Plaza Park Royal

risbaby

I am considering taking stamford ballroom for my wedding banquet. However, i am not comfortable on sharing the reception area with another ballroom. Any one has used the pavilion area for the reception before? Any comments? Thank you!!!

jest14

Wow Thanks Ruthie for the circle line info! Mine is in nov. Do share some photos upon your AD wor :p hee hee.... great to meet u all here.

kairi83

I am seriously considering of holding my wedding banquet at park royal @ beach road next year. Unfortunately, I missed their recent road show. Can any kind soul send me their wedding package during the road show? [email protected]. Thanks in advance.

missycheffy

Hi Shi Hui,

They are holding another wedding show @ MBS in August. You may wish to call up and check. I have just confirmed my package with them today! I'm so excited!

jazsmiko

I am considering to have my AD @ park royal, however their table look abit small to us, very cramp for 10 pax. Anyone have feedack on this?

jellycheese8

Hi misscheffy. When is ur AD? They are holding wedding show again? Do you know when?? Right now they have alot of perks to ppl sign up before 8august. Should we sign or wait for another wedding show? Thanks!

jest14

Just sign bah. Their perks are good in the 1st plc, so dun think there will be more even if u wait for another show. Just do your homework 1st before u go for the show, eg, find the price lists/perks of other hotels you like, and do a generic comparision. :p

I'm a BTB in Nov 2010. I would say they are the best 4 star ard. Dun compare Parkroyal to 5 star la, it doesnt have bridal suite type. But if u r looking for a good 4 star, you found it lor ^^.... but I still think they are giving best of my value $, in terms of what I'm paying for ;-). Food is good I heard, I'm going for my food tasting in Aug/Sept. :p

jellycheese8

Thanks jest! Yup I know their food is nice! My company dinner held there last time. Hmm I like the rom pavilion too.
I requested to view the bridal room but they just show me the photo only. Do you know how the bridal room look like?

ahdan

I juz went for e food tasting recently.. Its delicious and they r really generous in terms of portions and ingredient!

jest14

Here....
http://solitairewedding.blogspot.com/2010/03/banquet-parkroyal-at-beach-road.html
found this while i do a search....its a normal deluxe room. But i find that its enough already. No matter how pretty n grand the bridal room is, its only for the wedding couple to rest ma. Plus i actually had the choice of either taking one day room (two rooms open up join together) as the bridal suite, or two days but one room only. I chose the two days one :p Think all the gifts will make it pretty enough!

To ahdan.... now u r making me drool already.... lol ahdan r u on facebook? lol we can connect there too! So excited for u...yrs is in oct? Read somewhere is the thread, but a bit lost now.....lol

jellycheese8

Hi jest. Thanks alot. Saw this blog a couple of days ago also.

Hi ahdan. Did you take photos of the dishes? Upload here and share if possible!!

Lols. Ahdan and Jest congrat! Erm u girls already rom or having rom on the AD?

ahdan

Hi jim..

Yesh. But haven upload yet.. Will share e link once done!
I had my rom in feb alr..a lil bit more time to rest on ad..

jest14

Ahdan: Congrats and enjoy yr day...coming soon wor. hee hee...yah would be glad if you can share some photos. if not here, then maybe fb lor.

Jim: i rom in Jan. AD in Nov. Still got 4 more months to slack.... hehehe

jest14

can see can see.....you better lock up the privacy. lol

wow yummy thanks thanks.....heard from my colleagues who had been there, that the food is good.
I went there b4 in 2005 for dinner too....fell in love with their yam+pumpkin paste.....:p

Thanks ahdan!

jest14

oh ahdan, must add...u r very pretty!!! hee hee.

also how is the crispy chicken and green curry prawns? I'm planning on those two dishes too.....

ahdan

Thks jest

I tink e fb setting is as in those in my fren list can't c.. If got e link can still access..

I didn't choose e yam paste cos I got e yam ring.. Their red bean paste is gd too.. E moment the lid is lifted.. U can smell e fragrance alr!

Both e crispy chicken n prawns r gd.. Esp e prawns.. Quite juicy n v big in size!

missycheffy

Hi Jim, sorry i just saw your question posted. Hehe. Yes the wedding show is from 6-8 Aug, called the Wedding Diary Asia 2010. See link: http://www.theweddingdiaryasia.com/

I hear they will not be giving better perks than what we are getting now, so i give them benefit of doubt la. Better sign up now, otherwise priority will be given to couples whom sign up on the wedding day, meaning they might release your booking wor..

Oh guys! UOB Cardholder gets 1 complimentary table somemore! It's a good deal!

ahdan

Hi misscheffy, congrats!

I tink e uob card promo shld be e on-gg type of promo..
When I signed up last year.. Its oso free 1 table wif min 30 tables booked.. At tt time, there's oso free 2 nites stay at any pan pac or park royal at any s.e.a countries..

jest14

Hi Missycheffy, congrats also!

To jim: I agree with missycheffy and ahdan. I got the same perks too. But it is what we all like n need, like the free flow beer and the complimentary table n stuffs :p

Jest

missycheffy

Hi Ahdan, Jest, congrats too!

I see, haha! What I feel is, compared to other hotels, there is definitely less haggling. This makes my hotel sourcing so much easier.

My future in-laws couldn't believe the perks they are giving, they insisted b/w docs. Haha

missycheffy

By the way, mind sharing with me the which are the more common 5 wishes couples will opt for?

What about their range of wedding favours available?

twlgrace

Hi missycheffy,

From what I understand, the suppliers from wedding favours are limited. Most hotels use the same suppliers.

Btw, I personally feel the good thing for parkroyal hotel is that they are very generous in their food portion. For food wise, definately not a dissappointment. The only thing is the ceiling and the pillars. Have you signed with them yet?

ahdan

hi missycheffy,

Yes I agree wif twlgrace. Limited suppliers and they can only let u noe wat r e available choices nearer to ur AD..

As for the 5 wishes, its kinda subjective to each individual couple.

I tink e pillars are really a -ve point for them.. Thus I'm trying to kp within e 30 plus table so tt some of e tables won't be blk by e pillars..

jest14

Hi misscheffy,

I agree with both Grace and Ahdan.

Sorry couldnt reply as I could not login over the weekend.... lol, maybe I post too many replies liao, wahhahaha

i haven chose those the wedding favours.... will keep u posted.

shannat

hi ladies, im also considering parkroyal for my AD in early 2012.

i hv heard the food is not bad n seen the layout of the ballroom on their website, seems ok. but i heard the service is not v gd, i.e staffs v slow? anyone hv any comments or feedback on that??

ahdan

For me I chose a mug..
There's a cartoon of a couple printed on it..
Cute!

Wanted to choose 2 initially.. But felicia adv us not to..cos guests will tend to have disputes..

missycheffy

Hi ahdan,
Yes, Felicia is right. I've seen guests fighting for diff colours of wedding favours. Some are so greedy they want both and asked the rest of the guests if they can have them. =.="

Hi twlgrace,
Yes, I've signed up with them (very kiasu) since the rates are reasonable and + reviews so far. I'm taking stamford room, cross my fingers not much complaints. Haha.

Anyone took their photo montage wish? any comments?

twlgrace

Missycheffy: congrats to you. I think the best coordinator around is Felicia after all these years

Shanna: the food is not bad, huge portion too. Personally feel that most of the staff are part timers, usually students or foreigners. Somehow the service standard below my expectation. Everytime encounter them not topping up drinks. I'm quite picky on service. Hahaha!

shannat

twlgrace: thanks for the feedback~ im also someone very picky on service! hehe~ actually parkroyal is one of the hotels i shortlisted, so i wanna go down to view the place n stuff first b4 deciding and confirming.

btw, r their perks good??

twlgrace

Perks wise I think not bad, the usual with the other hotels etc. The price u pay is nett. At least there wouldn't be other hidden charges. Btw, who are u coordinating with ?

shannat

twlgrace: i havent contact them yet, cos my AD is in early 2012. will it be too early to ask them now??? also waiting for HTB to be back for his hols in nov so tt we can go view the place tgt.

julia85

Hi Shanna! we 'meet' again in here! hahaha...

i jus realise PR @ Beach Rd has a poolside pavilion ROM... so here i am...

seems like the food quality is gd...

anyone has photos of the plaza ballroom?
is it both ballrooms have pillars ar?

jellycheese8

Hi Shanna and Julia! Yes PR at beach road have a outdoor pavilion and they will allow u to use FOC if u going to have ROM before ur banquet. I went there to view the ballroom. Both ballroom have pillars. Although I din sign up eventually but the coordinator Felicia is a nice lady. Erm u girls have to check with the hotel. Becos I asked Felicia perhaps they are going to renovate next year December 2011!

julia85

hi jim~

u mean reno the ballroom?

anyway i enquired and was told..
for the poolside pavilion.. there's a charge of 300nett for ROM b4 banquet..

julia85

shanna> haha ya.. cos we looking at poolside rom ma.. hehe...

i'm trying to see which day can go view the ballroom.. they haven get back to me yet..

mine will be dec 2012.. so u can enquire too la..
it's always better to enquire early..
be kiasu! haha.. =P

jellycheese8

Hmm not just the ballroom I think. Hahas. Not very sure. Perhaps u can ask them for FOC if possible for the usage of pavilion for ROM there will be fresh flower decoration at the pavilion!

julia85

Hi Jim...

Jaime replied me finally.

she say may refurbish both ballroom & poolside..
but dun have concrete info yet cos they're still in the discussion..

maybe can try to ask if can give complimentary usage for poolside pavilion ar.. ahha..
but so far PR is the most cheap, 300nett..
i enquired others, need 600++ for poolside..

i'll be gg for viewing on 11 sept! hehe...

shannat

hi Jim: thanks for the info~
if can use FOC, would be good!!!! hehe~

Julia: im still waiting for HTB to be back for his hols then can go look tgt.
so maybe i will enquire towards end of the yr.

julia85

icic...

btw... PR say they are gg to have an internal wedding workshop on 17 oct... but haven finalise the perks yet..

i duno wat she meant by internal.. haha..

julia85

sth wrong with the registration?

i got error..
The string you entered for the image verification did not match what was displayed.

julia85

so little ppl comment in this thread...

from wat i know..

stamford ballroom (min 25) has 4 pillars and with stairs..
and it has a v low stage.. which i dun like...

plaza balloom (min 30) has 2 huge pillars and a higher stage...

i prefer the plaza ballroom cos the stage is higher.. but i dun think i have 30 tables... =(

this sat gg to view the place.. shall see how~!

jest14

Yeah, this thread is a little quiet. :p Realised since last year when I was scouting around for hotels. But it is useful. Welcome welcome all Plaza Park Royals BTB. ;-)

I went for my food tasting already. Food is nice la I would say. Hope the actual day will be the same. ;-p

ahdan

Hi jest, did u choose e garoupa? Tis is e only dish I requested to change aft food tasting.. No chance to taste it!

jest14

oh. Hi Ahdan.... I actually choose seabass, i know its the cheapest, but the fortune teller say it is better for my hubby....

BUT during the food tasting, everone at the table ask us to change to garoupa and/silver cod.....so think we chose silver cod.....yrs was silver cod?

the seabass was great, v big, no fishy smell, v well prepared I tot....but well...mother in law father in law, my mother, their uncles....all say: seabass cheap ,why we dunno how to choose.... sigh...we decde to go with their likes la, as long as they happy.

So conclusion, i also never try garoupa.... eh, was the silver cod good?