Qian Xi Restaurant??

I just had my wedding banquet last week (50 Tables) at Hilltop Garden, 4th storey, Crystal Ballroom (Max. 62 Tables).

I can say is Fantastic. The Food serving is HUGE and HOT, Taste is GOOD also. If cannot finish, can 'Ta Bao' somemore.

Ballroom deco is one of the nicest out of all non-hotel ballrooms and is also better then MOST hotel ballrooms.

Free flow of Red Wine, Hard Liquor, Beer and Soft Drink. No 10% service charge and No 5% GST.

All my fussy relatives didn't comment anything bad, all just keep quiet and enjoy. Ha Ha...

Overall, is CONFIRM better then MOST HOTEL ballroom, looks very GRAND too. Only down side is, NO special suite for couples to stay overnight there...

sunnytan31, congrats! any pics to shr wif us? i hv bk the level 2 ballroom for dec07. glad to hear gd reviews so far. hv seen the level 4 ballroom. looks v nice but i dun hv tat many tab to bk tat room.

definitely agree wif you on the downside that thr are no suites nor rooms avail.

Any1 here who only had 10 tables or so who took Qian Xi Farrer Park? Any comments? I read that it doesn't provide accomodation so where do u gals actually put up for the night?

same as kittylover, i oso dun have so much tables.

haha elchwong, back to home sweet home lor...
if not, can just booked a suite in hotel lor.
i think the amount saved upon having QX rather than hotel, is enough to book a good suite room.

ngjoan, thks!

apple, yup i've visited the webby...have spoken over the ph wif a lady by the name of Suzanna...she said tat there's a ballroom whcih can accomodate 10 tables...will drop by someday to take a look at the place...issit accessible?

hi angeline,

heheheh.. oh.. those kind of shots ah?.. i think my FH will burst out laughing.. not me.. hahaha.. he's never a romantic..

i also think that i might drink water leh.. coz i'm a water buffalo.. better cut down on the water after 8pm then..

oh yah gals!! anyone can help me with looking for a good mani and pedi place at Compasspoint, Seng Kang? i'm planning to go there coz its really near my place.. easy to come home and not accidentally scratch my nails.. can anyone help?

oh.. and FH and myself will be going back to our lovenest and not to a hotel.. save $$ ... hehe

hi elchwong,

suzanna is the lady boss of qianxi..

Hey Petrina, there's a manicure shop in Compass Pt at Level 2. There's another one at Rivervale Mall Level 2. You can try these places.

Petrina, thanks! So is she the best person to negotiate to? What shall I be negotiating? As I only have a minimum of 10 tables and will most prob be taking the cheapest menu do u tink she'll entertain my request of having more perks?

<font color="0000ff">sunny; congrats! i agreed wif u, QXL doesn't provide accomodation and favours too.. tats 1 point bad abt them but overall is GOOD!!!

maggie; any pic to share since ur AD is over???</font>

hi elch...
QX FP is really very near to MRT... i think less than 5 mins walk very, very convenient lor.
ask for more perks?
wat else u want ah?
i think the package already quite good liao.
i can't think of anything to ask for leh...
hehe...

but urs is abt 10 tables ah?
then cannot enjoy free flow hard liquor/red wine leh... mmm...
maybe u try to negoiate for a cheaper rate if u r taking frm them.
if u r bringing ur own, then ask for waiver of cockage charge (some hotel/tung lok got cockage charges).

apple: thanks!

ngjoan: i dunno wat i want cos i dunno wat to expect yet...i spoke to Susanna over the ph yest n I told her I only got 10 tables n she says dun worry there will still be free flow of beer n stout...so I guess its gd enuff...will ask for waiver of corkage charge for sure...

Wat did u gers give as favours since its nt provided?

got no ideas what to give as favours leh.
maybe just do w/o any...
see how it goes... still long for me...

then when's ur BIG DAY, elch?

hi apple,

huh? i nv wanted 20 tables leh...i initially wanted 15 but nw intend to have a minimum of jus 10 but nv 20...my AD is in Dec 2007...

hi magggi (sum),

thanks for ur tips.. hee.. i also know that there is a mani/pedi place at the basement of compasspoint near the escalator to the carpark?

have u tried the second floor one before? so scared that it'll turn out not alright because i was thinking of doing french mani/pedi for my photoshoot.. and i've heard of horror stories of ppl accidentally cutting the skin(cuticles) and it bleeds.. yueaks!

hi elch,

hmm.. like that a bit hard to negotiate.. but hor.. actually i also never negotiate leh.. hehehe.. i was so happy with the free flow of beer and hard liquor liao.. and then free prining of cards too.. that one can save a few hundred liao..

hi tansan,

where've u been? busy with work also ah? very seldom see u here liao..

hi duckling,

hehe.. getting a little more ppl talking liao hor?? at least not too quiet liao..

gals,

any updates to add to the table? let me know okie??

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-1">Nick</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">AD</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">AD PG</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">AD VG</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Qian Xi Branch</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Number of Tables</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Email</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Love Nest</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Angeline</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">23 Sept 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">French Bridal</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Farrer Park</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">30</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected] </font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Ang Mo Kio</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Phoebelow</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">30 Sept 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Se1etar Broadway</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">38</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Tampines</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Tansan</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">1 Oct 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Golden Horse Awards</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">60 plus</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Seng Kang</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Maggie (Summer Gal)</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">7 Oct 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Yvonne Creative</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Seng Kang</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Germaine</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">21 Oct 2006</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">25</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Punggol</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Scanivalue</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">18 Nov 2006</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">36 - 40</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Jurong</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Petrina</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">25 Nov 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Silver Cloak Couture</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Simon - F0t0 Themes</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Christopher Tay</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">40 - 45</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Punggol</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Sw</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">25 Nov 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">French Bridal</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Bukit Batok</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">20 - 25</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Seng Kang</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Rayna</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">2 Dec 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">VC</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">VC</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">30 - 32</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Ang Mo Kio</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Elaine</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">4 Dec 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Golden Horse Awards</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Raymond - d.nuptials</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">30 - 32</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Ang Mo Kio</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Trista</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">9 Dec 2006</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Farrer Park</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Janet</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">9 Dec 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Ever Bliss</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Paya Lebar</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">40 - 45</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Aljunied</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Pisces36</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">16 Dec 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Silverlining</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Shiku Photography</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Shiku Photography</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">60</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Jurong East</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Yaya</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">30 Dec 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Golden Horse Awards</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Sam Wong</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Christopher Tay</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Farrer Park</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Nez</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">7 Jan 2007</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Simon - F0t0 Themes</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Christopher Tay</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">30 - 35</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Vonchong</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">7 Jan 2007</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Bridal Zone</font></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-1">Bukit Batok</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">26</font></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">cherynn</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">27 Jan 2007</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">White Link</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Baobei</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">27 Jan 2007</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Golden Horse Awards</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">40 - 45</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Ivy</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">10 March 2007</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Bukit Batok</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">32</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Moon</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Nov or Dec 2007</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Santiago </font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Paya Lebar</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">30 - 35</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Seng Kang</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

petrina..my AD VG is Christopher Tay..as for my AD PG..it's provided by French Bridal..my tables will changed to 35 tables liao..when i saw your list..i was like.."wow..next it's gonna be my turn liao.." haha..thanks for updating..

Hi Pat

yah more pple le.

wow angeline the next one leh.

Mayb i will go down to give u a hug and take picture haha. Mayb you too busy for me. haha.

I saw jamine photo at BB leh. very nice. so envy.

hello ladies..

so long neva come in liao.. now that i'm already a MRS.. so free like that lor.. keke.. but now starting to plan for my HM already..

duckling, u saw the photos on my multiply huh.. hee.. my frens took for me one.. my AD PG &amp; VG are not ready with my photos and video yet.. cant wait to see..

pet, pet, pet..
gg for ur PS next week liao hor.. excited?? ur WG ready already?? choosen all ur PS gowns already?? Have u decided on where to go for ur outdoor shoots?

ermm.. mani &amp; pedi arh.. u can try bishan J8 too.. there're 2 shops there with mani &amp; pedi services. my bridesmaid had hers done there for wedding.. seems like quite ok one.. u can go see see if u want..

u rem to start doin mask everyday from now on k.. drink more water, eat more fruits and greens..and stay away from fried &amp; oily food.. dun drink water after 8pm and b4 u slp.. and use eye cream ard ur eyes.. on ur PS day, dun wear ur heels if u can cos i spoilt mine, juz wear something comfy, bring facial blotters, mini fan, some snacks to munch and water with straws..bring some powder to do some touch up if u can..hee.. and most importantly, try to slp early these few nights so that u can look radiant.. think thats all.. if i missed out anything, will let u know again.. enjoy yourself!! cheers!!

hi angeline &amp; ngjoan,

will update ur details later in the evening around 10pm okie? me going to book my mani and pedi session first.. heee..

hi jas,

haahaha.. tell u something hor.. i have not seen the final outcome of my gown yet leh.. so worried.. will only get to see it this sat.. and choosing of PS gowns also this sat only.. but i more or less have the PS gown in mind liao.. as long as no one is taking that OTR gown..

waaah... must do so many things before the PS one ah? actually i think i chose a super wrong date coz i realised that thats the day my 'auntie' is scheduled to come.. so sianz..
how ah? too late to change my appointment liao..

oh yah! and i just ate chocolate, ice cream and pig trotters today!!! argh!!! hehehehe.. such a glutton right?

oh!!! u uploaded some photos liao ah! very nice.. hehe..

hi duckling and pisces,

heheheh.. me too.. miss both of u.. now never talk like last time liao hor.. when its almost like msning.. haha

oh yah.. duckling.. i'm buying the g cream again leh.. need it for my arms.. too huge liao.. hehe

Petrina: I tried the manicure at Rivervale Mall Level 2. Not bad though. Never have those awful experience that you mentioned.

Tansan: Your AD date is very near to mine. Have you got your cards printed already? When are you planning for that?

Have you girls decide to give our any wedding favors? I'm gg to Bangkok next mth and am still deciding if I should get my wedding favors..

duckling: keke..yah loh..how time flies man..countdown..another 78 more days to tekan the groom liao..wahahaha..

yah..u can come n hug me n show me yr nails..lol..

maggie: i've prepared my wedding favours..i've ordered some DIY boxes to put in hersheys chocolate..we actually wanna those mini glasses wif our names n wedding dates..but lots say not worth it..and mostly ppl might put it at one side..so we decided to put chocolates..anyway..my company import n export of hersheys..so can get it cheaper..

hi angeline not doing my nails when visit u lah.
haha. Do i get kisses from you when i visit u there haha. don't be mistaken the kisses is hershey kisses haha.

Me be getting favour also but let me see what i can get at BKK if not i will approach angeline for help lor.. U get what i mean right. keke

Angeline must share how to tekan hubby haha

I only arrange half an hour to tekan hubby leh.

You upload your pixs le. me wait till my neck long le leh.

Hi Hi..
Jas : saw ur pics..veri well taken leh..
d u sponsor ur bros' ties &amp; sisters' dresses?

Pet : for me &amp; my frens it works for us when we eat pepper..it will mk 'auntie' late &amp; pineapple will mk it come earlier. u can try if u wan but scared u eat pepper heaty wait u sore throat leh. somemore to near to ur PS liao..might not be in time. got once i cook bak gu teh leh..i think too much pepper so 1 mth auntie no come :P is urs regular?
btw my fren did her pedi &amp; mani at compass pt which is veri nice. but duno which flr leh..think might be the 2nd flr wan. but french will be quite ex leh..they charge each toe extra $4 i think. so it's basic cost like $28 + $40...veri ex hor..

if u wan there's one at city plaza which is veri gd &amp; nice &amp; cheap. for french they oni charge extra $4 for both feet. they go by appt. I used to go there but now seldom coz lazy to go tat far. there's this girl who's veri gd with drawing flowers. if u gals interested let me know.

Angeline : share with us how u gonna tekan ur hubby leh.

duckling : me juz got my hse key so busy with the reno now. wedding prepration on hold at the moment. but still searching high &amp; low for shoes. think most prob will be going to leaping lizard to custom made. searching for design now. u leh? still busy with work?

<font color="ff6000">duckling; so u finally miss me har?? keke... sumtimes i will pop by and take a quick look on any updates &amp; leave the forum le... so hw's ur prep so far? as for me, i 've got my cards but nt yet addressing them... +still take my own sweet time+ keke...

petrina; for me, i did nt do any pedi for my PS cos i dun see a point.. cos my gown will be covering my toes.. jus my opinion...

maggie; yup, my cards are collecting dust in my cupboard... hee... perhaps will distribute one week b4 my AD, its kinda of rush but no choice leh.. can't send out during lunar 7th mth... hw abt u? but for my HB's side, he has to send out b4 lunar 7th mth cos they hav too many guests liao.. its goin to be very rush for them if they send a wk b4 AD... sigh!</font>

hmm work wise ok le but still very tired lor.

Pet if u want to try express mani &amp; pedi then I can recommend good earth nail. Service is good and the french mani only cost $13 &amp; pedi cost $18.

I also did mani only. true enough the person did not ask me to pose to show my leg may scared see pig leg. haha.
Angeline keep saying my french mani is nice. haha. But I find her better still got yi duo xiao hua keke.

Tansan, you still dare to say me only come in for a while to look but never post also seldom see u in mSN cos me log in the night.

How's your webpage me still waiting to copy ideas leh.

pisces,
yup, i sponsored my bestmen's ties but for bridesmaids, i only bought them a brooch each which they wore on their dresses on the ist day and for the dinner they pin it on their wrist.
but i told my bridesmaids to get pastel green, blue or turquoise knee length dresses. then all of them got 2 dresses each for my wedding..so touched..but all wore the same color theme..

pet,
i think really no choice if it really comes.. i was quite worried that it'll come on my PS day too.. but lucky for me.. i only felt it come after my entire PS is done when i was still at the BS changing out of my gown.. lucky right?? but i tink if really yours comes then got no choice liao.. juz have to bear with it.. but i think with all the fun, u'll forget abt it..

pet,
u haven seen ur WG and haven selected the PS gowns?? oh my.. same as me.. i only got to see my WG few days b4 my PS and they gotta run and do some amendments for me some more.but at the time i only need to worry on that cos my PS gowns already choosen.. but yours is really extreme lor.. try to rush them to give it to u quick..cos will have lotsa alterations to do..

duckling: keke..my kisses also good ok..lol..actually tt day also nv did any pose wif legs one..except hubby carry me..den lift up my leg..in the end..gown also hidden up my feet..nothing to see..

duckling n pisces: eh..i haven't really tot of any ideas leh..but muz be super duper extreme one..wahaha..once in a lifetime to tekan all of them..im really happy n excited abt it..wahaha..

well..this sunday my MIL will be coming to my granny place to talk abt GDL thingy..den on 16th will be bringing all the things n give out the pastries liao..have to do it 2mths before AD..coz it'll be lunar 7th mth..kinda very fast loh..

tansan: i'll be giving out the cards on lunar 7th mth..actually i wanna give it out before tt..but way too early..see sunday how they like it to be done loh..actually for me..im not pang dang all this..juz to respect my elders loh..let them decide loh..

Hi Petrina,

U can remove my name from yr table liao...
sad to say, my father juz passed away last wed... So I am bringing forward my AD to 25th Sept cos muz get married within 100days... But due to time not enough &amp; AD fall on Mon, we dun intend to make it a big event after all...

Still trying to sort out wif QianXi whether we can have a smaller scale lunch instead of dinner on AD... Keeping my fingers cross!

sorry..found the correct link already.
To all qian xi brides, would like to find out from you.
1. If say, i wanna have tables of 40-50. which branch would be better? bukit batok or expo? And both with no pillars?
2. For the projector, is it free? How many are there?
3. No wedding favours provided by the restaurant?
4. Sound system ok?
5. Service? Are the waitress effiecient? Are the plates change for each dish? What is the number of tables a waiter/waitress will be serving?
6. As there is no suite provided, where do u change your gown?
7. trial-dinner? Full or partial menu for the trial-dinner?

8. cant think of what else to ask for now...:P pls feel free to let me know if there is any other info...

sorry to ask so many qns... have been having headache sourcing out for venues. Hope to solve this issue asap. Husband and my-in-laws are having some issues becos of the tables... my husband n 1 initially plan to have our wedding at hotel ballroom.. But in-laws and my parents wanna invite so many relatives...my in-laws also invited their m'sian relatives... so my husband really unhappy abt it... all in all both side relatives almost 30 plus tables

n ended we have to cut down on our frens n colleagues...
so i guess wedding dinner is not for us.. is parents' dinner party....
consider the money we going to "part", have to give up looking for hotels.. else will really burn a big hole.. not only on the tables but on beer, hard liquor etc...

<font color="0000ff">vonchong; send my deepest condolences to you... do be strong &amp; take care!
386067.gif

duckling; me usually MSN during ofc hrs... btw, my webby not done up yet, still pending... i tink won't be able to finish up b4 AD.. hehe..

maggie; yesterday i heard frm my MIL saying tt its ok to send out during the 2nd 7th mth.. she heard pple saying its good but nt on the 1st 7th mth..

michiko; welcome~ let me try to ans to ur quiries:-
1) venue - nvb been to bukit batok, so no commence. but i tink both branches gt no pillars ba.
3) no wedding favours for all branches.
6) make up room provided
7) full menu based on ur confirm menu pkg.
hope the above helps a bit...