Park Hotel Orchard

my suggestion is - bring forward your dinner to b4 28 Feb. I've done that. Ernst & Young has agreed to my request. I'm currently waiting for them to send me the official letter stating the agreement. I'm thinking that if they don't, it shows their 'sincerity' and by then, I'd gladly look for a new venue. To me, it's either losing the 2k or the dunno how many k for the service they're delivering. Look on the bright side.

A receiver is a professional, independent party appointed to 'fight' for the creditors. That is why he have overall control over the directors. His main purpose is to make the best decision for the company and to get the best price for the sales.

cp has been put up for sales. There will be more than enough investor who want to buy over this profit making hotel. It is the receiver's responsibiliy to ensure that cp is running well, esle who would want to buy over?

eve : mooncake is a lucrative business, high profit margin. When they make more money out of selling mooncake, more money can be distributed back to the creditor.

Koon : If cp is unable to honour the contract, you are automatically an unsecured creditor, no black and white needed.

Changing of management is very common in the business world. Acquisition and merger often result in improvement and lower operation cost due to economies of scales. It may not be as bad as what it look like.

I'm sorry that I couldn't help much here, but would like to add on that if the hotel do change management or is being taken over, the taker will be responsible to carry out the duties of all the contract. It is only if cp go into liquidation (i.e shut down cos no potential buyer found) that the money deposited will be lost.

northgal: do u mean tat if there is a new buyer then we'll get to proceed with our wedding dinner?

so should we look 4 another loc or wait??? if we were to look 4 other loc n if there is a new buyer, will our $ be refunded or forfeited?

koon, wen is ur ad?

See See, the CP have already void contract. You must find new location if you still want to hold your wedding dinner after 28/02/2005.

Koon,

Is 'void' the actual word used in the letter that crown prince sent to you?

Void = as if the contract have never been entered into in the 1st place. If a contract is void, the deposit will be refunded, if CP has sufficient balance to refund. If CP have already void the contract, its time to find new location.

If there is an interested buyer in cp, it will be 'a change in boss' only, therefore will not affect the dinner. However if the receiver has already void the contract before finding a new buyer, the contract will be void.

Im sorry to interrupt but could someone advise me what will hapen to those weddings taking place b4 28 Feb'04? Any precautions I should take? And will LJ still prepare the food for ballroom?Pls advise. Thanks alot.

If one party is unable to assure the other of the honouring of contract, then contract is naturally void. Isn't it what you learn my northgal?

The deposit is supposed to be refunded but because of debt and receivership, no refund.

Ling, don;t ask us since we are not LJ, ask the receiver, he would advise.

My husband and I got to know the news of CP undergoing receivership rather late (until we receive the letter from E&Y)....sigh...I booked my dinner date in Jun 05. I am also hoping that CP/E&Y can officially "cancel" the contract, but after reading Koon's experience, it seems even this is wishful thinking.

Anyone out there still coming together to take actions against CP?

Koon can advise how much you have spent for filing with SCT?

Anydior, there is no filing, the contractual amount (total sum and not deposit only) involved exceeds $10000. SCT cannot file the claim.

Besides, Registrar of SCT also say that once company on recievership, we must speak to reciever, NO MONETARY ORDER CAN BE ISSUED BY COURT to seize assets or demand payment.

SAD state. that is why I am tired and needs some rest after going CASE and SCT.

We would be lucky to get anything back from these unscrupulous CP guys who are out there to con our money.

Retribution. Those guys who did this type of things to couples will NEVER EVER go to heaven.

gals, i got worried reading all these....my wedding is 2 dec 04, are there any disruptions?
How do i contact the receiver - Ernst & Young to find out more?

I just saw an advert on CP wedding fair (8 oct)in a DBS card brochure (sept issue). How can they be so unethical to lure some more ignorant victims?!

Hi Anydior,

Actually, to clarify, the wedding show at Crown Prince Hotel on 8 October has been cancelled. What you saw in the DBS card brochure was most probably printed already and thus the hotel was not able to remove the information from the brochure in time.

Yah... i agree, they are unethincal.. I was there last monday for a dept dinner. The package for wedding banquet and pics of the settings are still in display near the reception area..

If they are sincere to inform memebers of public that no banquet to be held after next yr feb, shldnt they remove those things in the premises???

Hi chin leng,

may i suggest to remove the advert on CP wedding fair from singaporebrides homepage. And maybe post a *notice* to all singaporebrides visitors that the wedding fair is cancelled and pls avoid signing up with CP on any wedding packages.

Sale of Crown Prince Suspended

http://business-times.asia1.com.sg/sub/news/story/0,4574,134534,00.html

This is the latest news on Crown Prince. Though the sale has been suspended, there are still uncertainties.

My hubby received a call from CP and they asked if we want to continue the wedding banquet with them. BUT, we have already sourced for another venue !! When we requested for a refund of our deposit, they actually refused!!

For those who are thinking of signing up with CP please think AGAIN. According to news, there are still uncertainties looming.

Anyone in the same situation as me? We need to come together and get back our money!! >:<

anydior, actually, we've recd a call fm them saying tat everythin as usual. on top of tat, i think they'll throw in a bit more perks for us.

anyone got calls fm them? u guys/gals got any additional perks? care to share???

Thanks for sharing, SeeSee.
They didn't offer any perks to us. May I know which officer from CP talked to you?

It isn't the customers' fault that CP is in receivership. They are the ones who cannot honour the contract and asked us to source for alternative venues. If the hotel mgmt still intend to keep their hotel's reputation, and do business as usual, they should at least refund the monies to affected couples.

Btw, it still doesn't seemed safe to have the reception at CP. They have not settled all their debts. Dun want to end up in similar situation when nearing the actual wedding date.

See extract from BT below:
"..market watches say there could still be some uncertainty over the future of the hotel as Forward still owes about $70 million to a
syndicate led by HSBC for a loab to a paper mill in Shandong, China, which has gone into default.

Although the HSBC-led syndicate is an unsecured creditor, there is a risk that it could put Foward into liquidation unless COrona settles the debt."

hi anydior, i'm not sure what is her name. cos i didnt ask wen she called me... heehee... (very sotong hor.) anyway, we didnt really go 4 those auspicious date... so i can change my date any time if i wan. so no worry... my thinking is, even if they were to sell the hotel away, there will b some1 to take over(tat's wat i feel). so we just take a step as things comes by

Hi All, I have all intention to stay silent but on seeing that some of the couples has been asked to honour the contract again, I very buay tahan.This is pure daylight robbery. IMAGINE EVERY HOTEL START DOING THAT. All the consumers will be very unfairly treated. In this moment they tell you they can;t assure to honour and advise us to find new locations, the next moment they say they can and threaten to forego $2000 if we don;t eat their crab.

Actually all of you can just demand the $2000 back. You are already the non-secure creditors. Don;t listen to their claim that your deposit will be foregone. I advise that you all seek legal action if negotiations as a non-secure creditor with CP failed.

As Going SCT doesn;t help, only lawyers can. It is very late in the sequence of events and I am afraid the reciever has bailed themselves out already. So all of you take care. All the best.

I was considering CP for my June 2005 banquet. Glad I dropped in to discover the mess the hotel is in now. My fiance &amp; I are definitely taking it off our list &amp; to think we were excited about finding a hotel available for our *hot* wedding date. Now we know why!

Wishing u guys best of luck in liasing with CP to make the best of the situation.

I was also considering my wedding at CP as well for june next year.

Unfortunely they went into receivership and i hesitated to confirm my wedding. So now, since everything is resolved. I will consider them again cos I really like their ballroom and food!

SeeSee, they called me too...offered me S$1500 discount off the package

Hi JJ

I have recently gone down to take a look at CP ballroom. I really love their ballroom. The entire ambience of the ballroom is so good.

Have heard about the S$1,500 cash discount. Seems so attractive. I am so tempted to confirm with them. A few months back I went for a friend's wedding at CP and the food is really nice compared to many other hotels that I have been to for wedding dinners.

Ya I heard about the receviership matter that CP was in previously but understand that the matter has already been resolved. So what's your view on this? Stay in touch and keep each other updated on any new stuffs okie?

hi jj &amp; julaiana,
i'm already with CP(I sign up in june and got $1,800/- off the food due to the promo fm singaporebrides.com.sg), the $1,500/- discount is pretty attractive... but u might hav to take a gamble there. as wat anydior quote fm the last post, the debts has not been settled...
anyway, no worries, who knows, mayb other hotels might face the same prob, nobody anticipated that CP will undergo this transition. Life is full of up &amp; downs, so no worries.

No offer, that Corrine called me, I told her I will sue if they did not refund me back $2000. She say she will tell the upper management about that. Even if they offer me another $1500 discount on top of the $1800 discount we had initially, I will not hold my wedding with them. I don;t want to live in sleepless nights again. Those guys make me very emotionally sick that few months.

To all couples who are thinking of signing, take this piece of advice seriously:-

"IT IS NOT 'FEAR FACTOR', There is no prize for the winner."

Please do not fall into the $1500 discount trap again. They may be badly in need of cash flow for CP's financial problems unknown to the public. That is the same trick(trap or scam) they used on us three months ago to land us in bad state ...

Besides, CP may go into renovation despite a proper take over, the contract MAY NOT BE honoured. A good example is the recent ORIENTAL. If you are informed too late for renovation, you may not be able to get another location or hotel to hold your wedding within budget at the last minute. AND you may not be refunded at all.(like our cases)

Hi ladies..
i'm Pea. Have saw a lot of comments and advices posted on the forum about Crown Prince. I am rather concern and would also like to join in.
My partner and myself have just seen the Crown Prince's ballroom today and he loves the ambience very much..
But i understand from your conversations that the hotel has just been through a crisis.
The asst manager, Wendy who met up with us earlier did highlight on the issue. She assures us that the hotel is fine now. She was very nice and sincere.
They even have a promotion now for a period of 2 weeks: for all weekend packages, I am only paying weekday rates.. very attractive.. that's why my partner likes very much... Nice ambience, good food comments and good bargain for package.
Any advices... (Confused..... )

Hi Pea,

The package is indeed very attractive. Only from picsI have not gone down to the ballroom... the ambience is really very nice? is there any pillar in the ballroom?

No matter how good the place is, it is only worth its value if you hold your wedding on the actual day. The risk is much much higher and it may not be worth the effort. (considering this is your marriage and the happiest occasion) You won;t want CP to ruin it (just as what they did to me). That is why no matter how good their offer is, I will never have anything to do with them.

Talking about the wedding co-ordinators make me fume. They are good for nothings. During the recievership, they are just like messengers. Plus they know nuts about the happenings in the higher management. That is why all the couples are caught in the bad state when things goes down spiral. I signed my contract at start July and by then, CP are already facing financial problems. Those co-ordinators did not breathe a word. By then, when the news of the debt and recievership is out in August, Everything is Over.

Don;t believe those co-ordinators. They are indeed nice people who scored A star in service but an F in knowledge of CP financial health and future directions. Whatever they say, you will just have to take it with a pinch of salt.
Unless they can actually show you the financial accounts (which they can;t) to prove their point.

hi sweet_pea,
it's really up to u. my cordinator is also Wendy. She's very nice. wow the offer sounds really attractive. i'm still with them bcos i'm not really in need to hold it on that day. so i can change it anytime. so wat abt u?
i think u really need to consider lor, unless u r willing to take the risk, if not mayb u can try other places.

xoxo,
there's pillars in the rm. how many tbls do u need?dont think any tbl will b block if it's less than 28

hi all, i'm also an affected couple. together with koon and other affected couples we went thru so much anxiety, sleepless nights and worries which those not in our shoes might not understand how such feelings are. even our family members are affected and we are sad to see our old parents worrying about it.

the management has not deal with their receivership case well enough. we only get to know the news when we saw it on the newspapers! we feel shock. isnt it a courtesy for the management or the wedding co-ordinator to inform us? We then personally went down to CP and the co-ordinator confirms us that the receivership will not affect our wedding at all.BUT it is not true!

Cos only a few days later, we receive a letter stating they are unable to assure us our wedding. What is this??? My wedding is in Mar'05.

our concern is not only that we cannot get back our $2k deposit but most importantly is we dont know if we can proceed with our wedding or not =( What are we suppose to do? Or do we have to postphone our wedding? ??? *panic*

We have now learnt a BIG lesson and is fearful of them already. We shall not hold our wedding with CP anymore. We have enough of the worry days.

this is a forum of sharing and advises. we feel that we should let you all know about this occurence to us.

after all it is up to individual to decide on the venue of your wedding.

bless to all, have a smooth wedding day!

Thanks for sharing and all the advise. I understand what you all have been through from all the discussion. However,I don't think we should condemm the wedding coordinators, they are just employees just like all of us. (not fair to them as well)

Knew about the promo and I went down to take a look at the actual wedding setup again last weekend. There were more than 30 tables set up. I counted and if it is less than 32 tables, non of the tables will be blocked.

I am looking at 28 tables, so should not be blocked...;>

Have heard A LOT from Evevanus and Koon which my partner and myself are frightened and very concerened about over the weekend.
[SCARED} Have just called the hotel earlier to ask for their stand. They sounded apologetic about that issue but mentioned again that they really do not have any control at all during that period. They said they did try to assist to the couples but they say they also have to abide to the legal rules. They explained to me what their stand was during the receivership period... (similar to our last meeting with them)... They also poor thing leh....

I have met with other hotels over the weekend and feel that they appeared very stuck up leh.. (like if I don't confirm, there are a lot of other couples on the list) [ANGRY a bit bit] Think getting the right chemistry is very important in order to trust them and to communicate with them for my BIG day leh...
(Do you all have other hotels in mind which are very good...) I went to Merchant Court and Le Meridien over the weekend.
I think maybe can give Crown Prince another chance... since I have heard a lot about their service and FOOD before leh...

[CONFUSED}

Hi there. I have recently called Crown Prince and in comparison, the coordinators' service and assistance are very professional and good (compared to most hotels I've called).

In fact, my partner and I are intending to short-list Crown Prince as our wedding venue for their attractive wedding package but after reading feedbacks from Koon and evevanus, we are a little apprehensive.
Koon and evevanus seem to have great animosity with Crown Prince. Why? What have they done to deserve this?

I also deal with other hotels before I got my present ballroom (Another hotel) for my wedding. In fact, I am also given a little lousier service. But what can I do. I would rather get a little 'lousier service' than to get "No Wedding" at the end of the day. Imagine near your wedding day, CP send you a similar letter stating:-' Our Hotel cannot assure you of holding your wedding ' or worse they send you a letter stating 'Our Hotel cannot hold your wedding at all'. The impact will be far more devastating.

Mine is more than 6 months away and all the locations are already fully booked when they send me their famous letter stating " Our hotel cannot assure you of holding your wedding" I almost given up hope of finding a good location during the time. I told myself, " I have only two options left, either I change my wedding day to another day or postpone my wedding plans. Both of which involved informing every person down the road such as bridal studio.

I am sure your headache will be 100 times worse than mine if they did that kind of thing to you at the very last minute. And those wedding co-ordinators will tell you the same story. eg. they cannot help it. Legal rules cannot refund, the usual stuff you know.

Sweet pea , try harder to find a location. I know you can. It is harder to find a good horse among the bad ones. But by all means do not use a donkey or an ill horse in all cases.

As for JJ, seems like she is still very determined, so

I say to JJ " Good Luck" You will need a lot in this one.

As for Bella, it will be great if you could kindly scroll higher to read all our messages regarding CP receivership. Then you will understand why we are so upset.

Anyway, Me happy man now hahah :P
NO CP FOR LIFE.
......YES.......

I am shocked to read about this. Wendy called me up on 19th Nov (just last Fri) to tell me that they are having a promotion: Weekend package at weekday price. At first, i thought that was such a good deal. I almost went down to take a look... Luckily I went to another venue first and sign up immediately.

How could they do this! knowing all the uncertainty yet lure couples in to take up their packages.

Hope all the couples affected take care and good luck.

In addition, I just got news that one of the important Wedding co-ordinators, Corrine (who also provides excellent service) is no longer with CP.

CP might not have good wedding co-ordinators as these great people will leave for greener pastures. Sweet Pea, I hope you also seriously would consider the manpower reshuffling in CP that is going to follow this crisis. I am sure service standards will drop due to low morale of workers and future instability.

For your info