tougei,

I can't. I have a cell group gathering and inviting a friend along. Want to be a good host and make sure he's comfortable.
So cannot be late and will go with him early.

Would really have liked to see Lala in her gown and meet with you girls though... Will keep you all updated?

My fiance totally hands off and left everything to me coz I am not working right now. I still yet to confirm BS, check out photography services, Make Up, meet with wedding coordinator (our side one), buy flat (ah die. dunno if the SERS have left over). He is constantly remind me how many months we have left!!

So this thursday we meet up? Whats the plan? eeeeeeeeee so exciting. I am meeting people from the forum!!!

hallo all, i think the gathering for 2005 NOv brides is this coming Friday at about 7pm, baker's Inn at Plaza singapura. anyone keen? it will be all girls.

hallo sharkey, I don't know how to meet you leh. think you will be so busy that night, paiseh to approach you
how ar? tougei, any suggestion?

Hi Chubbyrain,
I am already on leave, infact since last thu. Thumbs up for Andrew Tay

Hi Caitlin,
yep, me feeling excited now ... but at the same time, am wondering is it true that I am getting married this Thu ... funny lah ... kkekeke. Which church are you from ??? I am from City Harvet and cell group is on sat. yep, impt to make the newcomer feels comfortable
160704.gif

Hi Sharky, we are meeting at the sofa next to the big flower arrangement at the lobby of Regent at around 630pm on Thurs
But I may be late cos I finish work only at 6pm.

The meeting on Friday's for Nov brides isit?

Hallo, with regards to what i have posted:

hallo sharkey, I don't know how to meet you leh. think you will be so busy that night, paiseh to approach you how ar? tougei, any suggestion?

sorry i was actually addressing Lala, not sharkey

hi tougei, yep, the meeting is this Friday, want to go?

Hey Sharky,

If you are checking out photographers, go take a look at Chris Ling...They have a promotion now- 20 15R photos at $1200, with 3 outdoor shoots...And Chris Ling is reputed to be very good.

Of course, if your bridal package already provide for photography then no point...For my package, I was told that if I opt out of photography, I get $800 back..and since that was for 20 super 8R photos, and 1 outdoor shoot only, I figured the Chris Ling deal is actually very attractive and went down to take a look.

Hi Lala,

I am from St Georges! I live very near City Harvest though- in Jurong West... Maybe next time we can meet after your church service... We hope to get a flat in Jurong West near our parents..My FH and I live like 3 bus stops away from each other.

Would you still be on the Regent thread after your wedding? Would be sad if the brides all lose contact after their weddings are over.

we are meeting at the sofa next to the big flower arrangement at the lobby of Regent at around 630pm on Thurs

Roger that
Look out for the kid that looks like a secondary school student!!! mauuh!!! My fiance and I both got mistaken for students. hahaa... die.

*Alamak now all my friends seem to be internet friends.*

hallo all, sunil just called me! he said that regent can do 60 people! *scream* + *dance* actually four seasons hotel is also very nice too, i went to see the East room yesterday, great view. but i think my fiance is more inclined towards regent because he thinks regent is grander while FSH is small.

one question to ask: why is FSH a five star hotel ar? cuz the lobby seems very small to me, the whole hotel is small, in fact

ok so only sharky, tougei and myself are meeting this thursday issit? 6.30pm sofa near the big flower centrepiece at the front of the entrance. will post here again regarding what we are wearing?

yep, Caitlin & Lala
it will be nice if we keep in contact after our wedding! am i the last to get married in this thread? mine is dec next year. everybody, don't go away!

hallo chubbytrain, how do I check my PM? do you mind emailing the details of the photographer to [email protected]

thank you! not sure if i sd spend the money to get a videographer leh, cuz i don't think i will be looking at it more often than i would open my photo album

Huiling,

You coming for the Nov 05 brides gathering? Actually I am a July 05 bride but I thought, why not? It's always fun to meet new people!

Hi hi

Huiling, congrats !!
160990.gif
So you are going to be a Regent Bride too?

Caitlin, I'm a Jul 05 bride too

When's your AD? Is yours on a weekend or a weekday?

hallo tougei,

yep, most probably. i think regent is one the hotels that is more enthusiastic in doing weddings. while other 5 star hotels are still giving chocolates (only) for favors, regent has come up with many variety for us to choose from. can see from how they came up with the bubble machines and the new themes. i feel more confident with a hotel that is into wedding than one that mainly does business deals.

besides, I love love love the high ceiling and chandelier lights!

hallo caitlin, so do you want to come for this friday gathering?

are you using the garden at the hyatt? it is very nice!

Hi Huiling, I agree with you totally
Feels that they are putting in more effort to make their wedding special and more unique compared to a normal sit-down dinner.

Hi Caitlin, have you looked at Hyatt's Hibiscus Room? Very romantic and cozy
The person I spoken to in Hyatt was also Anjali. She's comes across as sincere and nice. Hyatt have the Fantastic Chocolate Fountain right? Heard from my colleague that her fren exchanged their sharksfins dish for the fountain during cocktail. T

Hi tougei,

Yeah I looked at the Hibiscus Room. I prefer the Sir Stamford Room though cause I want a cream and white setting.

You decided on the hotel yet?

of coz we will continue to chat even after we get married be it in Regent or other hotels. I am rather busy recently, will come in to chat again after my wedding, gotta settle more little little things these few days

Hi hi.

Ok, this is what I heard. Hyatt has this chocolate fountain thing which have chocolate continously flowing down. They will have sticks of fruits that the guests dip into the chocolate. But I asked Anjali abt it and it's really very ex (I don't remember exactly how much liao) Think they also have it during their bridal show recently.

Caitlin, yep, I signed up with Regent liao but Hyatt's Hibiscus was my second choice
Is the stamford room the one with the lower ceiling? But there's a very nice reception area just outside the ballroom, right?

Tougei,

The stamford room is the one that is cream and white. Yeah the reception has got nice sofa sets around it one.
One of the biggest draw for me was that.

Heheh...Lala...Jai You!! we will see u again after ur wedding...must come in to update us on the joyous occasion, k!!

Wah!! Tougei, the choc fountain sounds so good...imagining the continuous flow of smooth flowy choc...ah yo!!

Hmm...seems like most brides here are comparing Regent with Hyatt huh
ierce competition :D
Me also looking at Hyatt if Regent don allow me to book for 06...hahah

Hi hi. Think Hyatt is a major competitor for all hotels in Orchard road, not just Regent
And Hyatt seems to have quite alot of ballrooms available for weddings. In fact, quite a number of my friends are/have hosted their weddings in Hyatt already. So I decided to change change and be different and hold mine at Regent hehe...

Sorry I won't be joining you gals for the Nov 05 gathering this Friday.

FH going for biz trip for the whole week next week...So wanna spend time with him... We have never been apart for so long before leh...longest was 5 days.