Park Green

Chinnie,
Are you staying with your parents or pils too? I did think of extending my wardrobe (she can find the same material as the wardrobe provided?), but worried that my bedroom will look crammed, so I thought maybe can dump those less worn clothes in the spare room's wardrobe. Saves money and trouble

I told Esther that I find her like a wonder woman. She's one-leg kicking and works till wee hours in the morning... and not sure if you know, she's our age!! Maybe that's why we both can click so well with her

OUCH! How do you know MY age?!?!? hahahaha

No.. i staying alone with my hubby.. Extended wardrobe becos i have a lot of clothes, my hubby also. Then i wan the wardrobe to include the dresser and TV too. Can you imagine, now i have one 3 door wardrobe and one 2 door wardrobe and its already bursting at the seams Tsk Tsk.. She will try to find same material, if not she can suggest some design for you to save the original wardrobe finishing and yet blend it. I was so impressed with her ideas, you discuss with her lah, let her amaze you, dun wan to spoil the surprise hahaha

She is so dedicated, she was hospitalised (for something minor lah) few days ago and she was still doing my frien's quotation in the nite.. Feel so touched and yet so paiseh.. sigh

I think it's for her inflammation of bones (shoulder plate and neck) which caused her to have fever. She went for chcek up this morning...

Sounds funny hor? Never met her can talk and know so much... maybe that's fate... I think we better stop discussing our personal stuff here... the neighbours will be bored to death... the progess of the house is more important here

Did you ask me to check any eletrical stuff for you?

Hi Chinnie,
Me alvin's wife
Think he shld received it before but not sure if it's still there. Will go back & chk.

Carol & yourself same age hah? No wonder can click so well.......

Hi Carol,

If you are going to Min Sheng tomorrow, can you check for me which brand for 34" TV (Normal flat screen type) is good? Think of getting a normal 34" TV instead of 32" LCD be'cos can save some money to do some other things. Thks in advance.

Hey Chinnie, didnt get ur quote, can u pls resend?

My basic ID work is just for lights wirings, paintwork, some wooden ledges by the window sill, dining & living wall features,& a mirror by the dining area. = $8-9k

Alvin,
Flat screen TV and LCD TV is almost poles apart, at least for its size!! Imagine having a sleek, slim panel...and then suddenly become a monster sitting in the living room!!

If you are looking for something like projection TV but slimmer, I can recommend you the LG one (dunno what it's called but you can find it at the LG showroom at Suntec). It's much slimmer in depth and looks bigger

Hi Carol,

Aiya, want to save money to reno more on my house lah : like feature wall & full size mirror for the master room. But thank for your advise. I will only buy a 20" LCD for the master room.

Hey Limay,
I think yours not that cheap leh... even the breakdown on the painting you mentioned the other time was higher than Esther's.

Looks like you are swayed...

Alvin,
Full length/size mirror in the bedroom is bad fengshui (if you believe in it)!! I have to agree that mirrors are (ridiculously) expensive!

I'm the other way round. I'm buying the LCD for my living room and keep my present 20" flat screen for my bedroom. Wait till got more money then buy the bedroom one... by then shld be cheaper liao

hey chinnie and all PG folks, false ceiling or not, i just hope they TOP soon so that my furniture will not be left in limbo when it's due for delivery.

anyhows, if we get false ceilings (i.e. not made of concrete) for your living and dining, that will be a bonus for us all.

Hi Chinnie,
We have kind of adjusted our expectation so that if our house is not ready in time, we are mentally prepared. I am considering as part of my contingency plan, to rent a room....
We are now attending to the wedding details... How about you?

Hi Carol & Alvin
I agree that mirror in the house is not recommended by geomancist. I personally heard of someone who has wall mirrors in her bedroom and she often fall ill. But of course, there is no scientific evidence to prove that these two subjects are co-related.

Hi there, its being sometime since i last posted. Finally managed to find some free time to check the internet. Being busy with work for the past few months. Seems like we have a lot of new neighbours in this thread.

I need some help regarding some electrical items. I was glancing thru the thread and some shop names are mentioned. I am interested in LCD/Plasma TV and Home Theatre system as well as others eg. fridge, washing machine etc. Can some kind soul point me to the recommended shops with addresses?

Thanks a billion!

Carol, you same age as me ah... then better dun tell anyone your age, will expose me too hahaha. Dun think will ask you to check prices yet becos not sure wat i wan, but keep the prices for me hor, will ask you when i take the house measurements hee

Ka Ro, yah, me now also focusing more on the wedding. I have a few alternatives lah, one is to stay seperately, but no place to an chuang, unless an chuang on a single bed haha. Another alternative is to move into my fil's apartment temporarily, its unoccupied but furnished liao, so maybe just send my new mattress there to an chuang and stay there first.. but of cos the negative pt is that have to move twice lor..sigh

Gals, i think i better stop sending out Esther's quotation becos its obsolete liao.. will announce when i get her new packages, which will be pretty soon

Hi Limay,

Let me try to guesstimate your quote.. kpo abit hee

Dunno how many lights you going to rewire, and what kind of feature wall you going to do. But let's say if your walls are nothing fancy and you have abt 15 lighting points (include installation), cost should be aroung 5 k thereabout? Definitely not 8 to 9 k lah.

Not sure if you all know, some id will not do jobs that have a profit of let's say less than 2k becos the sales, designer and company have to share the profits. So if your job is small, they will quote sky high so that they can get their profit or hope that you are scared off and will not get them. Although i'm already doing more carpentry work than usual, a lot of IDs dun wan to quote for me despite many reminders becos job is too small for them Well, to me, if they are not hungry for my business, then i also dun fancy them touching my house

Hey Chinnie & Carol -
met up with our ID yest, yah, the quote is still about $8.5k.
Actually, think we will stick to him, pretty comfortable with his work, and he is pretty meticulous. Asked for some discounts thou (which i think he will give in) - like the painting was quoted at $1500 (told him others were getting it at $1200), hubby thought that the wooden ledge to cover the raw wall by the window sill (@dining & one of the rooms) was too ex (he quoted $450 and $550), and we are definitely getting the full length mirror by the dining done outside ($2000 vs his quote of $2630).

Actually dont think we hv to rewire any lights since we are not installing false ceilings...so can save some $$ there. The other bits of the cost are for 2 wall features & some additional wooden paneling & shelves for the study room (think these also cost quite abit cos the movable shelves are made of some stainless steel material from Germany)

Am quite lazy to look around for more quotes, so will just see how much of a discount he can give us and stick with him

Ka Ro - hmmm..dont know abt the mirror = bad fung shui bit..
My apartment overseas has floor to ceiling wadrobe with mirrors in all the bedrooms leh...didnt fall sick more than usual (touch wood)

Big full length mirrors are nice and makes house looks spacious but I am lazy about the maintainence... Especially house with kids. You will find lots of finger prints, saliva and maybe food residue.
160085.gif

To me, lightings are the most important part to play. Secondly is the durability of furnitures. My house will have minimum home deco/accessories(collect dust).

Hi Limay,

I think what is most important is that you are happy with your ID and can click with him. No point agonizing over it and thinking of what if... Make a decision, stick with it and be happy!

Oh btw, be prepared that you may have to change the location of the lighting point in the dining room. Most of the time, it will not be right on top of your dining table, but of cos if you dun mind, then its no problem lah!

went to PG today and found out that part of the full length window in the MBR will be blocked by the super ugly grille of the plant ledge! arrggh!!!

Hi everyone (esp. Alvin) in this thread,

I merely wish to share some findings after I read about the breakdown (Total Amount: S$8578.00) of the items Alvin has posted earlier. Hopefully, at the same time some experts in this thread can enlighten me a little.

Today I went along with my best friend who is getting an ID for her condo. We met two diff designers and they both claimed that Alvin's quote is a bit on the high side. The lightings items are of market rate, or so they say; but the other items are overpriced. Sorry Alvin, you might want to re-negotiate with your ID friend.

One of them say the reasonable price should be at the high end of $7K, however, he refused to disclose the actual figure of each item to us - maybe because we are getting a quotation from him. The other one more open and even advise us to check for the length of all feature thingee by per foot run - still dunno what that means even though he explained patiently to me and my sotong friend. He also advise us that if we are to get package deal MUST ask for actual dimension & material for each item. Pricing for laminate itself, he says, can have price difference of 3X, is that true?

Anyway,we both feel more comfortable with the 2nd ID as he's not the pushy salesman kind.

Waiting for the both of them to get back to us. I must admit it is a very tiring experience.

Goodnight all.

Hi SH,

Per foot run simply means how much per foot. Lets say a 10ft wardrobe cost $3000, the per foot run will be $300, i.e. $300 for each foot of wardrobe.

Yah, take a look at the materials as well before you sign up. Ask the ID what materials can you use for the price...

There's a lot to learn, so might as well enjoy the process

Hi ALL Parkgreeners

I have got my ID's newest quote which is applicable to all Park Greeners ONLY.

For those who have yet to shortlist and confirm their IDs and are seriously interested in finding one, please let me know. For those who are looking for basic reno or no reno, there is also a package starting from $1688.

I will NOT mass mail this, so please indicate your interest.

P.S. For all non Park Greeners reading this thread, you can also PM me and I send you my personal quote from my ID. If you can get your neighbours from your development to sign up with her, you may be able to get a similar package too

Hee Chinnie,
Later pple swamp you for esther's quotes

Me still looking at the quotes... looks good

And to the rest of the neighbours, with regard to my trip to the electrical shop yesterday, I will consider it as fruitful.

I managed to get the boss to quote me the his best price for the following items:

LCD TVs
Toshiba 32" (32WL46) - $3700 (wif wall bracket)
Philips (9966) - $4100 (wif wall bracket)
Sharp 20" (20D4M) - $1,500 (wif wall bracket)

Washers
LG (WFT85B31P) - $600
Panasonic (NAF90GS-GY) - $525

Fridges
Toshiba (GR-H55ST) - $770
Mitsuibishi (MR-F62P(ST)) - $970
" (Baby Folio) - $1450
F&P (TX411) - $880

For those who are contemplating to buy now, my advice is to hold your horses. The boss told me that the prices given to me are the "market price" now, so if we are going to buy later, the prices might drop (and I also check with other shops, they said prices not likely to go up but might be the same or drop in most cases). So if our houses are not ready, there's really no need for us to fix any "best price" to the items we want to buy cos who knows 2 mths later, the prices wld have dropped further. By then, I think I will go source for another best price for all the items needed.

So take the above price that I have given you all as the gauge now.

One thing for sure, it is definitely more worthwhile to do bulk purchase. Most of the shops that I checked with, upon hearing that it's a bulk purchase, they are more willing to lower their prices further

I will check with you guys again after we have gotten our keys

Hi Carol,
Thanks for the quotation. May i know where you got the quotes from? Izit MinSheng of TPY or others?
I went to HN at Mellenia Walk yesterday for a look-see, very interested in the Sharp Aquos (LC-73G2M) and Toshiba Stasia 32Wl46 with the Toshiba being the brigher model.

Does anyone knows the date of TOP?

Hi Kenneth,

I went to Min Sheng yesterday. But I can tell you the prices will more or less be obsolete by the time we really committ on the items we want to buy.

We compared the diff betw Sharp Aquos and Stasia (on the same channel showing the same programme). Toshiba's colour seems more natural and soothing, esp when you compare the human facial features.

Hi ParkGreeners, just went to PG this morning. Saw some units with workers still doing some minor repair and some units door are being removed. Chances are TOP will not be so soon.

To Alvin, we went to the Philip warehouse sale and saw a 34" flat tv selling for $1599. This might interest u but today is the last day.

Hey Poox,
Not sure yet. Still got lots of time for me to finalise what I want. For fridge, I'm very tempted to buy Baby Folio but it's very ex. As for washer, I have more or less confirmed getting LG washer. Although I have gotten a LG 5.5kg front-loading washer, I might change to a 7kg cos the former is not big enough for me to wash my quilt or mattress protector

Hi Kenneth,

Have sent you the quote. Let me know if you received it

Carol, no worries, sending the quote is fast lah, i have a standard version hahaha.

Btw, for those who are interested, this quote will allow you to calculate your reno cost roughly, so you can approach my ID only if you are satisfied with the cost. it's not like other ID packages which you need to exchange one item with another and you would not know the top-up in price until further discussion, or in some cases, hard selling hahaha.

Hi Carol,

Thanx for the quotes..
Ok, will hang on until my place is ready then we all go buy together. Anyway i bought a vacuum cleaner and boiler from Philips carnival sales

Hi chinnie,
could you send me the quote too. Thanks. [email protected]

Hi Carol,
thanks for your electrical quotes. The F&P TX 411 is 880? Unbelievable...cos harvey norman selling 1.4K and most neightbourhood shop selling around 1.2..could be 2 possible reasons 1) quoted wrongly ..maybe price is T411..not the stainless steel one or 2) clearing old stock 411TX the easily stained kind of staineless stell..FYI the new TX series come with EZ clean kind of technology for stainless steel. Anyway thanks.But I agree the price might flucuate quite a bit

Hi Chinnie,

Can you send me yr quote. Thks in advance.

Hi Carol,

Thanks for giving us the quote for the LCD TV. I think I will buy a 32" LCD TV for my living room be'cos if I buy a 43" flat TV, it will take up quite a bit space. Thks.

Hey Chinnie,
Yah, we are pretty happy with Sam from Fusion Concept, just gona bargain for more discount now
Btw, out of curiousity, what is included in ur ID's $1688 package? painting + light installation + ?

Carol,
I am interested in the bulk purchase. But if u guys are willing to wait, can we wait till we get our keys...cos i want to ascertain the fridge can fit into kitchen

Rachel,
I was at the Philips sales too. I got a vacuum(the wet and dry one) and a DVD player for the bedroom and a dec-phone. Wanted to get the 18" LCD for was sold out even though i was there at 9.40am ....cos they only had 5 sets on sales

Hi Ah Eng,

I was also at the Philip sales on Sat. Went there around 9.15am & bought a rice cooker (S$65) & blender (S$70). Saw a 30" LCD TV selling at S$3099 (W/O bracket) but is a old model & also have to take it before Nov this year so never buy.

Btw, just want to show something with u. Both my parent wil not be staying with us in PG be'cos they found that PG is quite far from their "old friends" since all of them is staying in Jurong area. Finally me,Fanta & my baby girl can have our own sweet home.....HA!!!!!

Hi ah eng,

I was there aroung 12plus..I saw the wet and dry vacuum cleaner
I got the $250 instead. Forgot to take a look at DVD player :P
I am going to wait til we get our keys then decide on the fridge

Hey friends,
I didn't go to the Philips sale in the end though I was in the vinicity on Sat. Saw many pple carrying Philips prdts..

It's also gd that you guys didn't manage to buy any LCD there. I heard from the boss of the electrical shop on Sat that Philips sometimes buys back the old stock (even display sets) from them and sell them at the carnival sale... OMG!

As for bulk purchase, we will KIV until we get the keys, ok? I will "take orders" from you guys then.

Hey Alvin,
So envious of you... now you finally have your "san ren shi jie" (you+wife+kid)! I'm keeping my fingers crossed, hoping that my in-laws will also give up the idea of moving in with us by then... we can then pop champagne to celebrate our liberty and privacy!

Yes Carol,we're extremely elated & looking forward to our 'san ren shi jie' finally!! As the chinese saying goes '1 mountain cannot hide 2 tigeress' (me & MIL)....hee Thank God that it is a mutual decision. They even agreed to let us have most of the furniture and appliances even though they paid for most of the stuff. I hope your in-laws will give a 2nd thought to staying with you, if really need some advice, we are always available

Hi fanta,

A dryer is great especially if you don't have any domestic assistance.

Do you know if there is any place to put the dryer if you get one? 'cause it was the 1st thing I looked for and I found that there doesn't seem to have any/suitable place to put the dryer.

If you stack the dryer on top of the washer, I recalled that the dryer could be blocking the window (showroom's version of the laundry area)