Raffles Town Club

btw, i called RTC about this already. the club wasn't declared bankrupt leh but they lost the case lah.... hopefully the dinners and such still can continue. My coordinator says that so far, everything is per normal lor.

HI gals...
this thread pretty quiet leh.... so how's everyone?
Btw, is the fair still going on? Any news so far esp after the news report on their court case....

Hi there... how's everyone doing?
hi Wise, how's married life been for you so far? =)

Heard about the news on RTC?
Received a call from my coordinator the other day, hopefully things are like what she says, going on as normal.
The payout sum is not exactly a small amount wor... keeping my fingers crossed.

Hi jochan

wat did your coordinator tell you? yeah, i'm keeping my fingers and toes crossed esp when i read that the remaining 14000 members are considering to sue RTC too.....

Hi Jochan,
Good good. liked mi HB said got to get used to hv someone sleeping beside u... he heee.

as for RTC case, am keeping fingers, legs & eyes crossed for you gals too. but dun be too worried. everything will go well.

RTC owner misses deadline to pay up $10m
Class-action members may move for winding-up if payment is not made

(SINGAPORE) Raffles Town Club Pte Ltd yesterday failed to meet the deadline to pay $10 million to a group of members awarded $15 million following their class-action suit against the owner of the Whitley Road club.

The amount remained unpaid as of 7 pm yesterday.

The Court of Appeals had ordered Raffles Town Club Pte Ltd - which owns Raffles Town Club (RTC) - to pay each plaintiff $3,000, or about $15 million in total, plus costs.

When no payment is made or there is no evidence of intent to pay, a plaintiff's next option is to issue a Statutory Demand, which has to be met within 21 days. Such a demand is considered a prelude to a winding-up petition. In other words, Raffles Town Club Pte Ltd faces the prospect of being wound up or forced into liquidation if it does not pay up.

URL : http://www.asiaone.com/bt/bto_20050830_167847.html

hallo all! I'm contemplating RTC for my wedding in Mar/Apr next year. We love the place but with all these news going around, I'm still not sure if we're going to sign with RTC. What do you all think?

Hi cia

I doubt they will wound up lah but most prob being taken over cos they can't possible close down the whole place rite since so much is spent to build the facilities etc..... (i'm also trying to convince myself like that! haha).... did u call your coordinator? did she say anything?

oh dear.... if they really wind up then where are we going to hold our banquet??... sigh sigh....
and i think the reputation of RTC will also go down...
and so will our AP rate... haha =P

i signed up for the bridal fair... they din call to tell mi it's cancelled leh. At this time when they need money, i suppose they will do everything to earn it so most prob wont cancel it rite?

i just harrassed my coordinator....haha... ok, what she told me is that currently, they are still going on with operations and everything per normal. nothing in details but she also feel that it won't be closed down cos of the financial input to the whole building but not sure about being taken over though...... sigh, it's a headache rite? if we find other place, we lost the 3k deposit but not sure if they will really close down...... but i think at least not for the next few months? btw, the fair is going on per normal and i think they will most prob say something at the fair to alleviate our fears.....

hmm.... going on as per normal now doesn't mean in future also as per normal rite?.. =P
i paid 5k deposit leh!!!... how come huh??...
hopefully the worse that can happen is being taken over... and hopefully the company that takes over can do a good job, if not better... =P

hee shelyn, not sure why different amount of deposit but i paid mine very early in the year so maybe different? that's what i told my coordinator that what about in the near future like in the next 6 mths, would they be in operations.... and how far in advance will they inform us of such changes.... she will check with the management and get back to me and i told her, i'll be harrassing her again if i don't hear from her by end of this week.... haha..... anyway, i think they are also stressed cos their job is on the line as well.....

actually i think if RTC really really cant pay then most likely someone will take over lah
juz like the case for pinetree club...
i think they are only facing problems with cashflow now but their assets shd be more than enuff to pay them... so hopefully the problem can be resolved smoothly..... and quickly....

i agree with shelyn cos they are still so new.... a real pity to close it down and i think a lot of people will want to "chen huo da jie" (rob amist of fire) so most likely will have pp keen to take over.....

anyway, just hope that they are responsible enough to inform us of any major changes.... at least must have enough notice period given to make any changes lah.....

Hi Cia,
i used winebos.
http://www.winebos.com.sg
RTC is olso their customer.

Hi sheyln,
tat time mi olso paid S$5K leh. During tat time e case is olreadi on, & we were olso worried. but guess it will be even more expensive to "close down" then to do a payout to the members.

Hi Wise

I have emailed my pics url to you last week or early this week. Sorry, I have poor memory.

I din get ur email leh.

buy wedding insurance if u are concerned about RTC closing down. i bought mine from NTUC for my weding banquet, cost about $100 plus for peace of mind. i checked a few agencies and only ntuc seemed to be the only one with wedding insurance.
just call the ntuc hotline and they shud be able to direct you to the right person.

wedding insurance also cover ur bridal gown and what nots lah.

Gals, I just got a call from the GM of RTC. He assured me that the club operations will still go on as usual and that it will not disrupt our wedding dinners. I really do appreciate such calls and it's a form of assurance to me.

Hi Wise,

You told me I got mail ... So I am puzzled I din get your email you see ... I assume your mail content is ur URL to your wedding pics .. I din get your email. Could you please email me your URL to ur wedding pics again? Thanks.

I use Uncle CF Tien. He is a nice nice uncle. Feel very comfy with him although he look quite cheena ... But he is very good with people and esp. old folks .. .Arh you should have seen the way he "flirt" with the aunties and uncles to get nice shots. and the best part is his price is very reasonable.

Hi Daphne,

Yeap, I got the NTUC one, same as what Wise attached the URL...

Wise! I din know you got it too! I just wanted peace of mind lor .. not bcos of RTC "reputation" but generally peace of mind lah ... I think the insurance cost is something very ji li one .. I think $128

Hi Shelyn

You paid $5K because you have more tables lah. Daphne paid $3K probably because she has less tables lah ... I paid $3K also cos I told Terence I only wanted 30 tables ... but actually when the guest list confirmed, become 40 tables!!! Hee hee.

Hi Cia

I used ITALIAN wine. Heh Heh. Something unusual right ... Very vain hor ... Anyway, my hubby settle the wine portion one.

Contact
Wine Legend Nicholas 91008279

My hubby settle the wine portion cos nearer the wedding date hor, my brain stop functioning already. Really thankful for my hubby organisation skills.... Realised that over the years, I start something and he will complete. Hee Hee.

Hi BlueAngel,
Strange leh... thot mi email u liao... hmmm.. anyway, will send again.

Oh, we bght the insurance fm NTUC too. not b'coz of RTC, but not sure what may happened.

Hi Daphne,
for mi red wine think we bght merlot @ S$18.50 or $15.80 sorry cannt remember. we got fm winebos coz they allow us to do consignment. ie. to pay for those red wine which we "open" only.

it best to bring some friend to try the wine (FOC) before deciding, unless u know wat wine u liked. coz' mi guests feedback abt red wine was mix. some loved it. some said could b better...

anyway, we liked the fruity taste! Cheerz!

Hi Daphne- How many tables are you having? For me, I'll be having less than 40 tables, thus no waiver of wine corkage. What I did was me bought 1.5L of wine to save on the corkage. If I'm not wrong, I paid $33 for per bottle.

Hi cia

did you buy your package at their bridal fair? i have booked for 30 tables but not sure of the exact number yet.... maybe 34 - 36? Btw, your AD next sunday rite? Must be very excited.....
i'm thinking of going down on that day to view your setup. is that ok with you?

Hi cia

did you buy your package at their bridal fair? i have booked for 30 tables but not sure of the exact number yet.... maybe 34 - 36? Btw, your AD next sunday rite? Must be very excited.....
i'm thinking of going down on that day to view your setup. is that ok with you?

hihi.. anyone care to share with me their package and perks? email me at [email protected] k... thanks!

i'm not sure if i should use RTC or OCC cos OCC further but like nicer... RTC nearer but i dunno if good anot... any comments on the ambience, service and food?

thanks much! my ad is nxt yr! must book liao man..stress =)

Hi Daphne

I think my wine was around $18 per bottle. sorry leh, my hubby settle one. he not in town. so cannot confirm.

Hi Wise

I din get your email lehhhhhh even for the 2nd time. Strange huh.

hi cia! i think i went down to see ur setup that day sia.... just impromptu decide to check the place out then RTC said they had a wedding...
wah so nice leh the place.. so nice sia =)

u mean some of u got waiver for corkage ah? how to get waiver? did u all manage to get any extra perks from them?

hi tupliz, wat time did u go down to RTC? I also went down to check out the place on Sunday. The setting is nice rite? I think i'm going for that setting too.....

so have u signed up with RTC already? I think the better perks are usually from the fair and they just had one early this month.

heh i haven sign up yet leh... i went down rather late... like around 10pm or so...

yah! i was impressed sia.... now just wondering how much and what perks they have cos i'm on a very tight budget... hee...

thinking of wkday so that cheaper..

Hi tulipz, if you want to find out about the budget, just give a call to RTC. My coordinator is Natalie and she's quite a nice gal and you can look for her to see how she can packaged it for you. weekday is definitely cheaper than weekends.... and what i like about their ballroom is that it's pillarless!

Hi daphne and tulipz ..
actually i'm beri interested to hold my banquet there too.. but the prob is abt the suein issue between the mgt and members... i'm worried... cz if i sign up, my AD wld onli b end of 06, which is kinda long... duno whether anythin wil happen in between anot... sigh.. the case not settled yet rite?
btw, tulipz and daphne, when is ya AD?

Jennifer

My AD is Jan next year. In fact, I raised this qn to my coordinator too and she assured me that operations on going as usual and guess what? Even the GM called me and assure me that operations and the suing thing are separate and even wrote me a letter to assure me. Anyway, at most, it's just a change of management lor.... won't close down the place lah cos a lot of investment went in already lor and it's so new.....
You can talk to the coordinator there to see what they say lor.....

my AD is also end of next yr.... i think the suing issue is ok lah...

sigh i checked with terence liao... they increase price on wkday from 528+++ to 588+++...
if add wine etc.. then break my budget le..

so sad... goodbye RTC =~(

Hi tulipz
they juz had the bridal fair 2 weeks ago... corkage waiver was given, with additinal discounts... so not sure whether they still giving it now. Maybe u can chk with them?