Raffles Marina

Hi Septembre, Vee Kee and SagiGirl! Erm, I hope someone is still reading or checking back at this thread! I've been looking all over the place for a nice outdoor venue, and have finally narrowed it down to two possible places: Raffles Marina, or one of the restaurants at Stadium Waterfront. I haven't called up either one of them yet. My main concern is having a contingency plan if it rains, because I plan on having my solemnisation out in the open! And Septembre, I'm also planning my wedding for the first quarter of 2003, wonder if it's too late to book!

I'd really appreciate if any of you ladies here can help me - I just want to know roughly how much they charge per table. I want to have the dinner at the Bistro, but I read in one of the above postings that they won't change the tables/chairs, or put on any seat covers, is that really true?!! But the tables now each has seven chairs (I counted the other day), isn't that very odd??!

Thanks in advance for any info!

Planning to hold my wedding next year. Just wondering what is the market of 1 table at Raffles Marina Country Club? Is the place really romantic and classic? thanks.

Hi kite,

You are looking at their outdoor or ballroom? Anyway for ballroom, their wkday price is $488++ per table and wkends price is $528++ per table. Yes its a nice place but very far. Guess it would be gd to drop by there urself there to take a look.

I am planning to hold my wedding dinner next year at Raffles Marina. Anyone can tell me what is the market rate for 1 table now? Is the atmosphere/decoration looks classic and romantic? thanks.

Hi Sliver,

Thanks for your reply. I was thinking about the ballroom. As for the dinner, may i know how many course is it? 9 or 10 course?

does the ballroom cater for march-in ceremony? thanks

Hi kite,

No problem. It's a 10 course (inc tea). Err not sure abt march in but I believe it does. If you want I can email you the quotation that they sent me.

So wat other places are you considering?

Hi Sliver,

So what abt you? where did u hold your wedding dinner? Well, at 1st i thought of shangri-la rasa sentosa as i love to have a beach wedding. but then i realised it's not really practical to hold wedding at sentosa island. hmm wat abt orchid club, raffles town club, sheraton towers or even copthorne waterfont hotel? i have these on my mind now besides raffles marina.

Hi kite,

I will be having mine at republic of spore yacht club. Ve made tentatively booking with them. Mine will be outdoor.

Considered orchid country club (occ) but dun like their outdoor. As for raffles marina, their outdoor is pretty x n the place is too far.

How many tables are you looking at? OCC grand ballroom very nice but I think min 40 tables? (if I m not wrong).

Hi Sliver,

i have just gotten the wedding packages quotations from Raffles Marina. Btw, i find their price is quite reasonable around $500+. However just wondering is the food nice?

Those ppl who held their wedding at Raffles Marina can u elaborate more? thanks.

Hi kite,
Yes their indoor package is quite reasonable. It's the outdoor that is expensive.

Btw, have you been to raffles marina urself?

Hi Kite,

haha...it has been a long time since I popped by this forum.

I had my wedding there 1 year ago. It was fantastic. I had favourable comments about the food and the atmosphere. The only glitch was that it rained that day, so no sunset to see...

As for the worry abt the distance...not to worry. with the free transport, pple will make their way their. If people you invited are true friends, they will definitely make there way there. I had a 95% turnout rate which I think is quite good!

If you want to see some pictures, email me at [email protected], I can share with you my actual day pictures taken at the club!

Hi Sliver,

We havent decided whether to have an indoor or outdoor wedding. I think i prefer indoor just in case raining.

Nope i hv never been to Raffles Marina personally before.

Hi Vee Kee,

I have sent an email to you. Hope to hear from you soon. Thanks

Hi Vee Kee,

Thanks so much for your email and wedding photos. You look great on that day. Btw from your photos, Raffles Marina looks very classy especially the reception n lobby there.
Btw if possible can you send me more photos on the ballroom itself and oso the dining tables as well plus the decoration? thanks.

Hi Kite,

So sorry for the delay... was out of country over the weekend.. I will try to send to you ASAP once I have the time okie?

i hv a voucher selling off at low price - a complimentary table for 10 persons (any wedding packages except solemnization pkg).

e voucher is valued between $428++ - $628++ depending which pkg u booked w.

if interested or need more details can email me at [email protected]

HI THERE!

im contemplating to hold my wedding banquet at raffles marina in 2005...

hoping tat someone in tis forum has also taken up their wedding package n willing to share their experience wif me!

<font color="ff6000">THANKS A MILLION </font>
<font color="119911">CHEERS!</font>

me and my FH intened to hold our ROM at Raffles Marina. jus wondering if anyone has held their ROM there. We would like to have your opinions on the place. Or are there any better places for outdoor ROM.

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Hi Maiden,

I am thinking of holding my wedding at RM in late 2005 or early 2006. When is yours?

I had went over to speak to the coordinator, Margaret in early Jul &amp; also withness two weddings, one banquet &amp; one outdoor. Hv u check out the place already?

I was quite impressed wif the ballroom, pillar-less. And they are willing to accept less than 20tables (min requiremt) at an additional cost of $50++ for each table.

I also like the outdoor theme but am concerned wif the old folks not liking the idea. And also concerned wif the humidity of the day. But the couple can make an usual entrance via their boat charter! =)

Price is quite reasonable too. If your date is earlier, then perhaps u shd drop a line to the Event Exec, Margaret at [email protected]

HI,

i wanted badly my wedding at RM...but when both our parents heard that its at Tuas, they objected strongly because of the distance. I've been surfing through threads after threads to get reviews of other venues, and looking through the hotel websites but I still love RM because of its unique scenary, grandeur, good reviews on the food. You can almost have the whole place to yourself!

Anyone who had their wedding at RM care to share on the service of the free transportation? How did you make sure the guests recognise the bus? Which are the best pickup points?

Appreciate alot your experience. Thanks!

Hi Zenn

Care to tell me how much u spent on yr ROM @ SYC??
Cos me love the beach/sea type ROM..if able to see sunset even better...

How is the surrounding/atmosphere?

Brgds/summer

Hallo Zenn,

U took pic from SYC?
Care to show me few of them...so that me hv a rough idea on the surrounding too

Me planning my ROM next yr so now trying to find venue..btw me staying near the west area...

So actually either SYC / Raffles Marina is fine .. but if compare the 2 whicg one is more nicer and magnificant??

Need some ideas

Me email add: [email protected]

Thks very much gal

Hi summer79, i will be holding our rom at raffles marina on december this year. Simply love the scenary there

Hi Jumbo,

Wow really!!! So how much u spent in all? Rem to send me some of yr pics taken cos i am really interested in having my rom there too...

If possible, send me the details of the menu..

Appreciate very much ...Enjoy yr big day gal

halo summer79, have not settle the bill yet lah, cos the event yet to come. Now busy distributing invitation card. update you again, k. Have you been to Raffles Marina? I'm staying in jurong, therefore quite convenient for me to go there. Update you again, k. Take care

Hi Zenn and jumbo, I m planning to hold my ROM event outdoors too in May 2005. Now scouting for ideas, got some quotations from Raffles Hotel @ The Lawn but still considering as my FH thinks that it's abit pricey for 25-30 paxs.

Zenn, care to share your pics n the details of the menu?
Jumbo, would like to see your pics as well after your Big day?

Hi newkiddy...

I am considering raffles marina too for my wedding dinner....but almost everybody i talk to complaint about the distance....

which is very true loh...even me and hb drives there also feel its very far (worse still, we only started the journey from central)....can't imagine the journey for my most of my mum side relatives who stay in the east (bedok)....

luckily most of my friends said no problem as long as transport is provided....and they feel that we can do what we want since it is our wedding!!

btw....anyone know how's RM banquet staff service???

Moon Little

My fiance and I went to RM over the weekend to check out the place and met the coordinator, Jovin. She was ok.

We also thought the distance is really out of the way and worse still, we took a bus there from Boon Lay interchange. But the moment we stepped into RM and saw the beautiful scenery, all the complaint abt the distance disappeared.

I guess as long as your guests are sincere about sharing the joy of your impt day with you, they should not mind too much of the distance, furthermore, transport is provided.

We are tempted to get the lawn for a buffet style wedding dinner since it is the cheapest outdoor wedding venue we can find. I think if you decide to go to RM, no point getting the ballroom since u can have a ball room in any of the hotels in town. U should go RM for a different experience. The coodinator also told us that if we want the ballroom, she won't advise us to take RM cos not worth it for the distance. But if we want an outdoor wedding with beautiful scenery as the backdrop, then RM is the place to be.

Hi Srumpee,

thanks for your advice...wanted to have it at the lawn too but mum doesn't like buffet and we are worried that if it rains on the actual day, then we have to shift the event to the ballroom (and yet still paying for the o/d price which is more expensive than the ballroom package.....

but what the coord say is true...if i am going to get the ballroom might as well pick somewhere nearer the city - more accessible and grand - which is why i am still hesistating....hmmm...

but simply love the place and the sunset feeling.....has been pressurised by hb to decide on the venue by this week cos not much time left and i had been choosing for months already.....*hai*

If you really wanna outdoor dinner, you can consider republic of singapore yacht club. It's slightly smaller version of RM n located at west coast. Very nice place too and not as far as RM. However, its best you can get some friends to help cos mine had some hiccup caused by them.

Moon, rsyc do ve outdoor chinese dinner...

zenn,

how was your ROM at SYC? I was thinking of having it there also. It would be around 3-3.30pm next Jan. Afraid that my make-up will melt during such hot weather.Is the place warm &amp; noisy? the horns from the ship seems distracting, wonder u have this problem? Did u do any deco on your own? The setting at Beacon seems pain....care to share more of your experience with me b4 i book this place....many thanks.......

Sorry for late reply as nv notice this thread...

Hwee Hoon,
I supposed to ve mine at 6pm but guests were late so started at around 615pm. Was abit too sunny then. The sun actually shined in n my hubby cant really open his eyes during the solmnization. Think 5+ would be gd. 3+ mayb too hot too.

You having yours during the weekends? If so, you ve to prepare that the place will b quite crowded. I have no problem wif the horns fm the ship. As for the decor, as I am having dinner there too, I made used of the flower stand from the dinner for my rom.

I encountered some hiccup on that day. You can find out more from rsyc thread.

Summer &amp; Jolene,
Sorry dun ve my AD photos online. Other than the hiccup, the wedding was great. Oh I had my first march in sailed in by boat and all guests commented this is a very romantic wedding

Summer, rsyc is a smaller version of raffles marina. The place is as nice as RM. The reason why I choose rsyc is because of the location. Raffles Marina is abit far for some of the guests.

Jolene, mine is dinner followed by the solemnization. Had outdoor chinese dinner...

FH and I went to RM last saturday and we really love the place. We are opting for the lawn buffet dinner because like someone on the thread said, that's what's most special about the place which we willingly travelled all the way there for. As for the distance, i calculated that it takes about 25-30mins drive from the east (i stay near siglap) which is actually not that bad considering it is a straight rd all the way w/o traffic lights (ECP-AYE).

Chovin, the events planner was nice. Much nicer than some other places we have been to. She gave practical advice about transport/logistics and is very helpful to us. I think anyone wanting to try something special shd go take a look. In fact we anticipated that the 'old folks' may be against a 'outdoor-buffet' wedding rather than a traditional sit-down one. So we actually brought our parents there on saturday for them to view the place and ask all the questions they want. I must say that Chovin has been really patient!

All in all, thank god the weather was fantastic on last saturday (we had dinner there and saw the sunset - Beautiful!!) so our parents had a chance to see how special the place is for us and how much it would mean for us to get married there, as long as the transport problem can be solved. We even worked out how some tables for the older relatives can have waiters to serve them so that it would be easier for them during the buffet.

So take heart! If anyone is really interested in the place, it can work out!

Hi moon_little,

thanks for sharing and sorry for my late response. Ever since the 'shocking response' from both parents &amp; in laws objection, my fiance and I decided to oblige to some hotels in town. Phew...its really hard to make a choice (am sure you know what I mean), while hoping the hotel is impressive yet budgeted. Till date, I have shortlisted 3 hotels: Furama @ Riverfront, Le Meridien or Holiday Inn Parkview. Personally I am impressed by Le Meridien ballroom, if not for its image of old and sleezy lobby. If food and services are deemed best at Furama Riverfront, we'll sign the contract this week as we are looking at June 2005.

I have created a new thread 'Le Meridien vs Holiday Inn' , pls feel free to comment.

Love,

hi zenn,

Din rcv yr email yet? pls send to [email protected]... thks gals..

Me too staying at jurong area..but i hv yet to go down personnel to Raffles Marina to chk it out..well after yr ROM then let us see yr pics loh... so wat time is yr ROM? Hope it's not so sunny day for u ..else yr hubby start sweating!!! kekekke...

Hi Ladies, should check out Raffles Marina for their ROM and wedding package. I attended a wedding, which is Wedding by the Lawn, the bride and Groom came in by a Boat instead of the usual March in... Its really grand and nice sight...
Food is good, great sceneries... a bit far though... but how big can Singapore be... kekeke

Hi summer,

I ve resent. Pls check.

Think RM has v gd feedback. Think it's worth to go down and take a look urself.

Hi Aurorin,
do you have your Raffles Marina event planner's contact and email? I will like to know more about their packages...
Have you choosen your wedding date? I am planning mine sometime in July so that there will be a higher chance for good weather for outdoor wedding...

I've signed up the ROM package with them. Am interested in their wedding package too but have not discuss with Margaret yet. So, when's yours?

Have anyone of you been to any outdoor wedding in Raffles Marina at the lawn?

Care to share your comments? I really really want to have my outdoor wedding there. But after telling our folks abt the idea, the 'Huh?' Urggh?'
sound started. My mother even said she will go to the temple to pray for a good weather for my wedding. My FMIL also said we better 'Ah mi Tuo Fuo' for a good weather.

But if I can't find a better location for my dream outdoor wedding, I will just go ahead with RM.

Hi Jumbo!
Great! Margaret is on leave.. Manage to get Chovin instead. She emailed me some information and pictures, the pictures showed some really beautiful set up! Probably I will be going down to see Chovin one of these days...

Hi Srumpee!
I attended the Lawn wedding before... That's the reason why I choose Raffles Marina. I read one of the thread, and another gentleman from Raffles Marina call Richard said that, no matter what the weather will be, its still our special day.. Everyone will still rejoice with us... hahaha I totally agree!