Qian Xi Restaurant??

duckling how u choose ur cards huh? u went down purposely to choose huh? i actualli wanted to popby tansan's AD but fell sick so din get to go. thinking of going this wkend to see the decor & to settle a date for food tasting. at 1st i thot i can choose the card during the food tasting. issit too late by then?

sigh..left 2 more mths leh...scared i left out some impt stuff that needs to be done.

eh..can tell me what else i need to do huh? my mind blank now leh...

Duckling, glad that u like deco, so hopefully the rest of QX shd b nice too. Many nice cards to choose from?

My turn to choose card design next week & wanna settle changes in menu and some details like march in layout too
so happy abt it.

Did u discuss abt deco stuff? like table setting, reception table, lighting effect, march in effect etc. R we able to request for changes?

Dunno what else to discuss, worry i will miss out something :P

Hi pisces,

I gather from duckling & the rest that QX only takes a week to print the cards or so.

Coz i m not gng for food tasting (tasted b4 on other occasions) so i m juz gng to select my card, my AD also abt 2 mths away.

Also tonnes of many things not done. PS photos not ready yet, schedules not plan, guest list for my side not ready...gng crazy juz thinking abt these. Will b super rush & busy when AD is near...aiyoh how to b pretty on AD?! *faint*

hi Jas

I am not from Hilltop.

Hi Pisces

I go down personally to chose the invitation cards.
They have a file for the cards and you chose from theere. There are a few of the same design but of different colour.

You need to have your parent's chinese and english name as you need to write details in the invitation cards.

There have set the venue up for other viewers and i was there. So take a look at the ballroom. Not that bad except for the flower arch and the chaderler (nopt sure how to spell that).

Did not discuss abt the deco stuff cos i not going to add more things. AS for table setting, it just a simple one only red table got lazy susan. Also it only u have confirmed the no. of tables thaen they will mail u the table layout.

the reception table march in effect i will go mdown 2 weeks before AD then try it out.

hey tansan : welcome bk!
i'm so sorry to miz ur big day leh..i was sick lah. acutally wanted to popby & tk a look wan. but i went down last night instead. how's things? everything run smoothly? food? u had fun? how's the gatecrashed? tell us tell us!!

Duckling : i went down & spoke to steven last night. managed to book a date for the food tasting & chosen the card. but i forget abt the guest book. the book no choices wan huh? btw ur AD is where huh? not expo rite?

<font color="0000ff">pisces36; no pro! everytin went beri smoothly for me.. u noe wat?! i did not even had my march in reharse... and the best part is, even my parents and PIL oso did not hv any march in reharsel... but everytin went so so smooth.. im so happy...

toking abt the gatecrash, im nt sure wat my sisters did but the saddest part is... one of my sisters lost the gatecrashing ang pow!!! wich contains $200+.. sigh~!

oh ya, abt the guest book, its beri plain one.. but it contains many pages... haha.. mine only hv 2 or 3 pages written...</font>

U all book Qian XI Rest? But they did not offer a night stay at any nearby hotels? Then u all book a hotel stay yourself?? Then where did u all do your make-up &amp; change your EG??

Coz i tot holding in a rest with hotel nearby is better lor. U can change your gowns &amp; do make-ups. Can also check in a day before the AD to get prepared...

hi tasasn welcome back must show us your meo mei pixs ok.

Pisces, where &amp; when u going for food tasting. Me still not sure taking the glutinous rice or ee fu noodel. Can any one advise which one is better. I want rice cos got more ingredient in it but hubby say noodle better. Keke. Want the guest to eat the best ma.

Hi M&amp;M
some of the gals, go back home some book hotel.

M&amp;M forget to tell u qianxi got changing room for bridal, so u need not worry abt changing your gowns and make up. My intentions is to have makeup done le thengo rest.

So most of the brides will do makeup @ home/hotel then go over to QX? Also considering abt getting a hotel stay but think that period (End of Dec) quite ex hor?

Duckling,
Will glutinous rice b too filling after the 7 dishes
juz my thought coz i heard their portion quite big?

tansan : glad that everything went smoothly. so when going for HM? where?
aiyo..so the sis din get any $ lah..poor thing leh.

duckling : we going for food tasting on 23rd Oct at expo. u leh? eh..i oso feel tat ee fu better coz rice might b too filling by then. unless the rice taste better than the noodle lah. :p

matsu : for my case i've book a hotel so makeup will b at the hotel then straight to expo for my solemnisation &amp; dinner. u can surf the hotels website to chk whether there's any promo. coz sometime they hv special promo for wkend gateaway. which branch u booked? no worries all branches will hv changing room.

<font color="0000ff">M&amp;M; i had my make up &amp; gown changed in the restaurant make up room.. my hubby's cousin actuali book us a suite at orchid country club the nex day...

matsu; yup, their portion is quite huge as told by my guests...

pisces36; yup, goin canada during dec... </font>

Hi tansan, congrats for having a happy &amp; smooth wedding day! How's abt the dinner, service &amp; food alright?

Oh, a bit heartache to lose $200 hongbao hor...but nvmind lah, they must have enjoyed themselves 2

hey gals, i've booked qianxi too. Any ideas what's the time frame is like to contact Suzanna to discuss things about the banquet manager, food tasting and other stuff? My AD is Oct 07.

tansan : canadian rockies? or city? i went to the rockies few yrs back. veri nice. but i went in april..but still get to see snow. u going in dec should b getting quite cold. better bring along more warm clothing.

matsu : i booked ritz coz my hubby know i always wanted to tk a look at the bathroom :p. so he booked 2 nights which is abt $700 odd inclusive of bf. they hving some perks added to it so we choose late check out &amp; bf if i rmb correctly.

another will be changi village hotel which is quite near &amp; it's cheaper. always chk with them for newly weds r there any perks. or u can try booking rooms at country clubs might b cheaper

lil_bride : u still hv a long way to go leh. my Ad is Dec 06. I juz went down last wkend to book the food tasting date &amp; discuss some details with the manager.

<font color="0000ff">matsu; thanks! the food was huge in portion, and my malay guest commented the malay food was good too. Service was excellent! oh ya, the jiemei was lost the $ tt day, she forked out her own $ and pass it to those jiemei during the nite but most of them took a little out of the whole sum...

lil_bride; u still hv long long way to go.. no huri, perhaps u can go for food tasting 3 mths b4 actual day oso can..

pisces; not canadian rockies, my aunt &amp; her family has migrated ther for few years, so she decided to ask us over for honeymoon instead... therefore, she will be our tour guide.. hehe...</font>

Hi Tansan,

What is the colour of your reception table? And is there any flower centre pc for dinner tables? How abt the colour of 2 family tables? Did u request 4 any change or additional deco?

Thinking of gold &amp; red theme so wonder if BG will have something suitable :P

huh so poor thing has to fork out....so must remind the gals to keep the ang bao properly.

Hi Matsu i was abt to recomment the same hotel to u. keke.

<font color="0000ff">matsu; i can't rem wats the col of the recep table cos i was in the make up room all along till my 1st march in... color for VIP tables is in red, i did not request for any changes as im quite easy &amp; comfy wif the current settings. If u r not tt particular person, i tink its ok for you nt to rack ur brains.

gold &amp; red seems ok for ur theme.. actuali for me, i didnt come up wif any theme...

matsu : the color of the recep table is light pink/peach color. the VIP tables is red. guests tables is white &amp; gold. the chairs is covered in gold cloth. i would said it's nicely decor.. along the aisle is some flowers stand with candle lights. the flowers is white in color. if i rmb correctly i think there's no flower piece in the middle of the tables coz the table too small leh. y dun u popby expo over the wkend &amp; tk a look for urself? they juz change the decor. since ur AD is nxt yr. they might change the decor again. coz the previous decor lasted abt a yr or so.

Tansan: gd leh..free accomodation :P so how long will u b there?

Thanks duckling
What abt urself? Book any near FP? Btw u collect ur PS photo liao? U from GHA Tampine 2 rite?

Tansan, ic

<font color="ff6000">pisces; just 1 nite.. nuttin to do over ther, we jus basically check in, had our candlelight dinner, watch tv and slp thru out the nex morning den breakfast ther and go home.. hahaha...</font>

tansan: u mean u go canada for 1 nite? dun understand leh...

Matsu: Dec when? which ballroom u taking? A or B?
expo rite? u book hotel liao?

HI Elivie

It is $2000.

Matsu i book intercon 1 night.

I am from GHA yishun, have not view my PS yet. Waiting for themto call me.

Hi tansan

Your website up?? i want to see your PS

Pisces, mine is expo the bigger ballrm, B? Haven book hotel yet, still considering.

M thinking if book hotel, need to carry so many stuff over &amp; travel to restaurant. After banquet, ored so late still need 2 travel back hotel, juz to sleep, wake up have to check out liao...din really enjoy the hotel rm lei?

But the pro is, hotel is nicer 4 photo taking than QX changing rm :P

duckling : if wan can tk photos at hotel wan. u see some of those samples they oso hv pics taken in the hotels. my photographer actually requested to tk pics when i'm in the hotel leh. i oso feel hotel pics r nicer.

matsu : that's the reason y my FH book for 2 nights. when's ur big day?

tansan: keke..welcome back..me also sama sama..busy putting on makeup..only came out ard 8.15pm..coz my mother, MIL and aunt engaged the MUA to make up for them..by the time it's my turn..the time already 7pm liao..so bobian loh..

matsu: hmm..from wat i noe..i don't think they hv extra charges..even peak period like auspicious lunar date also no extra charges..but it's better to check out with QX..they might hv changes..

duckling: so which design of the card u chose..?

<font color="0000ff">pisces; keke... tought u referring abt the suite stay.. i will be there for 3 weeks, ya lor, free accomodation... keke...

elvie; yup, its $2k deposit.

duckling; haha.. website, 4get it! add me in the multiply, bandtzmaru to check out the pics..

matsu; u dun really get to take pics in the hotel or make up room.. its a waste to book a hotel, dun really get to enjoy the facilites in the hotel... my suggestion for you is to go home straight after dinner ba. if u really want to book a hotel, do it on ur 2nd day of marriage. cos the nex day after ur wedding, u nid to count ur ang pow $ and go to the restaurant to pay and return ur gowns and etc.. oredi last half a day gone.. its my experience, do consider.

angeline; thanks for welcoming me back! actuali my make up oredi done by 7:30pm.. my hubby wanted me to stay in the make up room so to give them a suprise when the guests saw me the 1st time... cos he said if i went out early and entertain the guests, no suprise le.. keke..

tansan : how to view at multiply huh? i hv to register huh?
i do agree that if u book for a night u won't be enjoying the hotel facilites. but i feel if book on 2nd night u will not hv the mood liao leh. tat's how i feel lah. so matsu if u can find a cheaper hotel then book for 2 nights lor. if not save $ go bk to ur lovenest if both of u r staying alone instead of with parents.

An important factor that i m considering is the time management.

If the MUA is late 4 some reason then i will b super late by the time we reach banquet &amp; also end up no photo taking in hotel...worst case.

Tansan, your AD MUA is Miki or Linda? 7:30pm is juz nice, relax a while then go out if not vy kan chiong, gd timing management.

So u makeup in bliss garden change room? Is it really small &amp; ugly? How many ppl can it fit?

<font color="ff6000">pisces; yup, hv to register...

matsu; AD MUA is Linda. Dun wori abt the time, Linda is very punctual... Yup, i hv my make up in the changing room.. jus plain wall wif dressing table and some chairs, maybe can squeeze less den 10 pax ba... dun xpect too much frm their room..

Haha...tanzan, i was imagining the worst like can only fit juz me sitting on 1 chair with the MUA behind me! Think i will feel like being imprison if that's the case

I m having Miki as MUA but she have another bride on that day so worry she mayb delay if i m the 2nd bride loh.

Hi angel

I dunno how to describe leh. hope this one is clear. my card is red and then in the centre got the "xi" word in gold then the side is embossed roses.

Can anyone advise on their vegetarian &amp; muslim dishes.

They told me me that they would not give full set if there is less than 10 of them.

i very sian already. first with guest list now with the dishes.

duckling : wat u meant issit that they will b given individual dishes instead of one whole plate decorate nicely with the food &amp; they eat from there like the chinese?

dear gals : can help to advise for GDL what we need to buy if both parties r hokkien?

where can i get those stuff?

any idea where can i get cheap ties as isrida has closed down.

HELP!!