Park Green

janett (janett) :

wah that dangerous... never tot of that before... next time must be careful when walking there.. esp those with little ones.

I think there is another "dangerous" area... When we drive down from entrance to carpark basement... I think it is quite dangerous, as basement the lightings aren't bright enough. It somehow cause momentaty blindness(daytime). So I advice pedestrains not to walk across the basment carpark where there will be cars coming down. Or we should tell the management about it.

You know how Singapore government solve(tunnel, drive-thru) this matter? They added orange lightings with white lightings, to soothe the problem. Maybe PG can do that.

Just want to add on to the list of danger zones but this is not within PG compound. Dunno if any motorist here finds the road at Sengkang East Ave turning right to Rivervale Link dangerous. Due to the LRT column blocking motorist's view of oncoming vehicles, one hv to drive alot forward to make sure it's safe to turn. Many motorists fail to do so and as there isn't heavy traffic along this road, cars tend to travel faster causing near accidents. Can hear motorists sounding horn & e-braking all the time. Wonder if LTA can do anything abt this.....

the worse thing is that I feedback to the lady in the Mgt Office, she said is the maincon problem.I went to the maincon, they say, common area is the MC's problem and MC should feedback to NTUC to create a small footpath out of the small plot of land for pple to stand and look around before crossing..not sure who is in charge now..and they couldn't be bothered even though they seem to be aware of this problem.those with kids pls beware

dun think they will care abt us or kids safety ... anyway .. as long as we keep each other inform and be careful can already ...

Hi ALVIN and ah eng,
Just check with you do you have any problem with Sam Oh (home specialist curtain & blinds)'s afersales service?
I ordered my whole hse curtain and blinds from sam and was told that he provides good services but personally dont feel this way. during installation, the installation guys left my walls and ledge dirty with black fingerprints and dust everywhere. claimed that not possible to have time to keep everything clean. left a big hole in my wall due to careless drilling, came with wrong curtain holders. when called Sam to complain, he told me that he was busy and get back to me later but never did. called to demand explaination again the 2nd day but was told off tat he was too busy to entertain us.
All fellow PGers, pls 'ban' him from your list of potential curtain installer.

Hi Jes,
Sorry to hear that u have such experience with him. My curtains are not installed yet. So far, his service is good. He was recommended by my collg whom apparently feel that he is good and patient guy. Alvin had dealt with him as well. And I dun hear complain from him. Mayb he is too busy now but that doesnt gv him any excuse to be so rude as to told u off!!

Ah eng,
I also thought that he was patient and experience that's why ordered from him instead of Jimmy textile which was slightly cheaper. Sigh... but pay liao what to do.. think he 1 man show thats why can't cope. when installation must insist his men vacuum clean for you despite their excuses. now have to get the workers in to touch up paint and fill drilled hole

Ah Eng,
I did roller blinds for living, & dining bedroom 3. got problem with living as they say not possible to align the holder straight due to ceiling sloping slightly
but i wasnt told by sam initially. the other roller blinds are fine.
the curtain in my bedroom2 and mbr...sigh.. the organza day curtain was fine but coz my mbr got ceiling fan the organza and curtains (day and night)'fly' everywhere when i on my fan. dunno y sam didnt seal the bottom of front+backing for night curtain so when got wind the whole curtain become 'fluffy'. im using 30%silk, 70%polyster type of material thats why need linen backing to be opque. i called sam up re: the above see how he can trouble-shoot for me(maybe add weight to bottom or what). but he told me that the material i choose behaves as such, no solution... but i had already told him when choosing curtain that i want my curtains to seat nicely (can move abit lah) when ceiling fan on.... vomit blood... i too upset to take alook at the sewing of curtain.. later go see than feedback re:workmanship

Hey Jes - ARGGH...we ordered with Sam also...paid 50% with the remainder to be paid when he installs next Monday. He seemed patient enough when we were picking up the curtains, but has been calling me to rush me on the installation (& presumably to get the rest of his money). Luckily, we only got the lounge day/night curtains though him. Sigh - i better stand and supervise when his men come & install our rods!!

HI Jes,

I have no problem with Sam.
They came on time & their men clean for me after the installation. After the installation Sam called & follow up to check whether we are happy with their curtians. I think right now as more & more customer, he is getting more busy.

Jes,
send me an email [email protected]

As regard to the sloping ceiling, I got tat problem too at one of the bedrooms. I was highlighted on that part. Hmmm, i think overall, Sam is a nice guy but mayb too greedy to take up too many projects since he cannot cope with it :P

Hi Ah Eng,& limay,
today Sam came to take back my curtains to add weight and offered to clean the fingerprints away. he also apologise re: too busy to troubleshoot for me... at least I simmer down abit.. But keeping my fingers cross as im yet to see the final products (owing me two sets of night curtain now).

Jes,
Wah..Am so glad that Sam had come back to do something for u
Actually there are 2 times my hubb called him but he was with his customers; and he returned our call only the following day. Guess he really bz bz.
Good luck to u

not sure if you guys also received a pamphlet from this interior designer - D'zigne Concept, in your mailbox. does anyone know them or have heard of them? would like to get some feedback about them. hope you guys can help. thanks.

hey Jes,
Its good to hear that at least he bothers to rectify the problem
Hope the scarring on your wall is not too bad! Fingers crossed that the worker installing our rods will not mess up!

Btw - if any of you guys are still looking for knick-knacks to decorate ur place, pop by at LIMS at Holland V. We went by there yesterday...so many nice stuff...sigh, wish my place was bigger then I have an excuse to get more "junk"!

Anyone having a study room behind the living room? Are u changing the aluminium door? I feel it looks quite out. Feel that it should be a wooden sliding door with the same material as the kitchen one.

Did anyone of you had your curtains done by Deco Craft Furnishings? The guy came by our unit the other day and said that he had done up a lot of PG units and to do up day and night curtains for the whole house will cost only ard 1.2k. The price is attractive, but not too sure of the service and quality. Can anyone comment on this? Thanks

Need to get some advices on the marble floorings... Now my flooring situation is at 4 square edges of the each tile, it looks like white cement seeping into the marble. I tried to feel the problem area, it isn't feel like the problem is on the surface. How can this be solved?

Another thing is there are some tiles(marble) with small holes like sth sharp dropped onto it, can this be amended with white cement or tiles has to be dig out?

Hai... seems like I'm having problem with my marble floorings and cannot make it in time for my confinement...
231544.jpg

Hi missylan,
Small hole on marble can not be amend by white cement. Unless you don't mind seeing the small patch. For my case is i asked them to change the tiles. Problem is they can't locate the exact tiles but they will try to change to the closest colour. The process can be tedious as you may need to be around to see and match the colour.

Rachel,
How long did they complete your floorings for you?

Sian aah... I am now really pissed off by their quality man! Paying more than 500 thousand for this type of shit job! Might as well buy a HDB and renovate... I am ready to complain to NTUC Choice Homes... So angry and frustrated!
231610.jpg

The worst thing is that after going over to Nuovo over the weekend, I must say our workmanship is really not that good. The 1mm can no longer be used as an excuse.

Hi missylan,
Don't be angry. Later baby also angry.

They took about 3 weeks to complete mine. First one week nothing was done. Changing of tiles is really quite hassle. They have to keep finding the closest tiles to match. My friend place can play chess after they change. The poor workers have to redo everything all over again.

Missylan,
Actually I will advise you to close one eye if it's the look of it. It can be hidden by furniture and you can save yourself a lot of trouble. I have heard some outside contractors said that it may be a wiser decision not to disturb the foundation that has been laid... cos digging out some tiles might cause more problems in future...unless you are able (and want) to ask them hack ALL the marbles and re-tile them. That's going to take some time for them to act on it...and whether they will do it or not is anor issue

missylan,
I agree with Carol. If the affected tiles are going to cover up by furniture why not just leave it. They can hack it for you but may chipped the tiles surrounding it. Cause more defects.

Missylan,
Ya, one more thing. If you are giving birth in Jan and planning to do confinement in your new house, you better close one eye on those superficial defects. Otherwise, your house might not be ready in time... I am aiming to move in in Jan and I'm already rushing like mad, hair falling out and brain cells dying... it's even more stressful than the rectification period. So my advice to you is that go easy on the rectification if there are not major concerns and quickly start your reno now... Dun forget we've got X'mas and New Year PH and these are non-working days...so 2 gd days are gone.

Hi Rachel,
How's your reno? When is it finishing?

Hi Carol/Rachel,
Imagine you standing at your main door while the sun shines in from the living room, you can see all the problem area liao. I can't hide the problem area with furnitures leh... The problem tiles are from inside of my main door, 2 tiles all the way to the living room window. So it is like whole stretch of defects... Then the holes, they just use the white cement to mend leh... I visited the first floor and 15th, their tiles do not have such problem. And I have already told the contractor that those minor defects I am not going to report, just for god sake a nice and stain-free marble floorings!

Very difficult to move into this type of flooring quality leh... I have to face it for the rest of my life leh

Hi missylan,

If the lippage of your tiles which cannot be covered by furniture and it really irritates you, you can also cover up using a big rug/carpet.

From what I understand from marble specialist, lippage that is less than 1mm can be polish easily to perfection if the polisher has the right tools and skill.

Missylan,
To pursue or not it's ultimately your choice, but of course if suay suay (touch wood) the re-tiling work is worse than original, then it's really at your own expense... unless you have all the time in the world to make them rectify until you are satisfied...

Wat I understand is that the lippage and flaws are more obvious for those who chose marble, cos it's light in colour and the lippage is extremely irritating to the eyes during the daytime when the sun shines in. Actually my tiles are also uneven (and my blood boils whenever I feel them with my fingers), but I told myself to accept in and try to live with it...like wat Merci has suggested, maybe can put a carpet to cover up the imperfect tiles and you won't be reminded about it as often.

Merci,
I think the marble tiles they used are very thin (lousy ones) so maybe cannot do hard polishing to even out the lippage, as the polishing will cos the tile colour to change. Think what they will do is only buffing to improve the shine that's all.

Maybe you all misunderstand my description... Ai yah, I also dunno how to describe also whor...

It is not the lippage giving me the problem. Lippage is fine. The problem is on my marbles. Ok, step by step... Workers placed the marbles and will apply the white cement into the lippage. This white cement dunno somehow left there for too long or what, seeped into my marbles. From the look of my marble, there is white cement inside. I cannot be placing carpet from my main door to the windows right... My unit not palace... hehehe, can place red carpet and whenever I come home, maid will scatter red roses onto the carpet... lolz

Called Adeline's female colleague, she told me that the sub-contractors cannot make it this Wed slot so they have changed it to Sat. I shall visit PG again this Sat.

For your info, initially we have already given up hope about the flooring as the lippages is visible but less than the standard 1mm and intended to use carpet to cover up the problems. But later the main con offered to polish my floor using a different method and the floor really looks good right now. All the lippages are gone as they "cut" the marble. The only minor problem though is that the line between the tiles (not the tiles themselves) may have different colours due to some stains being trapped there. However, I believe those can be removed using a small piece of sandpaper. The subcon doing the polishing work told me at first they are hesitate to use this method because we are having compressed marble, but they have tested it in several occasions and the result are satisfactory.

Now my major worry is gone. There are still some minor defects which are be easily rectified.

May be you want to check with the main con about this.

Hey Snowball2,
Which blk are you from and who did you speak to about the polishing? I only know they do buffing for most pple but looks like they are also doing the wet polishing for others...

Hi Carol,

I'm from Blk 6. Not sure if the new method is wet polishing or not(I was there when they work on it and it definitely looks very wet to me)...

To be honest, we did not even ask for this. As I said, we have sort of given up hope as the main con agreed to just buff the floor to get rid of the scratches. However, apparently the subcon said we have to much scratches and buffing will not really help. So, the site manager (the boss of our blk supervisor) make the decision to use this method to polish the floor and at the same time, this method will get rid of the lippages.

They told me that the downside for using this method is that the line between tiles will look more visible, but I can't tell much difference about it. To us, we are satisfied as long as the lippages are gone.

The whole polishing process took about 2-3 days to complete.

HI snowball2,
2-3 days?!! That's a long time!! Thought it only takes about a day the most. Good to hear that you are happy with your flooring now

yes, it took 2 days for us. The first day the guy was using a machine to make the marble even. He needed a day to complete this as he has to repeat the same process 5-7 times. The second day was just buffing with a smaller machine.

*sigh**sigh**sigh*
, I have a bad experience with an ID that I knew from this thread, think some of u has signed up with him. Didn't know that minor condo reno can be so screw up! He appeared as a very detail person but is so so muddlehead throughout the whole reno! He is cmg to rectify my reno defects soon, i really hope he will do a gd & FINAL job and fulfill whatever has been discussed else don't blame me for de-stressing here in the forum!

Hi all, Just to keep yo all updated.

Contractor called me this morning and apologised as he told me that he'll be handing in a fine floorings but did not. He said that the sub-contractor came and did a no good job and was asked to re-do. Hope he can give me a nice flooring this Sat. Hai... Now all I can do is to wait...

By the way, this morning was my first time "stepping" into the unit. Saw the rooms are really small. Kitchen also beri small... The size of the Master bedroom is like can place a King size bed and no more other stuff liao. Now I understand why my hubby kept nagging about the stupid design of the fridge. Blocking the kitchen door and also the kitchen sink...

Fridge blocking the kitchen door and the sink? Guess your layout is different from mine. My fridge is near the door on one side and the sink on the others end of the kitchen (Though the kitchen is not big)... However, I do concur with your hubby that the design is stupid. Like the light point in the MBR near the cabinet, the location of the air-con in the Living room, the location of the electrical outlet for the fridge and the washing machine in the yard......

snowball2,
Hmm... how shall I describe?

When entering the kitchen, the fridge is in front of the entrance. Imagine me buying 2 doors fridge... When opening the fridge doors, one will block the entrance of the kitchen and anotehr will block the way to the bomb shelter.

Missylan,
Hee, I think your unit is the same as mine... you should be right above me... For me, I personally dun find it a problem yet cos I got a relatively small fridge so it didn't pose any problem for me. In fact, I find the space allocated for the fridge is a bit too spacious for my slim fridge