Park Green

Hi Carol,
Ya man. Now we are trying to push for mid jan to complete reno. Hope my ID can rush in time

Just wonder if any one of you redo your bathroom? I intend to change the MBR wash basin and to install a vanity box above the basin. My contractor quote me $120 to remove the existing one, and around $560 to install the new one (excluding basin) with homogenous top and a drawer below. Then another $320 for the vanity box with the mirror. Any comment?

Hi Taka,
Do you think it's really worth it to spend $1K for a minor toilet makeover? Unless you consider the toilet (wash basin areas) an alternative haven, then it's worth every cent spent. Otherwise, just live with it and buy a toilet storage box from Ikea to fix it to the toilet wall. I dunno how your toilet looks like, but I intend to do just that if the size of the Ikea storage box doesn't take up too much space. I haven't done any measurements so cannot tell yet, but that's what I have in mind lah

Ya, i know, but don't you find that we don't have enuff storage space if base on the existing design? Don't think the pathetic single level glass shelve is enough for all my barang barang or spare toilet roll for 'emergency'

Also, i love those on top of table type of basin (those look like a bowl type), so when i was on a business trip, i saw a very nice porcelain basin with hand painting and it was not ex, so i just bot it and brought it back. I din know it is so exp to do plumbing work. Then again, my contractor said that those we saw in Ikea are made in China, so relatively cheaper. Whereas they are doing customised carpentry work here.

I really hate the kitchen's toilet... Miserably SMALL! Dunno why there is a shower head. So that the maid can sit on the toilet bowlwhile showering? hahaha

Hey guys...we are back from the wedding..ok, not back in office (tomorrow) - "working from home" today...

Just glad the wedding is all over (it didnt rain & i didnt fall)

Anyways, we are in the new apartment already...v messy still, putting up the shelvings n stuff, & getting furniture delivery...but welcome to pop by!

Was washing the dishes at the kitchen sink yesterday nite. Did any of u tink of doing those window shield, where people outside cannot see you? Or blinds, maybe? My unit's kitchen is facing the opposite tenant's kitchen. So when we are washing dishes at the kitchen sink, we can see each other...

Jaslyn,
My unit also faces the opp's kitchen, can even tell what dishes they're preparing sometimes....hehe Have thot of putting up blinds but put off the idea cos it means I've to chg it very often.

Missylan,

Have you confirmed on the sunshield? Pls post yr contact here. Thks!

fanta,
Aaa... still thinking leh... U can look for Donald 9850 2221. He quoted me close to 1K. Maybe can save this 1K to thicken the curtains...

Ah Eng,

I was thinking of putting up windows at where I hanged the clothes. Not sure if feasible? If not, have to look for blinds.

Ah Eng,
Wah, yesterday you "biah" whole day at PG cleaning and tidying your new place.. still got the energy to check the forum after you got back home... I kowtow to you for your abundant energy!

Seeing how ready your place is makes me excited about mine in anor 2 weeks' time

Hey Fanta,
Thanks! We didnt go to PG for pix, went to botanics instead! Just got all the furniture & appliances in the last 2 days...so tired from the wedding & unpacking!! Trying to get the place tidied up before we go for our honeymoon on the 26th.

Yah, welcome to come by one of these evenings
We are living in PG permanently already.

Limay,
So there was a chg of plan.....still hoping to catch a glimpse of the bride & groom while at Ka Ro's plc

Quite eager to see how beautifully yr hse is done up. See yah!

Hey Fanta, just sms me & come by one of these nights loh...we will be in today & the next 2 days. We also didnt see the final ID works & furniture at ur place....can come and visit also?

Developer's contractor solved my flooring problem liao.... He should solve for me last week, but he said that the sub-contractor did not do a good work so can only handed me the house today. Dun need to dig leh... Heng aah

Carol,
I don't know leh... First time they did buffing which the contractor said that it was wrong(the sub-contractor did not follow his instruction). Then the rest dunno what they did liao.

I said that there is like white cement seeping into the marble edges all gone liao. Was advice to get my own contractor to do a "sealant" for our floorings. He said can last for one decade. My blk contractor was a Malay guy...

Okok Limay, we'll sms you, hope you dun sleep too early cos we usually return home late. After that can come to my plc.

Ah eng, feel free to pop by too

Hey Fanta - ok, see u soon
Ka Ro - u have shifted in too? who else is staying at PG already? I know Melodie, Vera, Royce(?), Ah Eng, Carol (?)....

Missylan,
Thks for yr contact. Will consider whether sunshield is a good option, otherwise will juz leave it as it is since I'm quite used to seeing my neighbours liao, fat or thin cos some men go topless at home

wah... Hope I am not opposite you. Wait you see my hubby's "everything"...
234301.png

I will stick window film only in the living room cos my unit will get afternoon sun and afraid that the heat will damage my plasma...

Hey Limay,
I have not moved in yet, Ah Eng is now busy cleaning up her home in PG. She's shifting in on X'mas eve. So exciting! I shld be moving in ard 1st week of Jan, so soon wil be my turn to be busy...

We will take turns to visit one anor after you return from honeymoon... and then we can see your wedding and honeymoon albums at the same time

Hi Limay,

Came across that u have bought somethings from Bombay.com before in the old archives, just wonder how did u make the payment? Cos we got frens coming over from U.S., tot of asking him to bring something over, but the website does not accept international credit card. How did you do it last time?

hey Taka - what are u getting from Bombay? They dont do international sales/shipment. I was in Boston when i came across their outlets, so i CARRIED the chandeliers home (thats how much i loved them!!)

I made my payment by card in Boston. Why dont u just get your friend to pay first & reimburse him when he comes over?

Hi Limay,

Not so nice mah, trouble him to carry over and somemore want him to pay first... pah siah leh... We intend to get the clock, on sale now...

Ok... will think about it... Thanks

Taka, am sure he doesnt mind lah..just treat him to a nice meal

Carol - we just moved in without even cleaning...hehe...after wedding i have no place to stay mah, no choice. Got the bed & furniture all in the same day we checked out of the hotel! See how, maybe get one of the cleaning companies to come do a thorough clean-up after we get back...too much work to do it ourselves (too lazy)

Hey Limay,
Ya boy! Travelling can be fun but tiring... so definitely won't feel like cleaning after you return from honeymoon... get someone to do your hosue cleaning lah. Think "Ah Mahs on Wheels" cost $200+ monthly (once a week)

i'm from Blk 6. just wanna check if there's anyone from Blk 10 there.

basically, we were "relieved" to finally see some rectification works started in our flat exactly 1 month after we submitted the defects list. didn't wanna kick a big farce abt the delay cos' don't wanna get lousy workmanship anymore in return. but today when we dropped by, Raymond (the guy in charge of Blk 6) told us that he can't cope with Blk 6 by himself anymore and the guy who used to be in charge of Blk 10 is helping him out with our unit now. Just wondering if any of u had any experience with the guy in charge of Blk 10? Btw, we also face the problem with uneven tiling all over the house...

very stressed now... frustrating part is nobody even bothered to inform us abt the delay or changing over.... sigh!

Jam,
Have you inform the developer's contractor or anyone(b1 office) there about it? How I go about getting my things done up fast is by going to the office, find the person who can handle the case and speak to him/her. You can leave your contact number at the office and get the contractor to call you. Be firm...

I'm in Blk 12, the contractor did call me back and even inform me that there is a delay so that I don't waste a trip down and see nothing is done. My delay was only 3 days... I was thinking if my flooring isn't done or solve, I will have to scream at them.

For your case, it has been more than 1 mth... you should scream at them already. The contractor cannot cope with yr problem isn't your problem! They have to plan what! FIND out who is the contractor for your blk first... Give him a "Nan Mao All Mi Tuo Fuo"

Hi Fanta

I feel very paiseh when i was preparing some dishes, and the opposite neighbours just look and look. Maybe they are curious to why i cooking in my working clothes. Cos sometimes I cook after work. And sometimes it's very late, like 8 - 9pm....

Well, might be opting for the window shield film, cos it's maintenance-free.

Anyone done iron gate which is copper-bronze in color?

Hi Jaslyn

For iron gate, be sure you get the colour approved first as you might have to get rid of it since the "official" colour is different.

Hi limay,
I was at PG just now. Was looking at your unit but dare not disturb you. Understand that you are busy unpacking you furniture and packing for your honeymoon. Maybe after your honeymoon i will drop by to visit you

Anyway i like your balcony light
Very different from normal balcony lights.

Phew..another bz day of cleaning and unpacking.

Fanta,
Thanks for the offer. I will drop by next week,one evening when I am free from my boys....now tat ur house is fully furnished, dun wish that 2 monkeys to dirty ur place...kekeke.
Meanwhile, u are welcome to drop by anytime after xmas.

Limay, when are u leaving for ur honeymoon?

Hi Jam

I'm fr blk 10 but I only spoke to a indian guy who is the supervisor (i think) b4...

Hi Limay

Can see tat ur lights r on most of the tm, must be very bz unpacking...

I'm still unpacking my stuff and my 1st housewarming for frens is tomorrow! hiaz...
Will sms u to c if we can visit u tomolo

Ah Eng

Jia you! Hope to see u ard soon!

Hey Rachel, Which block & floor are u on? At least i can wave from across next time i see someone at the balcony!
Hehe...anyway, u can just come by & say hi loh..place still v messy, water feature stuff & tons of things still at my old house, but has some semblance of the final look liao

Havent started packing for honeymoon...
Ah Eng: we are leaving on 26th nite, so will just pack on the day itself - most of my clothes are still at my parents anyways, nothing to pack yet!!

Got the balcony light in Geylang Serai area
We even attempted to have a candle light dinner at the balcony yesterday (wind blew off our candles)...quite romantic at night!

anyone making window grilles and wrought iron gate?
for iron gate, do we need to conform to specific design and colour, just like the window grilles?

roughly how much does the window grilles for the whole house cost???