Phuket, Patong Beach

Gd morning gals...

Celtricia,
Add you liao...

Rach,
Ya I love that too! But now there is only nite flight to koh samui. So wasted for first day...

hey zenn..

in bkk whh suite u stay in ah.. hw come u manage to go to the pool villa side to take pics? heh.. they won't stop u meh? d pool villa very nice leh.. kekek..

u look v young leh.. hw old r u?

Celtricia,

In BKK, we stayed in Grand Diamond. We stayed in pool villa when we were at Evason Hua Hin. Ya very nice cos we ve private pool inside the villa...

Young? Thank thank. I am the oldest among u gals

Keiki,
Check ur email. We paid almost $2k for 2nites in bkk and 3 nites (1nite in sea view and 2 nites in pool villa).

Celtricia,
Wats ur email again?

hi cotton, got ur mail!

zenn, the villa's so nice! but ah why the pool is green n not blue ah? hehee juz wondering. and love the idea or an outdoor bathtub ;)

Hi celtricia,
Just add again. Pls check..

Hi cotton,
Yup! What a small world hee

Hi keiki,
Gd question hee Err I nv tot of why its green n not blue :p

So when you going for first fitting and ps? You engaged Kelvin too?

my fitting will be next month... PS ah i havn't quite decided yet... still tinking about whether to let kelvin do or another fren... heh

okie
thanks zenn for your advice... will haf to discuss wif hubby again.
so how are the phuket trips coming along for the rest who are still planning? i havn't booked my hotel yet heh now it's between burasari and holiday inn's busakorn wing... am thinking of booking via a travel agent, rather than wif the hotel itself... any advice?

hi keiki,

before u book via travel agent, u can first check if the hotel is having promo. sometimes they have package promo. if yes, check with agent if u can get to enjoy those perks. do some homework on comparison of the pricing too if u want to save $$.

same here...

yet to confirm my accomodation, dun tink i will b bking hotel coz my family gg so they quite budgeted.. mayb only me n hb bk better accomodation.. heh.. but my uncle advice me to email them for better rates rather den look thru d net at their webpage..

Hi Racherlle

Wanted to ask you how long ure Racha trip lasted? What time did it start and end? How long did u take to get from Phuket to Racha..and did u depart from PAtong, or another beach? If you'd already mentioned this..sorry lah..can't find the post :P I don't want a day trip where I spend more time on the boat than at the destination.

Hi keiki

For my upcoming trip, I booked Burasari via a hotel booking website. Its cheaper than the rates on the hotel's website. And I did a rough calculation on booking that way versus getting a package from a travel agent...figured we'd save ard $200-$300 per pax. Got budget airline too.

Hi celtricia

I booked my accomodation at http://www.resorthotel.net

Not sure if its the cheapest tho...there cld be other websites that offer cheaper rates..but it was definitely lower than the rate quoted on the hotel's website. If u have the time and patience, can just search on Google or Yahoo! for more such websites and do a price comparison.

hi alhana,

my tour guide came to pick me up at 8am... the speedboat journey to Racha takes abt 1 hr plus.. coz we stopped at Coral island for some of the others who were going to Coral island to alight first.. dun worry you won't spend most of the time in the boat.. we reached the island at ard 9.30 .. did some snorkelling at a few islands near Racha.. and we swam from 1 side of the island to another before proceeding to lunch at 12pm.. followed by which we spend the rest of the afternoon at the wonderful Racha beach til 330pm.. then we walked to the pier and left in the speedboat at 4pm.. and reached our hotel at ard 5pm.. tat explains the badly burnt skin i still have now.. i'm still peeling! haha.. terrible.. :P

alhana,
hw much did u pay for ur hotel room?? for the junior suite too??

hey novgal..
were u the one who went after me?
hehee where are ur pics?? keke
show ussss..

hi alhana,

do u have any idea which agencies in S'pore provide packages to Taihiti?? coz i saw ur name in the thread.. hehe.. tot u might noe someting..

thanks..

Hi racherlle

No leh..I dunno which agencies offer packages to Tahiti. I've always assumed that its gonna be very expensive, so nvr bothered to chk it out. Think the air tickets alone will cost alot..not to mention if u want to stay in a nice resort.

Ure Racha trip sounds like something we'd like. I was planning to plonk myself on a nice island for an entire day. We're also planning on a sea kayak trip for another day. Then for the 3rd full day, we'll just chill at the beaches..maybe go to Kata beach.

Oh, the rate quoted on that website is THB3,630 per nite for a Jnr Suite. The hotel's website quotes THB5,000 for the same room during the same period. I saw another website that was slightly cheaper..ard THB3,400..but that was after I'd already booked..can't remember the site address. The price I got is nett w ABF included.

hi alhana n novgal, thanks for your tips and website! i'll go check it out!

i asked a few travel agents over the wkend and it doesn't sound so worth it to book with them

hi alhana!

oh okie... hmmm heee.. i was tinking of the option of either going to Europe or there for honeymoon.. then i can start saving more now.. hehe..

yup racha is definitely beautiful!! hee definitely would love to go there again!

alhana, do u like white water rafting? heard that it's quite gd from the reviews i've got from those foreigners that we spoke to when we were there but we gave it a missed as we had tried it during our trip to Bali..

hi keiki..
yaaa tink it would definitely b cheaper if u book the accomodation and flight urself.. not thru agent..

Hey racherlle

Actually we wanted to try white water rafting when we were in Krabi..but all the packages threw in the elephant trek as well, and I wasn't keen on that. My hubby sez if we wanna go rafting, best is to do it in Australia or NZ. He did it in Australia once. Anyway, we'll only have 3 full days in Phuket, and I don't think I want to spend all 3 days on day trips :P Need to have a rest day to just laze ard and do nothing :P

Europe's really nice, but soo expensive! The euro dollar and pound is enough to kill. We spent ard $7k on a 2 week trip to UK and Paris..and that was when the euro's exchange rate was more palatable. I think it was Euro1=S$1.6 when I went. Now its double our money
As for Tahiti, I figured we can find nice beaches and islands for a fraction of that price..so I'd rather support Thailand in that area. Unless of coz I have money to burn lah..then the world is my oyster :P Hmm..maybe shld buy more TOTO or 4D :P

Hi keiki

When do you intend to go? Anyway, agents always tell me flight full, hotel full etc..and charge all sorts of surcharges (peak period surcharge and whatnots), admin fee..i got fed-up so decided to make my own arrgmt. However when I went to Krabi, I did use an agent coz it was cheaper. Since only Silkair flies there from SIN, not much room to manoever on air tix prices. And I missed the really cheap Silk air tix promo .. so had no choice but to take package.

hi alhana..

yup i'm planning to leave a budget of 10k for my honeymoon.. i'm planning for Switzerland & Paris.. shld be enuff rite? u went free & easy or w agency for ur Europe tour????? hmm.. wonder is it advisable if we go there free & easy?? if through agency which did u go with?? i was tinking of SATours..

wahh yaaa haha if wan to go BoraBora.. tink muz strike TOTO.. 4D not enuff haha.. so ex.. sigh.. but i dun buy both.. geee..

oh ya.... i spent the first 2 days lazing ard too! hehe the first day no choice coz heavy downpour.. so juz enjoy the facilities in the room.. juz relax.... heeeee.. 2nd day went shopping.. then had a dip in the pool!!
wow..the accomodation for peak and offpeak in Phuket is really quite a difference.. almost 75% ah.. i paid 2,600baht for first 2 nites, then subsequent nites @ 2,200baht..
alhana enjoy urself and show us ur pics!

Hi racherlle

We went F&E coz we both hate package tours. Rush here, rush there...don't really get to enjoy the place as much. Plus, get cooped up w a bunch of singaporeans..my hubby went on a package tour to Switzerland once w his pals after graduation. HE swore nvr to do that again :P Said the Singaporeans v KS, v sua ku..kept returning late to the tour bus, holding pple up. He was so irritated. They ditched the tour group when they extended and went on to France.

Paris is actually v easy to get ard. Same for UK. Dunno abt Switzerland. Hubby says apart from the scenery, nothing much to do there, so we skipped it during our trip. UK is lovely..my fave. We went up to Edinburgh for 3D, and spent a week in London where we took day trips to the outskirts to see castles and palaces, and other english towns like Oxford, Glastonbury etc. It requires alot of planning, but I think you'd get more out of the trip if you go w/o following a tour group. Can go anywhere you want, stay as long as u please.

Yah lor..Phuket is so ex during Nov-Apr. Hubby's a teacher so we can only travel the school hols..sigh!

I'm planning for my honeymoon and is considering The Racha
However, the transfer from airport to the resort costs abt 2000 baht per person each way. Kinda ex for 2 persons (more than S$300 in total :P) Anyone has better suggestions? How do I get from airport to Chalong beach?

Thanks very much

Hey rach..

Planning to go Europe ah.. hee.. i love it there.. been there b4 right after my 'O' levels.. Enjoy thru' out.. though i went wif tour.. everything more or less ok la.. only for d fact dat got to wake up early n rush here n there n eating all d 'rocks' for breakfast.. haiz.. the tour grp actually has lots of honeymooners too.. so tink its a gd choice.. i LOVE switzerland! its a fantastic place to b.. so relaxing even without beaches.. heh.. mus go..

hi bin

I found this website that states charges for a return express boat trip from Phuket to Racha

http://www.asia-planet.net/thailand/phuket-transportation.htm

Not sure if its current tho. U probably hafta take a cab from Phuket airport to Ao Chalong. Some hotel reservation websites I saw state ard THB1,200 per person per way for airport limo + speedboat transfer. Cheaper than the one u saw on the hotel's website. Go to Google and just search 'transportation to The Racha' and chk it out.

When do u intend to go?

hi bin..

hmmm u might wan to arrange for the transfer when u reach Phuket?? coz i tink it's cheaper and u can bargain with the tour agencies there..
definitely not worth to pay for the transfer directly to the hotel.. so ex!! SGD300! my gosh!! my day trip to Racha only cost THB1,000 each person.. actually u can even bargain to abt THB800 or 900.. so for ur case juz the transfer and ferry there.. tink might only cost u less than 1000baht.. tink it's better for u to arrange the transfer when u reach Phuket..

hi alhana..

ya actually both my bf & I prefer F&E too.. not so rush.. but requires a bit of co-ordination.. hehe hmmm any gd websites to recommend for hotel booking??

UK is gd? hehe.. my bf wans to have a look at Man Utd's stadium.. sigh.. soccer fanatic..

Switzerland nothing much accept scenary ah? hmm guess so too.. hehe.. but it seems such a lovely country.. ehhe.. would really love to go there..

as for airlines which airline did u choose to fly there??

Hi racherlle

It really depends on what you guys like. Hubby & I are into British history, so UK was definitely on top of our Must-See list. I'm not really into the nature thang, and I already saw nice lakes, mountains in NZ, so Switzerland wasn't a consideration. But hubby did say that its very pretty. But nah, not our thing lah.

If ure going F&E, UK is good if ure worried abt the language barrier. Still, we got ard Paris just fine not spking or understanding a word of French.

We took SQ to London and flew back from Paris. It was one of those 2-to-go promotions. I think we paid $1.5k/pax for tix + 2N accomodation in London. Not too bad coz the hotel was quite nice, in a convenient location, and London's accomodation is really expensive. In Edinburgh, we stayed in a B&B (very quaint..we loved it) and in Paris, we got ourselves a cheapo 1-star hotel right smack in the city centre. Great location, not so great room :P but cheap lah, so can't complain.

If u need info, just drop me a mail at [email protected] Don't wanna go off topic here

hi alhana, i'm planning to go in end january, it's juz after the high peak season but it's still considered peak... e website u gave is great! found this pretty gd offer for Central Karon Village, wonder if any of you have heard of it or stayed there before? is it ok?

hi alhana!
thanks for ur replies..
oohh ya realised i'm out of track!

no prob will drop u a mail when i'm planning my trip there!

hi keiki..
hmmmm i did not go to Karon beach but on my 2 trips to both Racha & PhiPhi island, the van would have to pass Karon beach and saw a few resorts there.. hmm the resorts are pretty quiet.. and quite old?? the occupancy rate doesn't look very high.. didn't really notice whether Central was one of those there??? Karon beach is pretty quiet as compared to Patong.. but it's also definitely much cleaner..
yup let us noe more abt Central Karon when u r back frm there!

hi alhana & racherlle!

Thanks for your replies & info

I'm gg Racha during the peak, shd be 3rd Jan. Kinda concern that I can't get the transfer when I reach there. Any idea if it'll be so crowded tt it'll be difficult to get transport?

Me & FH have travelled quite a bit in europe & canada and it'll be our 1st trip in asia. Not sure how reliable the transportation is :P

Might be able to provide info on Paris, southern France , UK (FH lived in Manchester for 6 yrs), since we were there last summer. Do drop me a mail if anyone needs info too

cheers! [email protected]