Plaza Hotel at Beach Road

snoop

Hi Cutie,

Is the food prepare by the rest "shi chuan tou hua"? Is the wedding held on weekday or weekend? U mean out of the 9 dishes, not a single dish is nice?? Pls kindly advise? How about the service? Thanks.

Snp

snoop

Hi Dot,

Fyi, Desmond have left the co. last week.

Now I am also veri worri cos it is very difficult to get another hotel on the date (ie 1 Nov 2003) I want?

Ask my fren this morning but her hubby said the food is good leh. He attended his fren wedding 2 months ago!!!

Now I am really in a dilemma as time is running out for me ;(

Snp

snoop

Hi Dot,

U spoken to Desmond? May I know when is ur wedding date?

Have u went for the food tasting? Can get ur fren help (work in Plaza group) to check if there are complaints being file regarding the food & service? Tks.

Snp

uni

Hi Dot,

The food in Plaza Hotel really taste "Bad", why don't you try Grand Plaza Hotel near CityHall, heard a lot of Good comment on the Food. And they do gave discount if you try to talk to David (Banquet Manager).

David (Grand Plaza) is much understanding than Tony (Plaza Hotel). Tony sometime can be very "Rude" to the customers. Since to my Desmond left maybe because of Tony. I have spoken to Plaza Hotel before endup my wedding dinner in Grand Plaza which I am very happy with their service. Price wise in Grand is reasonable.Maybe you should cancel it, don't think Plaza is a Good Choice for Wedding Dinner even some Rest might be better than Plaza.

That is what I can advice you.

cutie

Hi snoop,

Wat is "shi chuan tou hua"?? Mine is on Fri at ballroom & not all not nice lah, few dishes still not too bad & service is average.

How much is the package per table for 2003?

von

Hi Snoop,

I spoke to desmond but aliase direct with Tony. I met Tony twice and was happy with his service.

My wedding day will be 31Aug03. I have not went for food tasting. Basically, I don't trust food tasting as most food tasting is very nice one..., the difference usually appear on mass production.

Difficult to check if there is any complain on service & food in banquet Dept anot, coz my fren works in the room rental division. Nevertheless, I shall try.

Duno if sometimes the food standard fluctuate, sometimes gd ,sometimes bad. Even @ Pan Pac, which i attend banquet a few times, not all times are gd but there are times tt food do taste better.

But the comment we get fm this forum is really bad.

Hi Uni,
thanks for your advise, if i have no budget constraint with my renovation & customary taking place at the same time. I may cancel the booking, but forfeiting 2k deposit is quite a big loss to sustain.

dot

hi snoop/Uni.
Von is actually Dot. Used different nickname in different thread. Got mix up myself... :p

Dot

ivory

Hi Cutie,

Si Chuan Dou Hua is the name of the restaurant located at the ground level of Plaza Hotel. It serves Cantonese food, if i dun remember wrongly
They oso holds wedding banquet in the restaurant, but the place quite small, so oni ideal for small functions

matthew heng

my fren juz had her wedding there on 15 dec.at plaza hotel .The one at beach road and food to mi and frens r good .my gfren n i r going to confirm our wedding for Sept.next year.Decor not bad for the price.Many places oreadi full.U must try to meet Albert who's very gd n assuring.

Mat

uni

Albert is the Captain only not the Banquet Sale Manager. Tony is the Banquet Sale Manager, Albert only taking care of the function room not the Sale. So enjoy yourself with Tony, he the guy who don't have much patience to talk about with customers.

von

Hi Matthew,

So infact u juz went to them abt 2 weeks ago, and is satisfy with the food standard & service? If that is the case, I will tink the drop of standard is more of a fluctuating thing, which is very common. (Hope so).

Uni,

U seems to have alot of encounter with them. & seems to be very bad also. May i ask when u last taste their food & service.

sue

svc & fd r all same @ 3,4 or 5 stars hotels.All use same p/t staff.Veri impt is the svc as dinner takes 3-4 hrs.Sales pers talk & talk.Tony ok but dun talk to Desmond .I remember i talk to albert once & he's cool n helpful.5stars use silver wares .So is their price .Anyone going to their wedding show on 11/1/03 @ plaza.May be try thier fd there.only $15 for 2.How can we meet n xchnge notes there.mi bfren is thinking of end 03/04.So i need alot of notes.

uni

Think different people got different standard because I have tried many Hotels wedding before. Some hotels like Crown Prince, Grand Plaza, Furama, etc have very tasty food and the price almost the same with Plaza Hotel same after the discount.

Unless you really don't mind paying some much Money for a Old Hotel Like Plaza Hotel. Don't think is really worth paying $500 plus for wedding dinner in 4 stars Hotel like Plaza.

Did you try Furama Hotel new Ballroom at 4th floor really look Great.

dot

Hi Sue,

Me unlikely to go coz I oreadi booked Plaza, so no pt going anymore. Could you tell me abt their food standard when you see them in their wedding show? thanks!

Dot

sue

Hi Uni,
I agreed with u on diff. pple hav diff. fd std.Hav u try Furama chinese restaurant and coffee hse as compared with plaza?
Furama fd std is far away.
Anyone try New Park Hotel ?They offer value 4 $$$ package in their new ballrm .
Hear from me after the wedding show at plaza.
I'm off to Bali 4 long wkend holidays.
Properous New Year to all , we all need it!thanks.

Sue

joe

Plaza Food taste "Bad" compared to some other Hotels. I just attended my friend wedding on 25 Dec 2002.

Some of them even left after the 5 dish came out as it really no point stay longer as the food really taste "Bad". Don't understand why still got couple sign up for the package.

So many realtives complained about the food to the wedding couple after the Dinner finished. So much food was wasted as no guests wanted to eat the food after tasted for few dishes.

ong

I was at Plaza today and I asked them what happened on the wedding on 25 Dec. They showed me the book to show that they had no wedding occurred on that day .So Joe is a lying and trying to confuse all of us.Go and ask them to open their books for you to see .
Believe in yourself.After all , they had been in this line so long that the food can't be that bad with their restaurants crowded everyday.
Seeing is believing !

Ong

dot

Hi Ong,

U really went Plaza & approached Tony?? There is no wedding banquet on 25.Dec in Plaza and yet there is a post fm the person JOE that the food is real bad till guest are leaving !!!!

Personally, I tasted food @ Plaza Cafe, they are nice, can't say very nice, but they are on standard loh. Yes, the resturant is oways crowded.. I saw it myself many times.

Dot

chua

Hi Ong,

So you mean you are One of the Plaza Hotel staff else why this Tony can allow you to see their Wedding Booking Book for no reason. I really don't believe that because if everyone can see the Booking Book why don't they should place in the Main Reception area better, right.

Must be someone from Plaza Side, trying to save their Name else where got people so free go and check their Booking Book for nothing.

Anyway I will say, Food wise is depending on induidival. But it true that the location in Plaza Hotel is not that good. MRT need to walk at least 20 mins to Bugis MRT and there are a Bus Stop infront of the Hotel but need to wait for quite long sometime.

Think when chosing a wedding dinner, one must need to consider the Location whether near MRT Station Or not. Because you don't expect all of your guests are driving or taking Taxi. What happened if there is raining, what happen to your guests. The other thing is the food, all of your guests are giving the couple red packet, they don't eat for free so please so treat them with a Good tasting food.

So there are 2 points to remember to chose the wedding Dinner, FOOD AND LOCATION.

dot

Oh my god, what happen? Everyone is so annoymous that make people start to wonder the autheticity of these posting.

I am going to call up the banquet manager to get the root out of this 25.Dec event !!!

ong

To JOE & Chua ,
I'm not a staff there.They die their business .I'm looking for a venue for wedding 03 or 04 .This is a good site to help us until you arrived.
The way CHUA wrote on 3rd. para. , it seems that CHUA and Joe is the SAME person trying to confuse all of us , making a fool of everyone.
This is a forum for discussion and xchange info.
You two are ONE person with sadist mind.
Leave this website.
I thank you.

Ong

snoop

Hi Dot,

Pls let me know if 25 Dec there is really a Wedding held at plaza after u check with the manager. Thanks.

It is still hard to believe that after paying above $600+ for a table, the dishes could be that bad till the guest left on the 5th dishes and the wedding hosts did not make a fuzz out of it. If it is really true, then it should have been reported or publicise in the paper like it happen to other hotels.

Dot, think we better believe in our own judgement as the informations given in this forum is full of doubts and suspicions. Perhap Joe or Chua are competitors or someone trying to be funny.

SNP

dot

Hi Snoop,

I called up Tony this morning. I enquire from him on other things and checked with him if there was any function on 25.Dec. He told me firmly, there is no function at all that day.

I even asked him if he had offended customer, as there is a posting on the website about their banquet food tt is horrible. He ensure that their food standard is ok, & it can't be that bad that guests leave half way. He will be logging on the site to check out the posting.

I hope the people who post here are not hotel competitors or people who are trying to be funny.
This forum is a useful site to ask for geniune opinions not to jeopardise anythings....

Dot

agnes

hi dot,

sorry to bother you. are plaza hotel same as grand plaza hotel. is it the one near cityhall mrt that hotel.

sancai

TO JOE & CHUA :
Although I find the food pretty standard but definitely not up to the point that is so BAD!!!
I had just attended my fren wedding last mth and I would say food & service still quite normal.

Who are you trying to fool to say guests leaving halfway through dinner, even if they really dun like the food I think guests will still stay on well at least u need to give wedding couple face!

dot

hi agnes,

Ya, they are different hotel, but both under the same managment.

Plaza parkroyal, grand plaza & New Park are all under the plaza group.

Dot

pausini

i just browse thru the posting. I can say that Plaza hotel is not really that convinence to the sense of MRT. However, it is still can be located. Guess all the taxi drivers would know where is this hotel cos it used to be quite famous in the past. Althot they still are now.

Do anyone know that plaza hotel have a very great gym centre. the environment is very good and relaxing, staffs is friendly. My coy used to be the coporate member for the gym centre till 2 years ago they have to pull out cos coy have grown bigger and not able to pay for 1000 over coporate membership.

The buffet offer there is great! Infact, i book the si chuan dou huan resturant at plaza hotel. Cos my MIL love the place very much. the hotel even call my FH to ask him to be the hotel member.

My cousin had her wedding over at plaza hotel. it was a success.

pausini

hi irvine,

There are a few menu u can chose from. From cheaper range to exp one. I chosen a mid range one which cost abt $498+++ but since my FH joined as a member of Plaza Hotel. We entitle to 10% discount of our dinner. Infact, the min table to like 10. I only got 15 tables. i think the max is abt 20 to 24 tables. When we were there having their buffet dinner. the services is great.

I never tried the wedding dinner there before, but i have quite a few friends telling me the wedding dinner is very good there.

cher

I have booked my wedding banquet @ Plaza Hotel Beach Road. Was pretty shocked initially to read the comments by Joe and company. However. I still find that my decision is a right because my wedding is on Friday and that's a weekday rate; They have a beautiful bridal suite and a spacious ballroom. My coordinator is Annie and she's friendly and helpful. My wedding will be held in June 2003. I'll feedback to u guys after my food tasting, probably in March.

Anyway, I'm still open to any positive or negative comments about PH. Please provide if you have other comments so that I can feedback to them for improvement. Thanks very much.

dot

hi cher..

I also booked my banquet @ Plaza. All of the feedback gather was , most people say food was nice 2001, but those who attened in 2002 find the food not as nice.

I guess the most important thing in banquet is to have nice food loh.. maybe you can highlight tt to the hotel. My wedding banquet is in Aug.. I will emphasize alot to the manager on food & service as well.

Dot

philip cheng

Wow ! This is an interesting website .I must thank and congratulate singaporebrides.com for such a wonderful site.
I find all the exchange very interesting and would like to thank all those who have confidence in our Hotel .
We are a local chain of 3 hotels in Singapore : Grand Plaza Parkroyal , Plaza Parkroyal and New Park Hotel . I donot represent all the three hotels.we also have hotels in KL, Penang , Myammar,etc.
I am trained in hotel management (HCIMA )in London and have worked in London , Bangkok and Vietnam before.
If any of you have any doubt or have any problem or having difficulty to decide , please contact the undersigned persons who will be most willing to help you with that final decision to sign up with us .
I am associated with this hotel for more than 20 years and so is my Executive Chef Ho Kok Choi .
We are always in the hotel up to 9.00pm to ensure that service is up to standard for all guests.
Please call to meet up with me or chef Ho at any time convenient to you.

Philip Cheng,
Executive Assistant Manager
Tel. 62908068
or chef Ho at 62980011 X 8784 .

windtalker

Hi Philip,

From the feedback gather from Cher, may i know why there is a double standard in PH food? Ie. Nice in 2001 and drop in standard in 2002!!!

Is there any reason why should there be a drop in std with the same chef in command? Pls kindly advise?

One of my fren held his wedding there 2 yrs ago and some of the guess feedback that the garupa fish is not too fresh! Hope this feedback will not be repeated again in 2003 onwards. So goes for other dishes as well. Hope the Mgt will put more attention to the food & services.

cher

Dear Plaza Hotel Management,

The advanced wireless techonlogy has enable words of mouths to spread effectively and efficiently. To ensure survive in the competitive hotel industry, I think excellent customer-oriented service, and quality delivery of products (i.e. food for example) is paramount important.

I have already booked the wedding banquet with your hotel. I trust your hotel will make my wedding banquet one of the most unforgettable evening of a lifetime. And, I hope that after my wedding, all my guests will have two thumbs up for your quality service and food. Then, your hotel will be recognised as one of the best wedding banquet service provider. This will of course follow by increase in market value and profits.

To the public, we cannot dwell on whatever happened in the past. Moreover, some of the comments were too ridiculous to be truth. You guys bet I'll reply after my wedding dinner. I really enjoy this forum, very resourceful. Keep it up. Till then, have a wonderful 2003!

philip cheng

To Windtalker ,
Thanks for your reply to my message .
We had changed to use a better grade of garoupa since then .I also do not mind to meet up with you to show you around our kitchen to see the chefs in action during one of our wedding dinner esp. during the fish course.Please call me.

To Cher,
Thanks for your trust in us and I assure you that we always do our very best in all functions .My congratulations , and best wishes to you for the New year 2003 .
To all others,
And if anyone have any comment or problem with our service , please contact me at any time .
Thank you .

Philip Cheng, Executive Assistant Manager,
Plaza Parkroyal Singapore.Tel . 6290 8068.
Fax.62924559.

chocs

Dear Cher,

I'm having my dinner in the Stamford ballroom, or as you said, the room with steps. Like you I like the Stamford ballroom better, cos the shape is square and the stage is quite visible from every corner of the room.

The plus point is that I am having only about 25 tables. When I was shown the ballroom, it happened to be setup for a dinner that night with 26 tables. I find the ballroom just nice with more than sufficient space to walk. The other plus point given by Annie was that the kitchen was at the rear of the ballroom, so dishes will be served piping hot.

As for the wedding theme, it's handled by June florists as contracted by Plaza Hotel. It will be gold colour. All aisle and stage flower stands will have gold candles and in the middle of the stands, there's even a glass bowl to hold floating candles. All main table flower displays also include gold candles. Can the wedding theme be changed? I dunno, I think unlikely. Perhaps can request to for certain flowers in the floral arrangements.

As for my wedding preparations, well, what else is there to do except wait. Firstly, I can't have my solemnisation with the dinner cos i have to register for resale flat. However, due to some problems, my reasle flat proceedings is at a standstill. So I am waiting to resolve that.

Secondly, I have already sign with Bridal Concept in Bugis for bridal gown package. They are waiting for me to confirm date for ROM and I am waiting for their Feb gowns to come in before I proceed to have my gowns MTM. So more waiting.

What else is there left? Well, maybe whiten my teeth, go for facials, do my hair, do some exercise, keep myself calm, try not to be anxious, panic and scold people. That's all that's left. But sadly, I have had much time lately, partly due to job, partly due to health. I have been sick often. So utmost improtance now is my health. I suppose I will get to the beauty part soon.

With regard to my friend's good review. She always like this 'Plaza Hotel Beach Road? Yum yum yum...' So i suppose that's good. According to her and her hubby, they went last year and every dish they had was delicious. Other banquets they went to, they will be sick of eating the food by a certain time. But plaza's they love eating it more and more as the dishes came up. I sure hope Plaza Hotel's live up to this expectation.

Best regards,
Chocs

sc04

Hi girls, can I check do you think location will be a challenge to your guests?

My FH is quite keen in that place but I'm rather concerned about the accessibility of the location. Thks

chocs

Hi sc04,

Really I was very concerned about how my guests are going to get there especially my big day lies on a Monday. But I have already booked, I can't afford to think too much.

If you are having it on a weekend, don't bother about transport. Your guests have ample time to reach there. As for leaving the place, all dinners end late, so your guests will be taking cabs anyway, so why worry.

Logically speaking for a weekday, it will not be too difficult for friends who are driving. Those who drive can ferry some who don't. The ECP is just close by, but of course there's a worry of traffic jams. But on Mondays, which road in Singapore doesn't jam during peak hours?

As for those who take public transport. It's quite a distance from Bugis and Lavendar MRT. There are no buses from these MRT stations to the hotel either.

Beach Road has only a few buses, mostly Tibs that run rather uncommon routes. Nicoll Highway has more buses, but guests will have to walk from Concourse bus stop, alongside the circle-line MRT construction and access from the shopping arcade behind the hotel.

So if you ask me, I'll say it's really very inconvenient compared to hotels in orchard area, but it's slightly better than hotels in Havelock Road.

Maybe we could unite forces and submit a combined request for Plaza Hotel to provide shuttle services for our guests? During my last visit there, I understand that they do provide shuttle services for their hotel guests to reach the shopping centres. However, this shuttle service ends at 5pm daily. In my opinion, they do have the transport vehicle, it's now a matter of whether the hotel is willing to spend and employ someone to run the shuttle service after 5pm for dinner guests. Honestly speaking, the hotel should provide this complimentary service, given that the hotel is not efficiently accessed via public transport. Quite a number of hotels provide similar service in order to attract couples to hold their wedding dinners with them. So why not Plaza Hotel implement this service since transport is indeed a preliminary concern for potential customers? Maybe Plaza Hotel will see better revenue from wedding dinners with the implementation of such a service?

I'll be quite happy if the hotel could just provide shuttle service for my guests to reach the hotel, say from 7pm to 9pm, from Lavendar MRT. Lavendar MRT will be easier for the shuttle bus to access, park and wait for guests. As for guests leaving the hotel, well give and take, if it really takes too much effort to provide this service during the late nights, I can forgo that. Anyway, most guests will wish to share cabs to get home.

Any opinions from our current and potential Plaza Hotel customers? I hope the hotel management takes note of this issue too.

Best regards.

cheng

Especially if Rain just after Dinner when all the Guests just prepare to go back or walk to MRT Station. That will be very bad as the Guests need to wait for the Rain to stop else they have to take a Cab back.

Think location wise don't think is that Good ! So better pray no raining on your wedding dinner.

chocs

Dear Cheng,

That's something else i haven't thought of. I definitely hope it doesn't rain. I try not to think too much, else my head will burst.

Chocs

chers

Hi sc04 & Cheng,

Actually the location is pretty central of Singapore.Location is never the main worry for me to choose PH at all.

I find the place better than the crowded, busy Orchard Road.

Furthermore, I appreciated very much the reply from Plaza Hotel's management through this forum. I definetly look forward, with great confident, to my Big Day.

sc04

Hi Chocs, your suggestions sounds good. Maybe we should suggest it to them!

Indeed, transportation seems to be the biggest challenge. If that can be resolved, I may not hestitate to follow my FH's desire

chocs

Hi sc04,

Instead of putting it in the passive way of "maybe", I say we "should" do it actively.

So, may I know if there's anyone else who is concerned with transportation to Plaza Hotel? I stress again that I'll be glad if they could provide shuttle service from 7pm to 9pm.

Best regards,
Chocs

chocs

Hi sc04,

Petition or protest, whatever you call it. I just want to resolve this biggest worry of mine
. Or you can think of me as being greedy for more
. But I am really game for this
, afterall it is to my guests' benefit.

You know it can be quite difficult to ask people that you almost lost contact with to pay ang pow and then come for a banquet dinner. If the food is no good
and the place is difficult to access
, then it becomes very paiseh
. The least I should do is to ensure that the food and service is good, the place is accessible and easy to reach. Like that all 4 parents will also not lose face and grin like this clipart
, and I will be very proud
that I managed to find such a good place.

All true reflections,

Chocs