Park Green

hey cool blue

Blk 2 is near the road, so it's very close. DO check before u make a big decision.

And also why blk 6 sales bad?

thanks long march,
will look again before signing the S&P.
the unit tat was chosen, is facing/nearest to the pool, is that still close to road.?

wat's the unit no. u have to go down and take a look.

If u r going down, can help us find out the no. of unsold units for each blk. Thanks.

Have a good week ahead.

Let's not ponder over the lower sales at blk 6....i will definitely be thinking wild if i had chosen blk 6

Longmarch/Chinnie
U hv ur reasons for choosing blk 6 in the first place ...so just think about moving into ur new hse instead

cool~blue
I hv a mailing list for the Park Greeners at this forum. Do drop me ur email address if u wish to be included in the list!

welcome poox ...
will u like to share which blk u have bot ??

had sent the mailing list to u & cool~blue......

Longmarch,

Many thanks to u and ur fren for the nice shots...like the sunrise pic!!!

Welcome Woody and Greener!! The mail list has been sent to u!!

Mobe540, we still do not know which blk u will be staying leh....

erm, i'm not to sure what my block is. cant remember lah. Longmarch, you know what my block no. is? anyway, my unit number is #XX-20. does this help?

i just started paying my first instalment, i believe hundred plus only. but that will go up pretty soon.

btw, can i check if anyone has bought Mortgage protection insurance already? i'm not too sure when to buy this. but kancheong. wait kena retrenched got no money to pay!

wah! just paid ur first instalment?? so good ah!! I am oredi into the 6th or 7th instalments liao :P

Anyway, my mthly instal amt to 1600+ !! will chg to progressive payment later.....

i did not get mortage ins. Instead had added more ins coverage on my insurance rider....cos the coverage remains compared to mortage ins

longmarch,

why get only when TOP?? I was thinking that we are liable for the payment now. Say *touchwood* if anything happens to one paying party, the other party will hv to bear the whole payment. So isn't it safer to get the mort ins when u are oredi committed to the purchase??

longmarch, i thought about it, and realise you are a SOTONG. MPP and Home insurance (fire, theft, etc) are different plans altogether. you girlfriend never teach you ah?

i think like what ah eng say, must get MPP now cause once you start servicing your mortgage, you are liable for 20 odd 30 years. an MPP will help you cover any outstanding amt you still owe if *touchwood* something happens to you.

got it dude?

ah eng, how come you pay so much already??? i'm not expecting to pay so much till probably next year or the year after next you know. anyway, dont really understand what you mean by Instead had added more ins coverage on my insurance rider....cos the coverage remains compared to mortage ins. can you elaborate? what insurance rider are you referring to?

anyone else bought their MPP already? how much is it? i heard it costs thousand odd bucks a year. this is a LOT of money.

mobe540

U are in my mailing list leh

my loan is not under progressive payment ....trying to pay maximum principal now and to make full use of the lower interest rate. But will convert to progressive payment once the mthly instalment reaches too high for us to repay "P

i ask my ins agent. To buy a mort ins to cover my $350k (eg) loan, the mthly premium will come up to about $50. But the payout (if anything happens) is decreasing together wif ur loan although mthly premiums no change.

i go back and chk my ins plan and tell u tomolo...

Hi Mobe540, cc : ah eng

Btw, can u tell me how much u have paid?
I mean this is my own deduction. I have only paid 30%. The rest not fully paid yet. So there's no point in buying MPP for me now. Moreover, my gf and I have bought insurance so if anyone touchwood not around, it will be sufficient to pay half of it. If two not around, too bad lah, someone will take it.

There's no right or wrong in it. It depends on how u plan ur finances, insurances.

If u r not comfi u buy, if u r comfi u dun buy.

Always maintain the triangle rule,

Insured 10-12 times ur(individaul) annual pay.
Save 6 times ur(individual) expenses in hard cash.
The rest Roll into investment.

I understand that mobe 540 is real good but anyway how blur a sotong I may be i still have the ink for emergency.

Cheers, mate, mobe540 - better buy u a beer fast to cool it down.

Cheers and take it buddy.

Btw Mobe540 i did send u the photos, will send u again.

I think it really all depends on individual family. I agree with Longmarch calculation (ie u and ur gf had your own ins to rely on if anything happens to one party). For my case, I m married wif 2 kids. The personal ins bot is meant for the other living party and children living expenses if one 'no longer is around' *touchwood*. So henceforth, i feel the need to get another protection for the house mortage.

Mobe540,
I had bot a life policy. My ins agent asked me to add a rider into my this policy which will pay me $250k upon death/TPD (within 5 years from date where rider is added). The benefits will not be reduced like the mort ins. For this $250k benefits, i m paying about $35/mth ins premium. When 5 years is up, this rider can be continued and i can oso chg my benefits to a smaller amt cos loan wld hv been reduced. I hope that i am not making u more confused with my explanations "P. Anyway in short, mort ins is cheaper but benefits are reducing.....

Hi all, nice to hear your feedback. anway, an MPP has a reducing benefit system becos as you pay, your loan amt gets smaller, and the MPP will be zero when the term runs out i.e. at the end of our loan. this makes it cheaper than your usual life insurance policy.

i extracted an article from the Biz Times, i believe it will definitely make a good read for all those contemplating an MPP. it does a comparison study too.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff"><FONT SIZE="-1">Business Times
weekend 24-25 May 2003</FONT></FONT>

How to protect that roof over your head
MICHELLE QUAH looks at what some mortgage insurance plans offer

HOME is where the heart is, and many of us - young couples especially - appear to have taken that saying to heart, as we are mired in mortgages trying to own that home.

Home sweet (and safe) home: mortgage protection insurance will, in a nutshell, pay for the outstanding portion of your home loan in the event of your death, permanent disability or even unemployment
But to ensure that your loved ones, and not the bank, will continue to own that home, the advisable thing to do is to get mortgage protection insurance.

Mortgage protection insurance will, in a nutshell, pay for the outstanding portion of your home loan in the event of your death, permanent disability or even unemployment. This, in effect, ensures that your spouse or family members will continue to have a roof over their heads should you no longer be able to service your mortgage payments for the reasons stated above.

The level of protection, the nature and timing of the payout, and the sort of benefits you will enjoy depend on the plan and insurance company you choose. Correspondingly, the premiums will differ with different plans and companies.

In this article, we set out the features and characteristics of the mortgage insurance plans offered by the major insurance houses in Singapore. This is meant only as a guide and is not an exhaustive coverage of the policies.

Do note that, in general, mortgage protection plans are term insurance plans with no savings element or cash surrender value - that is, you cannot redeem the plan for cash, nor will you get your money back when the policy matures, unlike whole-life or endowment insurance policies.

The sum assured under the policy reduces each year over the term of the policy, in line with the expected reduction in the mortgage loan, taking into account the repayment made in each year. And you can take up the protection at any stage of your home loan.

The premiums for all the plans outlined below have been calculated based on the following assumptions:

Insured: Male, aged 30, non-smoker

Home loan: $500,000 with interest rate of 5 per cent, except for Prudential, which has assumed an interest rate of 4 per cent. Note: the higher the interest rate, the higher the premium.

PRUDENTIAL

Prudential's mortgage insurance, PruMortgage, offers financial protection in the form of a repayment of the home loan, in the event of the insured's death or total and permanent disability.

In the event of death, PruMortgage will pay the amount remaining on the home loan in one lump sum. In the event of permanent disability, the policy will pay a certain amount every month - calculated to sufficiently cover the monthly mortgage repayments - for 12 months. If the insured continues to be totally or permanently disabled after 12 months, the remaining amount of the home loan will be paid in one lump sum.

Based on the profile above, PruMortgage's yearly premiums are $635 for 25 years.

Customers can choose to add on a Crisis Waiver, for an extra $17.79 annually. With the waiver, if the life insured is diagnosed with a critical or terminal illness covered by Prudential, all future premiums for PruMortgage up to the sum assured will be waived. All future premiums for any disability benefits will also be waived.

AIA

AIA's plan, called the Mortgage Reducing Term Assurance (MRTA), offers a very similar coverage to Prudential's.

The only differences are: AIA's plan automatically includes a premium waiver. In the event the insured is diagnosed with a critical illness covered by the plan, the remaining premiums on the policy will be waived.

The insured also only needs to pay premiums for three-quarters of the term of the policy - that is, for a 30-year insured home loan, the insured only needs to pay premiums for 22.5 years. The premiums for this plan are $575 a year, based on the assumptions above.

NTUC INCOME

Similar to Prudential's is NTUC Income's Mortgage Protection Plan.

In the event of death, the sum assured will be paid to the dependants. In the event of permanent and total disability, the sum assured for the relevant policy year is paid in one lump sum or over a few years. The yearly premiums are $532.35, payable for 30 years. You can also choose to add on a Living Benefit rider which will cover you for 30 major illnesses. The insured will be able to waive future mortgage protection premiums should he be diagnosed with any of the 30 major illnesses covered by Income. You will have to pay an extra $3,536.40 to add a 30-year Living Rider to your plan.

GREAT EASTERN LIFE

Great Eastern Life Assurance's plans are very similar to Prudential and Income's. Its MortgageCare policy will pay off the remaining amount of home loan outstanding in one lump sum in the event of death or total and permanent disability. Its yearly premiums are $655, for 24 years.

The MortgageCare (Living Assurance) policy covers one against death, total and permanent disability as well as any of 30 critical illnesses. The yearly premiums amount to $1,365 a year, for 24 years.

In addition to these two plans, Great Eastern also offers a product called Mortgage Protector which allows you to attach an Unemployment Cover rider. It is available at OCBC Bank and is underwritten by Great Eastern's wholly-owned subsidiary, Overseas Assurance Corporation.

This means that, in addition to the basic mortgage protection plan that pays a lump sum benefit to settle the outstanding home loan in the event of death or total and permanent disability, the rider will also ensure that your monthly housing loan repayment will be taken care of for up to six months, if you should be retrenched unexpectedly and involuntarily. This feature is not offered by the other companies.

The Mortgage Protector will cost you $525 a year, payable for 27 years. If you add on a 25-year Unemployment Cover Rider for a sum assured of $2,600 a month, the annual premium is $241.80. The maximum term for the rider is 25 years.

All the plans listed above carry the same exclusion clause for the death benefit.

While the death benefit is payable regardless of cause, it excludes death by suicide within the first year of the plan or if the death is a result of capital punishment under the law. Permanent and total disability will typically have to occur before the insured reaches age 65 to be covered under the policy.

longmarch, in reference to your questions...
i've just paid my first instalment of $174 plus, and of course the 10% cash deposit, and 10% CPF deposit. this is probably less than 21% of the full loan amt. but the younger you purchase an MPP, the cheaper. i guess it all depends on your state of health right now, and how often you take the bus.

thanks Mobe540 4 that invaluable inputs.

Btw, my gf and meself are not legally married yet.
Can buy MPP? Since u r an expert in this do check out for me. Thanks, bro.

Btw, park Greeners. there is no animoisty between Mobe540 and me. we just like to have friendly exchanges

agree with me, mobe540?

btw Mobe 540 is staying in blk 12.

yup. we go back 15 years.

anyway, i think you should ask you gf to buy 50% of loan amt, and yourself the other 50%. so for eg, if a couple took a loan of $500k, the guy will buy an MPP with a reducing benefit of $250k sum assured, and the wife/fiancee the other half. so one dies, you have half your loan from the insurance claims.

if you have more money to burn, can each buy 100% of the loan amt.

by the way, you think Choice Homes will give us a welcoming party/bbq, etc when we move in? like what some other condominiums do.

anyway, i never check my yahoo email acct for a long time, so ah eng, thanks for forwarding stuff to me.

longmarch, how bt forwarding some to my office address too? thanks.

no problem, btw we go back 17 years already.

And Park greeners, I have ask my friend to take a shot from the front view. If i get it this weekend. send to u guys.

other condomiums had welcoming party?? meaning other private ones or ECs??? got so good meh??

I think the parties are organised from the residents' maintenance fees. That's what the committee for my parents'condo used to do, they will spend $ to organise mooncake festivals, new year celebrations etc. But some residents complain so now stop already.

Thanks for the article, mobe540. Wanna add on to Prudential prumortgage...one plus point about the plan is that a couple need not buy two separate plans i.e $635 per year will cover both parties so it will be cheaper compared to other plans. I will prob get this, but like you all, still thinking about when to get it.

hi sakura, abt the seperate plans vs a single policy. i dont think it works that way, cause ultimately, the premium you pay depends on the sum assured of the policy.

i dont believe other companies will want to price themselves out of the market if prudential's prices are half of what the others are quoting.

I think it should be the government slap some restriction and offer some grant to EC buyers.
Some of the restrictions include some 'HDB clauses
1) Must be married
2) First time buyer gets 30k grant
3) cannot sell within 5 years. after 5 years can sell to locals.
4) can sell to foreigners only after 10 years

Whereas for private condo buyers, they do not have any restriction when it comes to selling.

btw bluetooth, u got a unit at parkgreen?
You can be single, not married but u dun get any grants.

but with the restrictions, we get prices that are maybe 70%-80% cheaper than private condos. it balances the equation.

longmarch, you know when the actual showflat in one of the blocks will be ready?

Hi blue tooth,

Difference is the restrictions of buying and selling an EC...you can check out HDB's website for more details..here's the URL:

http://www.hdb.gov.sg/isoa017p.nsf/e1e628ec9ee49e83482566730023e114/bc9951f13a385966482568ee000d508e?OpenDocument

ECs are not under govt, they are built by private developers actually but the govt sell the land cheaper to the developers....hence the cheaper prices but there will be more restrictions. After 5 years, it will become more or less like a private development.

yah, i heard this somewhere that ECs will be privatised after 5 years have lapsed. so you will not be tied to any of HDB's ridiculous...wait, let me say that again.. R-I-D-I-C-U-L-O-U-S restrictions that have wrecked the dreams of many potential home-owners either becos they are not married or do not meet some other stupid criteria. and also the people who have been made poorer becos they cancelled their flat application due to a broken engagement,etc. how do you justify the $5000 penalty for such situations? does that mean a cancelled flat application will render the HDB apartment non-dwellable and the contractors will need to demolish the block or something? heck, the next person in line will get the flat anyway.

Hi ppl,

Thanks for all your answers...I get a better picture now

Another question, will the resale value of ECs be lower than than of a private condo after 5 years as well?

longmarch, I'm thinking of buying a unit in PG but the ppl there told me I need to be married or at least get married before TOP!!

Bluetooth, the resale of EC will defintely not fall below it's purchase price, unless we are talking abt a very bad property market slump. which is unlikely in land-scarce Singapore.

but you asked if the resale value of ECs be lower than than of a private condo after 5 years as well, isnt that like comparing an apple to an orange? you pay more for a private condo after all.

Missylan,

so good hor...ur block is all ready for ur viewing ...u can go and take a peek at ur actual unit liao lah....

Heehee... Think can't go up one... peek from this picture can already... Going to watch Ju-On tonight.... Exciting man!

actually come to think of it, i did hear that the resale of EC will fall below it's purchase price. that's wat's happening to other existing ECs that are beyond 5 yrs now..