Plaza Hotel at Beach Road

chocs

Last night suddenly realise that just holding a banquet dinner for wedding day is soooooo.... boring
. Does anyone have any idea of jazzing up/lifting up the spirit at Plaza Hotel?

I originally meant to hold a buffet, sort of like a dinner and dance, with lots of music. But somehow i managed to drift away from this ideal. I can't even remember why.

Let me recap, at first I dream of having it at sentosa, with outdoor cocktail party, me mixing around with guests. Then dinner will be buffet with music and light dancing.

Then the date I chose turn out to be a Monday, so troublesome to go to an island
, plus the venue was not available anyway
. (The coordinator was really horrible, told me ballroom available, but say minimum 30 tables, still ask me to see, but dun wan to place tentative booking for me.)

So I had to search for a venue on mainland
. My mum said she like traditional Chinese dinner, more presentable for my relatives
. So I had to search for good budget venue with good traditional Chinese dinner. And besides I'm not really a dancing queen, I just like music. Most of my friends are probably the type who dunno how to dance or dun like acts of public display.

End up booking with Plaza Hotel. (I am not really sure the food is good, but the transport to the hotel is a thorn in my heart
.) Booked bridal shop on the same day at the hotel. Then was relieved that everything was settled.

But now, I can't seem to find any gown in the shop or in the magazines that's to my liking
. Then turn out I chose a traditional dinner for my relatives and yet majority of my relatives will not coming to the dinner
. Then I suddenly realise the wedding dinner is so far off from what I started with
. I really regret. Not that the dinner venue is no good, I just feel that holding a traditional dinner like everyone else is nothing special.

How? Any bright ideas? I can't change venue cos I've already paid deposit, and I'm really tired
yawn.gif
of searching.

Chocs

shih tzu

Hi Chocs,
Wedding dinner is never a thing that is to cater to our needs, its always to parents......

Your idea of having a outdoor cocktail party, with you mixing around with guests still can be done. Have actually went to friends ROM party. hold in the evening of their ROM of course.

Wat my friend did was to have a chalet, and BBQ and of course lots of drinks.

This is just an idea, there are lots of other avenues to brighten up your wedding dinner, but do remember wedding dinner is never meant for the couples themselves, instead its more for the parents.

sc04

I quite agree with what Shih Tzu said. Hence, I intend to have a mini celebration for my ROM with close friends and family members. Leaving the customary dinner for the relatives.

Wanted to have something else but neither my family, his family nor we are ang-moh pai mah. So, what to do. Sometimes I do feel it is actually a waste of $$. Then again, walking in with your hubby, with everyone's attention can be quite shiok too. Haha

chocs

I meant to hold my ROM outside the ministry, so that I can have a mini celebration, snacks and drinks and relaxed pace. But my FH said it's too troublesome, so we booked slot with the ministry.

Accidentally, the date we chose was a broken date, so we are now waiting for ministry to reply on how to change the dates.

Now I really hope I can have my ROM outside. Maybe I can try to persuade my FH. Or at least come up with some idea to celebrate afterwards.

Any more suggestions,
Chocs

ivory

hi Chocs,

i oso wanted to have solemnisation outside ROM. was thinking of having at Rasa Sentosa cos wanted a romantic and different solemnisation for memories.

initially my bf said okay but now he suggest to save up the money and have a better banquet at a better hotel instead. was quite unhappy but i guess have to give and take cos he say he very stressed cos his parents pestering him to ROM soon, if we solemnise and customary on the same day, may hv to wait 1 yr..

so okay lor, pity him, gif in to him say ROM at the ministry in March and he promised a grand wedding for me

if u guys are not having a big customary then tell ur FH that at least fulfil ur desire for a private and warm solemnisation for memories sake?

chocs

Dear Ivory,

How is it possible to have both ROM and dinner on the same date? I tot must have ROM earlier so that can submit marriage certificate to HDB. But someone has told me that the certificate can be submitted after getting keys to flat.

regards,
Chocs

chocs

Oops,

Dear Ivory, sorry for making you confused. That question is posted to everyone.

But Ivory, all guys seem to afraid of complicating matters. Like mine, he originally agreed to everything. As the time draws near, everything was veteoed out.??? How??? I am really unwilling to relent, cos this is a once in a lifetime thing, but when I mention this to my FH. He frowns and says "what else you wannnnnnnnn...". So how to open mouth and say that I dun feel like a princess getting married?

Sigh,
Chocs

ivory

hi Chocs,

u can get a JP to do the solemnisation outside the ministry, just register the date with ROM can liao and some paperwork and coordination to be done then u can have the solemnisation u want
usually ppl will have their solemisation done in a dayroom of the hotel that they are having the banquet in, say about 5+ in the evening then they proceed to the banquet after dat lor. u can check out the thread for ROM... a lot of info there

i dunno about the HDB policies cos we did not apply for flat, can't help u on dat.. pai seh..

ivory

hi Chocs

its okay...

hahaha... relax, u n me the same, we first time getting married ah.. then our bf first time qu2 lao3 po2. there's a lot of things we do not know how to go about doing so this is the time for u guys to communicate.

to him, he may find it troublesome cos he never expect so many things to be done once u guys decided to get married

me too.. im not so hard up abt having a romantic ROM or a grand wedding, etc.. just dat as time goes by, i find dat its gonna be once in a lifetime thing and though i dun need the event to be grand, i must feel good (like a princess) and worthwhile for us to spend our time and $$ on our wedding. its our wedding, not others, so we gotta talk.

a bit of unhappiness do happen once in a while cos my bf keep changing his mind like 1 day he dun agree to my arrangement (ROM and customary on the same day), another day he say good idea to hold both on the same day.. then less than 1 week, he say no good cos of his parents... i got pretty fed up with him too and he hasn't propsed to me yet. so i told him straight, wat i wan, why i need them (cos i need to feel complete with the proposal
gals will always be gals). then he'll tell me wat he wan, why he wan and why he changed mind so often. it all just narrows down to 1 pt, both of us getting married the first time so we need to figure out all the things to be done by ourselves

just to let u noe, todate we still haven't set a date for our wedding nor ROM
but we gif ourselves a deadline to set the dates by next week. then we proceed with the banquet and bridal package booking..

i suggest dat both of u have a good discussion together, mayb after a good dinner? or u can send him a notice of meeting, agenda - discussion on upcoming wedding preparations

field

hi CHOCs.. happen to pass by... hope u dun mind

u have to submit yr marriage cert. 3 mths after u collected yr keys..
as for my case, i collect my keys in jun02 and by sept02 to submit cert. but we write in 2 ask for defer by another 6 mths i.e by end mar03 to submit the cert.. juz provide them with some proof like reciept of bridal booking or banquet booking etc...

hi ivory

chocs

Dear field,

Thanks for that info. I didn't know can defer by that long, it will be really great if i can have both ROM and dinner together. It's actually less trouble, come to think of it, and our guests get to see us say 'I do'.

Originally, I tot if hold separate days, I'll like my guests to see video clips of the ROM. Hmmmm, worth thinking.

I read another thread on a bride who held dinner at Rasa. Goodness me, here I was thinking that Rasa will be great, there she was saying that afterall, it's still a traditional dinner inside the siloso ballroom. What she did was a complete revamp of the dinner schedule. She had the stage converted to main tables sitting. Traditional yum seng only for the relatives tabless. A couch was shifted into an open space area, that's where the couple and personal friends got together and have fun and big group photos.

So any thoughts?

Chocs

chocs

Is there anyone who had both solemnisation and banquet dinner held on the same evening at the banquet venue? Could you let me know how you arrange your schedule and whether preparation was hectic because of both are being held together?

Thanks,
Chocs

sc04

hi, me back in action

On the solemnisation part, me and HTB were all keen and game about it. As the date draws near, I was the one who starts chicken out. Haha. Don't know why. Suddenly felt very "ma fan" lor. Like so many things need to be done and feel like just having a simple one and don't have to be bothered with so many things. Aiya, anyway, girls are girls, somethings always change our minds. Hee Hee.

Anyway, we test test the water and who knows, booked the JP on the spot and so, we are on now back to our plans of solemnisation outside.

Will go by the flow lah...

Chocs, I think holding it on the same evening can be quite stretched huh. Then again, if u felt it is more meaningful, why not? My customary would not be so soon, so will have my little fatansy of a more informal and mini celebration of ROM first

chocs

Dear gals,

my FH said NO to:
1) ROM outside ministry
2) after ROM celebration, just simple tim sum.
3) both ROM and banquet dinner on the same evening.

In that case, there's really nothing to look forward to. I can't persuade him, so I guess I have to say goodbye to all those great ideas I had and those you contributed.

Sigh. Thanks anyway.

Chocs

sc04

Cheer up, Chocs!

Anywhere is fine when you marrying to the man you love, isn't it
stay lovely.

ivory

hi Chocs

dun b sad, as long as ur FH has a valid reason for saying no to some of your request, mayb you guys can try to work it out for other better stuff.. like honeymoon?

diveshop

Jz wanna add on to say that mu husband hv a small shop on the 2nd floor of Plaza Hotel @ Beach Rd for 4 yrs... I am there almost 7 days a week...

From what i noticed, the Chinese Restuarant (Si Chuan Dou Hua) & the Plaza Cafe has honestly pretty good business. I hv personally tasted the buffet & the chinese food. Pretty Good. Wedding dinners can't be that far off!!!

What I like most is the pool & the Balinese style St' Gregory Spa at the same level of the ballrooms. HAVE U SEEN HOW NICE THE POOL IS??? I encourage the bride & groom to use the pool & spa & massage facilities the day after your wedding,,, it will be such a relaxing experience!! (Chocs & Cher, ALL THE VERY BEST)

Another very happening place is for the young at heart, CLUB 5. The folks that goes that looks like they took up plenty of salsa classes. All can dance so well!

However, i do feel that Plaza need a bit of face lift at the lobby. It does not justify the real quality & potential of what the hotel can really offer.

cher

Dear Diveshop,

Thanks for your kind recommendation. I'm looking forward with great pleasure to my wedding in June. Everything is pretty settled except for the soleminisation which will probably be held during the wedding dinner. No idea yet how to go about doing it because none of my friends or relative did likewise.

Have a blissful wedding preparation!

xrystal

Hi Cher,

One of the things you got to look into is time mgmt. Otherwise, your guest may get very hungry and gets restless.

If your ceremony takes a short while, then it doesn't matter. A suggested plan is to have the ceremony before dinner starts and march out after the 1st dish starts.

Then you can go and change into your evening gown. Arrange with mc to annouce your second arrival.

I have another friend who did it differently. She does the solemnisation on the same day but much earlier in a smaller function with closed friends and relatives only.

Your wedding is in June. Well, mine is in May. Perhaps can let you know how the day goes if i don't go overseas immediately.

autumn

Hi Xrystal & Cher,

Congrad on ur coming wedding in May & Jun
Mine is at year end. Do keep me posted on the outcome of the Wedding Service provided by the hotel & also the dishes ;)

Cheers :eek:)

rpatterson

Hi Philip Cheng Of Plaza Hotel,

Like to make some comment on your Billing. Understand from one Of My friend, which held her Wedding Dinner in Plaza Hotel recently. Was quite was shock to hear that Plaza Hotel need them to settle the Wedding Bill straight after the Dinner. Why can't they settle on the Next day, which many hotels have practice meaning that they let the Wedding Couple go back to the room to rest and then settle wedding dinner bill on the next day by CASH or VISA. Seem to me that Plaza Hotel still follow Restaurant Procedure.

The other thing is that wonder has you all change the size of the “Wedding Invitation Card” that last time used to be very big one. Friendly speaking Plaza Hotel and Grand Plaza Hotel are under the same management but for Grand Plaza Hotel “Wedding Invitation Card” look so Nice and Class as Plaza Hotel it look so Big and outdated. Think is about time for Plaza Hotel to do something about it. It does not justify the Real Quality & Potential of What Plaza Hotel & Staffs can really offer.

Philip, maybe you like to clear these 2 points up with us. Thanks.

pausini

Hi Philip,

regarding the invitation. I will be having my wedding dinner at Si Chuan Dou Huan restaurant.

Is Plaza hotel wedding invitation card the same as the restaurant?

I went down to collect my wedding card yesterday and found out that the card have change to another design. It is not the one that the restaurant manager Danny showed me last dec. It is much smaller now and it look ugly & definitly old fashion. I wonder how can i squeeze all the wording into cards.

Hi rpatterson, not sure are we refering to the same card. The new design, red "double happiness" on the front and one of the page have "double happiness" cut out. It is not possible to do printing on that page.

rpatterson

Hi Pausini,

Think your Wedding Cards still the Old stocks. Wonder have they print out the New Design which is quite same as Grand Plaza Hotel.

Maybe you like to check it out with Philp.

pausini

Hi rpatterson:
The one they show me last year dec is very nice. i dun know shld that be the latest. As i am aliasing with the restaurant manager so i think i wld just talk to him. I didnt collect the card. SO ugly, with such a nice restaurant but an ugly invitation card. it just doesnt match. I try to get a pix of the inivitation card up n the web to show u

xrystal

Hello Autumn,

Will keep you inform of their services.

Hi Pausini,

don't mind if you can show me the invitation card as well.

rpatterson

Seem like no response from Philip Cheng Of Plaza Hotel regarding the wedding dinner bill & Wedding inivitation Card.

Philip, please answer my questions. Thanks

pausini

xrystal,

i think i made a big mistake. My FH told me the card is the same. dun know why i have the impression it is a diff card.

Xrytal,u can go to T.dragon. they have the cards too.

chocs

Had a phone conversation with my hotel coordinator a week ago. She said the invitation cards are the same as those given out at Grand Plaza Hotel.

Chocs

rpatterson

Hi Chocs,

What I know the Old Invitation Cards from Plaza Hotel is damm Big. I don't know whether they got any New ones.

chocs

Hi rpatternson,

My coordinator said they changed to the same ones used by Grand Plaza Hotel. So dun worry.

Chocs

linda

Hi Choc,

Wonder who are your Coordinator is it Tony or Desmond.

Can help to check with them whether can they allow the New Couple to settle the Wedding Dinner Bill the next day.

Currently, the new couple can't settle on the Next day, which many hotels have already practice it meaning that they let the Wedding Couple go back to the room to rest and then settle wedding dinner bill on the next day by CASH or VISA.

yvonne

Can someone pls advise what kind of rate is plaza hotel charging per table? min number of tables? How many dishes and any comments about the food?

fizz

I will be considering a buffet dinner at the plaza. Does anyone has any experiences with Tony, the banquet manager?

coco

anyone been to their wedding banquet @ their restaurant? i was quoted for the restaurant banquet as i'm only having 15 tables, for the function rm i'll have to top up extra for the rm decor etc, which is quite ex....

maro

cher & xrystal,

Can updated me on yr wedding? I'm having mine in sept. So abit worried on the food and decorations. Which ballroom did u booked?

Pls do keep us updated. Thanks

pausini

Hi rpatternson,

The new invitation card is good. The card have a cut out 'XI" infront of the card. I keep the cut out "Xi" to deco my guest book and i can also used it to paste infront of my door. So i save money to get too many "Xi" sticker...

fel

anyone hv any experiences if the hotel holds 2 wedding banquet on the same day, will the reception be too crowded? Wouldn't the guest be confuse as both ballrooms are on the same floor?

xrystal

Hi Pausini & Marco,

I haven't been free to come join you guys for the forum. Never know preparing for wedding can be so tiring.

Marco,
I am using the stamford room as i have only about 25 tables. I will be having my food tasting next week. Late huh. But what to do, I was very tied up with work. Don't worry about the food. I have a colleague who frequents the restuarant last time. She says the food is nice. A restuarant cooking can't be that bad rite. Will let u know. Actually, you will have anxieties since you are waiting for that day to come. but don't let it affect you to be a beautiful bride.

Pausini,

I chose the old stock card. I was told that it was old stock. Anyway it's a left right orientation rather than the new one that's top bottom. Personally, I refer a left right oriention as I didn't do hot stamping (no time to do). I just had it printed today when my wedding is this month.

Coco,
how much did they charge you for the decor of the ballroom ? You could try to source outside. I will be using their decor but will also use external decorator.

maro

HI Xrystal,

Is yr invitation card the one with a 'XI' like what pausini mention?
I'm using Stamford room too for my wedding. Where did u go for yr inserts printing?? How much?

Please let me know what dishes did they serve u for food tasting and how the food tasting?
Thank U

xrystal

Hi Marco,

Mine has the word "XI". It's left/right orientation. I think it's the one that pausini describe. I think now no more stock of this becos' it's the last batch. They have changed to a smaller one which is top/bottom orientation.

I went to United Holdings Lifestyle, the one recommended by Plaza. It's becos I don't have time and they are fast. The contact pax is Richard. He's very nice, help me to rush it out. Patient too. The cost is $110nett for 200 pcs of inserts. If you do have enough budget, can do the hot stamping but allocate about ten days after confirming your artwork. It's nicer but cost more. ABout $240nett for 200 pcs.

It's better to go down early to see / take the cards. Then you have an idea of what you want.

Before the food tasting, they will fax you a menu for your confirmation. If I remember correctly, there are 6 dishes.

1) cold dish
2) American ginseng chicken
3) Yam ring with scallop
4) Mango cream with sago
5) Ee-Fu noodles
6) Steamed Live prawns

will let you know outcome of it after tasting it next week. Keep in touch.

coco

i've actually wanted to fix an appt w/ them to view the ballroom but told that they only work halfday on saturday and they ask me to go dw & look @ the ballroom myself?? it seems to be very unprofessional of that rite? what do you gals think of their service?

fel

Hi coco,

whom did u liaise with? actually our co-ordinator was quite friendly. even b/4 we discuss the pkg, she actually brought us to view both ballrms & also the bridal suite.

pausini

Hi Xrystal & coco,

not sure are u getting the same card i am. i save the cut out "Xi"to deco my hse. When my hubby relatvie came, all of them is asking my MIL where go i get pple to cut out the "Xi" and it was very well done.

My MIL told them these are from the invitation card. they said i clever, can svae up for the "Xi" sticker. i still have some so going to save it up for my sister who is getting married may be next year.

I held my wedding at the restaurant downstair. "Si Chuan Duo Hua" , all my guests enjoy the food very much and the portion is big enough for all especially the shark fin soup.

That day my wedding the hotel ball room is all fully booked. there are 3 couples holding dinner that nite.

coco

hi fel

the lady who replied me is irin...she later explained to me that most of the staff was taking long leave due to the bad economy now...

hi pausini

how was the decor of the restaurant? and how much did you pay for the each table? i was advised to take up the restaurant if i dun have the minimum requirement of 20 tables.

xrystal

HI Pausini,

my card has a "xi" cut out and a gold color Xi on the other side. I would think it's the same one. Wow, wondering how you cut it out ?

3 couples booked the place. Is it crowded ?

Hi coco,
you could add additional decor by liasing with the florist.

Well, I went to the function hall last saturday to take a look at their decor. Find that the tablecloth color doesn't match the decor color.

I feel the restuarant on the whole looks presentable. Has a very good Chinese feeling with a tinge of purple looks nice.

maro

Hi Xrystal and other brides-to-be,

Can you pls tell me what are the songs that u used for yr wedding? For 1st March in and etc.. what are the songs that we need to prepare? Can someone pls advice me?? I have yet to source for the songs. Did anyone use the songs provided by Plaza hotel? Thanks

xrystal

Dear Marco,

I am not using the songs provided by Plaza Hotel.
I am thinking of using the song, lover's concerto. & also complied my songs for the dinner. A mixture of chinese and english songs.

Find a song that both you and your hubby like and is meaningful for both of you.

I had my food tasting last week. Food was quite nice and fresh, except feel that the variety for the cold dish is not enough, only 5 types. There is this guy who serves tea in the chinese restuarant. I like the idea of someone who serves the eight treasure tea during the banquet, so may engage him for a short while to serve to the two vip tables.

my wedding is in this month....rushing for things now....

how's your prep ? advise you to meet the florist 1st. I actually plan to make some changes. I can show it to you after my wedding.

coco

hi xrystal

so did you pay for the decor or the restaurant provide? by the way when is your wedding? don't forget to update us after your day

xrystal

Hi coco,

actually my wedding is at the stamform ballroom, not at the restuarant. It's on the 31 may

My decor is included in the ballroom package but I engage another to do some touch up.

How much were you charged for decorations in the restuarant ?