Raffles Hotel

• Thread starter Thread starter rafflesian
  • Start date Start date
I'm new to this but hope you are willing to help out this Aussie. I'm from Melbourne Australia and Im planning my ceremony for Raffles Lawn.
I would be ever so grateful if you could send me photos or perhaps your contract details if you had a ROM/ceremony on the Lawn. Pauline (the Catering Sales Manager) sent me my contract but it doesn't seem to list everything in detail.

Ãf you are happy to send me photos, my address is [email protected]

I'm excited about the upcoming wedding and I hope it goes well for all of you.
CC

Hi there CC,

My contract too doesn't state exactly what's to be included as part of the lawn setup. However when I asked Agnes, my wedding coordinator, she said that it'll be the standard chairs, chair covers, red carpet, sound equipment, mikes, centre table for signing of documents.

For flowers, if you do not wish to top up, you can ask the banquet manager to bring the flowers from the ballroom down to the lawn. Just make sure you do not choose flowers that wilt easily in the heat.

If you wish to have drapes at the gazebo, that would set you back by a thousand.

Ive got a contact for a balloonist given to me by Agnes. Let me know if you want it.

Ive asked Agnes to bring cocktails forward to 6pm as my lawn solemnization would be at 6.30pm. Soft drinks and iced water to be served then as it may get hot. No fans would be provided.

Let me know if you need more info

Hi Vez

Thanks so much for sharing your experience and notes. I love the photo attached. Your tips about the flowers and drapes are very handy so thanks for that too.
As I'm from Australia, my plan is to have a morning ceremony, High Tea in the Casuarina room in the afternoon and then late at night we are going out for seafood down the East Coast. My partner and I love our food so much that our wedding in Singapore is also a celebration of the wonderful gastronomic delights that your country produces. Our friends from Australia also love your food so this will be a great experience for everyone to spend time together & have a holiday all in one. You guys are so lucky to have such fantastic food.

I shall try and attach some pics that I received from Pauline at Raffles.
Cheers again Vez for your great suggestions.
CC

Hi there CC,

Glad to be of help!
Im sure you'll have a great wedding. When's yours? Mine's on 1st July 07. Photo's not mine...not too sure who passed it to me previously.

Haha, I know what you mean about fantastic food...I live in the East. You might want to get a copy of "Makansutra 2007" a guide on Singapore's best food. It's available at all major book stores eg Times, MPH, Borders, Kino. Deciding where to go and what to eat might be mind boggling at first
So far, everything that Ive picked out from that book has been good...high compliments as I'm a foodie myself!

Have a great wedding and many fantastic years of wedded bliss!

Hi there Brides,

I went for a hair cut today...he's a freelance hair stylist recommended by my makeup artist TG Goh. His name's Paddy. I must say that he's really good!
And the haircut was cheap! $45 during CNY, else it's $40.

If you would like to give him a try, make an appointment with him at 96308420.

Hi Vez

Makansuta 2007 here we come. I shall see if my Borders in Melbourne stocks it.
As for my wedding it will be early Feb next year. I know I'm planning ahead of time but I think it helps to organise these things in the early days. No point stressing when you leave things to the last minute.

Wishing you all the best with your Wedding in July.

Thanks again fellow foodie Vez,
CC

Raffles Lawn

hi raffles brides, checking on behalf of a friend. By any off chance if there are any raffles brides looking to transfer their packages on 30 Jun / 1st Jul/7th Jul / 8th Jul this year, pls email me at [email protected]. Many thanks

<font color="119911">hi Rabs, have you checked with the Raffles coordinator if these dates are taken already? If they aren't, then you can book with them directly.</font>

Hi Lyons, tx for your suggestion but my frd has checked but all the above dates at raffles are fully booked so wanted to also check on this forum as well.

Hi there HweyHwey!

Thanks for the gorgeous photos! The ballroom looks great...it looks so pretty with the candles!
May I ask what flowers did you use as the centrepiece? I'm thinking of a red white and gold theme. Were you able to choose the colour of the candle? I'm hoping for gold or yellow candles.

I'm torn between red and white roses or red roses and white lilies...I personally love lilies but they may not look very nice next to roses... Any advice??

Hi Minmin,

How you been? Long time no hear! I've also got a friend working at Biopolis but he's at A*...Biopolis is a large place!! Heard there's some good food there. It must be nice working at the same place as your hubby...makes it so convenient to meet up for lunch and can also go to work and go home together!
How's your gown coming along??

Hey Minmin,

Was reading the thread first timer buying HDB flat just now and saw you there. Read that you're intending to get a flat at commonwealth? That's where Im gonna settle too!
My FH's current place at Ghim Moh would be enbloc and therefore we'll be shifting there. At least once they build the flats which would be sometime in 2011!! Would you be shifting to the same part of Commonwealth? Ie opposite Ghim Moh? Yummy food at the Ghim Moh food centre there!

Hi Vez,
Been super busy lately.
Haiz, I din get the commonwealth flat in the end. Got a lousy queue no. and when it got to our turn to select, all left the low level units. You mean you got a unit at commonwealth already?
Actually my FH and I want to apply for the flats that are going to be released for balloting at Ghim Moh. You know when they are going to release it to the public?
Meanwhile, we will stay with his parents cos we might have plans to go overseas for a couple of yrs. :P can save more money in the meantime.
I am going to try my gown after CNY. How about you? You should have the draft of your gown out already right? Must show me a picture of it ok?

Hweyhwey,
did you use standard centrepiece? I don't remember the standard one comes with candles. Think it looks so much nicer and more romantic with candles!

<font color="119911">hi hweyhwey, did you top up to change your centrepiece? I don't like the standard flower pots they put on the centrepiece but scared have to top up if change

Hi Vez, minmin &amp; bride,
sorry for late reply.... we didn't top up for the flower... but the flower settled by my husband... so i a bit blur... he say he just told pauline that he want to use candle, and what colour he wants...that's all.

we use red and white.. he also not very sure... he said should be red roses and some kind of white lily... he forgot what's the name already... i see if i have any other photos that can see the flowers clearer then i post... hehe

<font color="119911">hi hweyhwey, did you take the raffles invitation card? Do you have a picture of the card and do you know what colours they have available?

Also, which printer did you approach and how much did you pay? Sorry ah.... ask so many questions :p</font>

hey gers also have been pondering on the very same questions what bride is asking?will really appreciate all ex-Raffles brides for their advice....

My coordinator said that printer is Jas** so went to check out threads in the wedding cards section and seems like there are many unhappy comments about them...

Current Raffles-brides too,please contribute your opinions...

Advice and tips very much appreciated...

Hi Minmin,

My FH's current flat at Ghim Moh is en block so we're guaranteed a replacement flat at Commonwealth. Should be selecting an apartment sometime beginning of next year. Think only after that then would they open it to the public. The commonwealth ones would only be ready in 2011...Loonnnng time more!!
But as you said, more time for to save up and reduce the loan taken

However I believe that's another lot of flats to be built nearer to Holland V ie in front of the public swimming complex. Ie Holland Drive?? You might want to try for that one instead as it should be ready earlier than the Commonwealth ones. I also think it's at a better location. Too bad for they are not offering those flats for my FH's enbloc flat.

Okie, will email draft of my gown once it's done...but don't think it would look nice leh as no beadings/embroidery. I'm having a cheong sum for my EG. Hoping to lose fats at the thighs and stomach and NO where else!! ;)

Hi Hweyhwey,

Thanks for your tips!
Would be great to see some closeups. I was thinking of lilies too but not sure how it would look next to roses due to the large difference in size.

Happy Chinese New Year to ALL!!

Hi Vez and all other Raffles Brides!
Happy new Yr!

Vez, wah then meanwhile where are you going to stay after your wedding? With your in-laws too?

wah 2011 is a long way to go, probably wont even be able to look at Ghim Moh anymore.

Yay! am going to collect my rings next week already, cant wait!

Hi Minmin,

Yeah, 2011 is a real long way...but till then, I'll stay at Ghim Moh. My FH has his own place currently. He got his current flat with his brother when he was still a PR. However his younger brother got married and moved out so the flat is now his. Otherwise I don't think I can last the wait till 2011!! ;)

Cool!! You must be excited! I already got my rings but they are not engraved yet..dunno what to engrave in them! Send me a photo of your rings? I'm sure they're beautiful.

How did your gown trying go?

<font color="119911">hi minmin and vez, do you girls have pics of your wedding bands? I'm collecting mine in apr and will post it here once i get it

wah... when are your ADs ah? Sorry I forgot but it seems pretty soon!</font>

Hi Bride,

My AD's 1st July. Yup it's soon but yet I still havent gotten down to doing stuff...sigh. Think I'll piah at the last minute as usual...People's always asking me whether all settled or not and I'll look blur and ask what else is there other than leaving it to the hotel and bridal studio?

I found photos of the rings at the website. They're very very simple as plan to use them daily. Was considering the row of diamonds but for sure would drop off as Im so rough with my stuff. Mine's the Tiffany band and my FH's one is the 6mm Lucida band. He likes big and fat ring whereas I wanted something to match my engagement ring. His ring looks way fatter in real life than the photo at the website.

Tiffany

458448.jpg

Lucia

458449.jpg

<font color="119911">hi vez, your ring very nice! from tiffany eh? very popular design too. how much did you pay for both rings? ours are from aspial but i think they can be found at lee hwa too. mine's from the jorn rainer series whereas FH didn't like any of the jorn rainer designs for men so he got another series, can't remember the name liao</font>

I cant seem to find my ring design on the website. I bought from Soo Kee. When I collect them from the store next week I take a picture to post it here? Both mine and FH's exactly the same.

My AD dec, think later than Bride's right? but going to ROM in May. Time passes so fast!

Vez, me postponed my gown fitting to mid march cos my boutique says they will have new collections then. Will try to ask FH to take snapshots of me in the gowns then! dunno if the boutique will allow. haha.

Hi Min,

Hmm, true...better check with your BS. Don't want to offend them accidentally. Have fun choosing!!

Hi Bride,
Yup you guessed right. We looked at other rings. Some of them were fat too but flat and 90degree edges whereas FH likes the rounded edges and fat fat look.. We thought of customizing but after scouting around, found out that it would cost the same. Think they cost around $3.5K in total.

<font color="119911">hi minmin, are you designs the very thin type from soo kee? I also saw quite a few from soo kee so maybe you can describe them to me? Ya, my AD in oct
time FLIES!

Hi vez, ic... more of the time guys like fat fat rings whilst girls like thin thin ones

which BS are you girls going for?</font>

Hi Bride,
my rings are quite thick. I dun like thin ones. Its two-tone, white gold on the outside, and in the middle is a thin band of yellow gold and a row of diamonds round it. It sounds quite commplicated, hehe but i like it cos its unique.
Just thought that I wanted smth that is not so common.

<font color="119911">hi minmin, OIC! I think I know which one you bought
yeah, yellow gold not common nowadays.</font>

hey all.... yesterday i went to try my rings...
they dun fit! they were super lose. And its slightly different from the ones on display. Its a bit more chunky and thicker. not nice!!!

But they going to help us re-order though. Its going to take another 2 mths!

i also dunno leh... thought they got standard mould to make the rings one. My FH's is ok, just slightly lose but wont drop off the finger unless he shakes it hard.
See how lor, i think if they dun rush it out on time for our actual solemnization, they would have to loan us a set of rings first already.

Hi Minmin,

Hope you manage to get the perfect size before your wedding! You all prepared for the upcoming solemnization? Do send me photos of the solemnization yah?

Was wondering, do we wear our rings during the pre-weddiing PS?

Hi Vez,
Not really prepared for my solemnization also. The place we intended to have our solemnization at is so disappointing! Or rather the management is so insincere. We asked them almost a mth ago to send us a quotation and menu to hold our event there, but they keep dragging it till now still no news. My FH called them, his Dad also called them, I called and emailed them, and they still dun wan to reply!! so angry!
Think we wont ever consider that place anymore. Now the worst thing is that we already invited the JP, and we fixed our date, but we got no venue!!! dunno if anybody can give suggestions? We just wan a small gathering for about 20 pax with high tea reception, but we also dun want to cater at home. how??
Btw Vez, I think I would wear the rings for the photoshoot. Somehow makes the picture more complete. :P

<font color="119911">oh dear... so sorry to hear that minmin. But i strongly advice you not to go back to them. Even if they reply now, can you imagine how much of a hassle it would be to liase things with them?

ok, don't worry, there are plent of places you can hold a small tea recep. Here are some suggestions: (of course, you should visit the "wedding banquets" thread of this forum to get more ideas, yah? my suggestions are also subjet to the budget you have, I'm just tossing out what I'm thinking

restaurants
- jewelbox or altivo (nice view of sentosa)
- jade restaurant @ fullerton (just book a room with 2 tables)
- restaurants @ one rochester
- villa bali
- bliss restaurant @ punggol park
- scarlet hotel's breeze restaurant or desire

unique places
- go to www.nparks.gov.sg and check out bukit timah nature reserve. They've got a view point that's secluded enough from the public and has an area for nice solemnisation. I did a company event there before and it was really nice if you like garden settings. Caterers should be able to do the setting for you. The website will also let you see botanic gardens.
- spa boutique. got this from another thread (http://www.spaboutique.com.sg/)
- bacchus boathouse (http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/6/447132.html?)
- olive restaurant @ labrador park (http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/6/360743.html?1172420038)
- masonic club (http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/91431/318676.html?1168265570)
- the V tearoom (www.thevtearoom.com)

you only have 20 persons so it's up to you how much you want to spend, yah?</font>

Hi Minmin,

Poor you...they sound crappy...very poor service so you're right to avoid them. Sure don't want the messing things up on the day itself!

I heard jewel box/ altivo is really nice. The night photo at the website looks gorgeous!
Or else you can also try Burkill Hall which is truly extremely pretty. Though that would be rather steep as need to pay rental, flower deco, etc etc. I was considering having my AD there but 200 guests is more than what it can accommodate.

Or hmm, why not Raffles lawn? It's also pretty.

Hi Bride,

I must say you have lots of good ideas! Great to share ideas with someone like you!

Sorry, didnt see your earlier question about BS. Mine's Mademoiselle. How about you? I keep on thinking of changing the design of my EG and WG though I already confirmed it...haha, drive my fiance and designer up the wall!!

<font color="119911">hi minmin, vez is right! Since you're going to have your dinner at raffles hotel, why not rent the lawn? It's soooo romantic! If I am not having a church wedding, I sure book the lawn for solemnisation one
And since you've booked raffles hotel for your dinner, maybe they will rent it to you at a cheaper price?

hey vez, haha no la... some not my ideas la, I just saw from other threads and just copy and paste here for minmin lor.

Mine's Ted Wu. Haha, it's normal la, you'd naturally want the best for your EG and WG mah. I will be seeing my designer this wed. If I have pics, I will send to you
Do you have photos to share?</font>

Hi, we're new to this forum too. Thinking abt having our AD banquet at Raffles Hotel. But we had our reservations abt the service of Raffles Hotel especially since we had our ROM at the Lawn and had a taste of Pauline's atrocious service and Agnes' indifference. Our sympathies goes out to you Jac!

We're currently working with Tom Toh. He's an amazing guy compared to the 2 previous co-ordinators. Has anybody worked with him before right up to AD?

We've never worked with Annabel before but from the sound of it, he's at least at good as she is in terms of up-front service. Our confidence in RH is renewed because of him, wondering if anyone else has similar experience.

<font color="119911">gosh PandP, my coordinator is Pauline! But so far she's ok ley... what did she do to you that was so atrocious?</font>

Hi Bride,
Thanks a lot, you sure have a lot of links!

I've looked through them, Scarlet hotel's decor is nice. Do you know how much is their solmnization package?
Hmmm, I am not considering the lawn cos its too ex. Actually was trying to budget for ROM since spending so much on the AD banquet already. Do you think between $300-400 is too tight? Now seems like we are stuck. haha...

<font color="119911">hi minmin, oh dear... I think it's not possible to rent scarlet hotel for $300-400. You only have 20 persons so it's a bit too few people to justify spending so much... hmm... cos most places have to pay rental on top of paying for food/drinks.

Which location were you looking at that didn't respond to you?
I suggest you approach punggol park's bliss restaurant. I heard it's nice.</font>

Hi there Bride,

I still don't know when exactly I'll go for my next fitting. Only know there's 3 more before the PS. The next fitting should be by end of this month. However it would only be the material and no lace/embroidery as yet. Think it'll look boorriinnngggg ;) Can send you those once I take the photos though! Let me know if you would still like then

Im guessing you went for Ted Wu due to his embroidery? He does have nice embroidery!
I was also thinking of Ted Wu, Blush Blush or Mademoiselle. However decided on Mademoiselle as the designer there seemed nicest. Didnt like Blush Blush's photography by Bats production.

As for Ted Wu, we were told that we could not even speak to Ted unless we already put a deposit down for the package!! We found that arrogant so decided to go with someone more approachable. Do hope that Ted's nice in person and easy to work with!

Hi Minmin,

I was quoted $1K for the lawn instead of the usual $1.5K. But then maybe that's cos flowers are already covered in the AD package. Can speak to your coordinator and see how?

Hmm, I initially found Agnes rather distant too. However after several talks with her, I feel that she's professional but overworked and therefore may come across as being indifferent. I guess her character isnt the warm sweet kind that Annabelle was. However Agnes was very nice the last time my fiance and I met her.

Havent been here awhile, and its been pretty active i must say =)

Agree with Vez that Agnes is nice, she is my coordinator and so far she has been prompt and helpful with everything. HAvent act spoken or seen any of the other coordinators b4.

I'm counting down, another 24 days more to my AD +)

Hi Bride and Vez,
Thanks for your help and suggestion!! Actually I just went to look at small cafes along Holland Village, and might be considering those places as well. Think it will cater more to our budget and group size.
oh my coordinator is Elizabeth, she's the assistant director of catering. We specifically asked for her because my friend who got married at Raffles last yr had her as their coordinator.

Eline, Congrats!! wah 24 days will pass very quickly. How has been your prep so far? Do show us some nice pics you take at your wedding!

Hi Minmin

yeah its gonna pass quickly esp since there r stil alot to finish! hehe now im hassling thru the invites and rsvp and i can forsee that the table arrangement aint going to be ez.

think many of you must be bz over choosing gowns now...i miss tt time! hehe tt was fun i must say =) hope everyone enjoys it!