Raffles Hotel

• Thread starter Thread starter rafflesian
  • Start date Start date
I just attend a dinner last weekend.
The service is really great and attentive. Even topped up those cut chilies when it was the last dish without being asked to.
Food overall is alright.
Dessert still the best after so many years - cream of mango with honeydew and sago (used to be mango pudding).
Best wedding favour chocolat i ever eaten.

Hi all..
so sorry to hear about Jacqueline's experience. but I had my wedding dinner on dec 06 also... i must say it is the most wonderful day in my life...
and all my guests were so happy... one of my husband friend even told him that after our wedding, he attended another wedding at ritz carlton, and totally cannot compare with Raffles, the food and service there were bad... so he come out with the conclusion: Raffles is the best!

so don worry, just double confirm everything with Raffles if u are worry... for my wedding, i changed quite a lot of thing, tables gifts, table numbers, and i ordered a real wedding cake for all my guests.... etc. everything went smooth....

<font color="119911">hi hweyhwey, I'm so glad you had a wonderful experience! Congratulations!

What did you change about the gifts? I'm planning on changing the table numbers to words too. And I'm ordering a wedding cake from outside too!</font>

hi hweyhwey, congrat! whose ur co-ordinator? can u share ur pic w me too? thanks!

hi all btb, do u know how many co-ordinator do raffles have? yet to meet my current co-ordinator but she quite prom via email but she leaving raffles and hope to get someone is good n responsible to replace her which is impt as i only can meet her twice b4 my wedding becos currently not in s'pore.

Hi bride &amp; lilo_stitch:

I changed my table gifts to honey and jam, from raffles Thots. cos we wanted something from raffles and couldn't be found at other hotels, but need to top up, cos i think the honey + jam cost about $5. but they packed it very nice

i changed the table number just because i don like the number stands.... very easy... just told the co-ordinator u want to change... then u can print anything u want...

oh bride, u can't order the cake from outside, i don think they will allow... i order the cake from raffles...and served together with the dessert. cos my dessert is almond something(cannot remember...heehee), which some adults and most of the kids don like... so they can eat the cake instead of running away when they smell almond ...the cake taste nice
ya... and must mention about the almond dessert. i don like almond, but i choose cos i know elderly like... and the dessert is really nice.... u can smell the almond... but when u eating, it won't taste like almond... good for people like me...

my co-ordinator is Pauline. my husband said that she may not be the best, but she give us what we want....we called her whenever we have any problem... so is still okay...

so sorry... i haven;t contact my photographer... cos too busy these few days... will share my photos with u when i got it....

hi bride,
i just found some pictures.... taken by my sister-in-law... sent it to u already....

hi lilo_stitch,
can give me ur email??? a bit paiseh to post the photos here... heehee....

<font color="119911">hi hweyhwey, thanks for the pics! you're very pretty!
My coordinator also pauline. She's quite alright la, been very helpful so far. I think raffles allow outside cake, but you must sign waiver form lor.</font>

Hi Hweyhwey,

So happy to hear that you had a wonderful wedding! It's always great to hear that others had a wonderful day on such a special occasion.

Could I check how much did you have to pay for the cake? Im also intending to have a cake for around 200 people. Do you think 10-12kg is sufficient for 200 pax? What flavours do they also have? At the fair, they only offered chocolate and vanilla-orange.

Gosh, I didnt think there would be a need to pay extra for honey as I tot that's quite a standard favour most hotels provide. Was it a lot extra?

Could you share your pix with me too? My email's [email protected]

Lotsa thanks!!

Hi there Hweyhwey,

Just re-read your post...saw that it's honey AND jam..no wonder there was additional cost..that's quite a lotta favour! Must have been very pretty and memorable for your guests!

You going for your honeymoon soon? Hope you have a great time too!

Hi Hweyhwey, me wan to see your pics too!! can send to [email protected]? Wow this thread is getting very active again. :P
So happy last friday i went to my bridal boutique, then the moment i enter the shop i already saw the gown i like on the mannequin. And the rest of the gowns my designer showed me din catch my eye at all. :D Vez, bride, lilo, How's your gown fittings and photoshoot coming along?

Hi there Minmin,

Would only be going for my first gown fitting this weekend...photoshoot only in mid May as fiance would be back then. You getting yours off the rack?

Hi midas, drusilla, shootingstarz, vez &amp; minmin,

i just sent my photos to u... so sorry i haven't go see my photograph... so don have many photos here.... i will see if my photographor took any photo for the ball room and the lawn.... if got i send it to u again

Hi Vez,
sorry, forgot to reply u....

actually i don know how much is the cake... i asked my husband... he also forgot...cos pauline let him sign the bill on our actual day... and i didn't see the bill... my cake is chocolate cake i think, not very sure, only can remember that the cake taste like chocolate.... sorry... i very blur one... haha
and i think 10-12 kg should be more than enough for 200 guests, mine also 10-12kg i think, and i have 250 guests...

for the honey and jam... i think is 2+ each, so add up become 5 dollar... so we top up 2 dollar for the table gifts...

just come back from honeymoon on 28 dec.... that's y don have time to go and see my photos... heehee

hi lilo_stitch,
ya, i took my pre-wedding shoot at raffles... i will send it to u tonight... don have the photos with me now.. sorry :p

Wah! I think we are all going to have photoshoot around the same time. Mine will be in May too. want to have the album done before August because might be away for work in Sept-Nov. So near wedding date!!! btw, my BS is this small bridal shop along Liang Seah street called Jazz Bridal, dunno if you all have heard of. I think I will get the WG OTR, the one that i saw, and will mtm the evening gown. Havent thought of any particular design yet though. lilo and bride, how about your studios?

Hi hweyhwey, thanks for your photos! wah u are so pretty. I am so looking forward to my wedding, can feel the stress already. :P

Hi there Hweyhwey,

You look really pretty and radiant! Your happiness is so obvious that your eyes sparkle in the photos!
Congrats congrats!!

Thanks for the photos and the info on the cake. From your advice, most likely I'll go with 10kg.

Your centerpiece of red and white roses looks very very pretty!!

Was the food portion sufficient for the guests? After a wedding dinner at Fullerton, Im now PETRIFIED that my guests would also go away hungry after the dinner.

Sorry to bother you but could you also share your pre-wedding shoot and lawn photos at Raffles with me? Email's [email protected]

I hope you had a wonderful honeymoon!! What did you go? I'm still undecided...might even be mid next year after my FH gets his postdoc.

Hi Minmin,

Yup! Ive heard of Jazz Bridal
If you like the OTR gown, better grab it! Cos even if you MTM, it won't be identical to the one you first saw.

Im a bit stressed about the pre-wedding photo shoot as my FH leaving soon and would only be back in mid May and wedding's on 1st July...really keeping fingers crossed that the photostudio would be able to develop it all in time!!

my coordinator is annabel, she is very nice. the only problem my FH has is with the corkage fees whcih is very high.. anyone has experience to ask them to waive it?

Btw i m only taking the solemnisation package.

Anyone has experience with the lawn soleminsaton?

<font color="119911">hi pat, i think it's very difficult to waive the corkage cos raffles is flexible in everything BUT corkage. It's like that's where they earn the money lor. I did some calculations and if you can get a bottle of wine for below $17 + $35+++ corkage, it will be cheaper than buying from raffles at %50+++.</font>

Hi bride, minmin &amp; Vez,
Thank u! but actually have to thank my make up artist and gown designer... they made me look nicer... haha... before and after make up quite different...and normally i don make up, cos too lazy to remove make up....heehee..

Vez, i think the portion should be alright... we purposely top up to 10 person for food testing to see whether the portion is enough... then we all very full.... for the actual day i really don know... cos i didn't have time to eat... but some of my friends told me that they are very full...

i went china (Lijiang) for honeymoon... the place is really pretty...

oh.. i sent the pre-wedding photos to u already... but the files are quite big... so sorry... i tried to make it smaller... but still quite big..

Vez,
you are engaging a professional PG? or does Madamoiselle provide and in-house PG? Wah, share with me your photos next time k?

hweyhwey,

I din receive ur pre-wedding photos... could they be too big that we cant receive them?

hi hweyhwey,

why dun u setup an online photo album on Multiply.com? its FOC and easy to use...and unlimited storage space for photos..perfect for high res pix like urs.

http://multiply.com

i can send u an invite to join if u like...juz leave me ur email addy.

i just send the photos again... this time should be ok... each file 2-400k...

hi midas,
haha... i used to have the multiply also.... my friend invited me.... but i never maintain it... haha...

for all the brides here... don feel stress... everything will go smooth..
i am the super blur one... 2 nights before wedding i still doing angpao box and pack all the angpao for kids, the night before my wedding i still printing my guest list... but everything just ok... chuan2 dao4 qiao2 tou2 zi4 ran2 zhi2... don worry....

Hi there hweyhwey,

Thanks for the photos! They all look very nice. Your gown's very pretty too! Elegant and classy. You must have felt like a princess on your wedding day
Thanks also for sharing your experience and telling us not to be stressed
Im keeping fingers crossed I would remember to brief the helpers on all impt stuff so that FH and I can relax a bit more during the AD. Haha, it reminds me a bit of work as there's so much coordination and briefings involved.

Hey Minmin,
Sure! I'll send you my photos
Mademoiselle has a few free lance photographers but my FH and I managed to win a photoshoot with Eugene from Chris Ling in a Her World promotion. However what we won wasn't a complete photoshoot (only one indoor and one outdoor) so we'll top up for the full works. He seems nice enough and FH and I felt his work was pretty good.

Where would you be working from in Sep? Not too worry, still quite some time away so there should be sufficient time to prepare everything before you leave in Sep. I would have had my wedding by then so you can pick my brains and I'll provide you with whatever tips you need

Hey Vez,
both me and my FH might be going to germany. And after the wedding we would probably go there immediately to settle down for the next 3 years or so. A lot of ends to tie up cos need to settle the living over there at the same time and wrap up our work over here and prepare for wedding... stress....

i sent the photos to u already..

hi vez,
Thank u again
ya i really love my gowns... and i actually bought it.. my designer said he can cut short for me so that i can wear it again.. but i will heart pain if i cut... haha

u all must be very excited now.... can understand... enjoy the preparation, is really fun!

Hi there Minmin,

You managed to get the Hweyhwey's photos already or you need me to resend them? Let me know yah?

I heard that Germany's a nice place to live in. There was a period of time in which I was considering living there as my FH's a physics researcher but that's a long way more to go. And goodness knows what Im gonna do there to keep myself occupied! Haha, if I ever do end up there...and if we're not too far apart, lets meet up.
Would be great to have fellow Singaporeans when one's away from home.

Hi Hweyhwey,

Yeah I agree! Very heart pain to cut your gown!
How much did you have to pay for the gown? I hope to also keep it but dont want to pay too much!! If less than 1K, I dont mind..but if more than 1K, aiyoh, pay so much and then don't know what to do with it... Sigh...

Need to ask you also, how long did your PS studio take to prepare the album from day of photoshoot to actual delivery of album?

Hi Pat,

If Im not wrong, Raffles charges $35+++ for corkage. Steep!

hi Vez! yep yep! wow my FH and I are both doing research as well, thats why we think Germany would have good opportunities as well. Sure, if you ever go there do let me know ya?
Oh, and yep i got Hweywey's photos already. Thanks so much for them and I must say that hweyhwey u look really lovely.

btw, i heard that annabel is leaving Raffles at the end of the mth.
so sad! i wonder who is going to take over as my coord. hope he/she will be good.

minmin, mine also annabel, did she mention who will take over? me sad too, never meet her before, si far she nice n reponse fast to my email. keep our finger cross, hope we can get one replace as good as her

hi meimei and minmin,
Thank u...
but maybe because i like my gowns very much.. so i look very happy when i wear it... everytime i wear it i don want to take off... haha and because my make up artist is the photographer's wife, so she follow me all the way... and she touch up for me at outdoor also...

Hi Vez,
my designer is very very "chincai" and nice... cos my friend also did her gowns there... and he don have so much place to put all the gowns... so he said if we buying our wedding gown together, he would give us very very good price... he said cannot tell people how much,
but is really cheap... less than 1/4 of what u willing to pay... u know what i mean??

my photographer took quite long time to do my album... cos my photoshoot on june and my wedding on dec.... but normally 2 - 3 months can do i think...

anyone can share whether they have a good coordinator? Seems like the turnover for the staff at raffles is quite high. I am very particular about the service attitude of the coordinator, so I actually want to request for someone who is attentive and meticulous before they assign someone who will make us disappointed.
Think its wedding jitters or smth, but so scared that someone else will ruin my wedding.

Hi there Minmin,

No worries, I have the same worry too! But generally I think the coordinators at Raffles are ok as long as we are very clear about what we want. They do tons of weddings and are experts in that area so no big boo boo should happen.

My coordinator's Agnes. She's ok. Rather tardy in replying emails but otherwise she's nice enough. However I must say that Annabelle truly impressed me as being very courteous, attentive and warm. Let's hope that your next coordinator would be as lovely as Annabelle!

Hey small world! My fiance's doing physics research at NUS. How about yourself and hubbie? Im guessing you're also in the sciences.

Hi Hweyhwey,

Thanks for the info on the photography...but aiyoh, siao liao! My photographer would only have a month to do up the photos as PS in mid to late May and wedding's 1st July...Oh well, gotta stress my poor photographer! Good thing he seems a nice accommodating fella and he also said earlier that he'll be able to do it within a month.

Hi Vez,
Wow, yep, small world! I used to work in NUS too. Both me and my FH are in the bio-related research field. Now both working at Biopolis. :D
btw, how did your gown fitting go? chosen any that you like yet?

Hi sunrays,
i sent my photos to u already...

Hi Vez,
since he said he will do it for u... then i think don need to worry... u can relax liao

Hi there Minmin,

Tried on the first "draft" of the gown that was made of "draft" material. Once he gets my exact measurements, he'll transfer it as a template on the actual material. So still no idea what the gown would look like in the end...but actually, think I'll depend more on the embroidery rather than actual dress as Im having the normal tube sweet-heart neckline ballgown...typical gown

Hi Hweyhwey,
Thanks for reassuring me...but I worry-wort lah...afraid that FH's suit cant be made by mid May as he's only back 1st week of May...Haha, typical kan cheong bride!!