Raffles Hotel

• Thread starter Thread starter rafflesian
  • Start date Start date
Hi starmoon,

Better late then never right?

For my wedding, I used roses, eustomas and lilies. No top-ups needed. BTW, my florist was Woodsville.

Actually despite the seemingly limited choice of flowers, you can create quite grand arrangements with them as long as you pick a suitable colour theme.
Remember that the overall decor is not just about the flowers themselves. Things like the type of stand, use of tealights/candles & organza, and glass bowls etc can enhance the overall feel and ambience lots.

Tip: If you can find pics of the overall feel that you would like RH to create for you, do bring down to show your coordinator/florist and try and work something out from there.

Hi Selphie,
I used Jasvy and had hot-stamping for my cards. The cards do look better with hot-stamping. If you go down to Jasvy, they should have samples there to show you.

If you pick the red cards and wish to go for hot-stamping, you could consider topping up a bit more for the copper-toned ink to compliment the cards. But again, that's really up to you.

hi cookiesgal

did u tell them how u want the stage decor to be or did u leave it up to them cos i seen a few different ones and dunno how mine would be.

Hi starmoon,

We choose the stage decor - we used back one of the decors that they had done before. Sharul let us pick the decor from this album he had...

hi cookiesgal

wow so good ah...we wasnt given a choice to choose leh....hmmph. even when i asked to see pics, they only got very old ones which they are quite reluctant to show me. so now i wonder how my stage decor will actually turn out???

Hi starmoon,

I think the album that we saw was not that recent... but we liked it so just went with that for the stage. Actually knowing Raffles, you can trust that they will give you something nice, as long as you have told them a good idea of what you want.

Hello everyone,

I'm going to sign up with Raffles Hotel in the next few days. Just wanted to find out from you guys how many tables you're having for your banquet. I'm going to use the ballroom and will prob have 23-25 tables. I know the max is 25 tables but I'm a bit concern that it'll be very cramp.... (from what I've noticed from my friend's wedding photos).

Anyone with any experience?

hi cookiesgal
datz the thing lor, nebber tell them wad we wanted cos we oso dunno how it'll be like leh....spoke to florist and he just said they will oso do up the stage but how it finally looks like, we oso dunno....hopefully everything goes well. btw, need to check with u on the songs. did u use RH's soft music to be played during the dinner or u brought ur own? cos i dunno whether to bring my own to play during dinner or use theirs.

hi misty
i'll prob be having the same amount of tables but dunno whether will be cramp...heard from my coordinator that 25 tables shld fit comfortably and 26 would be a bit tight.

Hi Misty,

I am having 25 tables too and attended a dinner with 25 tables. It is a little squeezy but not uncomfortable. There was sufficient room to move.
And in that case, the couple had a 3 piece band as well. So I think 25 should be no problem.

Anyway, you can always ask your coordinator which day there will be 25 tables in the ballroom and then ask to come down and take a look. I did that before signing up also.

anyone knows if RH provides DVD/VCD player in the ballroom to show my guests the morning video highlights?

Yes, they do provide DVD player in the ballroom. You need to arrange with your coordinator to set it up together with the projector and screen.

hi girls, i will also be having my dinner in raffles next march. for those of you who already had your dinner there, may i ask a favour? do u mind sending me your pics??? please???

i'm also very concerned about the stage deco. cant sleep....

i'm also concerned about the invites. has anyone tried to tie ribbons on it? i find it a little plain and small!!

where is woodsville? is it a raffles designated florist?

thanks in advance, girls!

Hi Magnolia, I had my wedding at Raffles. Hvnt got my pics yet.

Dun worry about the stage deco, you can work with the florist. I met up with the florist about 1.5 months before to discuss about the flowers.

As for the invites, we didn't tie any ribbons. Was pretty satisfied with the invites. It is a bit small compared to the other hotels but it looks classy enough.

Woodsville is Raffles' contracted florist. Not sure if they are still using Woodsville now but I know that Sir Charles is their in house florist.

hi Ice Goh,
Raffles's bridal on april this year... so i think u may have to wait until next year...

just want to check something... can we prepare the wedding favour ourself??
Thank u very much!!

Can someone let me know which room looks nicer during evenings, casuarina or east india?
Planning to hold my solemnisation there..

Bunni, in my opinion, all the rooms are very nice. But I think for solemnization, maybe East India Room might b nicer as you can use the Palm Gargen for your solemnization but the fountain can be a bit noisy.

Hwey, think you can, maybe exchange the favours to something else.

Cat, frankly, Raffles is quite a hard nut to crack for negotiation. But luckily, the package is actually quite well covered, we didn't get anything extra.

Hweyhwey,

I chose my favours from non-RH vendors too cause I wanted to get my gifts from a charity. I was told the budget for wedding favours set aside in the package price and whatever extra that is incurred on top of that price (given in $/pax), I topped up.

Sorry cannot disclose the $/pax. Think you need to check with your wedding coordinator on that.

Hi Caithlin, that's a great idea. May I know how you went about organizing this with the charity of your choice... I'm not aware of many charities that hv gifts.

You can email me if you prefer: [email protected]

THanks!

Hi Misty,

I saw some handicrafts on display at ACTS Christian bookstore, which were made by villagers in third world countries. I asked the manager to give my contact to the person i/c of the charity (Villageworks which is run by Girls Brigade) and I basically arranged everything via handphone. When I had selected what I wanted, I gave her my coordinator's no. so they can arrange for delivery, payment etc.

Cause I was very last minute, I had no choice but to choose the more expensive items which require top up (I got handphone and coin pouches). If you give yourself more time, they will be able to bring in the volume of items required before the wedding.

I tried doing research on the internet on other charities with gifts but didn't really manage to find much information. The other charity I know with cute items at affordable rates which can be used as wedding favours is SPCA. But since I'm not really a pet person, didn't go to them.

I wanted the charity favours to be something memorable about my wedding (cause I wanted something simple- no photo montage or express highlights). Was really happy when I noticed my colleagues using the handphone pouches, and commenting that they read the little write-up I had on each table, explaining what Villageworks does and found the favours very meaningful.

I have posted my wedding photos on the web. Email me at [email protected] if you would like to view them. You can also check out the decor by Sir Charles (I was VERY VERY happy with their work. It was really lovely).

we just had a beautiful wedding last sat at RH. We had a solm at the Lawn followed by dinner at the EIR. Although it seems like everything went on in a flash, we had so much fun and totally enjoyed ourselves.

Our RH wedding coordinator Hon was great. Everything was taken care of by her. The flowers and decor were exactly what we wanted. RH certainly didnt disappoint us. We had great comments on the food as well, but sadly we dint try it at all coz we were too busy running around and having fun with frens and relatives.

oya..the bridal suite was really really beautiful too and it sure is BIG enff for 20 of our frens to crash in and sabo us.

On the whole, everything went on smoothly. The weather too was kind to us, if not we will not be able to dance under the stars next to the EIR fountain. One tip for RH couples, the fountain at the EIR is especially nice at night and surprising it looks good in pictures. Its no wonder our photographer and videographer asked us to dance infront of the fountain.

Well, we will upload some pics once they are ready.

Hi Dusky,

I've forwarded a copy of my package and the chinese menu to you. I think the package is for 2005 though... although i've only received it pretty recently. You may wish to check the hotel's website or email the coordinator for a more updated copy

Thks misty! You're a great help! I called up to ask them for the package early this morning but no news from them. You are a RH BTB? Any tips what to negotiate for in the package?

Dusky, actually I'm still in the process of working out the contract with my coordinator... and my wedding planner is doing most of the work, so not sure what is really negociable. Maybe some of the other brides who have signed their contract can help you out

You can't really negotiate anything with Raffles Hotel. However, their package is quite comprehensive, so there isn't much to negotiate anyway.

Hi all RH BTB,

I had my banquet in RH in end Oct.. overall was really good.. they really live up to their reputation and branding. The package includes 5 bottles of liquor corkage waived, 2 nights' stay etc. to me was very good and needs no further negotiation.

Just some minor things.. the cake on the stage is not a real cake, so the cake-cutting ceremony is a show only.. when we were on the stage I was like "Cut Where???!" searching for the real cake part to cut! haa haa...

Food comments were good and everyone wiped out our wedding favours including me and my hubby's!!! We had none for ourselves.. gosh!

anyone has a small wedding for about 100pax at the raffles hotel? it seems like they do give quite a bit of stuff free if compared to scarlet hotel that dont. but their price per pax for western dinner is pretty ex. sighhh...

i am intending to sign up with Raffles Hotel and will be meeting them after christmas. May i find out if anyone manage to get any corkage waive off or discount? And do they provide projector?

Hi Catus

any idea how much they charge for corkage? i understand they give 1 bottle red wine per table but i afraid my husband colleage drink alot, so 20+ confirm not enuf....

Corkage is 35+++ but think you can get a flat fee for dunno how many bottles. Dun think they can waive corkage for wine unless u trade it with your invites, etc.

Seems like a lot of the brides here have got married and this thread has become pretty quiet. Any Raffles hotel BTBs who would like to share ideas for their wedding? I've signed up with Raffles and will be holding my dinner there end of next year

Hi Misty

I m going down to Raffles Hotel next week...most probably will sign up with them but also abit hesitated becoz of the corkage charge...since hubby side alot are drinker....

my AD will be jan 07 hehe

yeh!! have company here le!! :D

Xin, who is your coordinator? I agree the corkage is quite steep compared to other hotels, but I do feel that their package is really quite comprehensive. What are your other choices?

Hi Misty

My coordinator is Agnes. Ya overall i think the package is quite comprehensive so most probably will sign up with them...

my other alternative is four season and raffles the plaza....four season package alot of things not included and location soso...raffles the plaza becoz i use small ballroom so ceiling very low....so not really alot of choice

Hi Misty

My coordinator is Agnes. Ya overall i think the package is quite comprehensive so most probably will sign up with them...

my other alternative is four season and raffles the plaza....four season package alot of things not included and location soso...raffles the plaza becoz i use small ballroom so ceiling very low....so not really alot of choice

I like the 4 seasons ballroom and private reception area as well... but not really very impressed with the menu. Also, the smaller ballroom is just adjacent, so feel that it is not as exclusive

My coordinator is Agnes as well. She's lovely when I spoke to her... very professional and gave me lots of tips and suggestions. But maybe cos she's very busy... took forever to get my proposal and contract ready... even now still waiting on my revised version

I think year end may be more busy bah? coz is Annabel who help me make appointment with Agnes...anyway trust that Raffles is very professional....dont know if i can give up one night hotel to corkage waiver hehe

yar... think she's busy so I also didnt push for it. Sounds like you're really worried about the corkage... is there anyway you can try to limit the alcohol? Like maybe can serve a signature punch or something like that. I remember a friend serving a punch/cocktail specially concocted for her wedding and it was a big hit.

hello Misty and Xins,

I will be signing up for Raffles too - Sept 06.
Misty - when will you be having yr wedding? I'm concerned abt the capacity of The Ballroom. Do you think it can fit 25 tables comfortably? How many guests r u inviting?