Phuket, Patong Beach

hi nyny...

ya do take lots of photos for us to see hor.. n enjoy ur trip!

hi rach..

wah! ur bf is so lucky, so much seafood ah.. hehe.. lucky for me, my FH can't take seafood coz he allergy so will save quite a bit.. hehe...

hi nyny!

hmm from the quotes that i've gotten so far.. i tink the hotel provides a better rate for transfers than if u were to get it separately from those tour operators..

i paid 1,000THB to and fro for my transfer arranged by Burasari.. for the trip from the airport they arranged us in the Burasari mini-bus.. then for the trip back.. we were in a new Toyota Camry.. heeh very comfy!

hi celtricia!

ya shld be able to save quite a lot... w/o seafood.. and oh ya parasailing is expensive there too.. but since this is our first time doing parasailing we juz pay for it lar.. dun really care.. hehe.. hmmm SGD25 for like 7-8 mins in the air! ex hor!

Hi nyny

I think u mistook what Racherlle said abt saving THB500 for the Phuket airport..its airport tax, not taxi :P Think taking a cab from the airport to PAtong will cost ard THB500/THB600 per way. That's what we're gonna do when we get there..just hop into a cab. Or maybe see if we can share a mini-van w other travellers to PAtong..its cheaper that way. Yeah, take more photos! Which hotel are u staying at? I've forgotten if you'd mentioned where ure staying.

Racherlle

Wow, that's alot of seafood. For seafood, hubby and I only like fish and crab..he doesn't eat prawns and we both hate squid. Not really into lobsters too (like glorified prawn to him :P) I guess chicken and eggs is still not too safe to eat in Thailand? Wonder how's the bird flu situation now..seems news of that has quietened in light of the violence in the deep south. Counting down till the day of our departure...its slightly over a month away!

hi rach..

hmmm.. the parasailing is very ex leh.. dat time when we went to phi phi n krabi actually wanted to try.. but heard the price, we were like 'forget it! we won't wanna spend so much money for juz a few mins up in d air' kekeke.. mayb we too stingy lah.. hehehe..

hey alhana..

i tink better dun take d cab there.. coz d way they drive is so reckless.. aiyoz.. dat time i went there saw d way they drive i almost fainted *pengz* its better to bk frm the hotel for the airport transfer...

Hi celtricia

Err..can I book transfer from the hotel if I didn't book the rooms directly thru them? Its ok one lah..I read other travel forums and alot of the westerners just hail cabs. Those booked from the airport shld be ok.

Yah, parasailing is kinda ex, esp for the duration of the activity. I'd rather spend money on a full day excursion.

alhana.. tink it shouldn't b a prob.. coz in d end u r still staying at their hotel wat.. but its advisable not to take cabs lor... coz for those westerners, tink they experience it quite a lot of times liao so it doesn't matter to them, since they backpack a lot.. its juz my opinion.. heh..

Hi celtricia

I think it shld be ok. We've travelled quite frequently on our own w/o pre-booked transportation, and so far so good. Whenever we go to BKK, we just grab a meter taxi..dun even bother w airport limo svc. I've been to China, where the way they drive is realllly scary, so if I can survive that, I think Phuket shld be ok :P

wow alhana.. dat's great.. hw i wish i can travel like u so often, though its juz to neighbouring countries.. but it will b quite relaxing to travel.. heh..

hi gals!

alhana, no worries juz give the hotel a call and let them noe ur reservation and ask them to arrange the transfer for u..

the trip from the airport to the hotel itself is ard 30-45mins.. hmmmm quite far.. :P

wah alhana! u travel to BKK so many times a year ah!
tat's gd! hehe i haven't been there yet.. hmmm but planning to go there after my house has been done up.. to get some stuff for my house there

oh ya.. regarding abt the bird flu..
the period that i went there was the peak of the bird flu.. hmmm

most of the pple there (tourists) aren't really bothered w it.. they are still eating the eggs, chickens etc.. hehee..
hmmmmm still had very nice omelette for my breakfast everyday!

dun worrie too much abt it.. shldn't be tat much of a problem..

Heh..I missed eggs alot when we had that egg shortage awhile back. Its been quiet on the bird flu front lately...my hubby wld be sad if the chicken's not safe to eat...its his fave meat.

Yah, I may ask the hotel if they can arrg transfer, coz the rate they quoted you (THB1,000 for return?) is abt the same as the airport limo transfer. The website which I booked the hotel from? Costs THB1.4k for transfer..so I didn't take it up. Extra THB400 can go a long ways

hi girls!!! *waves* wah i havn't come in for so long and so many posts to catch up on!

i'm so torn between racha and burasari (still!) every day i surf their websites, admire their pictures, and still can't decide.
hahaa am tinking of staying 2 nites at racha and 1 nite at burasari (last nite) coz we're leaving early morning, so not very worth it to pay so much to stay at racha e 3rd nite since we're leaving at 7? i not sure... hehee
i enquired with fascinating tours, their package seems ok... they even haf one to racha now...

hi keiki!!

take your time to check out where u wan to stay..
hmmm personally feel that fascinating tours is quite gd..they are one of the few travel agencies which provides pretty gd itineries for honeymoon..

hehe gals i'm now in KL... take care n see u all on tuesday!

i am back!!!
it's really a relaxing long weekend holiday.

the place that we stayed (club andaman), though the room looked a bit old, the whole environment of the hotel was really great!!! there were lots of greenary around the hotel and this created a very relaxing atmosphere. (after passing by quite a number of resort, most of the hotels we saw have small compound. :P) futher, the hotel was not so near to the happening patong side.
so, it's kind of an ideal place to stay.

the first day, we just went around patong beach and shopped around.
2nd day,we went to raya island to laze and snorkelling. it's beautiful and the water is clear. really love it.
3rd day, we went for half day sightseeing. and then back to patong beach to have some sun bath. hehehee
4th day, we went for 3 hr spa and massage!!! really enjoy it.

the travel agent that we booked was a nice guy. not sure if he charged us the cheapest rate but at least we found him comfortable to depend on.

hmmm... if we still got a chance, we will go back to phuket and stay at club andaman and book from this agent again. can't wait for the next trip... hehehe

hi nyny!!!

welcome bak!! seems like u enjoyed ur trip thru out.... is phuket still as crowded as b4 or there's a decrease in visitors? still considering whether to proceed on wif my trip in jan 05 or not.. coz most likely my mum doesn't wan to go.. haiz..

hi cel
it's still crowded with tourists. when i went there i just tried to avoid staying out late. about 8+ at night i felt like zzz already. hehehe....

hi racher
didn't take a lot of photos leh, we concentrated on enjoying ourselves. i tried to upload the photos tonight.

we got 'conned' by a 'lady' (don't know SHE is a lady or guy) hahaha.... went we walked along the happening street, she came to approach us and say 'hi' to us. then she offered to take photo with us. we thought it's just friendly greeting etc. after we took. she just asked baht 200 from us!!! geezzz... quite upset. hehehe

hi nyny..

oic.. hmmm.. seems like the riots in d southern part is not affecting d tourism rate in phuket.. heh.. so early feel like slping liao ah.. aiyoz.. but nvm lah, u still enjoy urself mah.. heh..

kena con ah.. n further more duno its guy or gal ah.. heheh..
alamak! either its u who's attracted to 'him' or ur husband attracted to 'her', heh... dat's y blur blur kena con... heh.. but nvm lah.. juz take it as charity lor.. no choice.. hee..

hi nyny! glad u enjoyed ur trip! heh share photos if haf okie? i'm going end of Jan...
hi celtricia, my sis also ask me whether safe or not, to still go... sigh tink i'm prob still going coz i've already booked e air tix... but not accomodation yet... where will u be staying?

hi keiki...

i also bked air tix liao but accomodation stil yet to.. tinking of staying in karon or kata beach, but haf check wif numerous hotels, seems like mostly gd ones r fully bked, wan to pay more for accomodation also can't liao.. heh..
tink if worst come to worst i'm going den book those budget hotels lor.. at least a 3 star one..

hw bout u? haf u considered any hotels yet?

hi nyny!!

gosh! hehe tot i did warn u gals abt this ah gua thingy?? my sis also got conned by 2 of them when she was there last year! yup also have to pay ard 200baht and when my sis refused, they threatened.. scary!

hehe yup show me ur pics once it's ready!
my email.. [email protected]

hi celtricia, ya every day i'm surfing e web for hotels in phuket hahaa top on the list is racha, but my heart pain to spend so much... cheapest quote i got so far is $800 plus) for 3 nites, excluding breakfast, transport from airport n boat... which is not cheap.
another i'm considering is burasari... but it's not available from many agents already... only thing is it's rather like staying in a hotel... rather than a villa (which we prefer)
another one is central karon village. am still waiting for them to confirm if wat they offered me 2 wks ago is still valid, resorthotel.net offered me quite a gd price then but i didn't confirm immediately... coz it may be rather old... dunno if its nice tho from the pictures it looks ok...
wat are the ones u're considering?

hi racher
after we took photo with her, then i remembered your warning.
and when she asked the $ from us, 'her' face looked quite fierce. anyway, just paid 'her' and continued our shopping. not worth spoiling our mood just for the 200 baht. hehehe.... my hubby 'complained' that 'she' used her breast (don't know real or fake one, hehehe) to press him. :P

haven't got time to upload my photo yet. hope i can do it tonight.

hello gers...
me and my FH are planning to go Phuket after our ROM in Jan...
So, which hotel or resort do u all recommend? Kind of lost track of what you gers discussed... hee hee....
Also, where are the "must-go-places" in Phuket??

heya gals!

hi keiki...

Tink racha n burasari is out, coz still got family members gg... i was considering tropical whh my uncle had recommended n said its quite gd n worth for money.. last mth check wif them they say fully bk.. but i've also emailed quite a lot of other hotels, almost all r fully bk n request for me to check wif them again at d end of tis mth.. so at d moment i'm juz surfing thru the phuket hotels website to c c n look look lor.. hehe..

I'm also interested in central karon, princess n karon whale.. heh..

all these look pretty nice to me..

hey nyny,
if photos ready.. email to me too.. my email add is [email protected]

hi celtricia, central karon still got vacancy... i havn't confirmed wif them but it's 1 Deluxe Ocean Villa Twin Room in Central Karon Village, at Thai Baht 2,410 per night x 3 nights is 7,230 Baht, including Breakfast,tax , service charge and a complimentary City Tour...
i dunno if i shld just take it up or go for racha hahaaa this is from resorthotel.net

Anyone been to Racha and back with photos yet? I'm real interested to know if the place is worth the price. And how's the Jan/Feb weather there?

hi celtricia, yah cld be the dates u wan are hot dates... or maybe u can try other agents, coz some may still haf?

hi keiki...

will b trying.. but most likely will try wotif.com during the last 2 weeks of dec.. coz my family still considering whether to go or not.. heh..

hi celtricia, yah trying wif wotif gd idea!
oh yah, very disappointed today, juz got mail form resorthotel that they quote me the wrong price for central karon! it's now double the price!! argh so i cancelled my booking liao, will continue my search hahhaa

hi keiki..

no wonder... tot hw come u've gotten such cheap price.. heh.. tink i'll juz stick to wotif.. seems like both of us searching quite hard for accomdation hor.. heh..

hahaa yah at least now my hubby's joining me in the search :P so i'm not the only one doing the job hahaa let me know when u've decided...

wow! dat's gd.. ur hubby so nice to join u in search.. heh.. mine will only bother to in d last minute.. heh.. will let u noe when i decided whh to stay in... u too muz let me noe hor.. heh..

Hi gals!!

Just returned from our trip to Phuket and BKK. Gee..was planning it for so long and its over already
Anyway, we had a great time! Weather was superb in Phuket..we really got roasted! It was hot and dry everyday.

Burasari was lovely. Room was clean and comfy...exactly as depicted in their website pics. We had the ground floor junior suite, which was almost as good as having the deluxe pool access room. Just a couple of steps from our room to the pool. Went on 2 excursions...1) Raya Island; 2) Khai Nok & Khai Nui islands. Contemplated going to Similan but didn't like the look of the itinerary. Had to leave hotel at 0630hrs!! And alot of time wld be spent travelling to the islands. Oh..we got stung by jellyfish at Raya
One even left me a souvenir (scar) on my right wrist. Painful.

As for pics..ahh..my camera went bonkers when we had 7 shots left
Cldn't take anymore after that..dunno what's wrong w it. Hope the rest of the film is ok and we can salvage the rest of the shots...if not we won't have any pics to share w u gals

Well..chat w u gals another day. V tired.

Recently I went to Chedi Hotel in phuket with my GF for an away trip. Was pretty impressed with the hotel/resort although its on kind of on the the high side in term of pricing. But at least we get to enjoy a private beach, sunset view, cottage stay. hee...

Will recommend it to anyone plannign to have a nice honeymoon in phuket.

hi alhana!! wow ure back fr your trip, share wif us ur pix ok?
are u ok after being stung by jelly fish? scary...
my dad juz told me yesterday to cancel my trip to phuket in january
he said worried about terrorists attack... sigh.

Hi Keiki, allow me to share my experience on the safety part.

Phuket is >80% Buddist. It is not near to the various conflict area (southern Thailand). Infact, I was there in November when all conflict got worst and I do not feel a single thing about the conflict. In fact, they are very friendly ppl.

These are my observation and whether or not you are comfortable going there for holiday in January, you got to decide yourself.

JC

Hi keiki

I'm fine..it did hurt abit but no major harm done. Got a small welt on my wrist but its gone now. The jellyfish were the small kinds, not the big scary kinds like the portuguese man-of-war types..if i'd seen those I'd have jumped right out of the water immediately :P It felt like ant bites where they stung us...luckily the other place we went to snorkel (at Khai Nui island) didn't have jellyfish.

I'm w JC. I wldn't have cancelled my trip unless the threat is really serious (eg if Singapore govt issues a travel advisory). Security in Phuket is quite tight..u can see roadblocks ard and most hotels have security guards manning the entrances. The violence in the south is really far south..nearer to the M'sian border than to the main thai tourist spots. In any case, terrorists can strike anytime, any place (even Singapore was targeted!)...we can't live in perpetual fear of them. If we did, they wld win.

Hi alhana,

Did u go Phuket free & easy ? Which flight ? and how did u book the hotel and transfer to the hotel from airport ?

Sorry got a lot of qns to ask u.

btw, did u know how much does it cost to take a cab from bangkok airport to the hotel like asia hotel ? I want to go during CNY.
Thks.

Hi did anyone bring baby to phuket before? pls share experience. I am thinking of going to phuket wif dh and my will be 7mth old baby durin cny.

Hi Low

Yup, F&E. We took Tiger Airways. As for the hotel, we booked it at http://www.resorthotel.net

For Phuket, don't bother with pre-arranging airport transfer. Just hire a airport limo at the airport. The counter is just inside the entrance to the departure hall. It costs THB550 per way to Patong Beach. I actually arranged for transfer w the hotel but their minibus left w/o us :P So we added up taking the airport limo, which is actually cheaper. If u want to save money, u can walk out of the airport carpark and hire a meter cab outside. But quite ley chey to lug ure luggage across the carpark.

As for BKK, the cab fare for airport to the hotel was ard THB285. This is for a meter cab and includes the THB70 expressway toll as well as the THB50 airport surcharge. Don't take airport limo...much more expensive. Upon arrival, just follow the sign 'Taxi' and go to the taxi counter located outside of the entrance.