Park Green

Hi Carol,

I'm optimistic becos things are not too hectic yet, can't promise i will remain so when the time comes nearer hee...

I'm betting on end Sept becos NTUC sent us letter to say that TOP will be 3rd Qtr wat, so unless something happen, think they will push for that to happen... As for key collection, i hope to get it within 2 weeks, depending on how fast you, NTUC, the lawyers and the bank act. Think there are many factors which affect the timing of key collection, so NTUC may or may not go by batches.

You spoke to Esther? My floor area is 126sqm, type B (3 bedroom). Actually saw her work in another forum and I fell in love with her design
Quite fated actually, becos i have already shortlisted the IDs i want to visit, and at the very last minute, saw her work and managed to convince my hubby to see just another one
Well, the rest of the story is history heee.

You want to compare quotations right? Esther's quote dun have breakdown, so i asked her for some cost breakdown of common items for comparison (carpentry stuff more difficult to compare becos of the many variations involved). The cost (estimation) will be:
False Ceiling - $1600
Painting - $1200
Additional light point - $28 each
Installation of light - $8 each

Let me know if anything unclear

You didn't? I think that was a couple of months back? They wrote that Park Green is expected to TOP in 3rd Qtr this year, that has been their consistent answer even when we called them up to enquire...

Anyone else received the letter?

Chinnie,
Thanks for the breakdown. She did give a general breakdown too, but still the sum will only be more certain after I can tel her what I need and dun. That's why I'm discussing with her further after I received materials from her. Will look at what she can offer, then we will work towards our budget. It's a pity I cannot see her work, otherwise I will be able to appreciate it better right now. Frankly speaking, I approached her becos of the quotation she gave you and the commendations you have for her work. I hope she's a good ID to work with. It's also gd to hear that she has initiative to check on the rectification works, which takes a heavy burden off us

And gd news for you Chinnie, she said if she can close more PG news, she wld be able to give us a better price since it's like bulk work and at the same place...Yipee!

Yes, I did receive that letter informing us about the 3rd Qtr TOP thingy too. Fanta, you didn't receive? Maybe you overlooked. I think the letter oso got mention something else but I cannot remember what, just remembered seeing the TOP paragraph.

Chinnie,

I will be as kan cheong as u. Cos my present flat will hv to be submitted by mid nov. Is trying to ask the buyer to gv us another mth. My ID oso told me that she estimated about 2 weeks job on our unit

Got hah? Really can't recall. Anyway, hope they keep to their promise. Otherwise, they'll be getting calls from all of us everyday bugging them. Even the BCA officer will not be spared

Fanta,
You won't want to try that BCA lady... she doesn't have much of a phone etiquette. Sounded rude I wld say. Maybe becos she has already received many calls and was pissed. Anyway, like I said earlier, she already told me straight on the phone that she cannot tell me anything...

Even if they don't deliver on time, they are still not legally and contractually liable since their official TOP projection is in 2005. They can say that they are rushing out the units for us on GOODWILL so we shldn't expect anything more from them. I will tell you the bad experiences I had with the marketing officer the next time when we have a gathering. Not convenient to comment here

wow, this thread is moving so fast!
guess everyone is getting more kan-cheong closer to the TOP!

Am meeting my ID tomolo to iron out the details..hopefully can negotiate for some discount since his quotes arent that cheap!

Carol - yah, think ID was kiasu when he told me 4-6 weeks, but given the v little work we need to get done, think he can complete it within a fortnight lah!

Have u guys starting shopping for lights yet? We got some chandeliers from Laura Ashley already, and alot of table/stand lamps from our travels, so not going for the standard zen small halogen lamp in false ceiling look...Didnt get the others yet...maybe we should soon! Skali some might not have stock, then delay somemore! hehe...kiasu!

Just kinda disappointed that the place might not be ready when our wedding rolls along - wanted to take some day pix at the new place, bedroom, by the pool etc...plus have a mini housewarming for friends flying in from overseas
sigh...

Carol, you must have kena a hard time while calling them. Let's be positive about the Sept TOP date....I read in Nuovo's thread that the day TOP was issued, there were still some rectification works going on

Hey Limay,
I think those IDs rather project a longer completion date then to let you go after them

It's kind of sian to think that you cannot carry out your homely plan on your actual wedding day. But never mind lah, if you cannot get things done by then, you can still take some pix in your wedding gown by the pool!

Sorry, I'm trying to be funny here

Aiyo Limay, you are a great spender. I dun think I got that much spare cash to slurge on a Laura Ashley chandelier. Can't even afford to buy a dress from Laura Ashley, let alone a chandelier!!

I think nowadays not many wld want to install halogen lamps cos they are not energy efficient, spoil easily, difficult to maintain and are hot. Imagine your whole living room and bedroom is lighted up by those halogen lamps... it wld be so hot! My friend who did that a couple of yrs ago regretted it!

Hey Fanta,
I almost cried out of frustration after I hung up the phone (after almost an hour's talk with that stupid asst. marketing manager)?! You know what? In our conversation, she said someting like "no one pointed a knife at you when you made the decision...blah blah" What kind of professionalism are we talking about here? I wonder how she got herself to that position?

Anyway, that's already history. It's such a nightmare and I'm glad it's over and hope I won't have to deal with a similiar situation again...

That BCA lady was rattling on and on...about it's not BCA's fault not to grant the TOP, but the developer must do this and that (to fulfils BCA's requirements) bef BCA issues the grant. And she goes on to say if the developer doesn't deliver on time, then we can sue them etc etc... since when did I say we want to sue them? We are not even at that stage yet... how to talk to this kind of person? So I cut her short and hung up the phone. Once is enough.

hi peeps, i know it sounds too good to be true that the whole unit comes with false ceiling. it's usually a given for the bathrroms, kitchen, etc to conceal the pipes, but really, this ID that we spoke to at Novena Square - apparently got quite a lot of PGers have gone to him cause he guessed that we were from PG too when i said EC - said he called Choice Homes and they told him false ceiling everywhere.

any volunteer want to call them and confirm?

Should I sign up an ID only after I receive keys to the house? I just think that I have to see if their ideas on paper are suitable 1st before I commit by signing them up.
Are quotations given by contractors accurate most of the time, even without looking at the interior of the house yet? Should we add/minus at least $2000 from their quotations?
Any comments?

Hi Ah Eng,
Seems like our ID took pity on us hahaha

Hi Carol,
Check your email, i have a "present" for you
Dun worry, she's very nice to work with, very proactive. I intro my buddy to her and she also managed to meet her budget... Got bulk discount ah.. I know what to do liao heee... Imagine she call up the main con and say how come these 10 units defects all not rectified?!?!?!? Muahahaha

Hi Kyosho,
If the ID you choose is going to check your defects for you and you are in a hurry, then it's best to engage one first. As for drawings, most ID will give you a layout plan before you sign up, some will even give you perspective drawings,like mine, i managed to see drawings for my shoe cabinet and bar counter before i signed up
Of cos you can't expect this from all ID lah, so dun demand everyone to give you perspective drawings. Remember to ask the ID to show you samples of material used too.
If you use the floor plan to let the IDs do quotation, the price should be quite accurate. Unless the dimensions differ by a lot, the price should not fluctuate up or down. But of cos if you are uncomfortable, sign up only after the ID do actual site measurement, but do shortlist one first

Hi chinnie,

I am keen to meet up with Esther too. Can i have her contact. My email add is [email protected]. Like what you say maybe i find her work is good and decide to get her, we all may benefit together

Hey Chinnie,

Thanks for the email. Can tell that she's gd in her work

Spoken to her again, she's modest and unassuming. I think she's a responsible ID, cos she oversees everything herself (one-leg kick).

So I'm glad to "announce" to you that she will be the first ID I will be discussing my reno with. If everything goes well (meaning quotation and design), then I'll seal the deal without further "window shopping". I'll be faxing her my layout plan and she will see what package she can offer...and now she's already thinking of a colour theme for me... so efficient

The best part of our conversation is... she will definitely give us a gd price (and even a better one) if more PG owners go to her...
so what are the rest waiting for??

Hey Rach,
After you get the contact from Chinnie, pls do contact her... you shld speak to her then you will know whether she's the one for you. I did just that and that's how I realised she's gd (even bef we met)

Aiyo Carol, her words pierced thru like arrows hor. Anyway, hope you have managed to settle the issue eventually. Dun think I wanna deal with BCA at all, waste time.

You going for the Philips sale tmrw?

Hey Fanta,
Maybe I will drop by, but not too sure what time.. Tomorrow's a busy day for me...got to run here and there

But I do hope to go there in the morning to avoid crowd... scully many enthusiatic buyers also rushed there the first thing in the morning. But I may not buy from there, but just to check out the price... I dun really dare to buy from their warehouse sale since I had bad experience before. Maybe I was unlucky to get 2 "going-to-spoil" items at the sale then

Carol/Fanta, what's the philips sale on? where is it..sorry must hv missed that part of the discussion...

hmm...mobe - are u sure we have false ceilings everywhere? cant be lah...esp since its stated only in specific areas in the brochure...

Carol - yah, will go take wedding pix at the poolside etc..but thought it wld be nice to get some of us in the new place, on the bed etc...
Yah, the chandeliers werent that cheap, but really liked it lah..and sometimes when u see stuff that u like, beh-tahan, have to get, else cant sleep at nite

Limay,
The sale is on this Sat & Sun at Philips Electronics Singapore, 620A Lorong 1 Toa Payoh from 9:30 am - 5:00 pm

I think if I overspent then I won't be able to sleep at night!!

hey Chinnie, thanks for the pix

but I forgot to mention one thing until i saw your photo...the ID said PG comes with false ceiling throughout EXCEPT for the bedrooms. now if only someone can get a picture of the living and dining areas. I'm not kidding, I really forgot the ID said the bedrooms only had no false ceiling.

Carol, gotten some feedback from frens on Philips sales prdts. Phones and fans are not that durable. Can share your bad experience too? I hope to be there early in the morning too....hee...kiasu mah

Hey Fanta,
I think it's really abt being "heng" or "suay". My Philips DECT phones is 5 yrs old now and still going strong...but the TV and VCR spoilt right after the 1st yr warranty period

Hi Rachel & YYBB,I have sent you my quote. Please check your email. Grin, I will need to get your emaill address, unless you dun wan the quote

Hi Carol, really glad that you like her, at least it shows that she has not casted a spell on me and I'm recommending teh wrong person hahaha. Think you will like her more when you meet her, she's "woman" enough to note all little details and yet "strong" enough not to be bullied by workers.. You will see what i mean

As for the others who have asked her for quotation, please be patient as she is working out few packages (for Park Greeners only). I heard that basic packages will cost less than 5k, so perhaps those who wan to do minimal things can consider.. But of cos got higher range with more carpentry lah, but i dunno the details yet... Seems like i have to ask her to do some adjustment to my quotes liao hahaha

Mobe,

I dun have the picture of the living/dining ceiling, but I have looked through the windows and seen it with my own eyes, it look the same as the bedroom.

With regards to this "technical" issue, i have consulted my ID and she says that all condos have so called "false ceiling", that is hidden wiring with lightholders (the wires dangling down there). So if you just want to put lights at the light holder, like chandeliers
, then no need to do false ceiling. If you wan to do many downlights, then you will need becos you have to run additional lighting points and you need an additional layer of false ceiling to hide the wires. So for condos, people will usually do a simple false ceiling to add more downlights, light box to hold downlights around the perimeter of teh room or designed false ceiling (which I'm doing) to add in more lighting points with some design (not cornices hor, dated liao). The false ceiling at the passage way and bathrooms are done since most people only need to install one or two downlights and it will be sufficient to illuminate the area.

I hope that I've been clear and I've not been mistaken, please dun bombard me if I'm wrong

Hey Chinnie,
Esther told me you called her this morning... so you were asking her about the false ceiling thing... I also did ask her about it

Anyway, I think she will be a fun person to work with, judging from the way she talks

She shld be working hard right now for the Park Greener to come out with packages specially for us. I told her that there might be more pple looking for her for quotations and she's delighted. She promised she will give us a gd price!

Hi Ka Ro,
Wow, you even more pathetic than me.... Got everything settled already? Do you have any contigency plan if our house is not ready in time?

Hi Carol,
I called her not just becos of the false ceiling lah, just that i intro my frien to her and i asking if she can give my frien a bit of discount becos she not entitled to Park Greener's discout mah hee. My frien in Nuovo btw, collecting keys liao, so exciting

She asked my opinion on what kind of packages would be attractive to home owners, i gave her some comments, think she will be able to come out with something good...

She very nice to talk to hor, but she can be pretty serious when she dunno you well yet. Can you imagine even my hubby like to call her up and disturb her? Sigh...

Hi Chinnie, can pass me the contact too..Xie xie!

hehe...if i can pay $5k for the simple ID work we need, would be great! My ID quote is now abt $9k, excluding false ceilings and any carpentry.

Hi Chinnie,
Your friend is in Nuovo? Actually I did play with the thought of promoting Esther on Nuovo's thread, but a bit abrupt and scare that "window shopping" pple will call to "ka jiao" her for quotations... But I think pple from other threads who happened to read ours wld know who Esther is, esp. after we talked so much abt her and her work. Think we shld start charging Esther for advertising fee

Hi Fanta,

Din know that you are Alvin's wife heee... I think i have already sent him my quote some time back, you all din receive it?

Hi Carol,

Yup, my frien is in Nuovo. Maybe I should state why I never advertise Esther here (as in publicise her company's name and contact). In a lot of cases, i see people being smeared and bombarded just becos they keep advertising for someone, and the people who complain may be competitors that are "out to kill", and people who advertise are seen as working in that company. It was with some thoughts before i intro Esther here, becos i think that she is a "gem" that should be shared here.

Esther does not have a large company with a lot of designers and sales people looking for jobs and to earn comission. I think she will be glad if she get a lower number of enquiries but all genuine, dun think she is trying to make a BIG name for herself but rather to deliver satisfactory work to her customers. She belongs to "craftsman type" rather than "businessman type", if you know what I mean. I admire these types of people, that's why even my bridalshop is a very small set-up

But coming back to the point, I am more than happy to provide her contacts, or even her quote and pics if there are real interested parties. Just let me know, i believe that I have responded to all

Hi Limay,

Have sent you my quote, but believe that it is going to be obsolete very very soon!

You are not doing false ceiling and carpentry? May I know what does your reno include? If its really very basic, maybe you can see the breakdown i posted some time back and add it up?

Seems like everyone's so prepared for the move to park green. I am waiting eagerly too... As I am staying in a renting place now. Can't wait to move in and save that bit of rental which doesn't come cheap.

Any update on your progress on purchasing electrical stuff and furniture?

I've bought my furniture from Expo furniture fair. How about you guys? All custom made from ID?

Chinnie,
Absolutely agree with you!

Me too, after talking to her, felt that she's more serious in delivering than anything else, that's why I am interested in engaging her even though I haven't even met her or seen more of her work.

Ya, maybe we shall keep her company's name confidential to protect her from her competitors' attacks

Hey YYBB,
Of course you can custom made your furniture... Esther makes them too (here we go again
) She's doing for Chinnie and maybe for myself too

As for electrical stuff, I will be checking out the prices this weekend and doing a bulk bargaining. If you are interested in participating, let me have the model nos. and the best price you managed to find right now (by tonight). I will see if I can get a better price for all of you

YYBB,
Think I mis-read your entry!

So you have bought you furnitures already? Are you withholding delivery? any additional charges?
I dare not buy big size items as I didn't have space to store them and dunno if they fit. Think will start shopping after I finalise my reno design...

YYBB, sent to both, tell me if you still dun receive it hor...

Haha, Carol, you hor.. Esther must be your new idol liao
Yah, she has her own carpentry factory, so she can custom make furniture. BUT, she will also tell you it will be cheaper if you get it off the shelf from outside. For example, i custom made my bed frame. She advise me to buy from outside, but i cldn't becos after extending my wardrobe, i have very limited walking space. So the moral of the story is, if you find something you like in the furniture shop, buy, and dun make hehehe

The ID company (ID LIVING & RENOVATION)that I recommded, did any one of you call be'cos Donald called up & say that a few PG owner are going to meet him tomorrow to discuss on the reno.