Plaza Hotel at Beach Road

Oh... My wedding will be on 24 Sept 05. 2 days before yours. Hee hee....
Wow... so bad ar... food not fully cooked!!! Will take special note of this... thank you...

U chose the wedding favour liao?

crayola

HI ladies

I met up with Fiona yesterday and she was fantastic! Very very accomodating and helpful... she even gave me her own emcee script and a countdwn to the wedding day list.... All done up by herself! Impressed with her service!

butter/ serene- what wedding favours did you gals choose?

Hi esther,
I had not choosen the wedding favours yet. I think I will be doing it when I go down for my food tasting next month. What kind of favours do they have now? (heard no more chop sticks liao)

Any idea when do we need to start printing the wedding cards?

coolman

Hi brink_79, bride-to-be,

u got mail...
I suggest u to go down to see the hotel n talk to Felicia. She will be glad to show u around.. n discuss wif her ur wedding diner : )

coolman

Hi better,

u got mail..
When i went to my food tasting, there was a wedding going on, saw that their wedding favour is tea-leaves in a small bottle. veri unique.
Care to share ur wedding packages?

10q..

Just replied you and just realised that your wedding is 2 days after mine. Hee hee... Asked the same qn again in my email, silly me...

When do you think we can start printing the wedding cards?? When do we need to confirm the wedding favours?

Have you went for your PS? Any pics to share?

coolman

hi butter,

mine is a weekday diner. sun(25th sept) my customary. mon(26th sept) diner.
urs is weekend so will b exp. mine is weekday so cheaper lor.. i book too late so sun slot was fully book already. so no choice so Mon for wedding diner.

Hi Serene...

Oh I see... any idea when we need to choose the wedding favours? Eh... what other preparation need to do huh? I like quite free... haha...

coolman

hi butter,

u got mail.. i going to down to hi-tech tis sat.. so far they r the cheapest i have found. will b discussing wif Felicia someday next mth n confirm my dishes n wedding favour lor..

can i see see ur PS photo also? 10q : )

coolman

hi jean,

hav ur parents n ur hubby parents discuss all the pin jin n pin li?? tink right now must prepare a list to buy for guo da li n go chinatown to buy those wedding traditional tingy.. u look for wedding photographer?
how abt ur hse reno n deco? done already? also the printing card shop. n most important ur food tasting. remember to tell mi how u feel abt ur food tasting leh.

Oh... so many questions at one go. Hee hee...

My parents are not those very traditional people. Most of the times, my dad is quiet (by nature). So, my mum no choice must go and find out those customary stuff. My in-laws are those very traditional people. This really freak out my mum. Ha ha. She met my in-laws that day and told them that she wants to keep everything simple. So, I think everything will be represented by ang pao on the GDL day.

I already found the photographer and videographer for my AD. What about you?

I will be staying with my in-laws for couple of years until the flat matures and my hubby will sell it off. Don't need to do much reno... only need to buy new furniture for the master bedroom and my hubby will paint it. His house is still very new... 3 yrs old...
What abt u? where is your love nest?

crayola

Hi butter!

wow so many posting in one day! Will have to choose my favours soon too... still deciding.... According to Fiona, she said she will remind us of our tasting and will give us the cards on that day..... it's about 2-3 months before the AD..... Was thinking of changing my cards and getting my own cos the hotel cards not nice lah lah... but then again thinking pple usually dun keep the invites so will most prob use theirs and use their voucher to print the inserts....

lilo

Hi Serene..i'll prob go down sometime nxt wk to discuss wif felicia. But the "tong shu" for next yr is not out yet. How do u gals decide on the customary date?

Hi esther,
Oh, so it's almost time for me to choose and take the wedding cards... my AD is in Sept 05.
Ya, I think don't waste $$ to get cards outside... Most of the time, people don't really care loh... haha...

Hi Bride_to_be,
U can get any feng shui shi fu to calculate the date for u. My date was given by my father last year, before the tong shu was out.

coolman

hi Bride_to_be,

i also face the same problem last year...haha... in e end i still wait for the tong shu out.. my hubby checked the date himself. we not veri "pang dang". so we oni make sure the book did not say not suitable for marriage, then we choose lor. Lunar August is also a good mth for wedding. We did not go find shi fu to get calculate the date.

coolman

hi jean,

as i spent alot on my ID & OD photo, i oni find photographer for my wedding. no videographer lor : (

mi love nest is at Choa Chu Kang Crescent.. will b oni mi n my hubby sharing the love nest..
live wif in-law is one good ting. At least when u hm from work, ur diner already prepared. n there are someone to share e hse-hold chores. quite an adv if u tink of tis way. haha...

brink_79

When did you book your wedding package since your wedding is on 25 Sept 05? Within 2005? That is why all the dates are taken liao?

Hello Serene,
Oh... no wonder... U have this additional ID cost!! I don't have (wish that I have also), I only need to get new furniture for the master bedroom and paint the room. Nothing much...

Eh... CCK Crescent is it near Yew Tee?
Me will be at Sembawang next time... near near.. hee hee....

My MIL don't cook one. True about the housework part. She's a housewife...so, I only need to take care of my own bedroom. Hee hee...
But still, I am looking forward to the day when we can be on our own... hopefully by yr 2008... after my hubby sells away his current flat...

coolman

hi brink_79,

ya lor.. i been sourcing for hotel since Nov last year. As i dun hav much tables, so most of the hotel ballroom not taking. I oni sign wif PPR early Jan. As my customary on 25t Sept, the Stamford room already booked by other ppl. so no choice take 26th Sept for wedding diner : (

coolman

hi Jean,

yup, near to Yew Tee MRT. jus 10mins walk to the mrt. My married friends told mi they always tao bao or eat outside after work cos go hm too late n too lazy to cook. so I felt tat leaving wif in-laws (willing to cook one) is a great adv lor. eat outside not veri healthy.. heehee..

Eh... maybe you can check with Plaza ParkRoyal again on the availability of Stamford Ballroom on 25 Sept 05. I think they made a mistake and thought that my AD is on 25 Sept 05 instead of 24 Sept 05. Thus, the ballroom on 25 Sept should be released now.

coolman

can i check anyone using the hotel printing? how is the quality? n the services? Felicia intro their hotel printing services n i called up to check the price. it seems tat is cheaper than i found currently.

crayola

Serene- maybe you can share with us what the prices for the printing cos i dunno what shld the cost be.

Hello Serene,

Can share with me the menu which you choose when you went for your food tasting?
Me going this coming Sat... going to call Felicia up to change some of the dishes...

coolman

Hi jean, esther,

My menu is as followed:

Hot & Cold Platter: Drunken Chicken, Mayonnaise
Prawns & Fruit Salad, Chilled Salmon Sashimi, Pink Dory in Ginger Sauce and Fried Shark's Fin Omelette

Soup: Braised Shark's Fin Soup with Crabmeat

Fish: Steamed Coral Garoupa in Soya Sauce

Poultry: Roasted Crispy Chicken with "Spiced Salt"

Others: Braised Pork Spare Ribs in "Wu Xi Style"

Prawn: Drunken 'Live' Prawns with Thai Chilli Sauce

Vegetable: Abalone & Green Vegetable

Noodle & Rice: Braised Ee Fu Noodle with Crabmeat

Dessert: Cold Snow Jelly with Honey Sea Coconut

Thanx for sharing.
I am going for the food tasting tomorrow. I think my dishes are more or less same as yours, except for the pork ribs, vegetable and dessert. Hee hee...
Wanted to choose pork ribs at first, but my sister was telling me, we might have many "uncles and aunties" and they might have difficulty eating the meat. Ha ha... In the end, I chose the scallops and something in the yam ring...

jlyn

Butter,

No worries, the yam ring dish is nice.. scallops are big and tasty.

Serene,

The only negative feedback i gave was the presentation of the steamed coral garoupa in soya sauce. The tung-oh vegetables were sticking out all around the plate..but the fish is delicious. My FMIL who worked in a restuarant commented that the fish is fresh and steamed just right.

I think the banquet dishes at Plaza are more or less nice (standard is there kind). The only thing which I don't like is their food presentation. Ha ha... It's like... a lot kind... as if we have not eaten for days type... haha...

yama

Selling a voucher which entitles to $28 off per table fr Plaza ParkRoyal at $200.
valid till 17/9/06
valid for min. 25 tables for weekend (include fri)
and min. 20 tables for weekday.
Interested, pls email me at [email protected]

ednapang

hello hello...
is this thread still alive? haven seen a post in 2-3months.
me new here and thinking of having my dinner at PPR also. In fact, i'm deliberating between PPR and Carlton hotel. Really very shang nao jing just to decide where to hold the banquet. So scare relatives and friends will complain hotel not nice, food not good etc...stressssss...though AD is Nov 2006 lor...haiz
i only have till 7 nov to comfirm. the date i'm looking at very popular. most hotels taken up
HELPPPP!!!!!

ribenna

Hi Edna
i am also contemplating b/w carlton and PPR
when to dicuss wi carlton wedding event speciallist disapoointed wi his services every thing can neg , no extra room no corkage free everything must follow their rules and regulation so rigid business like
whereas PPR is so much better he treat yr wedding as a celebration not so business like and the food is much better got Garoupa , steam prawn much more presentable.the only adv to me carlton has is the location more convenient that all.
hey there will be a wedding on THIS sat 5nov , i will be going there to take a look at their setup

u shld go down and have a feel of the place ;p

crayola

Hi edna

It's value for $$ @ PPR.... but then again i can't advise you which is better cos I dunno abt carlton.

Guess it all depends on what type of wedding you like and which package you would prefer. I'm sure carlton BTB will tell you pros & cons about the hotel as much as we would with PPR.

jlyn

Eh.. how come all jumped to this thread? Anyway, for those who are keen to hold AD at PPR, u may also read up from the <plaza> thread.

Butter: Esther's wedding is not over yet.. hahaha. Did PPR's management give you a satisfactory explanation?

Esther: Kan Cheong mah? AD coming loh...

crayola

butter- my wedding not over yet leh.... This coming Thursday! Panic! hahahhaha

jlyn- actually not jump lah.... just answer qn lor.... I'm so stressed that my gown is now tight! must go on strict diet for the next 6 days till wedding! SIGH!

Oh... I make a silly mistake...
Esther, I am so sorry...
U must be on leave now... sleep early tonight.. hee hee... have fun tomolo..

Hi Jlyn,
Well, whatever explanation they gave can never turn the clock back...haiz...

crayola

Win Thank you so much! Hopefully everything goes well...

Butter- it's okie...
So they never gave an explanation?

Hi esther,

I met up with the senior banquet manager and he was not around when all the incidents took place. He was on leave then.
Thus, he just listened to both side of the stories and gave some conculsions.
That's all and the case closed. I told him upfront before the meeting that we are not looking for compensations or what... we just want some answers to all the happenings...

ribenna

hi butter
so everything is reslove alreadi ??
i am now waiting for Vincent to sent me the contract AND i hv stress to him many times abt my AD hope they dun get it wrong man

Hi xiong,

As long as you are with Vincent, you are in good hands. I am not saying the other coordinators are no good... but Vincent is more detailed kind of person...

ribenna

hi butter
yup like vincent can click wi him but he is always v busy 1 cant get hold of him

now i am waiting for him to sent his contract over .......

hey butter when is yr dinner ?

hi xiong,

Ya... he is wearing a lot of hats over at Plaza... Capable young chap...

Oh... my dinner was on 24 Sept 05... over 1 plus month liao... hee hee... but still miss the preparation part...

ribenna

whahha so u r the Ex PPR bride well mine will be next yr dec after the reno ;p
any pointers / advice for me
anything to look into i still blur blur now
thinking what to prepare

ribenna

hi butter,
whahha so u r the Ex PPR bride well mine will be next yr dec after the reno ;p
any pointers / advice for me
anything to look into i still blur blur now
thinking what to prepare

Eh... ur AD is next yr Dec... I think at the present stage, you should have gotten your bridal shop.. if not, you better hurry... and, now is the time to look for photographer/videographer...

ribenna

hi butter
oh yes gotten the BS and photgrapher so now is like soucing for my ROM dress
anything else i need to look out for ?

ps: hey do u notice that the PPR bride all like very quiet not much chit chat 1