Park Green

I am not too worried about KPE even though I am facing the park cause Punggol now have the new SengKang East Road which is more convenient to reach the new KPE. While our road is big, there are many alternative and more convenient way of to reach KPE.

Keeping figures crossed and praying hard for a unit with less defects.

Yes, thanks for all the pictures too. I must say there are well taken

Wah !!!! Didn't know there is such a forum for Park Green !!

Frankly speaking, I don't know why there are so much fuss. I viewed the last 2 unsold units (block 6, I think) three months or so ago and the workmanship wasn't bad (better than alot of new condo & EC I've visited). I love the design & the huge space between the blocks, and the ponggol park view was breath taking ! I didn't qualified though (silly EC rules)

I do agree that a lot more of cleaning needed to be caried out before showing us the unsold units though. But then again, my contractor friend informed me that the materials chosen and workmanship are very good for an EC. Not sure ho many of you will agree.

Don't know about the contractor's staff but the marketing staff who showed me around were all very professional, may be not from NTUC ?

Still looking around for somewhere to live, anyone has any comments about or have visited any other condos ?? Can share share info ??

Actually my apt is also facing Punggol park and Buangkok Drive and will be affected by the KPE.. but nvm lah, will see how.. deal with it later...

Hi Farrel, if you dun mind staying in the west, I think Varsity Park is quite nice. I like their rooms and the balcony. Very big and spacious. Decently priced too. Too bad I have already bought PG, and dun really like the West. Otherwise, will seriously consider it. There's a con thou.. it's only 99 yrs...

Chinnie, Alvin & guys - we finally got our slot for the key collection!!

Next Wed! hehe..now pray for less defects!

Fanta - thanks! hehe....
Missylan, are u planning to shift after delivery in Jan? At least then u dont hv to fight with other people for the workers for rectification lah...

Now we wana see if we can rush & do up everything in time for wedding in Dec! Then can at least take pix inside rather than just by the pool or BBQ pit. hehe

Hi Limay,
You mean the keys collection have to be fix by ntuc? Can we choose our date for keys collection? Anyway i just came back from PG. Try to ask the guard to let me in and see but was rejected. Saw some owner inside their house checking defects i think
Also saw the workers cleaning the windows of Blk 8..

Fanta,
dun mention
We personally like Sam's service too. Tat why I post his contacts.

Missylan,
most 'old' pple will prefer not to shift house for preg woman. If u decide to shift, then mayb try minimum reno work. And as for flooring, new HDB flats oso dun allow hacking oredi.

Hey Rachel,
I called Jenny (she's v sweet) at NTUC once we found out that the lawyers have disbursed the 25% to NTUC.
Picked the 1st slot that was still available (next Wed)
Yah - the guards are pretty strict - we went last weekend to kpo, also didnt get in..arrange with existing owners if u want to go and see their units loh

Hi limay,
I wanted to join but i have errands to run
So far my lawyer haven't get back to me on the 25% payment to the ntuc. She only said is gonna take about 7 working days for UOB to approve

bigtoes/ah eng,

That is what worried me, dunno to shift or not to shift. My mum said that better do confinement elsewhere rather than new house. Cos confinement like "dirty" mah... Then dunno went everything can be ready etc... Me like struck in the middle...
After confinement, it will be end of Feb or early March liao... Wasting my management fee leh.

Missylan,
For me, I will listen to the elders. If not, if anything happens (touchwood), they will start blaming me for not listening to them in the first place....this is my own view lah.

Meanwhile, i think ur hubb can still see to the renovations and stuff.

Btw, are u engaging a confinement lady or ur mum/mil helping u? There are many other factors to take into consideration. Do take care

fanta (fanta) :

if someone can climb over the fence we must go get a good explanation from the security .. thats his job to keep ppl out.

coralla (corolla):

i think i should be most worried abt the plot of land.. as i am on a low floor.. and directly facing that plot of land.. frankly.. i dun wan to think soo much at the moment.. just enjoy will it last .. even my ID oso say view very beautiful as from my place u get pool view and empty land view :o)

good to see that the security is so on! we've tried over two weekends, the same lady refused to let us in but in a friendly way :P

ah eng,
Me will hire a confinement lady. This confinement lady helped my two aunties and the reviews are good. My maid and MIL will be with me too... Thank you for the advices. If there will be renovation, I will not be there to see to it. I shall ask my hubby to take care. I might be choosing the material etc.

Thank you...

Hey Nutty,
You are right, The Rivervale is an EC...I think it's not cheap too when it was launched back then. But I have to say that it's worth the monies spent. They have 2 tennis courts and a small basketball court... where to find a basketball court in ECs nowadays?? They even have a security guard guarding the side door facing the main road!

Nutty (kenneth) :

wow never knew that .. coz it looks soo much like Condo .. BTW if i not wrong Florida oso rite? but got a fren staying there complain like hell ...

Hi Rachel,

just dropped by to say hi, and that all the best for ur key collection and less defects....likely inevitable, but hope and pray hard hard for u that it would be minimal.....looking fwd to visit u in ur new house....long time nebber sit down and chat chat with u.....looks like u gonna be real bz, and all the best for promo.....let me noe if u need help to prepare the questions....hope my notes I gave u the last time was useful....vee

Hi widowwitch,
Thanx for the notes again
Anyway juat go and try my luck. Chances to get is very low, since i am the last min slot in. Talk about keys collection. My neck already grow until almost reaching the sky.

Hey guys - we finally got into the compound yest (thanks to Chinnie, & for letting us look at ur unit as well).

Overall, i think we are ok with everything - just need to look at the overall bigger picture rather than scrutinise every single scratch or pockmark on the wall then wont be so sad... :oP But some things can really be improved on! Like the silicone sealent in the toilets are horrible, gaps in btwn the kitchen cabinets, stains on the floor, paint stains on EVERY balcony - stuff that they could have easily rectified before handling over the keys & having everyone complain about the same things!
Ohh..and the steam room is miserable - plus the pool showers are beside the toilets without proper drainage, so all the water, soap & shampoo suds flow into the neighbouring toilet cubicles & the entire pool washroom floor is perpetually wet!
oh well, guess i better not complain so much & look at the glass as being 1/2 full rather than 1/2 empty!

Meanwhile, guys who got the Punggol Park facing view - u are so lucky! The view is fabulous!

I got my keys yesterday. There are quite a few defects (almost on all the flooring, doors, etc) but for those who have yet to get your keys, dun worry too much lah... most of them are superficial and can be rectified.. it's only a matter of how fast. Overall, both of us are quite pleased with the place..
just pray hard hard that they will work hard hard to rectify the faults.

Have been very excited these two days.. speed up on getting curtains etc... finally paid deposit and engaged curtain maker today liaoz

All:

its been like 1 week since i collected my keys.. soo far can tell that they actually came in and did some rectification works from the dust left behind ... but frankly i cannot tell wat they have Done LOL... soo guess i wait one more week to c how much they have done again ... think they gonna take quiet some timee..........zzzzzzzzzzzZZZZZZZzzzzzzz

Hmmm...quiet morning...
Hey EIG - can u share with me your curtain quote? We are getting ready made ones for the rooms, but wondering how much it would cost to do up the lounge... thanks in advance!

Hi PG neighbours,

As to what most neighbours has mentioned, the PG public area is indeed in bad shape. If we are responsible in getting the contractor to rectify our own unit, who will be the one responsible to get the contractor to rectify defects (tennis court, clubhouse toilets, and etc) in the public area in the PG compound?

Second thing is that, we would need to form up the PG MC asap else the developer will continue to charge 5% of GST for every month of maintenance fees we are going to pay. Which means 391 units are paying $4696 every month for GST. Once PG MC is up there is not required for us to pay GST according to BCA.

Hi Bigtoes,

The quote by curtain makers will depend on the type of fabrics you choose...

For us, we chose some silk-like, iridescent fabric imported from Belgium for all the full-ht windows (3 nos), and roman blinds for bay windows (3 nos), so the quote may seems quite high.. Total is around $1700. For each of the full ht window, it's around $250+ (we requested for the curtains to be at ceiling ht).. and for roman, it's $300+.. we think it's decent, we really like the fabric.

Cost include curved tracks, tie backs, installation, etc...we are not having day curtains.

However, from other threads, we see people who managed to get curtains for the whole house for less than $1000.. I think it all depends on the fabric you choose. We went to Jimmy Textiles, it was quite highly recommended by this thread:
http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/409/1853.html?1098592284

Hi Carol

Juz want to KPO. Did u check with Jean, why are u still not getting yr keys since HDB has oredi approved yr unit one mth ago?

Hi missylan,

MC is Management Corporation of the property formed by all subsidiary proprietors (owners are called subsidiary proprietors (SP) under the said Act) of the development and is formed to allow subsidiary proprietors to make decisions on and take charge of the affairs of the development with minimal interference from the authorities.

The duties of the MC are numerous and generally these are for the control, administration, maintenance and management of common property for the benefit of all subsidiary proprietors. The MC, for example, convene meetings to gather consensus on matters of concern, collect charges from subsidiary proprietors and operate the maintenance and sinking funds to ensure that the buildings and common property are always kept in a state of good and serviceable repair and in proper and clean condition. It also has to comply with the regulatory requirements of other public authorities.

A MC may, under a special resolution, make by-laws for regulating the control, management, administration, use and enjoyment of the building and the common property. Once by-laws are adopted and a copy of it is lodged with the Commissioner, it has binding effect on all the parties concerned. The MC or SP shall be entitled to apply to the court for an order to enforce the performance or the restrain the breach of any by-law.

The MC may also, by a resolution passed at a general meeting, appoint a managing agent (MA) and may, by instrument in writing, delegate its powers, duties and functions to him as provided in section 68 of the Land Titles (Strata) Act (Chapter 158), except for matters that may only be determined by the MC in general meetings. The MA shall then be liable for any contravention of the provisions of the Act in respect of the delegated duty.

More information on the duties of the MC can be found in the Land Titles (Strata) Act (Chapter 158), in particular section 48.

For more information on the importance of MC please read this link
http://www.bca.gov.sg/build_control/building_management/mcst/faq/mm_faq.html

Hi Betty,
Did not check with Jean cos no point talking to someone with lousy attitude...but according to some, it seems that the Notice is not served on first come first serve basis (after HDB clearance). But guess wat? I went to my block last week and the workers told me that 90% o the units have gotten their keys...and I'm one of the suay ones who haven't got my keys. How's that? One blow is greater than the other...

Hi Carol
Maybe we do not know how it really works. Probably there are many more processes which we are unaware. Juz tell ourselves to be patient. Yrs shd be coming soon. I actually had spoken to Jean last Thurs. Found her to be a very friendly and helpful girl but probably they are short handed and mult-task (loaded with too much work). She was on MC on Wed. Sometimes when we called, she happens to be too busy to entertain us. While, we do face such problems ourselves while at work. Juz have to wait patiently and pray hard tt ours will come soon.

Hi limay,

You are oso in Blk 6 rite?? Congrats dat u are getting ur keys this wed. U muz be really excited.
r u having the park view or pool view?? Is the park view really nice?? Which flr did u see it???

Carol,
In some way or anor, you're better off leh. By the time you pay them the maintenance fees, hopefully all the facilities are in good shape & can start using liao. For us now, we can't even play tennis or use the gym

Missylan,

If you are paying maintenance to the property/facility management of your shop which is operating as a business entity servicing customers like you, you will have to pay them GST.

In Park Green case, in the inital months before the owners take over MC role, NTUC will manage on behalf. Since NTUC is a business entity, we will need to pay GST for their services.

Once Park Green owners form their own MC, we can stop paying GST since the MC operated by the owners themselve are not a business entity.

On top of this, there will always be a conflict of interest in this. The defects found in the PG common property initially must be rectified the developer first. If NTUC is the MC who has collected maintenance fees from us, who is going to stop them or ensure that they don't use the maintenance money to rectify the defects in the common property.

Hi Fanta,
Thanks for your consolation... I also tell myself that at times... but with more units taking their keys and more delays in rectification works and delivery dates drawing near, I cannot help but feel stressed out. And I fear by the time my rectification works and reno are completed, it's already 2005! And imagine this. The workers will get more and more sian in rushing the (common) defects rectification work and those who got their keys later might end up getting more sloppier worksmanship.

Oh yes, I need to tell you guys one thing about the wobbly shower cubicles. For those who are concerned with the safety of the glass cubicles, I was told that we can actually write to the developer to ask them to install stabilizer for our shower screen. Let's not let them get away with this. No use filling up the feedback form (which most probably all the feedback will be used for their next development rather than improving PG).

Would their be pple who are interested in writing a petition letter to request for stabilizers? If so, we can fix a time and date where all can attend to discuss on the drafting of that letter.

EIG - thanks! Will possibly go check out the curtain shop..was just thinking of going to Spotlight since its less of a hassle, but didnt see any material we like. Also, not sure about their workmanship!

Hi Cher - are u in block 6 too? We are on the 8th floor, diagonally facing the pool...was in a unit on the 10th floor overlooking the park the other day! So peaceful...sigh...

When are u getting ur keys? From the listing in the lift - quite a few in block 6 have gotten theirs...we also bumped into Royce (KaRo) from the 4th floor over the weekend, he said he was getting his keys today

Limay,

yes we are in blk 6 too. we are on the 12 flr, facing the park. v excited to see the view, dunno how it wld lok. dat time when we went visit a fren whom has gotten their keys, the lift to blk 6 is still not working so nt able to go up to take a lok.
We would be collecting our keys next tuesday. v excited....had been waiting v long alrdy.
so can go lok for u at ur unit during wkends when ur are around rite??
hee..ee ur unit if i m nt wrong iszit 08?? hey u r getting married soon rite?? Congrats too.

Carol,
The maincon wun want to risk tarnishing their image by giving inferior service or poor workmanship to those units which got keys later lah. They wld have to be answerable to the developer leh. So dun worry too much.Good idea there on drafting the letter. Can we have someone to volunteer?

Fanta,
I dun think they can do much now if there are major defects like uneven tiles and ugly silicon sealant cos almost ALL units are like that, just that it's major flaws or minor flaws... Maybe for those minor ones, they can still do something, but I think they most is that they try to get rid of the stains before we collect the keys and nothing more than that.

As for the drafting of the letter, I think we shouldn't put the burden on just one volunteer to write on all our behalf, that's why I suggested a meeting up of all those interested residents who want to request for stabilizers to be installed. Moreover, "tuan jie jiu shi li liang", we must get as many signatures as possible to show the importance and our concern towards this issue.

wow...Cher, the view is fabulous
lucky u...when u get ur keys, have to invite us up to KPO also! Yah, u are welcome anytime to pop by when we are there...uh huh, wedding in Dec, but not trying to rush for it liao, dont want to stress out unnecessarily..

Carol,
NP, those who are interested can gather tog and draft the letter. Whichever way, I'll go with the majority.

To those who have collected your keys, may I know how is the finish for your laminate flooring like? As in, is it matte, or gloss finish? Those in my apt are matte (according to the officer who accompanied us in the home audit), but they feel so raw and unfinished... Very easy to leave marks on them.

Definitely would invite u over limay.
realli can't wait to see the unit. U muz b realli excited too rite? 1 more day to go to step into ur unit.

Not rushing would be good too so u wld have ample time to do ur reno and u won't b so stress out on both ur wed and reno. Can concentrate on ur wed at the moment then. Btw how old are u?? guess shld b 20+ rite??

EIG,
my curtain maker oso quotes the curtain based on silk material. By they are cheaper cos they distributes the silk material.
Btw, the bedrooms flooring still needs to be polish...its not finished yet (alvin/fanta..am i rite?)

I have collected my keys today. Overall, most defects wif floorings and doors. One bedroom glass window got scratch on the outside which i insist on changing a new window pc :p