Park Green

Wah... died fr inhaling fumes of rotting fish... this really makes me worry abt wat we r breathing in

Can u believe it, we have not even invited our friends n relatives for housewarming. Wk'g long hours,we juz want to catch up on sleep over wkends... n of course, do e house chores dat piled up over the wk. Sigh, I hv only used the pool once n my hubby juz few times more. But won't mind u all visiting but let us get the plc in better shape, else really embarrassing :P

Hmm.. pple taking the mags away fr the reading room. Mabi shd hv a sign that says the mags r only meant for rdg there n not to be taken away. Imagine if in the future, we get mags fr the fund n ppl juz take for their own use... not very civic-minded hor.

Hi Hanyan, u just move in a few months ago?? how many months did u took to rectify ur house defects? did u ask for refund of maintenace fees?

Rachel, I didnt even get around to leaving my old magazines there yet. Was thinking they wont last 2 days before being taken away!
I bet people took ur mags home to read, & will just trash them thereafter...
Hanyan - dont think a sign would make any difference if there is no enforcement. Look at the number of people blatantly eating in MRTs nowadays, even with the $5000 fine sign.
On your apartment, no worries, just let us know when is a good time to come by to look-see next time

Hi boh eng, can't remember how long rectification wks took. Probably a mth or so. We din ask for refund. For us, there weren't major problems, except for the choked toilet. This was only after we moved in. The 3rd time the worker came, he had to remove the whole toilet bowl to change smthg. Wish he had done it the first time round.

I am not sure if it is the river as I did not smell it when I faced the river but rather at the door. Might be the carpark.

Was quite bad today...
Could smell it from our balcony (pool facing), & when we open the front door. Aries - why the car park? Can't be from the rubbish dump no, smells more like longkang/sewage water than rubbish. Maybe the sewage pipes from under the building? Why such regular timing thou??

A sign not to remove magazines in the reading room will only work when there are people around. It's a question of education. There are signs on my blk at every level telling people not to throw rubbish at the common area. Yet we see rubbish everyday, sometimes right in front of the sign! The signs are in English and Mandarin. I am pretty sure most people know how to read either language.

Just hope that people will learn to treat the common area like their home (unless they don't care about their own home).

Hi limay,
My friend was teling me no use. Even with the sign people will still take. I was hoping at least leave the magazine there, those homemaker get to read while waiting for their kids from school. Management actually put a sticker on the magazine reminding people not to tear the pages. But still happen.

Is the river = canal btwn Park Green & Punggol Park? The smell is the worst when the tide is low in the morning & when there isnt much rain (i.e. now). Dont remember there being any smell the couple of cooler months when we shifted in December.
Guess there is nothing we can do about it then....sigh

Yes, the smell is from the canal. The smell is dirty mud smell like rotten eggs. Had seen sometimes back whereby a "bull dozzer" was at the canal to remove the mud during low tide. That was in 2003/04....Cannot remember.

Would believe that Park Green Management Office can write in to the Minitry of Environment for help to minimize the smell by getting the bull dozzer to remove the mud.

The smell is definately fm the canal, when the canal tide is low, i.e little water and smell evaporates fm the drying canal. S'pore River used to smell bad too, but they got it cleaned up. Someone shld take lead and lodge a complain to the Ministry of Environment o/b of Park Green cuz its pretty unbearable, esp for those facing the park. Though my unit is facing the pool, it has affected me too once we step out and it gets worse in the carpark.

Yes, I still get the smell since I started post here few days ago.

It's a real problem. It's understandable if the smell's fr the canal n those units facing the punggol pk r affected. But my apt faces the LRT and we are not spared the odour. But thank God the last 2 days I only got woken up by the smell at abt 6am and not in the middle of the nite.

Hope we can get ppl fr Min of Envt to look into it. N while they are at dat... can they do smthg abt the insects? I hv never seen such a variety of insects within such a short span of time in my life! caterpillars, big brown butterflies, beetles, tiny grasshoppers... n yday...a big grasshopper daz slightly longer than the length of my palm. If my memory dun fail me, it's the first time ever in my life dat i m seeing such a big, living grasshopper! It was o/s my door when i left in the morning. Thot wld b gone in the evening....

Yes... it's gone fr the flr for sure when i get home at nite... it had hopped onto my metal gate lah! I dun dare to open the door n hubby not back yet.

So credos to our security guards! One of them came to catch the hopper for me... hee... real embarrassing but I cant be stranded o/s my own apt rite?

So, daz all my adventures at Park Green for now! Cheers.

PCheng - thanks for taking the initiative to start the ball rolling. Have sent them my feedback as well; also mentioned mossies breeding at the canal
Hopefully, something can be done about it.

Hi bigtoes,

dnt mention, im also hoping tat the smell clears soon cuz it's reali unbearable. Pls help to spread the word ard to post the feedback to MOE.

Cya ard.

I have feedback the drain smell and my water system to the given URL. Have anyone experienced algae found inside their shower head? This is terrible. I called up management, they didn't feedback much, but they just change away my shower head. I believe the alage must be in the water tank or sth. But I feedback to that URL given and someone call me this morning. But my MIL answered the call, but dunno its fr the management or the government side.

Missylan, so fast they called u back? I suppose its a call from the mgt, not the ministry of env. I didnt detect the longkang smell today, hopefully will get some days of respite!

bigtoes,
I have confirmed that it was from PUB cos he left my MIL his namecard. He too saw the algae. He said it is weird to find algae inside my shower head, so might be from the water tank. I have feedback to the contractor office(lady) liao, they don't f*ck care! Really, we must be very "fussy" so that they will do their job! I feedback to them last month, didn't even come. Then feedback another time, the lady from the office said that there is no such complaint! So many of us have already moved in, as if still so busy... So angry! Then many times cannot get anyone to answer the contractor's number. Must really call and call... if skips my mind, have to call another day!

Please note all parkgreeners, if your water have algae kindly sent in e-mail to the URL which PCheng has given. How I find the algae? First, I collected water for my baby son to bathe, found some floating inside the tub of water. Secondly, my master shower walls got dried algae and big pieces opening out from the shower head.

Guess what, the MA and maincon is going to hold a party this week to celebrate PG winning the best buildable design award. They are going to invite the MP and throws in food and lucky draw. Maybe we could and raise some issues that day?

missylan, u should bring the whole tub of water will algae floating inside and the shower head to the MA office to complain.

Aries, the MA still didnt give us the reply on the outcome of the issues which were raised at the last gathering.

Wonder what they mean by "best buildable design"? Definitely not the most practical & acceptable quality for the residents...more like the cheapest in terms of cost of construction or something along those lines!

Hi all - was contacted by the NEA (National Env Agency) officer. He mentioned that the smell we have been complaining about could be due to some sewerage treatment works that are going on (something about them building a channel underground from Kim Chuan to Changi Coast) - & which wont be ready till 2007!

Anyway, he will be sending a NEA officer to the canal to confirm the source of the smell & see if anything can be done. He wants to so on the 14th/15th June morning(tomorrow or Wed) when the tide is now.
Can anyone who is not working contact him to arrange to meet? Or else, contact the mgt committee to see if they would be willing to go instead? (I dont have their contact)
THANKS!

Details below:
Date: 14th June 2005 or 15th June 2005.
Time: 9.30am
Venue: Buangkok Drive opposite Rivervale Link,
Tel:67319980 or mobile: 90235116

Missylan/anyone else - can u get the mgt office woman to go with them? I dont hv her contact..thanks!

NEA said the time slots they have are just Tues/Wed, else wld have to wait some time before they will look into it again.

I am planning to saw off the metal railing at the starcase landing between the 1st floor leading to the carpark basement. But I need somemore man to assist me to 'see water' while I saw.

Any volenteers?

Ah beng, why u wan to saw? to sell the metal to karang kuni man??

the best time to saw is this saturday afternoon... most pple will be at the gathering.

Bigtoes,

You shld get our condo mgr Roland to attend to NEA. But i dnt hv his no. too... Try to get it by tonite and arrange on Wed.
Can anyone advice the PG mgt office no.? We shld not miss this oppor for NEA to investigate...

Bigtoes, isn't 9.30am abit too late? Smell comes early morning rite? At least till 8am, before we leave home for work...

PCheng, yes, i did tell the guy that the smell usually wafts through around 5-6am, & is gone by 7am, so it wont be smelly when they come by. He said it wld still be better to check to confirm the source woh.... Dont think they start work so early, hence the 9.30am slot!!

So hoping to get someone who is not working, or the mgt office to accompany the NEA officer.

Can u be a dear & call Roland tomorrow for a Wed meeting? The contact no. wld be on the notice board. I will be stuck in meetings tomorrow. Thanks!

Limay,

Done. Chng met up with Roland and advised that the source is sewage works fm Kim Chuan. Roland will forward the complain to PUB:authority in-charge, but he warned tat there cld be no action & it will be a lengthy process b4 anything is done. Roland advised the residents to feedback this issue to the Minister on this Sat meet-up session. I am not attending as I hv other appts, so pls bring it up to the Minister. Else, we hv to live with it for the rest of our stay in PG.

Regarding the smell, it has been there for years liao. So we cannot do much, only to wait till year 2008(PUB ppl called me). My office neighbour lives in the cond. oop us... they got that smell too. They said last time more serious... now still ok. Think we cannot do much...

Hi Bigtoes,
The company selling the HG products for cleaning stains is located at (You can see the address from hginternational.com web site as well)
HI Glit Pte Ltd SINGAPORE
10 Coleman Street,#01-13/15, 179809 Singapore , Singapore

Missylan,

Whatever it is, Roland shld still lodge a complain to PUB o/b PG.

Limay, counting on you to bring this issue to Mr MP tis Sat.

If not, silence will mean consent. i.e. living with the smell every other morning for the next 3 yrs...

Hi PCheng, thanks for coordinating between Roland & NEA
Sigh, seems like nothing much can be done but to wait till 2007/08 then!!
btw, not sure if we will attend the Sat session yet.

Merci - thanks
, got their addy on their www earlier already, but didnt bother to go get another floor cleaner (we have at least 4 now, none of which worked!) Have u had better luck with the HG one for marble stains?

if u guys notice the program for this sat gathering, the first item is entertainment rite.. wonder wat kind of entertainment.

Boh Eng, was wondering too...1hr 15min somemore...wonder how they will keep people interested for so long...maybe mgt committee people will sing & dance. keke

As I said earlier, HG did cleared my stain problem on the granite and marble floor. Most important is to identify the right stain and get the correct stain remover to use. The smart thing i did is to take a photo of the stain and show it to the expert to advise which one I need to buy and apply.

By the way, neighbours did anyone of you happen to paint the black tiles in the common toilet to white. If yes, which paint did you use?