Park Green

Hi Samily,

I'm considering a dryer as well but somehow can't recall if we have enuf space to place both washer & dryer.

Anyone can advise?

Hi Limay,

The basic package include painting and additional new lighting points, including installation of lights
I will answer your email shortly

Hi Fanta,
I hope some fairies will tell them in their dreams that staying apart will do more gd for them than to stay together.
I'm praying hard for miracles

Anyway, I think it wld be better for you to survey the area of the service balcony (laundry area) bef deciding whether a dryer is needed. Initially I also wanted to buy a dryer, but after I thought abt cost and necessity of a dryer, I prefer to wait and see. I plan to move in first and see if the sunlight is strong enuf on most days to dry my clothes. If it's not, then I will consider getting.

Alternatively, you can get a washer with higher spin speed to get rid of more water from the laundry, then your laundry will dry up faster. A
faster spin speed is also useful when you wash your comforter/quilt or thicker items.

Using a dryer is no doubt more convenient (to a certain extent), it costs more damage (colour fading, shrinkage) to your clothes than if you were to dry them out in the sun, consumes more energy (hence more $$ on bills) and takes up space. A washer with a higher spin speed will be useful (and wiser) in more ways than getting a dryer. Even if you have a dryer but a washer with less than 800rpm, it will take a longer time to dry those clothes.

Unless you are one of those who works and washes clothes everyday in the evening, then there will be a more compelling need for you to get a dryer.

So it's better to wait and see if you really need a dryer. Hope that helps you in your decision

Caroh ah, I dun think our drying ledge will see the sun leh
There is a "ledge" underneath the poles so that your neighbour clothings will not drip water on yours, good concept, but also keep the sun out

Hi chinnie or anyone,

I could only get page 3 of the quotation, what about the other pages?
Anyone receive all pages can forward it to me at [email protected] ?
My friend needs more info before she meet her ID again tonight.

SH

Chinnie, I dunno if your drying ledge faces the same direction as mine, but I went to survey the afternoon sun before.. Part of my drying ledge will be in the sun in the afternoon (the concrete block ledge above) will not block all the sunlight, so I think it's not so bad. My concern will be whether my clothes will be dusty if I hang out since it faces the road

Anyway, the balcony at my MBR gets the morning sun. If I do wash my clothes that early in the morning, you might see me hanging clothes at the balcony

Hi Carol,
Thanks for your detailed explanation on washer & dryer. Agreed that we shall wait & see how fast our clothes dried up at the drying ledge first before buying one which we oso dunno got enuf space or not. As MIL is giving us her F&P washer, we won't be getting another though we dunno how fast the spin speed is.

God, I can imagine myself transforming into a super domestic worker with the household chores......

Noticed that some of you bought the wet & dry vacuum cleaner from Philips. Is it good?

Hi SH,

I have replied to your email
There are only 3 pages for the quotation, these are the common items, other specialised items will be based on quotation basis. Would appreciate everyone not to show the whole quotation to the ID you are visiting, you can of course use the price as a gauge or even tell the ID the price verbally.

Btw, is your friend from Park Green? If not, the price will not be applicable to her, let me know and I can forward you another quotation.

Thanks a million!

Carol,

Really? Then that will be good news, got sun and yet will not get unwated water from above hahaha

You want to hang your clothes at the balcony? Then the most "colourful" balcony will belong to you!

YYBB,

You're always welcome

Hey Fanta,
Just another pt to note. Pay attention to the movers when they shift your washer and/or fridge. I think these items spoil easily, esp after all those rough handling and joltings during the moving. Both my old fridge and washer broke down within 2 yrs after they have been moved from one hse to anor. Be around to keep an eye on the movers when they load and unload those items. Some irresponsible movers will anyhow do the job.

Hi Carol,

I am interested in the bulk purchase of the electrical appliances too. I am looking at the F&P fridge. I think 880 is a very reasonable price now. Count me in...

Maybe nearing to our TOP date, then we can decide on the size of the fridge that can actually fits.

Thanks !!!

Hey Chinnie,
I almost wanted to tell SH the same thing abt the quotation

Pls bear in mind that the quotation is strictly for PGers and it will be not be fair to Chinnie's ID shld those out there use her quotation as the "market rate". She specially came out with a quotation (and she's getting a lower profit margin) such that PGers who get her to do their reno will enjoy a better rate. Hope you guys appreciate that, and not do an item by item comparison using her quotation.

Thank you Carol!

Using the most "sought after" egg analogy, buying a single egg (maybe egg with prata) is definitely more expensive than buying a whole tray of egg. So what my ID is doing now is to sell one tray of egg and let you all distribute and add to your own prata, but she is willing to mix Omega 3, extra large and local eggs all together in one tray according to your preference!! Funny? Not funny? hahaha

Carol, pt noted liao. The 'movers' shld be a few of our tough, macho male frens.....will ask them to be more delicate....hehe....

Are you moving most of your furniture to PG as well?

Hey Fanta,
Not really. I'm the other way round. I'm leaving most of my stuff at my present place. Will only move my 21" CTV and maybe my bed (+mattress), and all the small items I bought over the past few mths over to the new house. Rest will buy new..that's a lot of $$

Fanta,
No, I have not bought the big items yet... waiting to see the design of my hse first then decide further. May custom made TV console if the price is w/in my budget. Otherwise, got to do more shopping liao. I intend to check out the largest HN at Millenia Walk and Courts at Suntec cos they have more models (for home appliances). As for furniture, not so much preference. Which ever is nice and fit into our budget, we will buy

Have you been shopping? If you have, I wld rather you do window shopping now and buy when you get your keys. Chances are prices will drop for many things..and not forgetting there are always Pre-X'mas sale everywhere...may get good buys then.

Carol, we're going to custom made TV console, coffee table and maybe dining bench to match our existing furniture. Saw some nice furniture at IMM yest on discount but can't buy in case they clash with ID's design. You may like to window shop there. The delivery make take a while approx 8 wks) for certain shops. Can start to buy in Oct (Jean told us TOP end sept & she sounded confident abt it).

Alvin/Fanta
Gongxi Gongxi

We wanted to get the LCD TV as well...but the collection by end oct date oso stopped us from buying.

This afternoon, I went down to my laywer to submit my cheque for stamp duty. Lawyer had sent us the letter that stage 2f is completed and at the same time, asking us to submit a 'no-date' chq for stamp duty so that there will be no delay in obtaining the keys. And we were glad to went down to the lawyer. She had offered to appeal for us to pay the stamp duty via CPF...heeehee...and another news disclosed by her ...ie the developer is trying to obtain TOP within 2 weeks time...dunno how true...but we are really excited over this news.

Wah.. this forum is hot.
I am also waiting for the Park Green TOP.
Have bought quite a number of things already
in the storeroom plus some others to be
delivered.

I wonder how long a delay will be if we
pay the stamp duty with CPF.

Chinnie,
see that you have a good reno quote.
could I have a copy too. ([email protected])

Thanks. Great forum.

Hi Danny,

A Big welcome to u!!! Which blk are u staying?

Hi Ah Eng,

Thks & hope that you can pay your stamp duty by CPF so that you can buy more things for your new house. In the future, I think I will be the same like you. I will put my baby girl to my in-law place (Bedok) in the morning & will fetch her back in the evening, sure very tired lah.... No choice be'cos we want to have our own sweet home.

Danny/ Hui
Welcome!

Carol,
my lawyer is Colin Ng & Partners. We shd be having the same lawyer if ur loan is from UOB.

Alvin,
will be happier to be $5k cash richer...kekeke
Dun worry...it will be worth the effort of travelling ..all for the sake of ur OWN house....for us, it is less tired since we are travelling from semb to bedok everyday...it will be at least 50% cut down on travelling.
Which part of bedok is ur in-law place? My mum place is nearer to the TPE exit...she is at Bedok South

Haven heard of frens using Novita..so no contribution.

Chinnie,
We went to HDB for the first appt for the sale of our semb flat. The next appt is fixed at 22 Nov (after nego wif the buyer). Now I really hope that we will received the keys latest by Oct ...then at least I know I will have a roof over my head ...kekeke

Hey Danny & Hui - Welcome as well!
Which blocks are u guys at?

Alvin - am also thinking of getting the Novita steamer (iron) - then no need to even get an ironing board...we are undecided if we will get a weekend maid, but if we dont, then the Novita iron makes alot more sense for lazy pple like me

Ah Eng,
You're so blessed with a lawyer like this. Anymore good news from your end do share with us right away. We also want to pester our lawyer.
My mum's plc is at Bedok North. Are there traffic jams along TPE in the morning from your plc to Bedok?

I'm looking for a good wet & dry vacuum cleaner. Have missed the ones at the Philips sale. Can anyone advise on the model no? I think the price range is bet $250 - $290.

Hey Alvin,
I bet you must have seen the demo given by the Novita promoter as to how easy it is to use the steamer to straighten out the creases

Let me tell you something. Those materials they use to demo are easy to iron materials, so it seems effortless in using a steamer as compared to an iron.

As I was so impressed then (w/o doing homewk)and happily bought the model SS19 (being claimed by the promoter as the most ex but the best) to try out. Sad to say, I was totally disappointed when I tried it on my working blouses and my hubby's working pants. Though the clothes weren't that creased after working the steamer up and down the fabric a few times, but that wasn't supposed to be so. I want my clothes to be creaseless... not sure if my ironing skill is not up to it or that the materials (synthetic and cotton) are resistant to the steamer.

But one thing for sure is that I have ended up spending the same amt of time using the steamer as compared to using the iron(supposed to save time and effort), but ended up with a less than ideal pressed clothes. The clothes ended up slightly damp (from the condensation of the steam) and you cannot hang your clothes back into the wardrobe soon after you are done. Imagine I had clothes hanging all over the room to air dry it.

If you want to have smartly pressed clothes, a steam iron will be sufficient. If you activate the steam during ironing, it will make the whole ironing chore much easier. However, and unless you have tons of silk and delicate fabrics to iron (cannot even use steam iron cos they will cause shiny marks), then a steamer is recommended. Otherwise, I will rather you go invest that money on a good steam iron

Hope that helps in your decision making. Hey, if you want to see how "gd" it is, you can bring a few pieces of your clothes to my place after we moved in, and I can show you how difficult it is to iron them

Hi carol,
thanks for the advice. I was thinking of buying the Novita iron initially but was comtemplating due to whether does it function as good as the normal iron if not better. But now I think I can save a bit and have creaseless clothes by buying those normal iron.

morning neighbours !!!
Glad to hear that TOP is happening soon... End of Sept... That's like a few more weeks to go. I still haven't settle on curtains and ID.
* Panic * Any advice? Went to spotlight for quotation, however didn't manage to find the matetials that we like. Organza type.. Anyone going for such curtains? Where do you think I can made such curtains at a reasonable price?

Fanta,
I think we both have the same lawyer. I took up a loan from OCBC, you too right?

Anyway, I am not happy with the service provided by OCBC too, and I might take my loan to anor bank if the penalty involved is not too high. Going to check my loan agreement for the penalty clause.

As for the wet and dry vacuum cleaner, I tot I saw an advertisement couple of wks ago that one of such model is on offer. Think it's less than $250 ($199 if I'm not wrong) and the brand shld be Rowenta. But I can't be very sure. I might buy a Karcher vacuum cleaner cos I always have a gd impression of that brand...but of course, I'm going to do homework first bef buying since there's no hurry

Hi ah eng,

My lawyer also Colin Ng and partner. Only last week then we receive our letter stated 2(f) has completed so far. Next will be TOP. I have a strong feeling i will get my key much later then you all.

Carol,
Highly suspect we're using the same lawyer from OCBC. We aren't happy with OCBC too cos we were asked to pay penalty for late payment due to late form submission. We were also confused the fault actually lies with whom. In the end, they waived off the penalty after we made so much noise.

I saw the $250 one at Philips sale. Do you know the functions of the Karcher vacuum cleaner? Thought of getting the all-purpose type but found them too bulky.

Hey YYBB,
On ur curtains qtn, we got the organza backing at IKEA for abt $20 a pair. These goes behind the thicker sun-out layer...We got some ready made curtains from IKEA as well (suede material in cream and light grey)...these are regular sized ones for the rooms. Also got the tracks from IKEA, gona just hang them up ourselves or get the ID's workers to drill the holes for us...

Need to make-to-measure for the lounge cos its too large, was intending to just get them done at Spotlight, but our ID mentioned that the workmanship at Spotlight is not that great, uneven lengths and all...so not too sure at the moment.

ah eng,
Who is yr lawyer, or who is the person who alway call you? Mine also from ColinNg&Partners. Seems like the person calling me are always different. Now is a Malay girl name Yan.

Hi Carol & Fanta,
Am with OCBC as well, lawyer's Sim Wong Teck & Partners...they arent the most efficient - we always get the notice for progressive payments later than everyone else...Anyway, we are also thinking of refinancing with another bank v soon, hopefully get a rate that is fixed rather than floating, so there are less surprises there.
Keep me informed if you gals start shopping round for alternative home loans

Hi Chinnie,

Since your friend is in Nuovo. Just curious, how long was Nuovo launched before PG? I am just trying to make some date comparisons between Nuovo and PG.

Also, from the day Nuovo TOP and the day they actually moved into the apartment, how long is it? I passed by Nuovo a couple of times and saw that they were vacant for a very long time even when it was fully done.

Hi Ah Eng,

That's good news for you! At least the new owner is willing to compromise. For me, i think i'm prepared to have only my bed in place when my wedding comes along hahaha.

Hi YYBB,

I also have a couple of curtain contacts, but intending to look for them after i get the keys so that they can take site measurement. But then these are curtain makers, so price will be higher than those retail stores. But if you are still interested, let me know after we get our keys, ok?

Hi Samily,

hahan Nuovo will not be a good gauge at all. It was launched 3 years ago, in the same batch as the Dew, Eden and Bishan Loft, which have all TOP long ago No idea why they took so long, but their workmanship appears to be good according to CONQUAS score.. perhaps "man gong chu xi huo"?

Park Green was launched in the same batch as Esparis and Whitewater, so we are considered lucky to be able to "smell" our TOP now.

Btw, Nuovo has TOP not long ago (31/8), but their developer applied for TOP beginning of July, which is a really long time. Some owners have only just gotten their keys late last week, so I dun supposed anyone who have moved in already. So i think the gap between TOP and key collection is around 2 weeks and above. Hope this helps

p.s. my friend collecting her keys todays, so happy and excited for her!!!!!

Hi Limay,
We've got a different lawyer from yours. They are located at Robinson Rd, name got to share in private otherwise kena sued......hee Will check around for better bank rates next year. You know how much is the penalty charge?

Hi Chinnie,
Do you know why it took so long for Nuovo to obtain TOP? Worried that we might trap in a situation like this too.

Hi Fanta,

If I knew, I can also tell you when exactly Park Green will TOP hahaha. Seriously, I think no one will know unfortunately
Btw, NTUC has not applied for our TOP yet.. sigh

I have checked with the OCBC officer with regard to the loan. According to the terms & conditions of my loan agreement, I do not have to pay any penalty (except a service fee of $300-$500) if I re-finance my loan provided if it's after the 2yr period which ends in Dec 04. If we want to take our loan to anor bank, we have to give OCBC 3 mths notice before we can start a new loan with anor bank. However, there is this problem. 15% of the loan amt is locked in by the lawyer, which is only to be disbursed to the developer one yr after we TOP, so if we take our loan to anor bank, we will have to pay penalty for that 15%. According to my loan agreement, the penalty is 1% (of the 15%) or $1K, whichever is higher. In other words, if we want to change bank, we will have to pay a fee of $1K for that!! I'm not too sure if I understood his explanation completely, but pls do check with your respective OCBC officer-in-charge if you're seriously considering a switch. I'm approaching other banks for their quotes to see if the $1K is worth paying.

Headache ah....

What?!! NTUC has not applied for our TOP?!! I thought they have already applied but just that it has not been granted?

Let's pray that we obtain TOP by this mth...

Hi bigtoes,
Thanks for sharing...

Hi Chinnie,
You are quite resourceful and experience in all this !!! Really glad to know you... Keke :P

Fanta,
there will be no jams wif there is no accident. Tis am, for eg, it took me bout 30mins from semb to reach my boys cc. Be assured that all first hand news will be posted asap...kekeke

Missylan,
I saw Yan yday. She mentioned tat many Pgers been calling her bout TOP. And she is rushing many paperworks now. But she is definitely a very patient and friendly gal to talk to

Carol,
I just happened to read the Nuovo thread..sometimes it really doesnt pay to be kind hor

From what i knoe from a friend who deals with BCA, they need to check, counter check, triple check all areas to ensure liveability before they issue TOP. If not, any rectification work resulted in injury to the owner would render long complex legal issue, let alone the reputation of the developer.
It is good to be safe than sorry mah. I was looking at an unit in PG but was told only few units left. Have to look elsewhere now.
Anyone knows if I were to get a resale EC must I pay levy to HDB when I sell off my flat? Just wish to double check to see whether my agent is lying.