Pan Pacific Singapore

Hi Lynn,

Just check with my colleague. They had the whole function room opened for 32 tables. She told me its quite cramp.

Maybe its too cramp for her but not for us? Just put this infor in this thread so that it might be useful to the others.

Anyway, to play safe, do not go beyond 35 tables.

My Coor is Sarah...
, not Juliana. Just that she spoke to me at that time when Sarah is not around. Think she is more experienced than Sarah.

Hey, Lynn..by the way when is your wedding?

Hi Ying

I think yr frend did not put enough table tat wise they did not open up all the ocean 1 to 5. Cos they told me whole 1 to 5 can put the ost up to 38 tables

I was told it can go up to 39 tables. But ideally 38 tables is just nice. I'd have 38 tables. Crampy? ey.. nvm loh, can create the atmosphere. Moreover OB's ceiling is not high, so wont have echo.

Ya, thanks..feroy..

Had a bad experience for my solemnisation day. Mine was at lunch time and my godparents did not turn up saying that they have a National Day Parade Rehersal even though my ROM was in June. Hurts me so much! Sign....

Ya, true Miata. If cramp a little, got atmosphere. Then can see nearer "Swee Charbor or Yantao Kias"...heheheee...No need to wear specs.

Hi Baobao, not my friend but my colleague's friend.

But my this colleague went to a lot of wedding functions so this might be an useful infor. Maybe, it will be a little cramp when all guests start to arrive?

Well, I dun know. But if coor say its alright..then it should be fine.

ying,
actually maybe bcos OB low ceiling, so ur fren found it cramped since it does not have the illusion of height...

ya, true also..But I like Ocean Ballroom when I check it out last week. Think the ceiling doesn't not matter to me.

Hey, can I just check, how do you all post comments in different threads and stilll be able to keep track? Sorry, quite new here!

For me, I think I can only concentrate on one thread. haha...

Hi ying,
I went to see a real setup last saturday, I think they have about 35 tables, looks quite fine to me, they even have some space behind the ballroom. But anyway that is without anyone seated.

I heard that Zen 3 is coming out soon.. so if you are having next year date, u will have more choices.

Phew, the chef from Hai Tian Lo. Now I am more assured abt the food.

How did u confirm the tables?? Juliana told me I have to confirm using 32 tables for Pacific 2 & 3. Now I am wondering what does confirm means on the contract, does it includes reserve tables and what if not all the tables are opened. I dun want to take pacific 1 & 2 becos my current count is 33 tables, but people cant RSVP to me now.. so I am quite worried abt confirm 32 tables.

ying,
actually me can't keep up too... i'm just following a couple of threads.. wat i do is add the thread to my favourite (list of websites).. them i just log in to the thread direct... instead of having to go to the SB homepage, then click here click there b4 arriving at this thread...

Hi ying,
I only at 2 threads now.. so quite simple hahaha

You can join a few of us at the wedding preparation 2005 thread too.. we are quite active there.

ying,
me can't catch up with the many other threads too... so only go thru them in a blue moon... wat i do is if there's any thread where i'm interested in followin up, i add them to my list of fav webby... so in future when i need to go into that thread again, i just click on 'favourites' and it's there... dun need to go thru the SB homepage, etc... like now, the PP thread is in my list of favourites...

hehe... tot the earlier post din go thru cos the webpage just disappeared... double (although slightly diff) posting...

Dear Icy,

Yar, okie, will take your idea..of just keeping to 2 threads. But, if i need to ask some questions on Bridal Salons, must go to that heading, right? Then, I have got some questions of duties of Ah Yees, must go to a different thread. Ha, so many threads....

As for confirming the tables, its simply means your min guaranteed number.

Let say if you guaranteed at 25 tables min, you will have to pay for 25 tables even if your actually attendance on that day turns out to be 23 tables.

If you do a count of 33tables, it is best that you guaranteed at 28 tables. Try to push for the lowest number if possible. Altenatively, you may like to invite more guests.

Hotel will be happy if you increase the number of tables but not when you decrease your guaranteed min tables. I think some might have a penalty.

Hi ying,
u can try asking the general thread, sometimes they have the answer, or discussion for you. :D

Does min table = guaranteed number of tables?

Especially the one on the contract.. It seemed werid to me that under the planner page, u will only get back to the hotel on the guaranteed number of tables 1 month before the wedding. (or I see wrongly)

Hi Icy,

All along I thought that min table=guaranteed number of tables.

Another explanation is that it could be guaranteed number of tables implies your actual turnout on that day? So, they will ask your guaranteed turnout few weeks in advance to increase your min guaranteed number which you have given them a year ago. Reason being, your wedding coord will source for more staff in case you increase from 25 tables to 35 tables?

Hope my explanation is correct.

Hi ying,
I think I just have to wait for my contract to come.. quite worried.. *sigh* i am not here nor there.

hi winnie,
I heard that have to wait after July.. if u are looking at early to mid 2005 dates, better see a geomancer.

But when i sign agreement that time ask for 30 tables. Is it confirm i must have 30 tables. Can i reduce my tables when near to my AD... Cos now i oso don't know how many ppl comin cos my AD is Dec

Hi icy, Bao bao,
My contract stated min table is 25+1, actually my current count is 35 tables. My co-ordinator told me to let him noe 3 months b4 AD the guaranteed attendance. It is better to count the min no. of tables coz we do not noe on actual day the no. of tables will decrease or not. If ur guaranteed attedance is lesser than actual attendance, then u have to pay for the guaranteed ateedance (which is higher than actual attendance). Hope tis will help.

If let say my agreement is 30+1. Than before 3 mths i found out that i oni nid 26 tables. so how they charge us. 30 or 26????

Hi Bao Bao,
what is OB and PB??
btw, u got check what the contract state? I know some contract state that u can still changed the no. of confirmed tables as long as it's a month or so before your AD.

Hi Icy, but does a gemancer able to help us to choose a date without the 2005 tong shu? is birth date good enough? sorry i very blur on this.

Hi Baobao,

That is a good question. May answer some of the doubts here. They will charge you for 30 tables as stated in the contract. Sometimes, if your coord is flexible, they might do you a favor of not charging you for 30 tables but may ask you to top up some $ per table, like chaging to better dishes or etc.

My understanding is that you have to push for the lowest min number of tables when you sign the contract with the hotel one year ago. Only few weeks before your AD, you then confirm the actual day attendance with the hotel. So if you tell them the min tables one year ago is 30 tables, then on actual day you will 35 tables, good for you! But if on actual day, your actual attendance drop to only 26 tables, they might charge a penalty for decreasing the tables.

Hope this helps to clarify your doubts.

Hi Baobao,

OB stands for Ocean Ballroom. PB stands for Pacific Ballroom. Pacific Ballroom is more grand with a higher ceiling but more expensive.

Hi Blueblue,
I do not know if there are different chefs or not. But do not worry, the chef for the sampling day will be the same chef on your actual day.

For those that would like to check on the lunar calendar as the tongshu is not out yet, you may like to go to this link which I happened to see it in another thread. Its in Chinese words though. I use that for my wedding date. Like a proverb says, "No fish, prawn also good." Haha..

http://verywed.com/lunar/

Hi ying11,
think u referring to be not Bao Bao rite? coz I'm the one asking what is PB & OB. so OB is not high ceiling? then what is the min table if I want to use PB??

Oh yea...mixed up already..see I so blur...

For PB, i think min is 35 tables. But you can bargain to 32 tables perhaps?

Yes, OB is lower ceiling.

Hi ying11

U clear my doubts. At least the chef for the sampling day will be the same chef on my actual day. So there should be a few chiefs. The poor chief can't be workin 7 days from morn to nite rite? And i tink it is not possible to handle a few banquets on the same day.

Hi Bao Bao,

When is your wedding? Dun worry, worse come to worse, bargain real hard with your coord.

But, its a good deal that you can get PB for 30 tables. The norm is at least 35 tables.

Hi garfield,
Thanks for the information. heehee

Hi HP (stubbilla)and bao bao,
I signing the contract soon, my coordinator told me that:

For Pacific Ballroom, there is 1, 2 and 3 ballroom. over all min is 30 tables.

If u have more than 40 tables, they will open up the whole ballroom. If U only have 30 tables, they will open up 1 & 2 ballroom. For 1 & 2, min table is 30 and max is 31.

If you have 32 tables then u can use ballroom 2-3, which is bigger, min table - 32 and max table 40.

I am not sure if the number include reserve tables, that is what I am trying to ask my coordinator.. cos I have abt 31 tables, this is like i am nor here nor there.

Hi winnie,
Some geomancers like mine, already have the tongshu for 2005... he shown us that.. perhaps he buy from hongkong or what.. cos he told us, the book is based on HK.

Birthdate for bride and groom, and both parents.

Hi Bao Bao,
Are you refering to 2005 dates?

I attached the quotes here.

<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msword.gif
Ocean Ballroom
OCEAN Promotion 2005.doc (27.6 k)</td></tr></table></center>

<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msword.gif
Pacific Ballroom
Pacific Package 2004-2005.doc (40.4 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Although, they state min 45 tables for Pacific Ballroom, u can still use part of the room, if u have min 30 tables.

Wah, Icy so good for you! have the tongshu.

For me, I just get any date I like as both sides of my parents are very modern. They even ask me to do away with the customary but I insist on having it as it's really once in a lifetime.

So, I must see to everything myself as my husband simply leave it all to me.

Hi ying,

That is good for you, i a bit regret seeing the geomancer cos i can get a weekend date for the 3 mths that I like.. so quite fedup and settle for friday instead.

If your parent dun mind, everything would be so easy.

Hi bao bao,
But I think for Pacific Ballroom, at least u need a guarantee amount of 30 tables.. so if ur table turn out lesser, perhaps u also need to pay 30.

Okie what, Friday is good too. I will choose Friday if I do not have my religion ceremony which will have to take place on a sat.

I can't go for PB as it is not within my budget.

Both side of my parents are very easy. They leave it all up to me. I am really grateful for it.

By the way, have you all sign the contract?

Hi Icy,

Have posted something under Advance 2005 Preparation but can't seems to find it anymore.

Think will have to stick to the Pan Pac thread as it is the easiest to find.

Ya Bao Bao...

That is very true. If there are sharing of Ballroom, guests might go to the wrong ballroom if suay suay got 2 wedding couples on the same floor.

That's what happened to one of my friend. She blur blur went to the wrong ballroom.

Ying 11

Yup that wat im afraid. And that is why my coordinator ask me take OB. Think stick to it lah... Anything PB prices at to steep. And worie might make a lost... As banquet pay by my hubby and me...

Hi ying,
saw ur post, perhaps ur bookmark is wrong.

under A Meeting Place For All Brides>(2005) Wedding prep for 2005?

Try this http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/36737/32397.html?

Hi ying and bao bao,
I have considered that, but I think very little chances there will be another wedding, since the other rooms is less than 10 tables or so.. perhaps company dinner or company seminars.

Anyway, cant help it.. like the balloom too much

i just confirmed my banquet with PanPac yesterday. OB as well. November 2005.

Hi bao bao,

did Johnny tell you that you must always go for the min table becos you can increase but not decrease the no of tables?