Park Green

ah eng,
Sorry just saw your posting. Oh, cos "see date" one lor... Pregnant mah, then MIL scared I "cheong" things lor. Previously is my hubby who went in first, I can onli peep from outside. Poor thing... now getting used the size of the living room... me trying to get used to the bedrooms... Haahaaa

Missylan,
now ur tummy big..so everything seems small lah...hahaha (joking)
Dun worry, u will get used to it soon.

I used to stay in a 4 room flat before the prev 5 room flat...so now i very comfy wif my 3 room unit

Missylan,
No lah, I'm not on such a high flr... it's kind of scary to look down from that height...always tot we are of the same unit size... so yours is facing the pool.... mine can see LRT one.

Wah, you are in your final trimester and only having a 34" waist? Wah, you won't need to diet and exercise like siao to go back to your size man...

Carol,
Hehehe, wrong number. Me facing pool and when main door open, I "long biah"-hokkien one. I understand my opp neighbour, when main door open, they "long"-hokkien kitchen one. Another neighbour "long"-hokkien living room.

Many ppl thought that I am in my 5th mth only. When I said 7th mth(last mth), they goes "Wow"... I am now over-weight liao. Dunno why this belly still so small size. But gynae said that I am having quite a fat baby(2.2kg). Must exercise hah... Must go back to my very slim time... Before pregnant, I am fat(not over weight though) liao... must try to get back to 50kg slimmer than before pregnant. Hahaha... think difficult.

As marble and granite are porous material, it stains easily and normally the lustre will disappear after a year. I would advise owners to do a layer of sealant over the marble and granite immediately after polishing to prevent stains and maintain the shine.

You can get professional to do it or you can easily get the marble/granite sealant from the DIY shop.

Hey Merci,
We have been told by the maincon pple some time back to do that too... he told us that some units have already done that... so waiting for my unit to be ready then will go buy and apply

wah...so only 34" waist...u shd be able to regain ur weight fast after birth!

My main door open..i see others side main door and their kitchen too...hahaha

I am quoted almost 5K for roller blind and sunshield(sun film for window), is this price too steep? Cos I heard fr friends that roller blind is less than 2K+... Or different quality or?

missylan,
meaning cannot the see main door...but can see the side..as if the owner when opening the door...I see their right side.

I oso dunno the price of roller blind for whole house..but the price seems kinda steep to me.

hi missylan,

may i ask wat r u quoted for the sunshield?
the '% of blockage' fr the sun plays a v.impt part of the sunshield quote.
the higher % it is, the higher the price.

bear in mind also, the higher % it is, at night ur window will be like a mirror image.

hi missylan,

may i ask wat r u quoted for the sunshield?
the '% of blockage' fr the sun plays a v.impt part of the sunshield quote.
the higher % it is, the higher the price.

bear in mind also, the higher % it is, at night ur window will be like a mirror image.

Carol,
not 3.5x lah.
wat missylan say $5k includes roller blind + sunshield.

Carol,

That's why I am still pondering if I wan to even pay more after spending so much on my curtains.

Seems like it is my turn to shout at the main con. Promise this week until now still no sound

Aaa... as quotation was faxed to my office, I wasn't there to see to every detail. Shall post again later when I reach office... Then hehe, we shall discuss

I choose a 64.7% blockage of solar energy, 99% UVlight, 54% cut down on visible light and he said that this is a 3 layer type. For my unit, I was quoted almost 1K for the film...

As for the roller blind, my living room is a see through lace look alike and the 4 rooms are total black out. And the price per square feet is $10.50-$11. This roller blind is around $3.4K

Anyone of you intend to wall mount tv console at MBR & Livng Area? My ID warned me against doing so as its "empty concrete" behind these 2 walls, thus console will not be stable if wall mount.

Anyone of you had the same advice fm your IDs?

Appreciate your info.

Tks!

Hey guys,
Our wedding is on Saturday!
Wish us luck (that i dont trip & fall in my gown, that it doesnt rain like it is now...)

Anyway, we will be in PG after we check out (handover from ID next Monday & furniture delivery Mon/Tues) & staying there most days, so feel free to come & say hi!

Hey Limay,
Though I congratulated you guys that day, congrats again!! It's only 2 days away from your BIG day...excited right?!!

When are you guys going for your honeymoon? Still need to unpack and tidy up your house before you leave for your honeymoon... so tiring isn't it?

Hey Carol, hehe...yah, cant wait for it to be over! seating is the biggest headache man..everything else is smooth..

We will be off to NZ from Boxing day, so trying to transport some barang2 over after wedding & before that! Unpacking & doing up the place is fun lah, i find wedding preps more sian! heehe

yo limay, my mailbox has been flooded with PM queries on this ID, hv to clear those before I get the capacity to send mail to you.

yo Carol/Ah Eng,

The quote from this ID was more expensive than the others but I chosen him because of his convincing 'detail' & experience. who knows he ended up to be a real sotong!. I only did a few custom furniture, can you image all got problem! He is responsible enough to admit the fault and redo some, as for the others I hv to bear with it! Throughout the reno, we keep consoling ourselves that hiccups are inevitable especially we are definitely more concern on the safety and comfort of our place than our ID so try to bear with it and things will be on the right path soon but we trusted the wrong person..

I was full of confidence when I tell my frens abt him earlier, 4 of my colg/frens getting their condos soon wanted to see his work in my place before approaching him. I am an appreciative person, surge on gifts for my subordinate and even for my office pantry aunty who always made drinks for my guests. In fact, I have plans earlier to throw a party, invite my ID to recommend him to my frens. Now, I still consider whether to ask them to come n see
, not in the mood for hse warming liao. feel like tearing down some of the items he has done. Don't get me wrong, design is gd but something that is suppose to be there is missing and answer I got is this is the way the furniture is constructed! We get discomfort when using it, also have to be always careful when using it! This is definitely not accepted as I think most of us go for ID because of designs and also want our furniture to be custom to practically meet our needs right? else can always go buy ready made designer furniture right? how can they build furniture like that! This ID also has a terrible 'draw line' attitude, isn't ID supposes to give relevant advise to dress up our place to blend the designs? We already let him have the convenient by ordering all lightings from 1 light shop for his easy coordination, accommodating to his schedule and even don't call him on Sundays as we know that is family day etc.

my frens told me to deduct his last pymt as a compensation but I did not do it cos' I think that is not really impt, he is already pity enough to have unsatisfied customer and also lost of 4 other potential customers, enough to bang his head and cry!

yo nutty/ah_eng, me still clearing up the mess left by my ID clipart{sad}, his carpenter even tell me I can do it slowly, day by day and soon all will be gone. Irony right? I get all the shit work even though I was charged for cleaning! One of his vendor deliver, came back to check, came back to collect and deliver again and we were there ourselves to coordinate all the visits, strange hor! We paid ID for 1 stop service right! Every time I clean, really heart ache to spot some portions of my furniture (either the back, top or bottom) are not wrap with veneer, left with raw material and I still wondering how to clean those, worry the wood prick our fingers or the water might slip into the wood and rot soon! Do you all think this consider as tou gong jian liao(cut in material)? There are too many emails, I will need time to clear my mailbox, will response soon.

Hi Batt,
So sorry to hear such bad experience that you had. Since you have so many pple emailing you for the ID's name/company, you might as well announce it here once and for all so you dun have to repeatedly reply to different pple (though I dunno if announcing it here is a good or bad idea, just a suggestion

Hee Alvin, you got come up and "spot check" huh??

Ya, just started last week but very slow progress cos cannot confirm on some of the carpentry designs and the FS stuff. But shld still be able to move in by Jan I hope

Hee, we are going to be "real" neighbours soon

Batt,
Wah...sounds really very bad work done..if i were u, i will hold the last payment!! And I will announce the name of the ID...let him/her know the POWER of forum

Hi Limay/drawcy, congrats & dun wori today bright /sunny day. NZ is a beautiful place Enjoy

Hi all, can advise on water feature in balcony? wanted a water feature but no electric point in balcony... also my balcony kena rain so dunno whether the water in the feature pond will become full & overflow (than the fish will flow out too??) pai seh i know nuts about water feature so need help.

Hi Jess, I wanted a water feature too but was advise by the seller that a normal one might be flooded. Maybe can custom made.

Hi all, need some advice too. The contractor seems not to have done much after 28 days. What to do

I was adviced by another curtain supplier(more honest than the previous 1). She said that for my unit I cannot install roller blind. Not cannot, is unsuitable. She told me the cons of roller blinds, firstly, the curtain(roller blind) alignment will be unequalized after sometime. Secondly, as our windows are quite long... there will be at least 1 inch gap in btw 2 roller blinds. I think I will confirm getting her to do my curtain. And I asked her how much will it cost for my unit to do roller blind, she quoted estimation fr 2K-3K. And she also advice me not to go window film, she ask me to save the money and get thicker curtain can liao. She is not like my first quotation, measure and measure, didn't give any opinion or advice. By the way, my SIL and MIL's done by them too... Interested? Let me know, I shall post her contact here.

Anything have to lookout for roman blinds? Cos this is the nearest to roller blind. I like flat flat look... hehehe

hi missylan,

if u hv afternoon sun, in long run, ur curtain will fade faster.

window film definitely helps to reduce uv-ray which no curtain fabric can do that. unless u gotta close ur curtain all the time, else, u will still get the heat. also, in long run window film to protect ur furniture n floorings too.

all fabric except day curtain fabric will shrink to a certain %.

wat concept u adopting for ur new house?

hi roooller,
I am thinking of that too, after sunshine so blazing, my couch and furnitures might fade colour colour also... Still thinking whether to stick or not...

The study & living will be using day curtain, the rest will be blackout type.

Mine is modern concept.... White, chrome, black and grey... So my roman blinds will be light colours...

pardon me,
roller blind blends well for modern concept.

is ur previous based on day curtain too.
cos day curtain doesn't cost much, it's the night curtain that make the bulk price.

Me still dunno how about day and night curtains... hahaha... But after the lady told me about the cons of roller blind, me also half-sian already. Night curtain, meaning thicker ones is it? No choice leh, like to sleep in very dark environment...

My previous roller blinds are base on 2(living and study room) see through and 3 bedrooms blackout...

bdrm still alright to get roller blinds.
living rm i wont lor, as i don't like the gap in between too.
i got day & nite curtain for my living.

But lady told me that roller blind for long term use, the alignment will be unequalize leh... One side longer and one side shorter... U still wanna do?

missylan,

i've already got it for all my bdrm.
my previous house also use roller blind, up to 3 yrs, still in good condition.
hardly need to clean up!
n basically i'm a lazy person, so roller blind is for me! hehe

also, my parents, consider old folks, they hving the roller blinds too for abt 4 yrs?

my gf came over to my house, she had roman blind for her house. she's kind of regretting.

initially i thot of hving roman blind, hving 2nd thought cos of fabric will shrink. n also not cheap neither.

so give up the idea.

sorry, i'm just here sharing my personal views. in any case, watever ur choice its still up to ur liking.

also for the window film, u can alway decide after install ur curtain, but piece of advice. if u decide to install after that, better to take down all ur curtains, ur place gotta b messy!

did the lady told u even for curtain, there will be shrinkage?
all nite curtain DEFINITELY will hv it's shrinkage but day curtain its ok.

:P

roooller,
No problem, I'm here to accept advices... She didn't tell me about shrinkage maybe yesterday was our first appt. Will be goin down to her shop to choose the material. So U do not have the unequalized problem?

How much did U pay for your roller blinds?

missylan,

abt $6+ per sqft

btw, one of the disadvantage of the roller blind is the bottom bar will cause noise if the place is windy.

this can be counter by putting a rubber pc behind the bottom bar.

tat's the only complain my parents had.