Raffles Hotel

lyons

<font color="119911">hi vez, of course I would like photos of your gown whenever you're ready to send them
What's Mademoiselle known for? What type of signature gowns do they have? Haha yeah, can't talk to ted but I've spoken to him before and really, there's no worries about him. He's really nice and his designs are really good

hi eline! Wow! so soon! I'm excited for you
Everything should be more or less settled now? usually invites very problematic one so no stress no stress

hey minmin, how about dempsey road? They have many winery places there, very nice! If you want a garden setting

pandp

Hi bride, Jacqueline Chee's posting on Dec 29th best summarizes our experiences with Pauline. Couldn't have done a better job ourselves in describing our agony working with her. Overall, she just has extremely low regard to her guests / clients (other than the super VIP ministerial ones of course) and even to higher management in RH itself. She was rude, condescending and totally uncompromising. We had to work to her convenience instead of ours. We're just utterly surprised that RH would hire a person like that and at a senior level too. She used to work at Intercontinental and just recently started work at RH. Hope she doesn't ruin their reputation in just less than half a year there.

For those of you that find her pleasant to work with, more power to you!

lyons

<font color="119911">hi PandP, maybe she found out about the complaint and "turned over a new leaf"?
haha I hope so! Cos so far, she's been quite accommodating, even let us view the suite twice!

I guess what's most impt is the bride herself must be firm and knows exactly what she wants so she can communicate to the coordinator and the operations manager directly so ensure no screw ups. My girlfriends are very demanding people so I'm sure they can handle the banquet manager

lyons

<font color="119911">hi minmin! yes! That's the one I tried on at Soo Kee
VERY NICE! I liked it but my fingers too short to wear it, it was too thick for me

vanadis82

Hi Bride and muddpie,
Thanks a lot!
yep its from soo kee. I like their designs because they are more unique.
Bride you also got yours from soo kee?

lyons

<font color="119911">hi minmin, nope, got mine from lee hwa. Soo kee had almost the same design but I think it originated from lee hwa so i went with lee hwa also cos lee hwa's one diamonds bigger and more shiny

lyons

<font color="119911">oh ya, to those brides who already held their weddings at raffles... did you make or lose money for the dinner? I'm worried the loss will be great...</font>

serapheve

Hi there Bride,

Sorry for the late reply. Hmm, Mademoiselle's style? Not too sure what's Cole's signature style but I would say that he's very influenced by his experience while based in France. It's not the conventional Sg boutique. He's very into embroidery, beading, quality cloth, crystals, details, etc. I really like his use of lots of swarovski as that makes the gown sparkle. Haha, Im into bling bling ;)I don't like it when the embroidery is so little that it disappears in photos or when too much silver thread is used as that turns the gown greyish.

Hmm, I wonder how do we know when to be demanding and when we are overstepping? I feel paiseh to demand too much...my FH and I are lousy bargain hunters and therefore always get ripped off

I think that most would lose $$ as it comes up to around $120/pax whereas most people would give around $80-100? Unless you have generous guests lah

Hi Minmin,

Your rings are very pretty!
Yup they're most definitely very unique and stand out from the usual wedding rings. Have you engraved them already? My FH and I are still cracking our heads over what to engrave on the inside

cactus_79

Hi Hwey hwey,
I notice you only have 8 people at every table. I understand that the package is for 10 pax/table... how did you arrange for this?

vanadis82

Hi Vez,
thanks, I'm happy with the rings. yep I've engraved them already. Hubby's name on mine, and my name on his. Then got our wedding date too. But the engraving not very well done, the letters not very consistent. But since nobody will be seeing it then we just close one eye lor. I know Aspial's engraving is very nice! the fonts are cursive and very nicely spaced out. but well, since its already done there's nothing we can do.
Btw can I just ask how long you gals take for your first gown choosing and fitting? My Boutique is squeezing me in for a 2 hour slot onli cos I had to change my appointment.
Is it enough time to choose 4 outfits for photo taking?

serapheve

Hi Minmin,

Not to worry lah. As you correctly mentioned, it's on the inside and no one can see. As cliche as this sounds, what's more impt is what's written on your hearts, not your rings

Not too sure how long OTR would take. However when I was trying on various gowns to see which type suits me best, I took around 2-3 hours. But that's cos my boutique didnt have much samples around. It's tiring getting into and outta those gowns...They are VOLUMINOUS!!! Many were often way too long for me as last used at fashion shows with foreign models. So it also depends on whether the boutique has gowns for local brides or it's new and therefore not much local bride gowns. I actually suggest 3 hours to be safe. You don't want to be rushed half way!!

Hi Hweyhwey,

Thanks for the photos! The flowers are very pretty and have given me a good idea of what to get also. How have things been? Hope you've found married life blissful and still find some time to pop by this website now and then. Keep in touch ok?

hweyhwey

Hi cactus_79,
eh... i have 10pax/table leh... not 8. and before my wedding i have a few table 11pax/table, then have to top up... but on the day itself all the 11th guests never turn up... haha... so no need to top up.

Hi Vez,
Thank u!! actually I pregnant very very soon after my wedding... everyone said we very fast... now only feel tired... and my work so busy that;s y so long didn;t come here... but i still prefer to come here rather than the motherhood forum. cos if i saw some sad or not very good news there... i would be affected and can't stop thinking about it... so i think i better come here.... cos here got so many happy and excited brides.. hehe...

lilo_stitch

hi hweyhwey,

congrat! when is ur due date? which part of raffles did u have ur ps?

do anyone know if we are allow to have ps at their cafe or restuarant?

serapheve

Hi Hweyhwey!

Congratulations!!
I'm so happy for you! That's really really great news! You and hubby must be so excited and overjoyed.

Though you are busy at work, you need to take good care of yourself and rest okay?? *Hugs!!* Im sure you'll make wonderful parents and you'll have a perfect little baby boy/girl. I always think it's so sweet to know of couples who are courting, got engaged, married and then start a family.

Do pop by now and then to share more good news okay?

lyons

<font color="119911">CONGRATS HWEYHWEY! wow! That's fast
But it's better to give birth when you're younger
Labour easier! haha :p How many months into pregnancy are you?

hi lilo, i think we're not allowed to take photoshoot pics anywhere we like in the hotel. Best if you check with your coordinator, yah?</font>

hweyhwey

Thanks!! the due date is about end of Aug.. now 4 months already... but tummy looks like 5 months... only wednesday i got time to collect back my gowns... but all can't wear liao.... hope 1 day i can "put" myself inside the gowns and zip it up! haha...

Hi lilo, I took the pre-wedding pic at the lawn, some corridor and... issit called courtyard or what ha?? sorry i really blur... the outdoor restaurant there... then on my actual day i took pic at outside the main lobby with my wedding car..

You all must be very excited now... last time i also... actually now when i pass by Raffles, i still feel excited.. haha... and I haven't develop all my photos... my mum say if I don develop now... have to develop together with baby's photo liao..

vanadis82

I finally managed to select my gowns yesterday! Was quite fast, managed to get everything done under 3 hours! Selected and ivory gown, its got a slightly peach tinge, i also dunno how to describe, then after I went back I realised that it might look weird with a white veil. Do any of you have experience with this? Really like the gown very much, but now got headache if have to go with white veil!
Then think I would have to mtm my evening gown already. They din have much of a selection of them....
Oh, and I mtm my ROM dress. Its a turquoise knee length cheongsam in turquoise full lace. :p

lilo_stitch

min, is it amust to must white veil? should be able to buy if u can dye e veil color close to ur gown or same color? mine gown also ivory

serapheve

Hi Minmin,

Your gowns sound gorgeous!
I think it's ok to have a white veil and ivory gown. The colour diff is very slight. Ive not heard of ivory veils before. You could try on the gown with a white veil?

vanadis82

Hi Lilo and Vez,
My gown has actually got quite a bit of details too. Its got pearls and feathers pinned at the side as accessory and comes with a red satin ribbon round the waist. I think it looks beautiful without a veil, but with veil a bit overwhelming already...
i got a pic of it, maybe I pm u gals.

lilo u got pic of ur gown to show me?

serapheve

Hi Minmin,

Your gown sounds interesting!
I also dont like very plain gowns. However, you're right not to pile on too much stuff or else it'll look over the top. Okie, would great if you could pm me a pic of it. Thanks!

I'll be going for my 3rd fitting this Thursday. It'll just be the gown without any lace/embroidery yet. Hopefully it'll fit well. Would ask the designer to take photos using my camera as I'll be going alone.

lilo_stitch

hi minmin, can u pm ur gown photo as it sound interesting. as long ur parents dont mind that they need to wear for u on the AD then it okie to go wout as it got so much details to show

i'll will be doing my fitting next wkend, will take pic u pm u. hope they have finish e final stage.

hi gals, can share which menu n dishes did u choose for food tasting? i'm so excited abt food tasting and forget to tell them which dishes i want

vanadis82

I go back ask my hubby to capture it from the video first. haha we videotaped the fitting actually. :p
lilo you doing your food tasting so early? btw i met up with my new coordinators Elizabeth and Tom last thursday also, think they are quite pleasant and professional.
hope everything will go well!

lilo_stitch

minmin, super early for food tasting but no choice becos currently i dont live in s'pore, if i choose 2wk b4 wedding they say too rush
why u got 2 coordinator? actually what do u discuss with them? 2wks time i will be meeting agnes n it is 1st meeting w her, i'm quite blur hope will not miss out any impt discussion

vanadis82

hey lilo,
i see... so you are not singaporean?
I actually have a main coordinator who is Elizabeth. Prev was Annabel but she left Raffles already. After that I was assigned to Pauline, but heard so many negative comments so I asked specifically for Elizabeth because she was the coord for my friend's wedding and they highly recommended her. She's the assistant director of catering. Tom is the second point of contact because Elizabeth has got too many things to oversee and she mentioned that she does mostly corporate functions, so thats why I have 2 coords.
haha complicated hor... actually I dun mind as long as ultimately they do their job well.

lilo_stitch

minmin, i'm s'porean
mine used to be annabel too, so disapointed when she told me she's leaving, although only contact via email or phone w her she very prom n friendly n i also told her i hope will not leave raffles after i sign but then she .......

she told me either agnes or pauline to liase with so i choose agnes

lyons

<font color="119911">hi girls, for those having their weddings after jul this year... I called raffles and asked pauline about the GST increase and she said we will be subjected to the 7% GST increase! I told her we signed the contract before jul but she said they take it as the event is after jul, so GST follow after july. Got such things meh? Then she put the blame on the govt, saying it's not by their choice. Then how come I heard other caterers can waive the increase so long as you sign up before jul 2007? And how about all our photograhers and wedding gown designers? What kind of excuse is this? I don't quite understand...

the banquet is so ex already, plus another 2% it will add up to about $600 more!</font>

cactus_79

Just to share, I already signed my contract, and even offered to pay up in full before July .. and not only the deposit rate, to avoid the GST..but Pauline said cannot.. dissapointing.

lyons

<font color="119911">actually, can they do that? I mean, the photographers, bridal shops, videographers all can, why hotels cannot??! Issit a govt regulation thing? Can we write to the management of Raffles Hotel?</font>

cactus_79

I think it's a govt regulation. Cos Pauline explained that GST is calculated where services is provided. On the date of our wedding. So we can't pay up before July to avoid additional GST. GST is tax on goods and services and is computed /booked into the accounting books on the date of our wedding dinner.

I think other places just want our $ early, therefore they are willing to help us bend the rules.

Any ideas from other BTBs?

vanadis82

hey cactus_79,
did you just join this thread? haha, saw you on the wedding bands thread previously.
hmmm, bride, i din think of asking if we could pay in full b4 the even leh, cos still got quite some time to go, so what if smth crops up and we have to cancel the banquet, i'd rather forfeit 3.8k than 20k+... but true, 7% is quite a lot....

cactus_79

Hi minmin, I'm actually having my wedding dinner at Shangrila. but I'm celebrating my parents' wedding anniversary for them and it'll be at Raffles Hotel.. so I'm seen in both the Shang thread, the Sept 07 brides thread and have just recently joined this thread!

cactus_79

hi minmin,

actually if we have to cancel the banquet, or change the date or something, Raffles Hotel has the right to still make us pay up in full. It is in the contract.

The point in us paying the deposit is such that the hotel will reserve the room for us and let us proceed with things like food tasting, and collection of invitation cards before the wedding banquet.

It doens't mean that if we need to cancel the banquet, we don't need to pay the rest of the $. We had entered into a contract with RAffles Hotel when we signed the contract and the contract is for us to have the wedding dinner on that particular date...

cactus_79

Things like transfer of package, or change in date, is usually granted by the hotel's goodwill and it is not our contractual right not to pay up the rest, or transfer or change the date....

so actually paying up in full is ok cos at the time we pay the deposit and sign the contract, the Hotel can actually force us to pay up in full legally.

ladybettle

I'm new to this forum. Glad that this forum is providing lots of help!

My BF and I are getting married in 2008, and he insisted on Raffles Hotel for the wedding dinner. Anyone has any comments on the service of the waiters? Also, we are doing the solemnisation and customary on the same day. Advisable?

lyons

<font color="119911">welcome ladybettle! Good choice on raffles hotel
As far as I know (or I was promised), there will be one waiter to one table. But according to my friend who attended a wedding in raffles hotel before, she said the waiters not very "prompt" in their service so just make sure this is made clear to the banquet operations manager on the day itself.

Sure, many people do solemnisation and customary on the same day. Get it over and done with in one day
Saves the hassle and even cheaper doing it in one day than splitting it up. If you don't have to get married in a church, you can consider having your solemnisation at the Raffles Hotel Lawn during evening time (when the sun is setting, very romantic!) then adjourn for dinner in the banquet hall/tentage/east india room etc.</font>

ladybettle

Hi Lyons,

Thanks! But is it ok to go through customary tea ceremony first, then solemnise later in the day? I thought I read somewhere it's against the law.

lyons

<font color="119911">hi ladybettle, well... it's all up to how flexible your families are. There's no hard and fast rule nowadays unless your family has a specific tradition to follow. It's the usual practice to have the tea ceremony when the groom fetches the bride then on to the church (if any), and in your case on to solemnisation. Then followed by dinner at night.</font>

cactus_79

Hi ladybettle, I clarified it with ROM previously. It's NOT against the law to hold both on the same day - tea ceremony first, then ROM. it is AGAINST the law if tea ceremony is held first earlier, on a separate day, then ROM.

ladybettle

Hi cactus_79,

Thanks for the clarification! Now I know I can hold everything on the same day! Haha... Now I need to crack my head over which bridal studio to sign up with!