Park Green

Hey Rachel,
Sam said 3 couples from Park Green went to see him - someone else with a chinese name...not sure who thou...blur

hmm...am i allowed to just post the link to our wedding pix here? The webmaster wont come and "scold" me rite? Anyway, i mailed u seperately Rachel.

Goodrich has an exhibition at Marina Square recently. Me and wife went there to take a look cos we intent to have wallpaper for the whole of our MBR. The staff did an estimate for us (about $800) as we showed them our floor plan. They would very much encourage us to go to their HQ where their showroom is cos there's lot of design to see. You can visit their websites at : http://www.goodrichglobal.com/index1.asp

Hi Limay and Alex,

I had a pleasant surprise when I saw the pix...

Guess what?? It's such a small world... I think I know Alex...we were once ex-colleague!!! If Alex can recall the Carol in his company, he will definitely know who I am!! To think that we have been chatting w/o realising it!!

Ahhh, Limay, I might have seen you before too in Raffles Place

Limay/Alex,
Glanced thru the pix liao. Very nicely done esp those outdoor shots. Found the bride 'chin swee' & groom 'yan tou', very compatible

Hey Carol,
Post your pix too leh. Me & Alvin want to know how you look like
Can PM Alvin if you paiseh.......hehe

Hey Carol - are u sure? hehe...
Small small world!

thanks fanta! Yah, dont like the indoor pix, wasted alot of time indoors and all looked weird with the fake backdrop!
Dont even have a nice pix of my wedding gown! "sim thia"

hahaha...this is cool!! so surprised to know u oso in park green!! neighbours! haha...how's life with jupiter? me knocking off in a while!

Limay,
Dun think you're the odd one here. Most indoor shots look fake & unnatural but without them the album somehow seem to be incomplete....but yours are not too bad lah.

Hi MeLodie, my on the odd floor. Have you get most of your furni & elect. appl. liao?

Wow this thread is really hot. Messages fly in so fast! Heart warming to see so many helpful neihbor around. Should organize some sort of "Port Luck" end of the year!

It has been some time since we last update the PGers list, esp. now there are some many new faces

1) mobe540 [email protected] (#14-20 - see you in the lift Alvin!)
2) longmarch - [email protected]
3) ah eng - [email protected]
4) kyosho1 - [email protected]
5) missylan - [email protected]
6) Rachel - [email protected]
7) Roy - [email protected]
8) Melodie - [email protected]
9) Tokky - [email protected]
10) coolblue - [email protected] (Blk 2 #08-02)
11) Razor - [email protected]
12) Kenneth - [email protected]
13) Samily
14) RN - [email protected]
15) White - [email protected]
16) limay - [email protected] & dracwy - [email protected] (Blk 6 #08-08)
17) Kent - [email protected]
18) Alvin - [email protected] (Blk 12 #06-20)
19) Hui - [email protected]
20) woody - [email protected]
21) spidey - [email protected]
22) Vica - [email protected]
23) Augustine - [email protected]

Anyone here NOT getting a TV console?

I am thinking of mounting TV on wall and either hiding the rest of the applicances or going wireless. If you are, can you share how you would approach it? Thanks.

Samily,

u will need a feature wall to hide those tv wires and then mount the tv to the wall. U can still have a tv console if u want to mount yr tv to the wall but have a lower console. Thats what people usually do. Hope this helps!

Hi Zann,

Thanks for the suggestion. I was thinking down that line but there are a few considerations :
a. I'm not sure what material those ID used to make those feature wall. If I were to buy a plasma (assuming price later dropped to a affordable price), I probably wouldn't want to mount a plasma on the feature wall due to the weight of the plasma (they can go > 50kg) and due to the humidity. It's probably alright if I get a 15" LCD but mounting a plasma on a feature wall can be potentially dangerous a few years down the road.

b. I still don't favor any TV console sticking out of the wall. I am thinking of going for a "clean" look. With only the TV on the wall, like those advertisements without anything else, wires, etc..

I was thinking if it is possible to change the cable point to where I want the TV but I am not sure what to do with the DVD player/recorder since wireless DVD player/recorder are still some time away. Also, if I decided to go for cable broadband and Starhub's digital phone, I don't quite know where to install the split point.

Any suggestions are mostly welcome.

What are the difference btw LCD TV and Sony Wega Engine colour TV 36"(I saw 1 around $4K+)?

What is the thing that makes buyer choose LCD and not Wega Engine? Heehee... sorry hah, me dunno much about this type of equipment.

Samily,

You are welcome.

TV console sticking out of the wall? Or you mean feature wall sticking out? i think the ID can make it like is the tv sticking out on the wall instead of the wall instead out. The feature wall can look like the real wall instead of like a feature wall then u wont think is a feature wall sticking out :P

Don't think you need to worry so much abt yr cables. Your interior design co can work with yr cable guy to run the cable so that they will be enclosed or hidden.

You are welcome.

TV console sticking out of the wall? Or you mean feature wall sticking out? i think the ID can make it like is the tv sticking out on the wall instead of the wall sticking out. The feature wall can look like the real wall instead of like a feature wall then u wont think is a feature wall sticking out :P

Don't think you need to worry so much abt yr cables. Your interior design co can work with yr cable guy to run the cable so that they will be enclosed or hidden

Hi Limay,
I can say you guys are beautiful couple
Hey, dracwy work quite good. Maybe after i move in ask him to do up my wedding picture also

hi fellow PGers,

We are owners of a unit in Blk 2 (facing the park), but are currently in the US where my hubby is on a posting. We'll be back in Sin mid next year, so will prob be one of the last to move in.

We've been following this thread on the TOP date. Great to have found this forum. Thanks for all the info and look forward to meeting all fellow PGers when we finally move in! ;)

Hi Soprano,

What a coincidence, we are currently in the US as well. Probably going back next year. We'll miss the moving in party. We are in Colorado, where are you guys located?

We are also very excited about PG even though there isn't much we can do here. We can only hope the our good PGers will post more photos so that we can "taste" a little bit of the excitement.

hi Samily,

Wow! What a coincidence! We are at Philadelphia though (quite far away). But Colorado is nice... I went there on a ski trip some years back. There are nice ski mountains there. ;) Hope you guys are enjoying yourselves over there!

mae (soprano)

Hey Fanta,
I dun have soft copy of my wedding photos with me..during my time, posting wedding pix on the web was not as popular as compared to now
. But I can ask my hubby to scan a few pix for you and Alvin to satifsy your curiosity
. Give me some time... maybe you can send me some of your pix too

Hi Carol,
Yup you shld satisfy our curiosity fast!! hehe...
Our wedding album already collecting dust, how to show you? hmmm....let me think of a way

Tangs is having 10% off on all electrical appliances including those already on offer. Those interested can check it out but I'm not sure when the sale will end. I've bought a Zojirushi electric airpot at $60 only (after disc & rebate)

Hey Alex,
Coming to 3yrs already! Time flies. Old couple liao. Oh ya, maybe I can find you in one of my wedding dinner pix

When did you start doing this graphic thingy? If I had known then, probably I wld approach you to do it for us... but now, the pix are all outdated liao.. but I think the video we did is a timeless piece of work!

I just went to view PG. Don't think will TOP this month, coz i saw they have not fix up the doors yet. It was left inside the rooms.

Wow Fanta,
That Zojirushi air pot is a gd buy! Does your pot come with a "stem" for pumping out the water? My current one does and the "stem" spoilt within 2-3 yrs and I have to replaced it... that why I decided to buy a Tiger one for the new house.

Anyway, if I'm not wrong, I think the sale has ended yesterday.

Fanta, do the same like me lah..scan the pix.. then we send each other the pix

Hi Carol,
May i know is Tiger brand long lasting? Let me know where you going to get your Tiger air pot? Mine currently spoilt due to the stem also. So ma fan, everytime have to boil water now.

Carol, didn't really examine the airpot clearly but think shld come with stem.

Tiger is a good brand if you dun mind paying the higher prices. MIL & many housewives swear by this brand so shld be worth the $$$ investing in the appliances.

Btw, I bought a cheap Karcher wet & dry vacuum cleaner from Courts at $99 only after hearing from you on this brand

Did most of you choose marble flooring for your unit? Pardon me for my ignorance, when checking for defects, how can we differentiate bet stains (ie. coffee stains) & discoloration. Not sure whether it's obvious to tell. Also, what's best to use for cleaning the marble and parquet flooring?

Hi Rach,
I have bought my Tiger airpot already, at Isetan.
That time it was having an offer, so I paid around wat Fanta has paid for her Zojirushi.

Luckily I didn't have to throw my Zojirushi airpot away after the plastic that holds the metal stem disintegrated. I simply bought a replacement stem from the supplier. But if I can avoid all these hassle, I wld rather not get an airpot with stem...

I suspect it's the hot water that cos the plastic to disintegrate so fast... so now I make it a point to fill the airpot to 3/4 full instead of 90% full, where the hot water will not come in contact with the plastic. The disadvantage here is that water doesn't stay hot for as long as if you were to fill the airpot to almost 90% full.

Hey Fanta,
You mean Courts selling the Karcher vacuum cleaner at $99 only? I'm going to check it out man!

I chose marble flooring also..Wow, I dunno if I will check the marbles piece by piece for discolouration...that's a lot of work!

There are detergents specially made for marble floorings and parquet floorings, so we might have to buy 2 separate detergents for that. I have also heard that we cannot use mop to clean the parquet flooring, so we might have to buy a mop for the marble and a sponge mop for the parquet

yeah, carol, u might juz find me in one of your wedding dinner pics.

juz started the graphix thingy, i’ve great interest in editing graphics, have been meddling with graphics for almost 6 years liao.

Carol, saw the Courts ad on Sat. It's their lowest end wet & dry model. Alvin likes it cos it's not too bulky & at 1200 watt, consider good buy for $99. Actually, I prefer to get a steam vacuum cleaner (Karcher has the water based type which retails at abt $699) then dun have to mop the floor but the high prices put me off lah.

Besides buying these, I also got the WMF pots & pans & chinese wok finally. The sales lady warned me not to use high heat when using. Will only know good or not after we start using at PG.

My fren's condo at Woodlands has coffee stains on her marble flooring & it takes months for the developer to rectify. Wondering what if the developer argue that this is due to discoloration & they won't rectify such defect. Pray that we are freed from such problem.

Hey all,
Thanks for all the nice comments on the wedding pix!
Anyway, if anyone is interested in the graphics bit, go bug Alex. Am sure he would love to get some guinea pigs

Rachel - did u see the unattached door at just one unit or alot of them? Maybe that one had some defect so they took it down? Really hoping for TOP within the next 2 weeks man!

Carol - learning alot from u on the airpo(r)t, detergents for the floor etc..
Nice to have fellow neighbours who are more in the know!
I dont even drink warm water at home (am on milk/juice not milo or even used to microwave my water) and dont use the airpot, so wouldnt hv a clue otherwise! haha, slack me.