Plaza Hotel at Beach Road

Definitely is Grand Copthorne Waterfront!
Been to their ballroom for banquet before... So grand...

i think Plaza ParkRoyal is a 4 star hotel...
Do correct me if I am wrong...

Hi Butter,

have you seen the smaller function room (Esplanade room)? Is the ceiling low as well?

The cheapest Carlton's package ($668) doen not inlcude any barrel of beer for banquet held in the Esplanade room. This is a big minus for us.

As for Plaza, besides having big portion of food, was it better as compared to Rend? Besides the ballroom, how do you find the function room?

Me still waiting very eagerly for Felicia to come back. Can't wait to meet up with her, view the place and settle for a hotel.

ya like wat butter said, Grand Copthorne is new leh, their big ballroom is grand too, that is if u do have that many tables lah, its good to accomodate all in lor...

for me, i prefer smaller more cozy & more interacting time with my guest lor so i choose Plaza... that depends on the individual lor...

Gini, u can go check out more within ur budget if possible bfore u make any decision lor....

Ya, I think it's Grand Copthorone Waterfront.
Too bad they don't cater to smaller function of 16 tables...

hi Butter,

I've actually checked thru www.hotelclub.net and its stated there: M hotel 5*, Grand Copthorne Waterfront 5*, plaza parkroyal 3*.

Hi Skylar,

I doubt there will be any free time for interacting with guests for me, I am currently looking at 30 tables but if we will want a better hotel ballroom like Grand Copthorne we will try to fix up at least 35 tables.

I don't see that budget is a big problem cos guests usually base upon rankings of hotels or resturants for angpaos.

hi gini
I don't think it's that true for ur last statement... for most of us, if we are being invited to a restaurant, the ang pao will be $60 and if it's a hotel (irregardless of how many star), we will give $80...
of coz, if you are close to the couples, you will give more...

hi limy
that time, when I went to view the ballroom, I didn't get to see the smaller one...

For hotel rendezvous, the entrance is kind of like ulu... it's like behind some back lanes... my FH don't really like it...
Plaza Hotel, the entrance is much more better.... at least it's facing the mainroad....

well, seeing is believing...
u should go down to both and see it...
maybe u will have different feel...

Gini
I agree! But if you can afford, it will be nice to have it at those 5 star hotel... more grand...

For me and my hubby, we rule out the 5 star hotels coz of some personal issue...

My elder brother did not have any banquet dinner for his wedding... this really upset my dad... so now, me being the daughter, if I have it very grand, people will start talking... so my mum asked me to go for something "normal"...

butter

Thanks for sharing yr opinions with me.

My hubby is the only son in the family so i guess its only natural for my parents in law to have a grand wedding. But still, we would really need to fix up more tables.

Gini,
i agreed with wat butter said, i dun really think people will give angbaos based on hotel rankings unless of coz they are ur close frds, i would think that relationship comes in more importantly than rankings...

btw, from wat u check from. www.hotelclub.net, that is based on international worldwide, so basically those ranking there are not relevant to SG lor, i would say tat Grand is a 5star & Rend & Plaza are 4star...

if ur idea of having a wedding is more fixed on whether u can make an earning of extra $$ from angbao coz of the hotel standard, well, just a word of caution, "the higher ur expectation, the higher ur disappointment" I mean this kinda thing cannot say one...

so its better to just work things out within ur budget & goes along with it...

for my case, i would definitely want to have interaction time with my guest & i have about 75 tables for both sides, so thats is why i split my wedding dinner into 2 days so that it will not be such a major event that i might not even know wat is happening lor...

Butter,

Thanks! I definitely want to make a trip down to Plaza and feel for myself.

Do you know whether their min. tables is inclusive of reserved table?

Me and FH currently considering Rend, Plaza & Carlton. My dad asked for 5 tables from my FH but do not want to tell me if he can really fit all 5 (he once did mention he only need 3 tables). Including his 5 tables, I have exactly 15 tables. If in the end cannot meet min. 15 tables I'll have to take Carlton which is ex. Too bad my FH doesn't put restaurant and buffet under his consideration.

Gini,
I agree with both butter and skylar, high rating hotels doesn't equals to bigger ang bao. I had a colleague's friend who had a banquet at Fullerton. He went round telling his colleagues the price per table. But end up still loss a few thousand dollars.
I think it's about striking a balance between how much you willing to sacrifice and the estimated ang bao money you think you can collect.

my 2 cent worth of opinion...

Hi skylar & limy

Our expectation is only to break-even and i hope that the guest invited will enjoy the food and atmosphere. I think finding a good hotel with excellent food is very important for this type of joyful occasion.

How come there's a difference in international and local standards of ranking? I thought the services quality should be the same.

Anyway, have a good day.

hi limy

minimum table is not inclusive of reserved table...
well, u don't have to know exactly how many tables u need now... we only confirm that nearer to the actual day of the banquet....

My mum's friend, her son had his wedding banquet at Hilton Hotel and the people they invited are those "upper class" ones... mostly their business associates... in the end, they made a loss of $20k+...

Can anyone share their experience or feel of the Plaza Hotel and can help to forward the pricing of the package to me? Thank you.

hi Philip

I am a Plaza Hotel bride-to-be.
I went there for a wedding dinner 1 month back and I must say that the food portion is huge and the service is so-so...
As for the feel, well, everyone expects different things... so, I suggest that you go down and see the ballroom for yourself... You can contact the manager, Felicia... she is friendly and approachable...

For the pricing of package, you can drop an email to them and get them to send u...

Hi Philip,
I am also a Plaza B2B, will be having my wedding this mth.

like wat butter said, its up to the individual for the feel of it, as i do like cozy feel of the atmosphere...

& yes, Felicia is a very approachable lady, felt totally at ease with her...

wow... skylar, ur AD is this month ar!!!
which date is it?
So fast... Me still got to wait for 1 yr plus.. just change my AD date to Sept next yr...

Hi, for those couples who are intending to hold their wedding banquet at Plaza Beach Rd next year and have not booked the package yet, please let me know as I'm urgently finding someone to take-over.

Min. no. of tables = 35
$628nett/table (Fri, Sat or Sun)

I understand that this price is not valid for next year's packages. However, if you are interested, the Hotel can arrange for the take-over.

If I'm unable to find a replacement, I'll have to compensate the Hotel $21k plus.

Please help if you can.. Thanks!!

I appreciate those who actually replied...... However, I'm still unable to find a couple to take-over my package.. Should anyone be interested, pls HELP!! Otherwise, I'll have to compensate the Hotel. I'm willing to transfer my deposit to the interested couple but the Hotel refused to let me do that. My deposit has been forfeited. However, should anyone be interested, I'm willing to subsidize on the deposit that the couple will be paying......

Hi butter,

According to them, the deposit is to reserve the room for the date that I have booked only. Even if I can find a replacement, I can't transfer the deposit to the couple..

but why is it that you have to pay them "penalty"? I thought for most hotels, the most is that we forfeit the deposit...
btw, when is the date that you had booked previously?

I also booked my 2005 wedding with Plaza Park, heard from the manager that their's a 4-star hotel locally. I am quite pleased with their package and svc and is looking forward to my big day...

Btw, thought of choosing Grand Opth too.. but at the end feels that Plaza Park is more suitable... in terms of price,package and location.

hello jane,
u just booked ur package?
who did u sign up with?
did they offer y ou their 2004 package? or the 2005 one?
When is ur big day?
Mine is in Sept next year... still long way to go... hee hee....

160671.gif

Hi All Brides to be,

Just to share.
I was a very Happy bride of Plaze Parkroyal at beach road.
I had 40 tables for my wedding, in just June this year (2004).
Plaza Grand Ballroom can hold up to 42tables.

When I was a bride I had almost the same concern & worries as some of you. Alot of things to see to it, but I consider myself very lucky to have chosen Plaza Parkroyal to hold my dinner, cos the banquet manager & his team really put in lots of effort to see to my needs & request.
And most importantly, I received good feedbacks from my guest on the service & food.

Hi Apr,

I am also intending to have about 40 to 45 tables in Plaza.
But I heard from a friend that although the ballroom can hold up to 40 over tables, the distance between tables will be already very small at about 38 tables.
Do you have this problem when you move about for photo-taking?
also he mentions that the table is small and each guest is like very close to another.
is this true?

and, do they have projector?

hi sword28,
They do not have a projector.... We have to bring our own portable projector and lap top... This is the downside of Plaza Hotel...

Hi i'm new here. Currently i'm searching for a hotel to hold my banquet next yr. I have shortlist 3 hotels:
1. Hotel Rendezvous
2. Plaza Parkroyal hotel
3. York Hotel

Does anybody has any comment for these 3 hotels base on service, price, food, ambience and etc?

Pls let know cos i don't know which to chose.

Hi Jo

I been to Hotel Rendezvous and Plaza Parkroyal Hotel for banquet recently. I must say that for service wise, both are on par. For food, Plaza's portion is huge and nicer. Ambience wise, both have its strengths.
I chose Plaza Hotel ultimately as I feel that the main concern guests will be FOOD!

I have no comments for York Hotel... Never been there before...

It will be good if you can make a trip down to these hotels personally to have a feel of the ballroom.

Hi Jo,

For Rendezvous, i dun like their service staff, i mean i attended a wedding there & it sucks big time! very rude service staff...
The food is ok, but "begging" the service staff puts the whole thing off

I chose Plaza Hotel too! coz i love the food, my wedding was over & imagine when u go ard tables taking photos, everyone commented on the great food... some of my frds even sms me like days after the event to say that they love the food & my wedding was great!

so it kinda sinks in & i love the feel of it..... hehehe...

as for York Hotel, u better check when is ur wedding & if it clash with their Penang Food Fair promotion, coz i know that their food fair is also jam packed but u will have to walk past the food fair to get to ur ballroom.... so u won't want ur guest to be smelling like "Char Kuay Teow" rite?? hehehee......

I have just met the FnB from York Hotel (Alan), he's very straight forward and friendly. But forgot to ask him when is the Penang Food Fair.

I will be going to the other 2 on sat and sun to view their rm.

Anyway really thks for your comments on rend n plaza hotel.

YEAH YEAH!!! NO WRONG ONE!!! PLAZA HOTEL GOODY GOODY GOOD!...cos i oso had my wedding there recently!! ahahahahahahahah

Hi tiewster,
did Plaza hotel provides u with the projector?
I have also heard that the cocktail area is being shared by another ballrm, izzit true?
What type of wedding favors did Plaza hotel offer to u?

Hello all Plaza brides,

I just signed wif Plaza Parkroyal recently. Will be taking the Stamford ballroom. Hear from my coordinator that Stamford ballroom will be renovating soon. After the renovation, the entrance to the Stamford ballroom will be at the poolside. So Stamford guests will not mix with guests from Plaza ballroom. There will be a full length glass which allow guests to see the nite scenery outside the ballroom. So been expecting to see the brand new ballroom.

Quite happy wif the package n the attractive perks offered to mi.

Hi cool,

hav u signed up wif them yet? If u hav signed wif them last year, tink ur packages n perks will be better than mi as there was a promotion packages last year. I jus up wif them 2 weeks ago so i miss out the promotion packages.

hi serene,

I have not signed up wif them cos haven get date from master yet
can share with me the price and menu of your package and the perks they gave you?
How many tables u having?
email:[email protected]
Thanks a zillion :-)

hi fickle-minded,
I signed up the package last year (more than 6 months back) so I think mine will be different from yours (mine is the 2004 package whereas yours will be the 2005 one).
So, I think you need not compare with my package coz I understand that they increase the price for those who signed the package this year... and from what I know, the increase of pricing is quite a lot (that's why I kan cheong and signed so soon)....

Hi fickle-mindeded, cool,

U hv got mail...
Sorry for the delay as I jus finish my exam.
Happy New Year to both of u...

Cool, hope u find ur ideal hotel soon.