Plaza Hotel at Beach Road

Frankly speaking,

I've attend a wedding dinner last yr, i tink e food at plaza hotel is great but e service of e staff was not dat good...

gonna tak note of it!

I went there for a wedding,
the service there and food there is not nice and somemore,
the march in is very short.
My friends had problems finding way there also.Gave pple the impression of a 3 star hotel

I just finished my ROM there yesterday. The food is nice & service is good. maybe cos mine is buffett style. The salmon sashimi & oyster very fresh. They clear the plates very fast. unlike some buffet restaurants, U need to stack the plates and ask the waiter to clear for U.

I agree on the directions. I had asked the manager about why need the card to access to my solemization area. He said this is for security sake as requested by some of their customers. So on that day, my guests said that they had difficulty going to the foyer for my solemisation due to the lift access. But all manage to go up.

Hi hazel.

So you were the one with the ROM at the club floor hehehehe..... Me suppose to have it there too but told them the space was too small to accomodate our guests. So we're hoping for a pool side solemnisation. Our wedding is in Nov.

Did you have the buffet on teh same floor as well? I'm glad you enjoyed your ROM..... Congratulations!

Yes, I am the one...hehehe....
I was nearly late too.
cos my MUA was late, and I last min, remember I didnt wear ear rings or necklace...so rush back to my room to take....
The club foor was indeed small for more guests, we had abt 40 guests...my cousins were standing..& they dun mind its ok...

No, I chose to have it at the cafe...as there is more varieties...& I can add the guests as I like. cant have buffet there...too small...

U mean yr solemisation on the same day too? cos I only see the wedding show there...else wedding dinner at the stamford room...& a workshop. no other solemisation already.

Or U go there take picture? cos I saw a lady taking a kwa with her husband checking out today.

So, U would be holding the wedding at Plaza Parkroyal in Nov? Congrats to U first!!!!

I am thinking of holding my dinner there too next yr but now I am worried abt the food as cool mentioned the food & service is not nice.

Hi hazel... thanks...

No lah me just went there to pay deposit and attend bridal show but then left early.... They actually intro me the club room 2 weeks ago when i went there but then i felt it was really too small..... So they showed me your set up of ROM just to get the feel..... My solemnisation and dinner same day.... I dunno about the service or food.... I heard of mixed reviews so far off this forum so guess go in with leap of faith lor.... When will your dinner be? Will let you know after my wedding hahahha... then you can decide if it's not too late.... heheheh

oic...the suite rm is the same as the club flr...how I wish the suite rm can be higher...cos there's a balcony there but facing another building..somemore, its very near to each other...a waste...

Hi all, I'm having my weddg dinner at PPR hotel, Stamford Room, in Sept 05. My 1st posting here.. hope to see this PPR thread active again! Anyone seen the newly renovated pavilion [area outside Stamford Rm that could be used for pre-dinner cocktail] or is the renovation not done up yet?

Hi jlyn,

Me will be having chin dinner there too in nov.... reno i think shld be done by end of this month.... can't wait to see it.. it'll be a balinese theme..... which wedding favour did you choose? think the favours there not nice at all... sigh..... anyway keep us posted on how the planning of wedding dinner goes....

Hi Esther, like you, I'm having solemnisation and dinner on the same day. According to the sr banquet mgr vincent, the next wedding at stamford room is on 21 may and the pavilion shld be ready by then. Dun remember which favours were offered to me.. I'm not particular abt this really. How's ur prep?

Hi jlyn

Well nothing really planned yet... so you having your solemnisation at the pavilion? it will be romantic... how will you be planning the day? What time will be your solemnisation?

you can email me at [email protected] for further info if you'd like....

Hiyee all!

I'm also a PPR bride-to-be! hehee. My AD will be in April'06.

I agree with esther (crayola) that their wedding favours are not nice. I love the chopsticks as I feel it is meaningful...but my coordinator Evonne told me that they no longer have tat. It's so upsetting.

Pchosg: Their last wedding show was in April..thus I'm not too sure if there is any upcoming ones. I tink it would be good that you call PPR up and leave your contact wif them. They will call you up should there be any upcoming bridal shows. Hope this helps! =)

Janna me wanted chopsticks too but was told no more sigh... so what are you settling with?

ahjo- sorweee i can't share with you the package as i haven't confirmed what specifically i need but have confirmed for date though.... it's a long story ah.... sorry.....

esther: i aso duno..haben decided yet. but feel that the rest of the wedding favours there really canot make it..

pchosg: paiseh pchosg, i'm just like esther. i'
ve yet fully confirmed all the details in my package so unable to share it with u for the time being. have been occupied with the renovation of my lovenest thus didnt meet yvonne to confirm everything yet.

esther: hahaa. if really no favours to choose...i tink i'll juz chose pralines which is just oh-so-boring. haha. think i muz really try to find a day to go down n settle all the details with yvonne liao...if not i keep on dragging time..v lazy and also quite occupied with my house.

Janna yeah if not the most choose that hahahaha.... practically and oh so boring.... yeah the house thing kills... try to settle it soon lor....

long time never visit tis forum liao.
last sun went for my food tasting @ PPR. Was abit disappointed. 1stly the deco on the dishes is not nice. Though the food is quite nice but the chicken was not fully cooked. The steam drunken prawns was not fully cooked also and there is no taste of "hua diao" wine on the prawns itself.
I called up my coordinator and informed her immediately. Felicia is such a nice person. She immediately asked the kitchen to cook another drunken prawns for us again. She apologized to us saying that it was cook by their 2nd cook. I was so afraid tat this will happen on my wedding diner. u know relatives will surely say if the food turn up to b uncook. sianzz..

hi esther,
thank you for the clarifications.
I don't think I will want to give chocolates... hmm... maybe can get my own wedding favours...

hi serene,
oh... that bad ar... when is ur AD huh? how many months before our AD we need to go for food tasting??

serene- that is not gd news for us PPR brides at all! sigh did you express your concerns to Felicia about it? Now i'm starting to get worried...... i think we shld be firm with them about such things..... cos it's only a one time affair cannot afford to get any hitches! what are your dishes?

butter- Usually 1-2 months b4 AD..... it's not cheap getting favours... ave price is $2/pc(excluding packaging and thank you note)imagine having 400 guests!

butter-1 month before hand invites must be sent out... and chase your guests like hell hahahahahha.... the hotel will need confirmation 1 week b4 the wedding

hi esther....

thank you for the info...
So, when must I need the hotel know how many cards I need? Did you gals use the in-house printer?
Sorry for the many questions... really clueless...

butter- they would give you the amt they state in your contract e.g. 70% etc..... i haven't got to that stage of printing yet cos my ad is in nov.... btw are you a PPR bride too? if you are they shld have a $100 voucher from their printer from this year's packages.....

Am new to this thread. Can I join in the conversation
Have the intention of booking my wedding with PPR. For those who have book your wedding banquet package w them. Can share the details of the wedding banquet with me? My email address is [email protected] Thank you so much..Juts wondering when they are going to hold another wedding fair? anyone have any idea?Went for the fair in Apr05 but did not book then as we thought we would wan our wedding in 2007. But now have shifted to 2006. do you all think it is too early to book for Nov 06 wedding?
Serene, seeing your comments make me a bit worried leh since PPR had been my first choice all along...So now a bit waiver liao....

hi esther,

the food is delicious... The 1st dish is nice, sharkfin quite okie, fish is fantastic, Braised Pork Spare Ribs is fantastic. But the chicken n prawns are not fully cooked. so is veri bad lor.. as i mentioned, i called up Felicia after discovering the prawns not well cooked n no "hua diao" wine taste. Felicia is veri nice. She get the kitchen to cook us another drunken prawns. This time round the prawns taste fresh n nice.
Overall the food is nice. wat i concern is whether the food will b served fully cooked to my guest on my wedding nite..

i hav drop an email to Felicia to express my concern. We will discuss again during my meeting wif her tis coming july.. Hope she has feedback to the kitchen.

or mayb its jus my luck that day.. but during my food tasting, there is another couple having their wedding diner. dunno whether their chicken n prawns are fully cooked. or is jus my luck :{

anyone here have their food tasting already?? how is it?

hi butter,

its up to u... when u wan to go 4 ur food tasting. for me, i actually went for my food tasting 4 mths before my wedding diner. we hav our parents 1st time meeting during e food tasting. also discuss abt the ping jin n ping li.

Serene,
Thanks for your email. Can you share your signed wedding package with me
Thanks. You have any idea if there is anymore bridal show going on this year?

like to check with you whether Felicia is still working in Parkroyal hotel cos i juz called n someone said she is no longer there. Btw, will it let convenient if you share with me your wedding banquet package too. Thankz

huh??? Felicia no longer there? cannot be... she just emailed me few days back... my god... think i better give her a call to double confirm...

hi Bride to be, brink79,

have u gals spoke to Felicia yet? givemmi ur email addr. i will email to u. but my package might b a bit diff.

Any brides jus hav their wedding @ PPR. I wanna to know how u feel abt the food, n deco of the ballroom? My wedding will b tis coming sept n will b holding my wedding diner there.

i have spoken to Felicia aredi but yet to meet up with her. Have you seen e banquet ballroom n the had e food tasting yet. Do email me ur details. Thankz alot.
My email add is: [email protected]

hi butter,

u can read on my messages i have posted earlier on above. mine is on 26th Sept. Wat is ur wedding date? for ur food tasting remember to see whether the food is fully cooked.