Raffles Town Club

Long time din come in here..... how's everyone?

Eve, looks like you have a very enjoyable honeymoon ya...

btw, have any of you (the ex RTC brides) did your solemnization there? I'm thinking of doing the solemnization on the day of my wedding dinner (before the dinner) and they told me that they can block out the lounge for me. But not sure if that would be private enough? any comments on that?

Hi Daphne,
mi! mi!!! ke keee....

had mi ROM before the wedding start!! & indicated that on mi wedding card too.

700pm Cocktail
730pm Guest to be seated
745pm Solemnization
800pm Banquet

Actually, the soleminzation was planned @ 8pm, but knowing s'porean; so state to start @ 745pm. So abt 90% guest reach on time & the dinner ends at 10pm!! We had our ROM on the stage infront of all our guest!!!

wise, mine would be slightly different...haha...cos i will be very stressed with all the guests as witnesses.... scared later i got stage fright and cannot even say "I Do"....haha.... so i will do the solemnization around 6 or 6.30pm latest at the lounge with just immediate families and close friends and whoever are early......

Hi Daphne,
Actualli... mi olso beli chicken. but on AD when the main door opens i put on a brave front & smile.... hubby was so kan cheong then he even signed on mi column... ha haaa....

most of mi friends & relatives feel that mi wedding was meaningful b'coz of the ROM.... it sort of remember theirs...

ahlo all BTB
anyone attending the bridal fair in sept?? mi going... hehe... =P

Hi Wise and Evelyn,
Mi and hubby finally decided to go Bali for honeymoon already... But we wan to stay in those private villa kind leh... not those hotel rooms kind... any recommendation? How much did u all spend there during your honeymoon huh??

Hi Daphne,
I also intend to have my ROM at RTC. But mine is similar to wise, having it during the banquet. I think it makes it more meaningful. But still awaiting news from HDB to see whether i can defer my ROM til next march... cos i've already bought my resale flat....

When's your AD? Mine is 18 march... ;->

Hi Shelyn,

We booked 2 weeks before the NATAS fair wif an agency to korea during winter period. paid S$1.5K per pax & spend only 500 for the trip. coz no time to go shopping!!!

Hi Shelyn,

mine is 8 Jan next year. Aiyo, my FH sure want the ROM at the dinner but it's me lor..... cos i don't want to end up so stressful.... so i decide to have it slightly earlier around 6. But have not check with my MUA if that's possible yet. If can, then i'll book for a JP liao. Btw, any extra charges if get a JP to solemnize on Sunday evening?

wise, korea is fun rite? i love it during winter.... very cosy feeling leh...... go with tour sure no time for shopping one. the last time i went, only managed to buy one more winter jacket niah... i missed their bbq chicken / hotplate chicken.... yum yum.....

Daphne,
We spend about $700ppax for Hotel and Air Ticket. We were there for 1 week and stayed at 2 areas. Another 1k on food and shopping and spa i think..

Hi Evelyn,

its' me princessLynette. I've got your email. your pictures are very well taken! You both look great! =) thanks for sharing the pictures.

p/s I've forgotten the previous password, thus my new nick lovebug

Hi Daphne,
It was olso hubby idea to hv ROM infront of the guest... but mi beli against it... but now am glad that i did it!!!

Korea trip was ok. It was a late winter, so no snow for the 1st week of Dec... we ski on ICE!! got lotsa blue black!!! ha haaa....

HI wise......

now while watching Da Chang Jin, make me itch for Korea again.....hee.....esp the food.....yum yum...... yeah, skiing was fun. I went to the Yong Pyong Resort, the film site of Winter Sonata..... and i had muscle ache and was sun burnt even in winter.... but fun!

hi evelyn... saw your pix.... you look fab.
Juat a question... how was your guests comments about the food at RTC after your dinner?

Wahh... i wonder where sweetpea went for her honeymoon...
so long still not back... or too busy to visit us here... =P

this thread seems to have mellow down quite a bit ... ...

just to ask, what are the themes RTC provide for the banquet? Is it possible if we wanna change the wedding favors they provided, and improvised on our own? in such case, do you think we can exchange for something else or ???

Ahlo everyone..
our RTC thread is extremely quiet hor.....
nothing much to do cos 7th mth rite??.. =P
any bride-to-be after the 7th mth???

Hmmm... I really wonder where sweetpea disappear to after her wedding... haha...

Hi LoveBug,
Why not u attend RTC's bridal fair in sept and ask the ppl there??.. they would be able to clear watever questions u might have...

Anyone attending the bridal fair?? I would be attending though have not called to book my place yet...

Hi wise,
hmm... my prep ah... nothing to do leh.. now 'eng eng cheng cheng' leh... haha..... juz got keys to my flat 2 weeks ago... but not doing major reno cos the flat v nicely done and v well maintained. So only doing painting.... so i not busy w reno work, also not busy w banquet yet... so very free lor..

I'm very happy managed to defer my ROM til AD... now deciding whether to have it during banquet or b4... i'm more for during cos i think it's more meaningful but HD quite against it.... so now still 'arguing'.... haha....

My gowns are ready.. but not going to try yet cos my mum says better dun go during 7th lunar mth... so wait til sept then try. But u know hor... i dreamt about my MTM EG twice leh... and both times hor i dreamt that they cut the gown til it's knee length!!!... hahaha... so scary.... then i was very sad in the dream... hahahaha =P

Hi Daphne,
The bridal fair is on 4 sept...

Hi shelyn,
Congratz!! U must be one proud house owner!! BTW, where is your house? am still doing mi reno.

your guest list & sitting arrangement, done liao? tat is the most headache one.

then need to order red wine? wedding cards? food tasting? bed? bed sheets? then an-chung etc...

Should go for ROM & AD together!! especially during... really romatic & meaningful. ok, let mi sell u some advantages of having it on during, ha haaa

1) Guests will come on time.
2) Dinner can start on time.
3) Dinner can end on time. (^_^)
4) Guests wouldnt be bored during the whole banquet, coz they will be guessing what will happened next.
5) most of mi guests still remember mi weddin!! especially ladies they felt so meaningful.

ke keee.

Oh your gowns are ready... share some fotos leh. it had been a long while since i last saw any WG & EG!! Oh, since u dream of them cutting e gown!! guess it wounldnt happened lah... u r too stress??. must b a mei mei bride ok. :D

Hey wise,
my house is at bt panjang blk 177... juz behind the bt panjang plaza... haha... quite house proud lah though the reno was not done by me..... hehe.... =P

so fast need to do guest list??.. my wedding next march leh.... so now stil nothing to do yet. I think Dec will be busy. I will be doing some invitation cards for friends... and also doing the wrist corsage and flower girl's basket and hair band etc etc... so now still sitting back and relaxing.

as for the ROM, I am totally for having it during dinner... but it's my HB who is against it leh. He feels that ppl will not be punctual even if u put the time there.. then if we stop them from coming in they might be unhappy... if dun stop then v disruptive cos it's supposed to be a solemn affair, and he also say some ppl esp the older ones will be bored.... etc etc etc... he can think of all kinds of excuses and reasons lah... I agree that it will be more meaningful and romantic to have it during dinner.. esp when we read out our personal vows using the mic in front of everyone... looking into each other's eyes... sigh sigh... but he dunno how to appreciate such feelings.... =(

the gowns hor... my BS dun allow us to take photos leh... wanted to take the other time but was 'reminded' we cannot do it... i'll try again next time =P

Hi shelyn,
Oh! mi will b staying tat area too.... senja. 3 LRT stops away.

the minute i confirm RTC, i start mi guestlist loh. & the list just ballooned!! ha haa... coz dont wanna to miss anyone out!!

@ first those were our worried too.
So our plans was to informed all the guests abt the ROM when during giving out our invites & told them the door will b shut during ROM & will b open again during 1st dish. So when RSVP we kept reminding them abt it. Next, we hire a bus to pick up all mi relatives. therefore the timing can b control. & mi dad, he told mi relatives that we had invited a JP ( to him is some high rank officer) so he told them pls be early. it works!!

& in our wedding card we state ROM starts @ 7:45pm. but actually it start @ 8pm. tat captures another 10% of late comers! in the end only a handful is late.

when yr PS is done then u show mi lah. no worries. am happy for u.

Hi shelyn

haha.... i'm also going to have my solemnization on same day as AD but not during dinner but rather before dinner cos i think i'll be too stressed to say my wows unless it's just a basic "I Do"..... otherwise, anything more, i don't think i can do it.

Hi wise,
i told him exactly the same thing after reading from the forum about how some brides did it.. but u know wat?.. he say hor... no need to RSVP leh!!!.... he says cos his parents and relatives all old ppl, they no need to rsvp one... cos they usu sure turn up if not will send representative. And the worse thing is!!!!.... he says no need to allocate tables!!!!.... juz count how many tables and let them sit where they like!!!.... i almost faint ah. Where got ppl like that one.... i almost explode talking to him. So i told him, ok u dun wan to rsvp and dun wan to allocate tables, then nvm. I told him one side of the aisle belongs to mi frens and relatives, the other side belongs to him. watever his guests do, up to him as long as my side is safe. Buai Tahan him leh...

but now we dun talk about these things anymore... hopefully when we talk about it again his mindset is better. if not i will faint ah

Hi Daphne,
Your plan is wat my HB wans... he wans to have it in a function room b4 the dinner. I think he's like u... will feel stressed saying too many things... haha.. =P

did u ask RTC whether they will lend us a function room??
I intend to go for the bridal fair and ask them. At the same time to see their new themes cos missed their april fair...

u going??

Hi shelyn,
Dun be upset. Guess he knows his relatives well. So if he feels no need RSVP or allocated seats then let him be loh. U just settle yr side & let him settles his. but at least need to find out how many is required.

for mi relatives olso "free seating!" i gave mi parents 10tables. so mom side got 4tables & dad side 6tables. example mom relatives will be seated from table 4-7, then dad 8-XX.

guess old generation are liked these.

shelyn, ya my coordinator told me that the solemnization will be held at the lounge which is enclosed and can accommodate at most 40 pax which is fine with me cos i'm just inviting family members and the jie meis and close friends only. Cos my solemnization will start quite late so a bit time constraint so i decide to go for small group only.

Hi Daphne,
wow! counting down liao. found yr AD fotographer?

taken PS? how abt honeymoon? tink NASA fair coming in Sept right?

BTW, where will u be staying?

Hi wise

yup, my AD photographer is a freelancer who is also my friend's ex colleague.
My PS is mid next month and for HM, dunno where yet leh.....
Sigh.... i'll be staying at Jurong..... so far away..... where are you staying now?

Hi Daphne,
OIC. so most of yr items are settled liao lah.

Jurong where? mi MIL stay @ JE. currently renting @ Bt batok. new house @ Bt panjang.

hope to move in by Sept/Nov!!

Check with you. Are you gals inviting any vegetarian for your dinner? I have some vegetarians and the cost per vegetarian is $55+++ unless I group all of them to one table. Any advise you gals can give me?

Hi cia

I will be having guests on vegetarian also. Not possible to group them in one table lor cos some are relatives and some friends..... unless they all know each other. I guess u got no choice? If more than half on a table, see if they can work out something for you?

Hi Daphne, Thanks! Will see what I can do cos if I were to add just like say a vegetarian to the table. My coordinator said, I will still be charge $700 per table and still have to pay additional $55+++ for that person.

Hi BlueAngel,
didnt hear fm u loong time too. how r u?? had been married for 8mth liao... so fast time flies hor. will b stayin @ Senja road. where r u stayin?
Can share your wedding fotos? [email protected]

Hi Cia,
Long time didnt hear fm u too. When is yr AD?
for mi case didnt "create" a special table for vege friends. i placed them wif their own group. & they were being served olso dish by dish. jus need to tell yr co-ord which table had a vege guests & the waiters will handle from there.

hmm... all the ex-brides coming back...
but wonder where sweetpea is... have been waiting for her to update us leh. can't wait to see her pics ;->

I think regarding the vege thing, we can maybe put 11 person in those tables with vegetarians, so 10 pl will eat the normal one so we wont lugi on 1 person, which will cost about 70 each leh. That's wat i intend to do for my vege and muslim guests...

Is there any difference when they charge by per person and by per table? muslim and vege same price??

Hi Cia,

I might have vegetarian guests as well as muslim guests too... gosh! the vegetarian meal will be charged separately at S$55??? hownowbrowncow!

Cia

This is my plan lah... if not too many like only 1 or 2 vegetarian, then i'll put them together with a table of 10 occupied guests so that table will have 11 guests lor. anyway, it's only additional of a few so i think they won't be so particular.

Hi Wise,
Yeah.. been busy with work.. ha ha! My AD is 18 sept, which is like next month? How's everything for you?

Ladies - I think I will do what Daphne is doing, going to start counting the no of vegetarians for the day.

Hi cia,
so u're the next BTB!!.. wow... very excited hor.. hehe.. after your wedding muz still remember to come here and chat with us hor. Dun disappear leh =P

Anyone signed up for the bridal show in sept??..
i signed up already but forgot to ask the time haha... so blur sotong

Hi Shelyn - No worries. Wills till drop by and chat with you girls. WE should have a gathering.. so can maintain the friendship..
But after my AD, I'll disappear for 2 weeks for my honeymoon..

hi wise

i already staying at jelapang. bought a resale flat lors. been married for 1 year.

i am trying to find the URL where i uploaded the wedding pics .. dunno where it is .. hmm.

pass to u next time. hubby asking me for dinner.

Hi ladies - you gals read the reports on RTC? Aiyoh.. me was giving out my wedding invitation to my colleagues and their first reaction was " Oh, the club that was bankrupt"?