Regent Singapore

• Thread starter Thread starter happy sunny
  • Start date Start date
hi, anyone thinking of havign the dinner at Caper restaurant at Regent?

Sunil told me that the bar can also be opened as a dinner venue. I like the hotel, but i don't like the function room, that;s why i;m looking at other parts of the hotel as alternative.

what do you think of the bar? think it is on the second level

Hi huiling

I went to the restaurant for dinner once. The ambience is quite nice and I loved the bridge from the lift to the restaurant. But one thing I felt was "mei chong bu zhu" - no piano or any live music. The food is ok for me but my fren tot it was too salty. Are you planning to have western food instead?

For your package, will you still have the frills? Like march-in with music, cutting the cake, champagne etc? Cos' since Regent's package have the music option, perhaps you could arrange for them to play at the restuarant too. You know, like after work go bar drink and listen to music. Think the atmosphere will be very relaxing and romantic.

Hi tougei

thanks for your feedback. I think if i will to have my wedding at regent, i will have it at the bar, because I want something different for my wedding, and I don't really want to do it in a function room. i like the old world charm of the bar, and the fact that there is a piano, so my friends can play music for me
))) hahah.

I think I should still have the frills. cakes, champage etc. but i'm not sure how to march into the bar, abit out of theme
i hope the whole thing will turn out to be relaxing and meaningful.

Hi Moo, the tanglin room can cater to 18 tables. you can try calling. the service is very personal and good!

I just went to Regent over the weekends and i heard from the coordinators that there will be a wedding show coming in Sept, but date is not confimed yet...for those who are interested...keep a lookout

Really! thanks BugBear for the info, i will definitely wait for the show. i think the ambience of Regent is similar to Fullerton (colour theme)except that it is smaller and cosier. i think i'm close to settling my actual day venue soon! just need to drop by four seasons hotel and see if I like it. If not, then I will take Regent.

Hi tougei,

my AD in oct04.. comin soon.. !! *gasps*
hee, actually, i juz noe i will hv ensemble but dunno wat music they playing.. for 2004 package, if top up from classic to elegance package, then will hv ensemble.. its not default lor.. so u gals quite lucky

tink e ambience will b nicer wif ensemble..

went for food tasting last week, food is great, luv the fish dish, its quite unique.. cod fish fillet, which melts in the mouth. hee :P

chubbyrain...can share with me your menu? and the comments? i got to chit chat with the chef that day when i went to regent and the chef also told me that the cod fillet is very good.... is it known as "canadian sea perch" on the menu? Did u have the "ling zhi" mushroom dish? can share ur comments on that as well?

Thanks hor...

Hi Chubbyrain. Glad to hear that the food is good. Are you excited abt your wedding? Have you settled everything?

Hi BugBear, Wow how did you get to talk to the chef? I don't see any cod fillet in the menus leh. You are having your banquet on weekends?

Hi tougei2...i was there for their workshop...just over the weekends, Regent organized a workshop and there was a section where the Chef was with us...so we can actually talk to him and find out more about the cooking style, etc...

I asked him what is "Canadian Sea Perch" and he said that it's cod fish fillet...so i presume, u should lookout for "canadian..." I believe Regent recently just changed their package...so i am not too sure if the menu u are looking at consists of this fish or not

The Chef is a typical Cantonese and he looks quite young...

Hi Girl ren yu, u manage to get the bar for your dinner venue? Caper very nice spot!

i tried asking for the Summer Palace Restaurant but they can only take max 12 tables & had 2 b open for guests & regular in their private dinning area...

Has anyone seen the Tanglin Room? Thanks for your comments

Hi bugbear n tougei,

the codfish fillet is named as canadian sea perch fillet or something like tt in the menu..
i din try the sharksfin alternative, family still prefer sharksfin lor..

for the vegetable dish, we had abalone wif black mushroom n vegetable in oyster sauce.. din try the ling zhi mushroom dish.. basically, we tasted those dishes in our package.. juz tt we requested them to let us try 2 types of chicken "Baked Chicken with Preserved Beancurd and Garlic,
"Mongolian" Style" n some "mi feng tang chicken" . in the end we decided to choose the mongolian chicken bec the chicken was very tender n taste more unique whereas the other one tasted like normal roast chicken ..

very pleased wif the food at regent, only comment to chef was to dilute the wine taste for the drunken chicken in the cold dish..

i hv settled most stuffs, hv printed the cards, waiting till after lunar 7th to send them out. GDL stuffs handled by mother n future MIL
so everything in order..

Cubbyrain...thanks for the feedback...

I have the mi feng tang chicken...the chef say "mi feng tang" is a place...like "szechuan"...hhmm...maybe i should request for 2 chickens as well...u mean we can actually request for more dishes to try?

So good that u have settled most of the stuffs already. now can sit back and relax!

Hi Chubbyrain, Bugbear

Mine's the Bi feng tang chix too. Wonder if we have to top up if we change the chix dish? or the fish to the cod :P

Rhino, I have not seen the Function rooms. Sorrie. But do make an appointment with Regent and go down to take a look yourself. They are very nice one
You must also like the inside of the hotel as well and the service too, not just the ballroom/function room, before you decide.

Rhino, i have seen a wedding a Tanglin rm when i was there...it's long rect, with low ceiling...think max is abt 20 tables. very similar to Pan pac ocean ballroom...but think ceiling is lower and narrower.

Tougei...i think to change fish to cod fillet...need to top up...cos cod is more ex than garoupa. but to change the chix, i am not too sure...

chubby, do u have the mongolian pork rib dish? I have that in the menu...and my chix is bi feng tang...so i dunno if i should change the pork rib to something else and change the chix to the mongolian style...

Hi bugbear,

we only requested to try 2 types of chicken.. we discussed wif our coordinator b4 goin down for food tasting.. u can do tt too

anyway, most of the dishes r quite similiar
din wan to end up too full cos AD comin.. cannot eat too much :P

i dun hv the pork rib dish leh.. i tot its either chicken or prok ribs.. my 8-course menu consists of cold dish, sharksfin, vege, chicken, prawns, fish, noodles n rice.. hee, where does the prok rib fit? the cereal prawns was nice too.. already shelled so wun dirty hands.. :P

Hi tougei,
i not sure u hv to top up.. i believe they gave u the menu list when u signed up rite? alternatives r listed, some r under no extra charges while others r top-up items.. can check wif coordinator..

who is ur coordinator?

maybe u gals try to taste the 2 chicken then decide..
the bi feng tang was nice too, but we prefer the mongolian style

Chubby...u took the weekday izzit? cos i am looking at weekend...so i have the pork rib...9-course lor..i thinking of removing the pork rib...cos i don eat pork...so trying to see if i can switch to some prawns or not...but hor...the cold dish is already prawn liao

Hehhe...i talk as if i get to eat...who cares abt me not eating pork hor...we also won get to enjoy the dinner :p

yep, actually sunil brought us to the bar to discuss the packages, then i love the ambience at the bar! haha, so sunil said can work somethign out for me.

i saw the function room, it has a woody feel to it, abit english kind of look. not bad. if you don't mind low ceiling, it is quite nice. actually low ceiling adds a cosy feel to the ambience if you have few tables. can hang flower balls on the ceiling. i like the service. people are warm and sincere.

anyone taking the buffet package? can share with me what are the dishes that is nice?

Hi bugbear,
no leh.. weekend package leh.. maybe tts the diff bet 2004 n 2005 package! uh huh!:P we lugi liao lor..

somemore, mine is the elegance package .. hmmph..

Chubby...i just met up with Sunil last evening to discuss more about the package...and was quite disappointed with them.

I was so excited about the discussion and all went quite well, till i told Sunil that my date is end 05 or might slip into 1st quarter of 06...and he told me that this package is only valid till 2005. But i was told by 2 planners during the workshop that this package is open for 2006 bookings as well.

Sigh...i feel kind of cheated. Sunil now say that they are going to release another package maybe sometime in April 05 for the 2006 banquet.

Hi bugbear,

wah, tts terrible of them.. hey, did u ask him whether he can hold the 2005 price for u if u were to confirm with them by this yr? i tot tts wat most hotels would do..
how can he b so inflexible?

actually, i tink their service has dropped, agnes was really nice n her followup is good.. but i cannot say the same for my new coordinator, firstly, i hv not met her.. she din even came n say hi while we were hvin food tasting or when we went down to collect the cards.. i tot tts basic courtesy, since we hv not met b4.. when we suggested meetin up wif her, she wanted us to hv food tasting first b4 meetin to tok biz.. wah.. kind of pragmatic man..
i wonder if the rest of the gals hv the same experience.. i miss agnes

anyway, better not complain too much, skali they noe who i m fr reading this thread n give me lousy food on tt day :P

Hi bugbear,
Actually you are not the only one... I was trying to confirm my banquet for Dec 2005 at Regent after their show in March this year as during the show they only accepted up till June 05 bookings. Later, they keep dragging and dragging about getting back to me about details (like projector price and whether we could meet with a person whom can decide whether we can book). Then few weeks later later said price cannot confirm (see my gripes in here and hyatt's archives), could be increased between $20-100+++. I was fed-up and went with Hyatt instead. During then (Mar-Apr this year), no other hotels at Orchard area would not accept a Dec 2005 booking based on current 2004 prices. Then just last month, Regent sent me the new package pricing for 2005... like I will book with them after they showed me how money-faced and poor service-orientated they are.

I have been following this thread for awhile now. How much of a difference is there if u sign up at wedding fair? Is it cheaper and more perks?

From what you guys said, now a bit worried.

Hey Karen...I am thinking the same as u...i am thinking of going ahead with Hyatt. They are willing to lock prices for me...and they are very understanding when i told them they i am looking at Dec date...but might slip to 1Q of 2006...Hyatt coordinator immediately say that it's alright, they can give me a grace of a couple of months...

The thing i am pissed is that not 1, but 2 of the Regent planners told me that they are open for 2006 booking and when i made arrangements to meet with them and really to negotiate with them, then they come and say they are not opened for 2006 booking. i am quite disappointed that for such small details as to whether the hotel accept booking or not, even the planners themselves are not having the same information...

Anyway....

Chubby, i tried telling Sunil that the planners told me it's open for booking...then he said Jan06 he can commit, but after that cannot, cos they are having another new package for 2006 which is going to be released sometime in Apr 2005.

I am actually looking at signing up with them come their Sept workshop thingy already...but now, think i have to reconsider again liao

Is there a wedding show in September? How do I find out about this? Anyone has any information on this?

Morning Gals!!

waldo...i think it's more like a workshop, rather than weddign show. Me got the news from the planners in Regent. Maybe you want to contact regent and let them know that u are interested...then get them to invite you when they confirmed their workshop date. The previously one i went to, they only invited abt 20 couples...i think the next one should be similar size.

Hi waldo,
I signed with regent at their wedding show last year. They were giving an extra $30 off per table. You have to go to the show to find out what the perks are, they won't tell you beforehand.

Hi Bugbear,

dun worry ok? at least u got another choice
sigh.. they r really quite inflexible, tell sunil tt u r goin to sign up wif hyatt bec they agreed to lock 2005 prices for u.. let them noe how their inflexibility is killin their biz.. pressure them a bit, if they dun give in, then its up to u whether u still wan to sign up wif regent or go wif hyatt..
good luck!

for someone whose weddin will b held in regent, i dun sound very supportive hor? :P

Hi ladies.

Hi Bugbear and Karen. Sorrie to hear abt your bad experience with Regent. Chubbyrain is right, you should tell Sunil that to "wake them up".

It should be the right practice to allow couples to sign up for the next year package. Afterall, alot of hotels even encourage that with 'early birds discounts'. Is it only for the discounted package during Regent bridal workshop that they don't let you book or even for the regular 2005 package. Cos' I remembered that during the Hyatt show their discounted package is only for those dinners before Jun 05.

Hi Chubbyrain, it's ok lar. I also signed up with Regent liao. We should stand on the "right" side rather than side with Regent mah hehe
But when I met up with Sunil last month, the 2005 package was just out and he was very enthusiastic and eager. Their service was really very good and I was very impressed by them. Maybe now their business is good and so they become more complacent liao.

Hi Chubby, tougei...

Thanks for your support. I will go talk to Hyatt and see what they do...but i must say that i am quite impressed with Regent's new themes...
Maybe i should wait for them to open their bookings for 06...then see what they are offering.

Personally, Sunil is a nice person and the planners there are very friendly...the only thing i am disappointed is that the planenrs are not in unity as to what they tell potential couples

Or maybe that is their sales tactics...to lock couples as many as possible this yr...to meet their sales target?

Hhmm...if a couple targets in early 06...not likely for them to change to 05...just bcos of price right? Hhmm *wondering*...

Hi tougei,
so u hv signed up wif regent liao? when is ur AD? sunil is ur coordinator ah?
i hope they dun slack juz bec biz is good ah.. tts not a very bright thing to do..

Hi bugbear,
u seem to like regent a lot
so, juz tell sunil how disappointed u r abt this whole incident.. its good to wake them up.

dun wait too long, in case, the date u wan is no longer available at hyatt too..

Hi hi.

Bugbear, yar i liked their themes very much too - tot it's very unique compared to other hotels. Think I'll most prob take the Jazz theme
Actually, Hyatt's Hibicus room was my first choice until I went to see Regent and talked to Sunil hehe.

By the way, did Sunil mention abt the bubbles machine? Last time when I spoke to him, he said that they had put up to their management to buy a bubbles machine. I tot that's a great idea for the march-in.

Hi Chubbyrain. I signed up last month. Maybe should have waited for the bridal workshop but too late liao. Didn't know abt it when I signed up.

What are the perks Regent's offering during the workshop?

hi tougei...yup, the bubble machine is in already. Seen it in action...quite cute...heheh..I also liked the Jazz theme a lot...their new themes are interested and unique.

Hhmmm...what they offered as additional perks is for weekdays...free flow of beer + 1 complimentary table.

Cubby...me same as tougei...Hyatt was my 1st choice till i went to see Regent's new themes...but they don allow me to book for 2006...so i will have to wait lor.

bubble machine? sounds interesting, but will it stain the WG or get into your eyes? the soap bubble, that is
) hmmm... i hope sunil can give me nice perks too, but i did not take the ballroom so maybe not possible.

Tougei...thanks for the PM. received and replied :D

Girl...i don thinkn it will stain...it's not exactly a lot...it's just at the entrance area

Hi bugbear n tougei,

wah, i wonder if i can get to enjoy the new theme cos mine is the 2004 package.. i hope so even though i doubt so.. must ask evelyn liao..

u mean when u signed up at the bridal show, they offered free flow of beer + 1 complimentary table? tts cool! i did not sign up during their workshop, so no such perks.. too bad for me.. :P

tougei, u mind sending me ur package? wanna noe more abt the theme.. thxs

Hi Chubbyrain

Actually the "theme" is just the deco of the ballroom and the music
There are two themes to choose - The Jazz and the Chinois.

The Jazz one is just that the deco is in white and there will be a saxophonist playing jazz songs. The Chinios is in burgundy color with a floral arch in the centre where the couple will exchange a kiss during the March-in. Think the music will be string ensemble.

We have not seen the setup yet. Maybe should call Sunil up and see if there's a couple using the deco of the 2005 package and go down to look look see see.

Isn't the free flow of beer and table is only for weekdays? Yours is weekend, rite?

Hi Chubbyrain, me oso 2004 pkg, coordinator - evelyn. i dun remember that we have any theme to select...do u hav? thot its mainly the flower deco oni

Hi jan snow

ya lor.. same here.. only rem got different color themes for the table decor n flower..
ur coordinator also evelyn? hv u met her?

yes Chubbyrain, i saw her fr the start...u mean u haven met her???so i guess u hav sign up wif other member? I did ask her abt the diff bet 2004 n 2005 but she mentioned that 2005 do not hav seat covers etc...when is u AD? i wun be seeing her until maybe mid SEP for the cards...how abt u?

Hi jan snow..

when i signed up, my coordinator was agnes.. my AD is coming soon, in another 1, 2 mths time.. hv already gotten my cards n gone for food tasting, juz haven met her yet..should b meeting her soon lor..
ur AD is in dec 04?

Morning Gals!!

Tougei...I think come Sept or Oct, Regent is going to have another round of the workshop that i attended...during then, they will have the different table settings up for viewing. quite impresseive.

I am also waiting for the lunar 8th mth, where there will be weddings, to view the full ballroom settings

Chubby, the extra perks is for weekdays only :p and for the 2005 packages, a lot of the standard perks are not as amenities where u can choose...eg: seat covers...

Morning too!! Bugbear, you are in so early! Oh , will try to go down to the workshop to see the deco then. But the weddings in Sept 04 will be the 2004 package, will the deco be the same?

Yup, perks like the seat covers are officially in the "wish list" for choosing. But they will throw it in without much resistance cos' the cost is very low.

Tougei...i think the sept workshop is to attract those 2005 weddings liao..so i would assume it's the new themes...anyway, they did not show the stage and floral stands...just the VIP table settings only

Hhmm...yeah, they threw it in for me as well...then after that realised that Sunil does not allow 06 booking. Will find time to talk to Hyatt and confirm what they can give me...then decide if i wan to talk to Sunil again...heheh

Hey lala....Congrats! how's ur wedding getting along? bet u must have had everything settled...now sittig back and relax..be a radiant bride huh