Regent Singapore

• Thread starter Thread starter happy sunny
  • Start date Start date
serene, i got bounced mail...i think ur quota exceeded liao.
let me know which u received and which u haven

lala, so u like the bubble thingy... actually i din like the dry ice effect so not too sure how's the bubble like...

abt ur AD,, think it will be better for us to be thr b4 ur cocktail else we are like interupting u rite...how ah?

me take things slowly..haven even taken my PS..alamak...my AD in end DEC

bugbear, tks ..wil be waiting for the fotos

Hi Bugbear

Thanks. My email is [email protected]

I havent received the package details leh. Maybe catcha is slower.

jan snow, Dor and lala

Which wine are you ladies getting? The cheapest seem to be some Cornerstone Red wine but I'm not sure if that's good. Please advise. Thanks.

Also, how long before our wedding do we need to contact Regent again to tie up the loose ends? When did you talk to them regarding the printing of cards, favours, food tasting, deco, etc?

hi tougei..i din see them after i put our signature on the dotted line...hiak hiak...
according to the sch, it seems that the next thing will be collection of cards which is 3 mths b4 AD, correct?

abt the wine, me noe nuts woh...but will check out the one for consignment though

Ladies...i think the photos are too hugh to send...do u ladies know of any site that i can temporarily upload them for u gals to view...then i remove?? let me know.

hallo! yep im having a separate dinner for relatives and luncheon for friends, that's why i can i do what i want with my friends.

wah, all of you are really excited about regent

bugbear, can you send me the photos

lala, I would love to pop by the hotel on your wedding day! any time that is good for you? this is so exciting!

wah wah.. tis thread is so hot now.. i m abit lost..

hi tougei,
the action starts 3 mths prior to ur AD

hi dor,
i faced the same prob as u.. after agnes left, noone contacted me.. i had to call them then they told me evelyn is my coordinator.. was quite pissed off wif them. i haven seen her b4.. went to collect cards n food tasting, she din even show up to say hi or anything.. maybe she is really bz lor..

i did my food tasting on a weekday. 3 mths prior to ur AD, she will send u a checklist of things to be done. the menu will b included, there will b items which u can swop for no extra charges.

meetin her next wed. FINALLY!
i will tell u gals whether i can get the new theme.. n the bubble machine thingy..
red theme, white theme? me dunno anything yet:P

wow chubby rain, so you will finally see her ya.
do you have a check list to ask her....
btw, i heard they have some new favours, do check them out...keep us posted

Hi, can someone please advice me on what are the normal perks to ask for when we are negotiating on the wedding package? What are the important things we must have? : )

lala, your wedding will be the 'poster' wedding for Regent! Wow, think they will definitely do a very good job for you

Come to think of it, maybe by the time we have our wedding next year, Regent may have come up with an entire new set of themes liao.

Hi Shoobie, welcome
Have you asked around the hotels yet?

Actually the perks are quite standard one. The common ones are bottle of champagne, 1 nite stay, cake, free flow of soft drinks. Besides these, We can ask for things such as 2 nite stay in suite, additional parking, chair covers, day use rooms, guest books etc. But some ppl may not need day use room or guest books so it depends on individual.

Personally, I feel the most important are the alcohol - wine and beer. Cos' these are the most expensive. Some hotels give waiver of corkage which is good cos' you can get own wines at cheaper rates. Else, they will usually give you special prices for their wine (like Regent) which is not as good. One or two hotels now have free flow of beer or they give you 1 or 2 barrels as perks. But my experience is that most hotels are quite firm on alcohol but you can try negotiating for example waivers for 2 caskets of wine or 1 barrel of beer in exchange for favours etc..

HI bug bear,
can PM me the link to the photos too?
would like to c their layout..
thxs

Hi Jan snow,
oh, we liked 1 of the weddin favours we saw last time, its a figurine of an old couple.. hope they still hv them.. will keep u gals updated on my meetin next week

hey gals!

I have just been to four seasons hotel to look at their crescent ballroom, i don't like it at all, feel that it looks like a normal function room except for their chandeliers, soooooo, it's regent hotel for me! yeh, I have finally settled my venue. this is such a headache for me

*do a little dance*

huling! YAY for you! I read that you are doing a dinner for relatives and luncheon for friends? Thats exactly my set up too! I have some ideas for luncheon that I am working on. Not properly formulated yet but it seems you and I have a rather similar concept (i had to come out of lurkdom after seeing your post). Still have to see if Regent works out a luncheon package that I am happy with.... then i can join you for a happy dance together.

Strangest thing happened today (haha... so much disclosure from me!) I ran into my banquet co-ordinator from Regent today at a supplier - well coz I am a DIY girl! Why let someone else have all the fun planning when I can do it mahself!!! hehe... planning the party of my life.. wee! Anyway, it seems they are working on NEW favours and NEW invitation cards. She also told me that the workshop for Oct is a small scale and its not a fair/show. Their target group is of people who are still deciding on the venue.

Anyhow, I'm excited. The big day is a long time away but I am trying to tie down as much as possible. Putting deposit for photographers coz we were told its a hot date. Hmm.. and today was given the run down on purchasing a flat. I am going to faint from all the red tape. What crap. Only in Singapore where people get married before they can buy a home. What rubbish. Ha. must complain.

Chubbyrain, i PM u the link already...

Ladies...this is the 1st time i tried out Shutterfly to upload pics...if i did not do it correctly, pls let me know.

tks bugbear..viewed them liao. when did u take those pics cos i remembered some which i have seen in the March show but cant find them in ur pics...which one u gals like huh. Me actually prefer the gold theme but cant find the setting with the big bow behind the chairs le....
Hope to see new settings when time for confirmation lo.

Sharky,, wow u seems pretty bz woh. New cards...aha..but mayb not in time for those in 2004..sob sob ya

huiling, i m surprise that FS is not appealing to u cos i oways thot its much classy than regent. Anyway i woz oso deciding between FS and regent and it was decided due to $$$ haha..FS is above my budget liao le....though they are sisters co.

I took these photos in Sept. Supposed to include some new themes...

Jan, the big bows are the organza izzit? I also like organza, but for these new ones, they have removed organza...but i think if u want them, they will charge u like $2 per chair.

Bugbear, u mean u took them in sep 03?? the one i saw was in mar 04. i thot i saw the organza bow le.
anyway will chk wif regent again since they keep changing their terms hor...

chubby rain, so which one will u choose huh. i think i saw the figurine that u mentioned but i think they have new ones like key chain..havent see , u can check out though

Actually hor, you are better off just asking Regent for the packages direct. Thats what I told my friend too. Coz then at least they know that they have enquires and have the opportunity to make a presentation to you. Sometimes the things discussed on this forum not always accurate and better to hear from the source right? Earlier on in this thread, I read that Sunil was "more open to negotiate" and hence a better coordinator... and then somehow the story just perpetuates itself... and it may or may not be true.... at the end of the day they all have sales targets to meet. Sometimes its just impression... But if you had personally met up with them and they had the chance to present the package to you, then I think at least you can say that XXX sucked coz the service is bad.

Anyway its not as if they will call you up and hound you. (I learn not to give out my phone number to those hard sell bridal boutiques.) The higher end hotels are very professional. Anyway if you want them to stop calling you, all you have to do is to tell them you decided on another place.

You can call up Regent and ask them to you u to catering.

hi bugbear
woh this thread moves so fast. thks for the photos but they dun look like thoses i saw last time. looks like i need to go down for a look.

Hi bugbear,
got the link liao..
thxs.. hmm, puzzled too as to how u manage to take these pics.. nvm lah..

HI jan snow,
i haven decided on those details yet.. will meet up wif evelyn then decide
will let u gals noe..

I took these photos when i attended the workshop in Jul. they setup these tables in a section of the ballroom. Don think the settings are there anymore...but i think the upcoming workshop should feature them again

I am new to this thread.
My FH and I just asked Regent for their package.
I was really impressed by the picture on their website and thought I'll find out more from other Regent brides.

What did you all like about Regent? Is the coordinator nice? Would the ballroom be bare if I don't top up for more flowers?

Really hope to hear from you.
Been looking around at so many hotels but not found one that is really suitable yet. Either too expensive, requires too many tables or just not to my liking. Sigh

Hi Caitlin...welcome!!

What i liked abt Regent is that the theme is quite interesting, the food is good...as for the ballroom, i have not seen the full setup yet...so can't really comment on this.

hehe. I like Regent best. So I choose it. We had to kill so many people off the list so we can fit into Regent.

Actually I was quiet lazy. I didn't really look around too much.

What I did like about Regent was that it was grand without being garish/"opulent". Its like a very understated kind of grandeur. Not so IN YOUR FACE. Can't explain it. I just fell in love with that place when I saw it. And my bf only saw like 1/3 of (the side room not even the main room) and he was ready to sign on the dotted line.

But don't let other people tell you lah. You have to see what you prefer. Some people like to feel like a princess and hence the high ceiling ballroom would be better suited. Some people like cozy hence small and tasteful is best.

Hi girls!

Thanks for all your responses. Makes me feel very welcome to the thread.

Bugbear: Yeah I have visited Hyatt and really liked it too.
But greedy la and thought I'll check out Regent's "themed" weddings.

Which bridal studio are you girls using? I'm with Blush Blush.

Heheh...caitlin, u same as me leh...i actually quite set on Hyatt already...until i received Regent's invitation to their workshop, to look at the new themes...and now my headache starts again...heheheh...

Me with Flamingo...which photographer u are with? thinking of videographer? I trying to find a cheap one...any suggestions?

Thanks for the responses! Makes me feel really welcome to this thread.

Bugbear: Yeah I have seen Hyatt and really liked it myself.
But was quite attracted by the theme weddings at Regent and thought I'll check it out too.

Which bridal studios are you using? I am with Blush Blush.

Tougei, yes, I agree with you on the corkage about liquour. It is cheaper if one does not hve to buy from hotel as it is ultimately still much more expensive in the end as a matter of cost.

I also agree that corkage is a killer...unless we can get corkage like what Hyatt offered $100 for 2 bottles...then we can consider brining out own wines.

Hi Caitlin,
me with Divine.

gals,
agreed the corkage can kill ... however, can agree to pay for the 1st box of wine, then waive the rest.

Hi lala, you mean i can request Regent to waive corkage for the first dozen of wine or something like that? Hm...

Hey sharkey,think we can share ideas on what to do for luncheon. what kind of lunch package are you looking at? buffet sit down or western? BTW, which supplier did you go to?

I was thinking of buet, but i do not want a asian buffet, so will ask if regent can customised something.

anyone has any news about the regent wedding cake?

Hi huiling,
No matter how, you have to take the 1st carton of wine from the hotel, can ask for waiver for the rest of the wine. However, case by case basis but can try

Looks like Regent is quite strict with corkage...Shall take that into consideration when I decide on the hotel.

Sheraton was more flexible about it. They gave me 2 options:
1. free flow of beer, corkage at $20 or purchase wine from them, minimum 20 bottles, each bottle between $23 to $26+++
2. 1 free barrel of beer, corkage waived.

Thanks Lala, will try to ask for waiver after the first carton of wine

is divine gown really very nice? hmm, maybe i sd take a look, there is a lady who is trying to sell her package with divine. have you seen it?

glad to see so many brides in this thread. so happy. when I posted here beginning of the year...it was so quiet...sad.

bugbear

can you send me the link?

my wedding is in Oct this year. have yet to go for food tasting and I don't like the invites..how?

when I signed up, the invites were very nice. with a small knot in the middle.

chubbyrain

which invite did you choose? the red or white one?

Huiling, what menu are you more inclined to? I think I am choosing the Chinese menu. Not sorted out yet. But since you are thinking of doing lunch, it will give you a little bit more flexibility. Should be quiet fun. ONLY our friends will make the luncheon list. Everyone else gets thrown into the dinner. Which is actually very ironic if you think about it….

For a chance, we thought the more western styles are interesting. Long table, speeches (wah my one can’t stop talking kind so will have plenty of toasting.) We are four left feet, so we won’t be doing any dancing at our wedding. Will do the long table. Maybe play some silly games and of course I am quiet taken with the idea of a real wedding cake to cut. But I think what might work for both hotel and U is to have a regular cake to cut and feed each other. You can serve the guest the same cake but u don’t have to do like a 4 tier cake type. That will surely bring the cost up by a gazillion bucks. Just get them to bake more of the cake. I think that should keep the cost down coz they won’t have to “decorate” the cake.

At the table 1 => We thought it would be nice to put those disposable cameras or get someone to loan us a Polaroid just to take some silly snap shots. Those are also available online, or you can check with those suppliers of corporate gifts. Just hit yellow pages for those.

At the table 2 => Pre meal activity. Ya those Chinese magic puzzles that once brought my entire department to a stand still. Hehe…. But you could also try putting paper and writing material at each table so the guest gets an ample opportunity to write a meaningful message rather than have 20 seconds at the reception to scribble it. Then at the end of the whole event maybe you could make a scrap book complete with your wine labels (steam the bottles to remove labels!) complete with silly anecdotes and pictures of drunk colleagues. He. Think – Blackmail, raise > In the same sentence.

At the table 3 => I think a lot of times, we are sold traditions and we just go through the motions without really knowing what on earth they are about. I mean stuff like wedding cakes and wedding bands. Somewhere along the way, the meaning is lost and while we are all doing it, few people actually know the original intention of these things. So since I have been researching, I think it would be nice to share them with the rest of the guests (and note that since everyone is a friend, so will pretty much be in the same age group). Instead of putting place cards with names (which is western/American) maybe could put little cards to explain the significance of those things. Like even to explain the Chinese menu. Whats the significance of a pork dish, fish, etc. They are all mean something. And maybe I just have too much free time.... But I think people would be interested, especially since they would have nothing to do during the premeal period. Give them something to read.

Anyway, I found Martha Stewart to be a particularly good read. She has plenty of wonderful wedding ideas. Go to the LEARN section in the website. There is a whole section dedicated to it. I read this article in the magazine where the each flower on her bouquet was to signify each parent. So its like one rose to represent grandma, another to represent mom. Something like that. So sweet.

Ok back to watching olympics for me.

PS. my dinner is a straight up affair. No funky ideas. Complete with Sharks Fin.

Oh ya. Tanya, i emailed you WRT favours. I don't have a suppliers list yet. But as I build one, I'll let you know. Just leave a msg here or something. I don't really read other threads.