Plaza Parkroyal (Beach Road) --- Solemnization

Chere, wow your ROM just one day before mine!
Think good to ask guest to arrive early to take photos in case later on the sky gets darker. If got another banquet couple wants to use the place before our ROM, I was wondering how to do DIY deco at the pavilion?

I was thinking of doing simple one like putting rose petals on the table and tie heart-shape balloon to pillars of pavilion. After ROM finish, then release into the air like what twinkly bubblegum did
. What about you?

The last time we went down to see the pavilion ard 3 plus, we could see the construction crane behind the backdrop of pavilion. I don't really like that but my FH still wish to go ahead to sign with them. Hopefully, by our time in Sep the crane will not be there liao hor

I've seen actual ROM at pavilion during evening time and like the ambience there too. Can walk down red carpet while sound system play our song...hee...getting excited though it's still 4 mths more

galnextdoor, yah it's really great to know you are holding at PPR the next day after mine! We can share ideas and preps details

Guess we better confirm with Felicia if anyone using the pavilion before us so we know when we can start to deco the place. Im thinking of ribbon sash (& flowers ?) for the solem chairs and maybe candles for the dining tables.

Din notice the crane. hope it will not be there then. It will be tomorrow before you know it. I still have many things undone. Wedding bands, ROM dress, ROM makeup, Groom's attire, hand bouquet/wrist corsages... basically everything else except the venue. .. oh and the march in song as well...

Hi! I do agree PPR is the cheapest in town and thought that I should swallow my indignation even after experiencing wedding planner's constant poor service. But well, this is a happy event, so won't discuss anything that will dampen all the happy bride-to-be here...the good news is, it prompted me to seek someplace with excellent service and i've found it, great sea view scenery, reasonable food menu, flexible timing with reasonable price, friendly staff w the right attitute at Keppel Club. At least its enjoyable right from the beginning so gals out there, if you are not satisfied, just keep looking.........

Yup yup we can keep each other up to date about the arrangement
. We plan to call them maybe end Aug to confirm if the banquet couple using the pavilion.

My BS package includes ROM dress but heard quite limited. If really cannot make it, I may buy one myself. ROM make-up use trial from BS...but I am thinking of not sacrificing the trial for my PS if the cost of ROM make-up not too exp. Wedding bands plan to buy simple ones during coming great s'pore sales...hopefully comes with ring pillow. Groom attire oso keep simple, juz pants, shirt and matching tie color with my dress.

How many pax u inviting? My package is for 30 pax but I may need to increase few more...Next thing need to settle fast is book the JP. You book yours liao?

dcMon, congrats on getting your ideal venue for your solemnisation. All the best to ya~

galnextdoor, yup i plan to call nearer to sept to confirm on the final details. I have not sign up with an BS yet, been to a couple and find their range of ROM dresses way too simple and very limited in design, and most look rather old. So still in two minds on whether to buy something in the malls or mtm one. Hehe.. plan to get wedding bands during GSS too. Hope there'll be additional discount.

My package is also for 30 pax, most likely to increase another 10. I have booked JP and photographer. Anyway quite glad that venue is settled cos the hotel just increased the prices.

Chere, which JP u booked?
Think for us can't afford to increase another 10 leh...too exp liao...how much they charge u for extra pax?

Do take your time to choose BS hor... cos I regret I didnt choose more carefully. Try their gown, know their policy if can change gown after selection, esp. their payment policy. Also if do MTM need to pay extra cost for full lace...how many suits for groom...portfolio of photographer and mua whether suits your style.

My JP is Mr Chan K Y.
Additional pax will be charged at $42nett each, as stated in the contract.

Which BS are you with? I intend to DIY cos feel that BS has too many restrictions and many hidden/additional costs.

Btw, when's your AD?

My BS is French bridal...like what u said BS got some hidden things. Advantage is that can try on diff gowns. DIY do u mean rent the gown or MTM one?

My AD Mar 2007. When is yours?

We wanted to ROM in Sep so that we can get the house ready by next year to stay in after our AD

I oso considered Mr Chan leh...now think he will feel veri sian if go same place for 2 consecutive nites for solemnization

I have bad experience with French Bridal at the Bliss wedding roadshow (the recent one opp Bugis Junction). The auntie that talked to us was rather pushy and not very sincere. Told me the package price only for that day when i said i will make a visit to the shop to view their gowns before deciding. SHe told me those who viewed the gowns will not sign up package?? I was like huh?!?!? So me and my bf jus walked off. Anyway, their pictures seemed not bad.

My AD will be in June 07. ROM earlier mainly due to housing as well. Still waiting for WIS, sigh..

Thinking of MTM my gowns with a tailor and get PG, MUA separately.

You better call him up and check his availability cos he;s pretty popular + plus the fact that many brides turn to him when David Loh is retiring. I think they are used to going to same places in short time frame since they solemnise almost everyday. Hehee.... different couple, different feel??

i just had my solemnization today at plaza parkroyal and i must say it's quite good. so far my experience with fiona has been good. everything went on smoothly.

Chere, my 1st lesson learnt was at French Bridal cos both my FH and I were too soft. After that, we tried not to be push around by other sales persons.

Heard Ted Collection can tailor very good MTM gown and CS, u can try.

Due to unforeseen circumstance, my FH and I have decided to change ROM date to 23rd Dec. Will try to contact Mr Chan soon

Joyz, congrats! You have become a MRS now
How the food there? Your ROM venue at function room which floor?

hi jOyz, congrats! Glad you have a good time at PPR. Any pics to share?

galnextdoor, most likely i will make my gowns at Ted Collection. Been there and am really impressed with their designs, dedication and professional service. Oh, 23 Dec sounds good!! Near to Christmas and everyone is merry

thks chere n galnextdoor,
no pictures yet. the food's quite nice according to the guests. as fer the function room, it's at level 4.

Twinkly bubblegum, thanks for sharing your photos. The balloon concept looks nice!

Chere, saw from another thread Mr Chan like not veri accustomed to March-in practice for ROM. Do be careful to communicate with him. I have his house and office number. Which one easier to contact him by?

Joyz, glad the food is nice. Do u have any guest with toddlers/kids. Did they charge the kid as one pax or not consider them if the food is still sufficient?

galnextdoor, i will take note to inform Mr Chan about the march in to the solem table when i meet up with him in july. Thanks for the note. I called his office number and left a message with the lady who ans the call. Mr Chan will return the call once he's available.

If im not wrong, i dun think they will consider kids as one pax.

hi galnextdoor,
there is plenty of food! leftovers too! i don think they charge kid as per pax. anyway i don have child guests. hope this helps. =)

Chere, I've just booked Mr Chan as my JP on 23rd Dec! So relieved one more item down
Mr Chan fulfils our requirement to be Christian and mandarin speaking. Also called HDB and confirm that I can submit ROM cert during 2nd appt, so still possible to get my house ready before my AD on 18th Mar. So happy now! I oso wanted WIS, but think chances slim so will go house hunting for resale next mth.

Both our ROM venue and JP the same now, can share share info

Joyz, my coordinator kept emphasizing that we are not allowed to bring more pple than what we signed for 30pax. That's why I worry about the extra charge of toddlers, cos I only consider adults for my calculation of 30 pax. Glad to hear the food is more than enough

hi twinkly bubblegum and jOyz, care to share your ROM pics esp taken in the function room.
I am holding mine at there this dec and would like to know how their set up in the function room will look like (at least get some idea to do self-decor).

hi AnTEvE,
i had the whole event in the function rm. i hv not recieved the pics yet. there were round tables placed in the rm wif a solemnization table right at the front on a stage. there's a centrepiece on the solemnization table. table cloths as well as seat covers were provided. we did not do any additional decorations. we had a crowd of about 40-50 pax and hence there were about 9-10 tables of 5 in thr function rm while the buffet spread was located right outside the rm. a red carpet was laid in the middle of the function rm for our mini march-in.
hope tis helps. =)

Hi Joyz, thanks for your info. Yeap I was informed with these details as well. How's the foods? The memu look fantasic, but not sure if it is nice or not. I also have 40-50pax, wonder if they refill the foods? Also, see from previous msg in this forum, they only provide one mic? I forgot to ask them abt this.

hi AnTEvE,
i have mentioned in one of the replies to galnextdoor about the food. the guests commented that the food is nice. there are quite a bit of leftovers so you need not worry about the refilling. during our solemnization, the solemnizer had a mic while the 2 of us shared one. so everything's adequate. =)

hi AnTEvE,
you are welcome! oh you are going down tis wkend. gd to know you have come to a decision. =)

Hi Nitestarz, Amara poolside is beautiful but bear in mind there will be additional charges to hold in funtion room. Need contingency plan if it's rain on that day.... For the prices, both are at reasonable and affordable rates. Its depend on individuals. You must go down personally to see and maybe you wil come to a final decision, like I do....

Hi AnTEvE, thanks for your reply, I have signed with Amara. Love the place a lot. I called PPR twice but Fiona never get back to me though I left a voicemail. Have fun with your planning.:D

hi twinkly bubblegum & joyz, can you share ur ROM pics with me?? I will be having my rom at PPR this Oct...
I would be having my solemnization at the pavellion and reception in the function room.. was wondering how the set up would be like so that i can see if i need additional deco...

hi Christine,
i had everything in the function room, so there is nothing i can share about the outdoor pavillion. as for the funtion room, seat covers were provided, we did not do any decor for the existing setups. hope this helps. =)

I not been at this forum quite a long time..
I did my ROM at the pavilion & tea at the function room.. I realised there wasnt much pics of the function room at all.. I enjoyed my ROM at Plaza Parkroyal.. Really a good choice..

I not sure whether they did refill, but everyone had more than enough to eat... Chicken wing was not a favourite.. The favourite choice is their laksa..

I will email you the link to some of my pics taken at the pavilion..

Hi joyz

Long time no chat.. Glad your ROM went smoothly as well.. How did it go? What ROM gown did you choose eventually, if can send me some of yr pics to see hehe.. take care, have a wonderful marriage.. =)

hi twinkly bubblegum, can share with me your pics on the solemnisation ceremony at the pavilion? Is your photographer able to move freely to capture diff angles during the ceremony (including the signing etc). Thanks... [email protected]

Hi nitestarz and Blanqq,

I am also having my ROM in Amara this Oct06..so have both of u signed up? When are you all having your ROM? Maybe we can discuss...

Hi twinkly bubblegum,

Can u share ur ROM photos with me?

I wil be having mine next yr in jan.

I wil oso be using both the pavilion & the function room.

my experience with plaza parkroyal was just bad..

first I came across their beautiful article in the bridal magazine where they have great ideas for ROM parties.. upon enquiried, which they took years to respond, they told me it was not workable. So I told them off to remove untrue info from advertisement.

Subsequently, I had further queries and were attended by another 2 different persons. Just when I was about to make a decision, I realised they have discrepancies in both quotes.. upon clarification, I realised one of whom has quit and another just insisted her quote (which was much higher) was correct without even feeling apologetic.

Summary - services just su@ks.....

Hi all ,

I just had my solemnisation party at Plaza Parktoyal Poolside last friday evening. It was simply beautiful. The kind of outdoor wedding i always dream of.

Felicia, my wedding coordinator has been great. She welcomed us warmly and ensured all went went for us that day. The rest of the service staff were just as good and professional. The hotel immediately offered us another room when I complained that the room they gave us stank with cigarette smoke.

The outdoor buffet setting was amazing. Really impressed with the overall ambience when the night falls. The buffet dinner spread is good and food is more than sufficient for my guests and I have only heard positive comments on the food.

The hotel is very flexible and accomodating. They allowed my friends to deco the pavilion and even assist by lending us the hotel's ladder. The sound system is great as well, i brought my own disc for them to play, and the music filled the whole area.. Felicia even gave us complimentary parking coupons for my guests, this is not included in my contract with the hotel. And i really appreciate this sweet little gesture from her.

Understand that many have encountered bad service from them, but i can assure you that i've the most beautiful wedding celebration there.

I just can't wait for my photos ..

Hi all, I just met up with Kriss today. Am considering the hotel for my solemnisation cum buffet dinner. can i ask if you paid the extra 3k to book the function rm as a contigency plan? anyone set up marquee at the poolside?

hi selsel,

In my case, no additional payment is required for using the function room due to bad weather.

Kriss told me that if we are having outdoor wedding, den we need to book the function room as a back up for bad weather...

wonder if its becos i have abt 200 guests...

I have abt 60 guests and a function room was reserved for me without additional cost. Maybe you can clarify with Kriss..

thanks for the reply... i have sent an email to him just now.. hope they can waive off the 3k charge...

btw, did anyone decor the pavilion with the contact they give?

anyone have photos to share?

I just had my rom reception last month on the 22nd. Our co-ordinator was Kriss.
Our solemnization ceremony was held in the pavellion and food was served in the function room. At our request, Kriss had arranged for a champagne fountain in the function room at no extra cost...
Everything went on rather smoothly, except that the hotel had not reserved 2 parking lots for our cars as agreed and we were issued wrong parking coupons (coz there are two carparks to the hotel). But luckily, the staffs were quick to react and changed the correct coupons for us.
All my guests commented that food was good and overall we had a memorable wedding celebration.