Pan Pacific Singapore

pok,
ya lor, wedding all depends which one u comfortable with. my friend use imperium before not bad, except for the pillars. :D

do u know that the ocean ballroom promotion is no longer valid?

pok, the imperium u're talking about, is it at taka? if yes, i've attended a wedding there b4. food is good & venue is v spacious too. but somehow still reminds me of its disco days

Brambles, yes yes. I like the ambience so much but I scare choosing a restaurant (especially this a high end one) will result a loss. That is why we kind of like forcing ourselves to choose a hotel. However there is not one we really like.

Qing, place deposit by 14/5 then can enjoy $668nett if I am not wrong.

Hi Icy, thanks for the photos. Yup, i have arranged to go down to view the actual settings on 22th May...according to the coordinator, both ballrooms have wedding on that day...so i will be going down to see both BR

Brambles...is Imperium is running? I thought i went up there and it was closed already...or maybe i was mistaken.

june, it's closed? keke... not really sure cuz i attended the wedding there last yr. but i still c advertisements for imperium in bridal mags leh. unless i saw wrong?

pok, y dun u sit down n discuss wif ur FH? ur friends n relatives can oso determine whr u profit / loss frm wedding dinner. if ur friends n relatives r the v generous kind, u can in fact profit irregardless where u hold ur dinner. n vice versa. ermm... hope u get wat i'm trying to say

shld choose a place that both of u like. juz my kaypoh thots

Hi June,

my coord has changed portfolio liao. she was Juliana Tan. she was really very nice and accomodating. i settled all of my bargaining before she got posted out. so i'm very lucky. perhaps you try to book at least more than 35 tables lor, then got more bargaining power to book whole PB mah... but i do think that it would look very spacious and empty lor cos for me, i'm having 40 tables and already i think it'd be quite empty liao...

my AD's on a Saturday

brambles,

i fully agree with you. for wedding banquet, really must choose a venue that both of you are most confortable with and like.

for PP, it was love at first sight for me and my wife

qing,
I thought OB become $778nett instead now.

june and Brambles,
I heard too that imperium is moving out from taka.

pok,
quite true lah, cos some of my friends guest pay $40 for her wedding at imperium.. some even $20.. buay ta han.

ppgroom,
me also love at first sight for PP. :D

Hi PPgroom, thanks for the info. The coordinator, Johnny, contacted me. Will be arranging for a time to talk to him. I reckon i should reach 40 tables also...cos currently, my tentative guest list is already about 33 tables, excluding my FH's side...yeah, that's my concern too...worried that it will look too empty. I have yet to see the actual ballroom settings...visiting them on the 22nd May...

Icy...i think OB is still at $698nett for weekdays, $778 (8-course) or $808 (9-course) for weekends. Just received the packages from the PP coordinator today
Icy, you serious ur friend's guest only gave $20-$40 ang bao ar? this is bad leh

hi june,

u mean for OB promotion rate for next rate weekend have increase until $778 (izzit nett or +++) that expensive

lucky to those who get it fast

Hi qing, think the promotion for OB ends already. It's actually a promotion for Jul03-Dec04, but think if you booked it before some date, you are still entitled to the promo...not too sure about the date tho.

Yup, for weekends, OB price currently is $778nett. If you are interested in the OB/PB package, let me know. I can send it to you

hi morning everybody,

hi june, thank actually i already book with PP for OB packages

thank anyway =)

so what about u? have u book yet?

morning all

ppgroom *shake hand* hehe... juz thot shld pick a place that the couple like since, to the couple, those memories are for life! not for the guests tho

for my hubby n me, it was also love at first sight for PP. tho' strangely enuf, it was not in my list of shortlisted hotels rite from the v beginning. hehe

the $778nett for OB starts when?

Hi all and Icy, thanks for the info abt OB. I have decided to use Imperium afterall. I went to PP and Imperiumlast night just to make my final decision. Phew! One worry gone. Thanks.

Hi All!!

Qing, good to hear that you have already booked urs...nope...i haven booked mine yet...still waiting for the Tong Shu to be out...so just looking around, shortlisting and maybe negotiate with the hotels first...so when the tong shu is out...fast fast got book...else no more liao

PPgroom, yeah, my side include relatives of parents, their friends, my friends & colleagues. My parents have big families and my dad a lot of biz associates...but luckily my FH family is small with few relatives...only more friends and biz associates for my FH...that's why now i have to do my maths carefully, so as not to blow my budget...else have to stay back and wash dishes liao
I am actually hopping to reach min 40, so as not to have the ballroom too empty, if PP actually grant me to use the entire PB.

brambles...not too sure when the cut off date for the OB promo is, but when i recently requested from PP their packages, i already got the new packages without talking anything about the promo.

pok...Congrats! So Imperium is still around...it's still at the same location? 6th floor of taka? I think imperium has a very nice look...high ceiling.

June, yes Imp still around but what makes you say that its not around?

Same location 7th floor of Ngee Ann City. Yes high ceiling and big room. Where you go in, its ike all the people become so insignificant..ha ha just exggerating abit...

If you dont book soon, you will lose out. My suggestion is that book PP first since you like it. The dates can be change later on when Tong Shu is out.

hi june,

i think u better book fast coz i dont think they will keep the date for u

y dont u ask around those temple see whether they can check the date anot so that u dont have to wait so long

wow that scary $20 how are we gng to cover if everyone was like that person who give $20

not even good enough to cover for restaurant

Pok, good to hear that Imperium is still ard...maybe bcos we went there too early, there was once my boss wanted to bring our clients there for lunch, then i happen to go up there to see see look look...then when i exit from the lift, the doors are opened, nothing in there...so i thought they closed already. Sorry for the mistake

Yeah, guess i had better book with them first. I heard from others that they can actually sort of 'hang on' to that date for u and u need not put any deposit...unless someone else comes along and wanted that same date,then PP will call to ask if u wan it...not sure if it's true, but am going to talk to the coordinator soon.

Yah lor...the $20 ang bao is really scary leh...i don't think it's even enough to cover for a normal western set dinner
your friend really quite poor thing. but then again, what's most important is that the couple is happy.

just to share a trend of receiving ang pows... nowadays i noticed that when ppl give ang pows to groom or reception, he will pass it to his reception and also ask them to write the name of the person onto the ang pow... this is for later 'verification' hehe... very good trend to follow haha

Hi June, though we decided on Imperium, another problem coming, we cannot book the date we want! Why is life so difficult...

$20 is not enen enough to cover coffee shop za cha I think...

PPgroom yes I also ask my hubby to write down those guests who give ang pows without names to him directly...
this has to be the way...no choice though it refects not so good image infront of the guests...

haha ppgroom,

my mum teach me that matter too hahaha
i think we all should follow
then we will know what to do when their wedding come

hi redshear maybe u can ask june to email u the package coz she got the latest PP packages

i think should be the same except the prices is different

Hi redsher, if i am not wrong, packages are somewhat similar all thru hotels...if you are interested, let me know. i tried posting the packages here...but the file exceeds the max limit...hence not able to post it...

PPgroom, Qing...yup yup...most ppl will write names nowadyas...my FH lagi better...he joked , when his buddy told him that he reeived a $40 ang bao and the whole family of 5 attended his wedding, that maybe we should get the recep to peep the ang bao...if we don see any blue notes or a stack of red notes...ask them to proceed to the right...to collect their packet of rice! :D
is it really quite weird that some ppl really just came with a small angbao and the entire family attend...

Pok...yah man! u are absolutely right...not even enough to cover coffee shop those zi cha...think those kind will also need maybe $300+ per table liao hor...

Hi all, I was telling my hubby we should have a "open ang pow" session on the stage. And we will write this on the invitation card then ha ha believe nobody dare to give less $$$...

But scarly nobody turns up lagi worst...

Erm...should I be in the "Imperium" thread now or at PP thread...hee hee

Qing and June,
Thanks. Actually, I have already booked OB some time ago, but just curious to know if the menu is the same as before.

Pok, dun ever use that 'trick' or it'll back fire miserably...

i guess writing down the name is just for next time when their turn comes then we roughly know how much we shd return them... but the prob is ususally those who give less are already married!!! hahaha!!!

huh? dun think it's nice to open the ang pow in front of all your guests lor... sounds very tempting though but really not nice kekeke!!

hi hi...hahah...seems like this ang bao thingy has sparked a new topic here in this thread...really good to hear some good tricks!

BTW, PPgroom, u had ur wedding at PB on a sat...did u managed to break or lose? I am now trying to get my FH to roughly draft out his side guest list, so that i can estimate if i can break-even if i choose some other hotels...a lot of friends tell me the first thing is to deetermine ur guests...if more relatives and old folks...then quite diff to breakeven as they don know the market rate...but if more friends, etc...chances of break-even is higher ;) so till i get a more clear picture on the actual guest list...guess it's better to stick to some ballrooms that even if lose, won lose so much. :D

Pok, don worry so much...the most important thing is that you and your hubby is happy can liao

brambles...if you have less tables, you might just be able to fit a grand piano in there, but reckon it's going to be quite packed...why not have it at the recception area? or are u planning to do some performance during the dinner?

PP had only one projector last year.. According to Johnny, they had bought another one this year, so I will have FOC usage of the projector as well

btw, which theme do you all think is nice for OB?

Hi pok,
Don worry much, my fren had his wedding last yr at restaurant onli 25 tables. Although his wife's side major relatives give gifts instead of ang pow, he still manage to earn profit from his side relatives & frens. It's all depend on the guests u invite, normally have to bear some losses from relatives. My fren juz fortunate to earn instead lor.

hello just to inform all of you, OB package is only up til this month.

i hope i can get all the negotiation on the details done by then.

Hi Winnie, thanks for the info and congrats on having made the decision to opt for OB. How's the negotiation getting along? Are they flexible in terms of their package? How about corkage chargers? beer?

Hehhe...sorry...so many Qs

June and Garfield, thanks for helping me to convince myself...and my problem now is Imperium wont let me get a weekend date cos I have less tables. I am so worried, I use restaurant and it going to be Monday...will less guests attending?

Pok, sometimes i feel that having ur wedding on weekday might not mean less guest coming...being held on weedays mean that the guest won't need to speacially need to make themselves available. They could just hop over after work...which is not a bad idea. The date that I wanted actually happen to fall on a weekday too...think most important is that the date is a good date.

How many tables are u targeting? Have u prepared any other alternatives just in case Imperium is not willing to give way?

Hi pok,
Doesn't mean wedding fall on Monday, lesser guests to b attend. My coll oso going to have hers on Monday too ard Sept. Majority would feel blue on Monday, tends to leave office as soon as they can. So attending wedding dinner is a good excuse to for them leave office punctual. Somemore guests normally will arrive punctually, hope can end early too due to next day need to work. So wedding couples oso good mah, no need to waste so much time on waiting majority of the guests arrive like weekends.

Hi hi...me just went to visit the conrad ballrom over the weekends...very nice...so now i waiting to see the pan pac ballroom...anyone any comments about conrad? I know this is not the correct thread to be discussing about conrad, but so sad that i went to the conrad thread and got no reply
tot i might get some advice from this thread...heheh ;D

Hi Everyone..

Finally, submitted my thesis. So, I am free anytime. Any meet ups lately?

Wah, didn't know that OB has changed the package. I met up with Johnny last night to sign my ocntract but he didn't say anything. But I guess, if they increase to $768, the menu will definately be better.

Hi June,
You can see some of the photos posted by Icy. It will be better if you go down and see it. Try and arrange with the Sales personnel.

Icy
Saw the wedding flavours. Love their photo frames. Hey, did they take out the Bears in the box already? Didn't talk to Johnny for long cos he was very busy yesterday.