Phuket, Patong Beach

celtricia

hey keiki...

whh website did u go to for dat great deal?

hiya rach.. i'm also considering of staying in Karon beach area as i heard the beach is quiet n clean there... but when u past by there would u consider dat it ulu? dun wan bk accomdation in a eerie area.. heh..

hi bin..

tink u gg thailand ard d same period as i.. coz i will b gg on 2nd Jan while my family members will be arriving on d 3rd... heh.. so whh resort u bk liao?

bin

hi celtricia!
I'm still planning, likely to be staying at The Racha. It's ex, but tot it'll juz be a one-time experience...heh...

How long r u gg to spend there? Have you also considered for transfer from the airport??

racherlle

hi bin!!
thanks for ur offer for advice for trips to Europe!
okie will drop u a mail when i'm planning my trip there..

hmmm think shld be able to get transfer even though it's the peak as there are a lot of travel agencies who can arrange that for u..

hi celtricia,

hmmm from wat i see and feel.. i felt that karon is very quiet.. and not as happening as Patong.. and not many shops too.. pretty quiet.. even when i was returning from my day trips at ard 5 plus.. the area ard the Karon beach was also pretty deserted? hmmm.. but if u wan a clean beach.. tink it's a gd choice.. but dun tink the hotels there are really nice? coz they look old to me..

celtricia

hi bin..

oic.. i dun tink i can consider Racha coz still got my family members.. as they r on budget so can't really leave them out to stay in a luxurious hotel.. heh.. i will b leaving on the 5th as if my mauritius trip is confirm i will b leaving for mauritius on the 8th.. heh.. i tink i'll leave the airport transfer arrangement to the hotel dat i will b bking wif.. tink its much easier.. heh..

hi rach.. really ah.. coz i like quiet beach but dun wan to stay in old eerie hotels leh.. jialat.. nw got to search for hotels at other beaches liao.. heh..

purple_poppy

Do you mind sharing with me your pics taken in Phuket, thought of going there in Dec. Any hotels to recommend? Thanks!

Racherlle,

U stayed @ Burasari rite? How's the hotel? Is it as nice as wat the website shown?

racherlle

hi purplepoppy!!

yup burasari is as nice as the website shown

hee.. hmmm going in Dec shld b fine as it's the peak season.. shld be able to go to Similan island!

Hey racherlle!

I was reading 8 Days this morning and saw that Jacelyn Tay has a new travel show. One of the episodes will feature Tahiti! The show premieres on Nov 9, Ch 8, 8pm, but I don't know when the Tahiti ep will air. We shld chk it out :p Saw Bora Bora..the chalets over the water..mmmmm.

Hi celtricia

There shld be nice resorts in Karon. If you like quiet beaches, can check out Kata beach as well. I read that these 2 beaches are near Patong, yet the waters are much nicer (cleaner and clearer), same for the sand. The beaches are even suitable for snorkelling. And like racherlle said, its much quieter than Patong. If ure feeling bored at nite, can always hop on a tuk tuk and go down to Patong..its only a few min ride away. I actually tot of staying at Kata beach (the Kata Thani hotel looks v nice) but decided we'd rather be in the thick of the action ie Patong. Go to the link I posted to chk out hotels in Karon & Kata. And for info on the different Phuket beaches, can go to http://www.phuket.com

Hi Purple poppy

Yeah, the pics Racherlle took of Burasari really show that its as nice as depicted on their website. But i find that for thailand hotels, the pics on the websites are pretty honest representations of what you can expect when you get there. Well, its pretty accurate for those I've stayed in anyway :p I also saw a very nice boutique hotel in Phuket called the Avantika. But its really ex. For us, we wld prefer quaint cosy boutique hotels (like Burasari) compared to big hotel chains like HOliday Inn.

Hi bin

I think you shld also worry if you can even get rooms! You're going right after the New Year..its winter in the western countries..the place could be really packed with holiday makers. Like u said, its the peak season. And, The Racha is not like those big chain hotels with many many rooms. Get the room first and worry abt transport later :p If I were you, I'd just fork out abit more and get the hotel's arrgmt to save myself from any worries. After all, its ure honeymoon, so just splurge a little bit more for a hassle free vacation

celtricia

Hi alhana..

Thanks for your opiniion.. really appreciate it.. will go check it out kata beach too.. heh.. But so far i've emailed most of the hotels for karon n kata n it seems like most of it r fully bked liao.. haiz... jialat..

bin

hi alhana,
Thanks so much for your advise
it really helps! I'm waiting for the room confirmation. Yup, think i'll likely book the private speed boat from chalong to Racha.

Thanks to all you gals too

racherlle

hi alhana!
is it????? wah!
hehehe muz remember to watch..
hey jacelyn really have gd life rite? get to go so many places!! envy!! :p

ohh hi purple..
i will sent u the link later at nite..

coz i'm rushing off already..

bin ah..
enjoy ur honeymoon and remember to show us ur pics!

novgal

hi racherlle & celtricia,
hee... finally uploaded my pics. can u let me know ur email addresses?

racherlle,
can share ur pics with me? .. forgot if i'm the one chasing after you but i have not seen urs before.

this thread is moving very fast.. me getting too old to catch up.. hee

Hi novgal,

Pls send me ure pics @ [email protected]

Hi racherlle

Yahlor..she prob got paid to do it too..so lucky. I dunno if I myself will remember to watch though...I dun normally watch local TV. If I don't, I hope you'll remember! Hopefully they'll mention the cost of going there..how to get there etc.

Hi celtricia

Ure welcome
Check with more websites, not just the hotels themselves. As Karon & Kata have less accomodation than Patong beach , won't be surprised if its harder to get rooms there. Anyway, u can always stay at Patong, then just take transport to Kata/Karon for the day.

Bin,

Ure welcome
Hope u get good news on room availability!

idono

how much is racha per nite?

anyone dun mind sharing photos of racha? the website makes it look v. nice. is it tht good?

Idono

The website I posted has prices. Can source ard to get a few quotes. Since its very new (opened this yr a few mths back), I dun think anyone here has stayed there yet. Seems Bin is the only one who is going there in the near future.

Hi novgal,

Haha..I'm the opposite..more scenery, less me..which ends up making my pics look more like postcards than vacation momentos. Will take a look later.

Hi celtricia

I'm living in the primitive ages...still using film camera :p I hafta scan them in...still thinking of whether to get digital..but v lazy to research and buy one. I only have Krabi pics anyway :p Do those websites allow scanned photos rather than uploading direct from a digital cam?

Hi novgal,

Saw ure pics! Some v dark leh..can't see properly. And yeah, really not much scenery :p But u look cute
Hmm..doubt I'll be patient enough to let someone braid my hair. My colleague did hers when she went to Phuket last yr..said it was a real pain removing the braids. You look very fair though! Did you get a tan when u were there??

novgal

GooD MoRniNg, girls!!

racherlle,
wow!! burasari suite is really nice! you got a real good bargain. nice scenery captured too. we used video cam more than camera for this trip - end up more pics of myself lor *paiseh*

alhana,
can share pics with me too? yah, i'm quite fair.. din really get tanned after the trip as well. which is just as good since i'm getting married next Jun :p

that braiding very fast. think about 40 min or less (with 5 pple working on my hair).. but i ended spending almost 3 hours trying to unbraid it. super tiring.

zenn,
check ur mail

celtricia

morning gals!!

hey alhana...

no worries.. scan pics in also can.. krabi pics? no prob.. i luv to c it too.. hehe.. as long got pics to c i sure wan.. hehe..

hi novgal..

ya.. seen ur pics n u dun seem to haf any tan... heh.. y so ah? no sun ah? heh.. but looks like u enjoyed urself a lot.. ur complexion quite gd leh.. where u stayed in Phuket ah?

novgal

hi celtricia

hee.. actually got sun but i applied sunblock lotion.. that banana brand - means it's quite effective
.. but then hor, i did not apply properly, so my chest and foot got sunburnt and the skin is still peeling

me stayed at Holiday Inn, bursakorn wing (studio room). quite good but i think suite is still better.. hee. cos i really like racherlle's captures of her Burasai junior suite.. the suite @ Holiday Inn is too exp

celtricia

hi novgal..

issit?! heh.. but i dun like to use sunblock.. wld luv to haf more tan.. heh.. nvm lah.. only chest n foot.. can't really c.. so doesn't matter. most imptly is d face leh.. kekeke

oh.. u stay in holiday inn ah.. muz b quite gd ah..

novgal

hello celtricia

me also like tanning but then prefer to be a fair bride... holiday inn quite good lor... the food also nice.. my fav is still the pool.. cos very shiok with the swim up bar

celtricia

hehe...

oh! i like the pool bar too.. i love it when hotels haf dat.. but seems like my luck a bit down.. most hotels wif swimming pool fully bk liao. so i got to hurry n do some bking for my family members.. heh..

racherlle

hi novgal!
saw ur pic!
u look very cute!

wahh u very brave leh.. go and braid ur hair..
hehehe i was afraid that it will spoil my hair! :p

celtricia

thankz novgal.. i hope so too.. but worst come to worst juz bk a simple resort wif juz a place to rest lor.. hehe.. no swimming pool.. haiz.. juz spend most of d time at the beach.. heh..

novgal

hi racherlle,
thanks.. wanted to try at least for once mah (conclusion : ONCE is really enough) .. keke .. actually why braiding will spoil hair huh? .. cos i thought it's like tying plaits.

hi celtricia,
i think it's also great to stay at the beach.. but not patong one (quite disappointed with the beach. not pretty at all).. those beaches with clear water very pretty

hi zenn,
grrrr..... *just joking lah* ... ok, will send to u again

celtricia

hi novgal..

really ah.. Patong beach very disappointing ah.. hmmm.. den i better dun get a hotel there.. a buget hotel will do.. heh..

novgal

hi celtricia ..

cos i thought there's crystal clear water mah.. beaches at phi phi & maya are better. but at night maybe patong better cos of the hype pubs & restuarants. btw, i went to phuket town. nothing much, except for the tantalising ice cream treat @ swensens
... so will not recommend that place.

racherlle

hi nov..
heee ya patong beach really nothing nice..
i've already anticipated it already.. coz my friends and sis told me abt it.. :p

but i was very disappointed w Bali when i was there.. geeessh.. very very over-rated.. nothing nice abt the beach at all..

celtricia

hi novgal..

really ah.. phi phi beach better? hmmm.. den i better stick to my choice of either karon or kata beach den.. thankz for the tips.. heh..

hey rach..

bali not nice meh? hmmm.. if so.. i dun tink i will ever consider gg there..

novgal

hi zenn,

hee... u dun get upset huh.. i realise why u cannot view liao. the website under maintenance.. so, u'll have to try other time/ day

Ok, I'll play ard with the website and see if I can scan in my photos. Won't be so fast though..will let you know once I get ard to doing it :p Maybe I'll delay till after my Phuket trip!

Hey celtricia

Yah, Patong beach is not so nice..I think its becoz they have too much activities there, incl all the water sports (like jet skis, parasailing) and the crowd is much bigger than at the other beaches.

Hi celtricia

I was looking thru my photos last nite and admiring the beaches...sigh..can't wait for my holiday to come! Oh, I've been to Ko Samui too..we went there for our honeymoon right after our wedding dinner. Stayed in a fabulous resort with its own private beach.

celtricia

hi alhana...

really ah.. hmmm.. its always like dat when looking thru photos.. heh.. always wishing we can go for holiday juz anytime.. haiz..