Proposal Ring

hayashiryo

I am in search of proposal ring. And so far, with my very limited knowledge, I have shortlist 2 brand - SooKee's Brilliant Rose and Lee Hwa's Desiree.
My configuration is around 0.30 caret, VS1, F.
The 2 rings come up to be about $2900 (Lee Hwa) and $3100 (SooKee).

What do you guz think? I need some serious advice. Also, at the same time, share your opinion on ur fav ring. Hope this can help guz who are gonna propose get a better understanding of the proposal rings in singapore.

Btw, I know this is probably old information, but this guy Kevin came up with a huge load of information on proposal ring. The 4Cs, beyond the 4C etc. Great stuff to read. Just to share with fellow newbies.

I got my brilliant rose proposal ring around 2.8k few months ago. I had also shortlisted both shops but prefer BR due to its cut (66 compare to 58 for destiny) as well as the design of the ring, it makes the diamond looks "bigger". My FW loves it very much!

Actually the ring is more or less the same but the price is tagged on the diamond you choose. Since it's GSS now, should be able to get a better price. Gd luck for your proposal!

I would personally perferred a desiree.

I had a brillant rose for my proposal ring (went to shop with my husband), was deciding btw a Brilliant rose and Desiree, in the end decide to get SK because of better spec and cheaper. Went to Lee Hwa one mth later and compare, found that the desiree look much more sparkling and bright.
Regretted so much, already spent so much $$$ on a worthless stone, might as well spent a few more hundreds with no regrets
Sigh...

hello. i bought my ring about >1 mth ago.I decided on BR. Am very happy with it. Actually Jasmine, my opinion is that BR and Destinee is the same. Sparkles just as nicely. Destinee does not sparkle more. Infact LH came out with a Destinee 10 which is a fancy cut like B.R and it also doesn't lose in the sparkling department. I can't remember how many facets but defintely its not ideal cut (57 facet). However Destinee 10 is not round in shape. Its octagonal which in my opinion is not nice. My belief is that Destinee 10 is their strategy to fight against BR.

Anyway, above is just my preference and it differs from ppl to ppl. Your proposal ring is not just about sparkling too. Its a symbol between u and ur HB that you guys have pledge a committment to each other and this is the first step towards your life as H&W. So treasure it more for its sentimental value rather than its face value. JMHO

Hi Jasmine,

Dun feel sad. V often, the reason why the other ring looks better is cos either the specs r better, or the lighting is better. Also can b cos after wearing for 1 mth, ur ring is dirty liao, needs some cleaning to help it shine.

In any case, wotz impt is tt it's a proposal ring FROM UR HUBBY! Tt makes it 100 times better than any other meaningless rings, ya? By the way, congrats on getting engaged! I'm still waiting for my ring... =P

Hi kristen.. haha.. i'm still waiting for mine too!!!!
any tips on diamond rings?? i read in the other thread the person wrote that diamonds are just stones which dun actually cost so much..
By the way there are so many shops sellin diamonds.. I heard tak* diamonds are no good dats y so cheap... is it true???

i would think that u shld never buy diamond frm tak* n s* (not..s**k**) coz the diamonds r really of inferior quality.. if u still have time u shld go to all the shops n compare..

tak* diamonds are quite bad think cause of its inferior quality and grade ba.

s* shouldn't be that bad i have a diamond from there and it shines and look way larger than its carat size.

Hi Candy,

I've looked ard quite a bit at most of the shops in Singapore, and so far i feel quite disappointed. Cos those that are of gd prices r of terrible quality and those of reasonable quality have really ridiculous prices.

I'm not sure abt ur FH, but for me and my bf, we're been browsing together and we've decided to buy online instead. Many pple might feel that it's not safe, but i've done lotsa research online, and there's a forum (www.pricescope.com) which gives very gd recommendations on what websites are reliable. If u do a little search, u'll find that there r a few Singaporeans who bought online and are pleased with the results, at the same time saving lotsa $$.

Just for ur reference, u can just check out this website (www.whiteflash.com), do a search on their A Cut Above or Expert Selection diamonds and u'll realise that it's much cheaper than Singapore if u compare those of similar quality. This is one of the websites that are highly recommended and reliable.

By the way, as some pple have experienced, better specs on paper doesn't always mean that the diamond will look better. Cos a lot have to do with the cut of the diamond, which might not b stated on paper. If u do read the forum, u'll find a lotta experts saying that you can go for a lower colour and clarity and get a better cut. It'll look much nicer than a diamond that has impressive paper qualifications.

A diamond that is D colour and IF clarity is not necessary better looking than a G colour, SI quality diamond, if the G colour is of a much better cut. Lotsa jewellers will tell u that D colour, IF clarity is better cos it means that they earn more, cos this colour and clarity is more rare, thus commanding a higher price.

To illustrate what i mean, here's two diamonds of similar paper qualifications, but the left one is of better cut, while the one on the right is of an inferior cut. Which will u choose? ;P
454081.jpg

Be enlightened. Get informed.

Worth-less
About 130 million carats (26,000 kg) are mined annually, with a total value of nearly USD $9 billion. Now if you do the math - that works out to be US$69.20 per carat! The prices of diamond is artificially controlled and inflated. Mined diamonds are bought by cartels and kept in vaults to control supply and keep prices high, in truth there is nothing rare or precious about the stones.

For a detailed exposé of the De Beers cartel, read this article by Edward Jay Epstein in the February 1982 issue of The Atlantic Monthly - www.theatlantic.com/doc/print/198202/diamond

Have you heard of conflict diamonds?
Roughly 49% of diamonds originate from central and southern Africa - that's the majority of diamonds in retail. But this is the same region where conflict diamonds get worked into the system.

A conflict diamond (also called a blood diamond or a war diamond) is a diamond mined in a war zone and sold, usually clandestinely, in order to finance an insurgent or invading army's war efforts - http://www.amnestyusa.org/diamonds/index.do

In some cases, the United Nations has prohibited the export of conflict diamonds, arguing that their trade finances armies in fighting against legitimate governments and perpetrating human rights abuses, and prolongs devastating wars. It points to the UNITA rebels in Angola and to the Revolutionary United Front rebels in Sierra Leone (who it states were financed by the government of Liberia, also through diamond sales) as purveyors of conflict diamonds.

The UN is attempting to implement certification procedures to decrease the number of illicit diamonds on the world market. On July 19, 2000, the World Diamond Council adopted at Antwerp a resolution to strengthen the diamond industry's ability to block sales of conflict diamonds.

In 2002, the UN approved the Kimberley Process scheme aimed at preventing conflict diamonds entering the market.
See - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kimberley_Process

Still there is no guarantee the Kimberly Process can enforce 100% that no conflict diamonds make it to the market - see National Geogrpahic interview with reporter Dominic Cunningham - http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2003/02/0212_030212_diamonds.html

Natural mined diamonds have been coming under a lot of heat recently. Award-winning journalist Cecil Adams sums it up the best in a recent article: “diamonds are a scam, pure and simple.†Most people in the new millennium understand that between the DeBeers diamond cartel, the issue of child labor in Third World diamond processing operations, and “blood diamonds†used to finance oppression and genocide in Third World African countries, not to mention your snooty and pretentious local jeweler, diamonds are just not worth the hassle, guilt, and let’s not forget thousands and thousands of questionably spent dollars.

7 Reasons Why You Should NEVER Buy a Diamond:

1. The price of diamonds has been artificially inflated since the 1880's via the De Beers diamond cartel. Read this article by Edward Jay Epstein in the February 1982 issue of The Atlantic Monthly - www.theatlantic.com/doc/print/198202/diamond

2. Current public perception of diamonds is the direct result of a masterfully executed marketing campaign by De Beers that began in 1938, not inherent scarcity or value. If you've read the article by Edward Epstein (you really should), you know all of the gory details. Isn't it amazing (and scary) how brainwashed people are about the "value" of diamonds, even though they're not actually worth that much?

3. A diamond is an illiquid asset, not an "investment". Try to sell a second-hand diamond ring on eBay or at a pawn shop. Do you really think you'll get anything close to what you paid for it? Do you really think the price of any diamond you purchase today is going to go up significantly over time? Why do you think a diamond is forever? Because once you buy it, it's a 'lost' investment and you have no choice but to hold on to it. LOVE is forever but a diamond is for NEVER (if you know better).

4. The diamond industry funds warfare, genocide, and terrorism. A conflict diamond (also called a blood diamond or a war diamond) is a diamond mined in a war zone and sold, usually clandestinely, in order to finance an insurgent or invading army's war efforts. Profits from conflict diamonds are used to finance warlords in Angola, Sierra Leone, and Liberia, who use their weapons to kill and maim innocent people. You won't be able to tell if your diamond is a conflict diamond or not?
Read BBC reports
- http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/programmes/correspondent/1604165.stm
- http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/africa/3581799.stm

5. A diamond is - by nature - just a pretty rock. Think of the oft-quoted "rule" of diamond ring buying: the ring should cost a minimum of two month's salary (pre-tax), and you should spend as much on a ring as you can afford. Let's put this rule in its proper context: according to the people who sell pretty rocks, you're supposed to trade a full two months of your time and effort for one of their pretty rocks. Does that seem wise?

6. People notice the setting more than the diamond itself. To the naked human eye, most decent quality diamonds look the same. Unless the stone is yellow, has major inclusions, or has a distinctly lopsided cut, no one will be able to distinguish an ideal cut, E color, VS-1 stone from a lesser-quality diamond just by looking at it. What people do notice is the setting - how the stone is featured or placed, side stones, and the craftsmanship and artistry of the band. Knowing this - does it make more sense to focus your attention and dollars on a better stone, or on a better setting?

7. The opportunity cost of buying a diamond is huge. Opportunity cost is what you give up by spending your scarce resources on a single option. In other words, if you drop ten grand on a diamond ring, you have $10,000 less to spend on other things, like a fantastic honeymoon, a car, furniture, a down payment on a house, investing for the future, or further education. Are all of these options worth giving up for a little piece of colorless carbon?

More readings...

Not Forever
The death of South African diamond magnate Harry Oppenheimer might mark the end of global domination for one of the world's most infamous cartels.
By Susan Emerling
http://www.salon.com/business/feature/2000/09/27/diamonds/index.html

Nice ice
Lab-made diamonds are as dazzling as those mined by third-world labor. This bling may be easier on your conscience -- and your wallet.
By Corrie Pikul
http://www.salon.com/mwt/the_big_idea/2004/12/24/diamonds/index.html

What you can do?
http://www.globalwitness.org/pages/en/what_you_can_do.html

wow but im still nt coverted

u can actually get certified non conflict diamonds - bulvagri have them but the price is kinda steep for ppl like me

Actually u can get non-conflict diamonds quite easily and it doesn't necessarily carry a premium. Many online vendors actually guarantee u tt they dun sell conflict diamonds.

The steep prices of Bulvagri is due to it's branding, rather than the fact tt they sell non-conflict diamonds.

And ya man, i'm TOTALLY NOT converted! Lol.

erm well ... online 1 dun1 lah .. i prefer to get see what I see because online you can;t view the cert number mah .. where got the tools to verify the diamonds?

diamondfanatic - whahhaa same same .. i prefer the real thing anytime~

Den u're wrong Ayukie. ;)

Online pple can actually show u the cert, take as many photos as u like for u, and can even take IdealScope images, which can help u see how gd is the light return of the diamond. On top of that, u dun view the diamond in the bright lights of a shop, which r so bright tt even a "dead" diamond looks "alive"!

Of cos must go for trustworthy and recommended ones lah. It's the same principal as buying off Yahoo! Auctions. Haha.

Oh, u mean view it in person? Haha, den cannot b helped lor. For me, i'm depending on the return policy of the vendor. Usually will haf a gd return policy of ard 30 days, so if i really really dun like it i can still get a refund.

Hi, just wanna give my 2 cents worth. I always believe that a diamond is a gift from Nature and whatever the human touches added, it's always best to see is to believe.

There's a very simple and informative website that I think is good for novice to learn more about the basics of a diamond. www.idealgems.com.sg

Enjoy.

Hi, I have this problem on who should choose the proposal ring. Do your spouse choose that? While I like surprises I am afraid that it will become too big a surprise. Moreover it is such an expensive item, I want to be extra careful. Is it common to choose together?

Hi Natsuko,

I think it depends on the personality of your gf.

Some gals are rather thrifty and if so, it may be a better idea to go shopping with them.

Some gals may like surprises or may have an expectation of what a proposal ring should be like , and it may be a better idea to bring her shopping with you.

Some gals like surprises and are thrifty, if so, you may want to buy her a cheaper diamond ring (small diamond) to spring the surprise on her, and then bring her shopping for a suitable one which she likes.

For me, my husband brought me shopping for a proposal ring. I'm happy he did it because he initially thought a 0.3 ct would be suitable for me.. (his sister had a 0.1 ct ring).. but after seeing different sizes on my finger, he realised 0.5 ct was more suitable for me. In the end, after some superb shopping together, he bought me a 0.46 ct at $1.5k! Through the shopping experience, I was able to understand my husband's budget ($2.5k) and he was able to understand my preference for something closer to 0.5ct than 0.3 ct. So it was a bonus to us when we managed to get something close to 0.5ct and $1k less than his initial budget. His initial budget of $2.5k was for a 0.3ct....

Hope this info helps.

IMO, the proposal ring MUST be brought without her knowledge and shown ONLY during the proposal. For her its once in a lifetime with you, if you must buy the wrong ring to give her this surprise her then so be it.

Anyway there are ways to quietly sound her out on the brand of diamonds she likes i.e Destinee, Celestial, Brillant Rose and Hearts on Fire respectively from Lee Hwa, Gold Heart, Soo Kee and Tian Po. Just passby and bring her in to see or causally mention during advertisement in TVs or magazines over a cup of coffee in Starbucks.

Carat sizes from 0.3 onwards would be lovely.

Sizes, have to see if you already know it. If not try to get a bigger one (so that she is able to wear it when you propose). Resize for the first time is usually free so no wories.

Personally i felt that your fw would be delighted if you bring her to the jewellery shop to choose the proposal ring. Cos my fh did that and i felt so touched n loved by him.He say that the reason he dun want to give a surprise proposal ring is that i may not like it of he has chosen a design that i wont like and a surprise proposal bcomes a disappointment. So do the same,bring her to the shop she likes i believe she ever had mention to u what brand of jewellery shop she like n she wants.Good Luck! ^_^

my fh brought me to choose the proposal ring 1st. Subsequently, he knows which design looks better on me and "ventured" to all jewellery shops himself.. Later on, he bought something elegant that fit nicely on my finger.. i m sure ur fw will like the thing you buy. It is really the thoughts and significance that the ring brings..

After my little research over the past weeks, I'm thinking of getting a good value-for-money solitare round diamond from the internet. But there are some questions and wonder if any kind souls here can advise?

1. Is the ACA (A-Cut-Above) H&A diamonds from Whiteflash.com really good? I was looking at some of the specs of these ACA H&A and they do look like real good deals.

2. Are there any other "hidden" costs from buying diamonds from overseas websites other than the wire transfer charges, Fedex costs and GST in singapore?

3. How did anyone of you go about paying GST in singapore when the diamond is finally Fedex-ed to you?

4. Can anyone share the co name and address of the place that I can take my diamond for accreditation? I am looking at the below two co and wonder if both are good?

http://www.ngi.com.sg/contact.html

http://www.gem.com.sg/abt-us.htm

4a. How long does accreditation usually take? Can it be done very quickly like 30min on the spot without the guy taking away my diamond from my sight? If not, ie. they hold overnight, what are the risks?

5. Can anyone share the co name and address of the place you took your diamond for setting and the costs involved? I only managed to find these two co below and not sure about their reliability, especially for Gallery Jewellery who advertised on mocca.com since they claim to be able to do setting in 30min! How good can the workmanship be if it is done in such a short duration? What are the risks involved if we let the shop hold the diamond for a few days?

http://www.oncheong.com.sg/aboutus.htm

http://www.mocca.com/portal/site/CAS...clsId%3A121441

Thank you so much in advance

Depends on the girl. If she's not picky, then it's best to go with her best gf to shop for the ring. For me, coz I'm design-particular, I told him what I like and will just wait for the proposal date, whenever that is. heheh.

Haha, same case for me too. Cos my FH is hopeless at diamonds. We didnt buy the ring off the shelve from jewellery shops like Lee Hwa, or SK. Instead we went to source for the diamond and custom made it. Its much cheaper this way. So wat we did is that i choose my own diamond (in aspect of the 4cs)and he would choose the setting (i am not very particular with the setting)himself. So in this way, i will still be getting my suprise (as to the setting of the ring), but eliminated the risk of him getting cheated for getting a smaller or low quality diamond at a much expensive price.

hmm... for me, my fh and i went shopping for the ring together...reason being that he preferred that I choose one that I like instead of him buying one and I do not like it at all... We went to many shop like goldheart, soo kee, lee hwa, tianpo and in the end bought 'true love' from sk ...

Hahahaha...think my HTB and I are the more unique couple. We bought both our wedding bands and solitaire together on the same day from Soo Kee 2 weeks back. Now my solitaire is still him..waiting for him to give me the 'surprise'..hahaha..I mean propose to me formally la..

Hi Ayukie,

Yup, late is better than never! Actually, even if my HTB doesn't propose to me with a solitaire is also ok..but still, he must ask me formally to marry him. Cos we are the apply HDB-then ROM-then AD type, so I won't get a surprise proposal liao but anyway, think he will go do something to 'compensate' me ba...hehehe! Just have to wait lor...

Actually i didnt buy. Bf did everything himself, from ordering to collecting.

But I went to Taka's Larry once. We were not dressed very formally eg sun dress and flip flops. But we were served quite well. Learnt a bit from the sales guy, tried on a couple of rings with different diamond sizes.

Not sure if this is what you are looking for.

Hi Twinfairy,

I'm looking at going to the Paragon Branch instead. Mind share your specs with me?
For us, we choosing the ring together. I guess its also he knows Im very fussy! Lol.

Okay... actually bf bought the ring from paragon branch. He said he got it from a lady. The other day, we walked past, he pointed out to me. Looks friendly enough to me.

anyway, is 0.47 carat, D colour, VS2, 6 prongs in tiffany setting.

Just to add a word of comment. How we judge good diamonds are not just by the 4 Cs - Carat, Colour, Clarity and Cut.

The cut of a diamond determine alot other factors as well. GIA is just an institute that certify the stone, doesnt mean it is a good stone just because it is GIA certified. (I have personally witness and seen for myself how Bigger stores like L** H**, S** K**, G**d H***t, carry diamonds of POOR CUT and QUALITY.
Yes, they may be EX EX EX cut, but DOESNT MEAN THEY ARE GOOD DIAMONDS.

WHY? Coz a good diamond is also determine by its cut. The cut affects the scintillation, fire and brillance of a diamond.
On the diagram in a GIA/ AGS cert, you will be able to see the crown angle, pavillon angle, crown %, pavilion %, total depth, table % and girdle thickness that will determine the quality of diamond.

Coz U may be getting a diamond that is of Triple Excellent, however, it may be A DEEP OR SHALLOW cut diamond, not Ideal cut.

Just to add a word of comment. How we judge good diamonds are not just by the 4 Cs - Carat, Colour, Clarity and Cut.

The cut of a diamond determine alot other factors as well. GIA is just an institute that certify the stone, doesnt mean it is a good stone just because it is GIA certified. (I have personally witness and seen for myself how Bigger stores like L** H**, S** K**, G**d H***t, carry diamonds of POOR CUT and QUALITY.
Yes, they may be EX EX EX cut, but DOESNT MEAN THEY ARE GOOD DIAMONDS.

WHY? Coz a good diamond is also determine by its cut. The cut affects the scintillation, fire and brillance of a diamond.
On the diagram in a GIA/ AGS cert, you will be able to see the crown angle, pavillon angle, crown %, pavilion %, total depth, table % and girdle thickness that will determine the quality of diamond.

Coz U may be getting a diamond that is of Triple Excellent, however, it may be A DEEP OR SHALLOW cut diamond, not Ideal cut.

When you get the diamond,
They come with a cert. You would be able to tell how well the diamond is cut.

If im not wrong, there are 5 grades.
Utimately, all the 'C's account to nothing if your wife/GF dont like it. =p

i got mine from a wholesaler, AGS cert, ideal (0) cut, H&A perfect symmetry (got pics), F color, 0.77, around under 5k. i think its about 2-3k lesser than i would have to pay if i got it from those retailers.