Pan Pacific Singapore

breakfast, lunch, dinner even supper is fine with me

Btw, i'm going for my photoshoot this coming Monday...kinda excited.
I'm going to get accessories for my gowns later...any recommendations?

Lis,

i work around Shenton Way!! my BS is Irene's Creation!!

i also looking for accessories leh,,, dont yr BS provide?? where u gog to get it??

Cutiebear,

I used to work in shenton way too....missed the area. lots' of shopping and gd food. now, i'm in AMK. Hey, i considered irene's creation before...must be ex right? how much did you pay, can reveal here?

my BS do provide but i dont really like those...mostly made of crystals but not the swaroski kind....thought of getting my own. I did look around last few weeks...noticed the shop "B dazzle" got lots of nice and classic ones...but quite ex. seen some at isetan scotts 1st level also.....nice too.

Lis,

i stay in AMK!!!

those i found at Isetan very "chunky" leh,,, maybe not my type lah!!! ha ha ha

Devotion Beauty?? never heard of,, what is that?

Hi Lis,

I oso work around Shenton Way. Ya, u r rite, my BS is GHA.

Y dun u try DIY? I think cheaper and u can do wat u like.

Wow, ur PS so soon, mine is next mth.

PPgroom,

if that's your budget, i've one recommendation... my videographer is providing me with 2 days videography plus AD photography for around $900plus... so you can take a package from them... bcos of this, i've 2 AD photographers for my AD... cos when we negotiated, i've already signed with the other photographer (whom i really like his works)... furthermore, it's only a deduction of $150 if i were to take out the AD photography from the package... me and hubby greedy for more, so say why not lor...?
his photography consists of unlimited digital shots, with 300 prints... you can request for journalistic style, but of cos dun expect those albert chua standard lor...

i dun have his actual rates.. i managed to get this deal bcos of something (but that's another story altogether)... if you want, when i next meet up with him (in mid apr) i can check for you... he's not in town rite now...

Hello Gals...

I m veri keen on Pan Pac's Ocean package...in fact, going to meet up with Juliana this afternoon..

Can anyone advise me on the extra perks that i can neg with her?

Hi Sweet
I've also signed for the Ocean package.
My coordinator let me have one full day use of Deluxe room for wedding coordinators instead of just from 3-8pm.
Food tasting for 10 instead of 6 persons.

Sweet,

negotiate for corkage waiver off your wine also (around 36 bottles?) and for projector (if u need)... also like what junni mentioned, the one night stay and food tasting...

wedding cards and car park passes is unlimited... dun really have to negotiate also can get already...

Thanks ladies!! appreciate the help.

actually all i need now to to get a AD photographer. Budget is ard $500-$600, best is can be either 10 rolls of film or if digital cam, then 300 shots lor... (am I asking for too much? kekeke!!!)

brambles,

you're a part time photographer??? hee hee...

feroy,

appriciate if you could check out for me the rates etc... any of his portfolio to share?

I am 99% confirmed on using Pacific Ballroom at PP, i went to see the setup just now..but just dun like the lightings at Ocean Ballroom.

I saw the settings at Pacific ballroom, got the romantic feel.. and prefer the stage setup.

heehee but I will also be prepared to share the foyer. :D

anyone used PB and have to share foyer?

Anyway, I am curious abt the wines.. the coordinator told me that they are selling at about $50. I am super shock! Any ideas roughly how much wine we will need for 30 tables?

Thanks junni & feroy for replying!

For the coordinator's room, she onli extend till 11pm for me...did she let u have the room earlier than 3pm?

Hmm...she onli give me 10% more for carpark passes & 20% more for wedding cards...i will try to neg for unlimited then!

Hi icy,

DUN buy the wine from the hotels. they always charge very ex one... try to get corkage waiver instead. try to get waiver for 1 bottle per table lor... so in your case, try to get waiver for 30 bottles lor... go and buy the red wine from outside MUCH MUCH cheaper.

Hi Icy,
A bottle of wine serve 4 glasses, depend on ur guests' consumpion level. Since we have free flow of beer & definitely will serve hard liquor, 1 bottle for each table should b enuf. Try to get 36 bottles corkage wavier coz if exceed we may need to pay $20+++ for per bottle. Get the wine from outside, u may get the wine at less than $20.

Hi Feroy,

Can share your contact for your videographer and photographer? actually me only need it for actual day.. so will it be chaper than $900?

Hi sweet,
My coordinators' room is a full day use but I didn't get unlimited or extra for the carpark passes & wedding cards.

Hi Feroy,

2 days AD photography Plus Videography only $900, wow price so good ah? I found videography & photography $1400. I have met up with 2 AD photographers separately, both of them charging about $800 - $850 for AD photography. Videographer price range from $800 - $2000++++.

Pls let us know the quote from your photographer & videographer. Thanks.

Getting married is extremely expensive. They all out to kill....Ha Ha

Good morning all PP brides and grooms!

PPgroom & gigi...
i'll check for you guys and let u know soonest... know that he's overseas now and shld be back only mid Apr... in case i forget (cos i blur blur one) remind me k??

PPgroom,
think i'll get the rates, if it's ok with you guys, then you can meet up separately with him to view his portfolio... i've seen his videos but not his pix so can't comment... heehee... me signed up w/o even viewing his pix... cos i already have 1 photographer liao so not that bothered abt his photography works.. to me, the xtra photgrapher's more like a 'since it's in the package, why not' kindof thing..

gigi,
not too sure if it's less than $900 cos mine's for AD only too, except that my dinner's on another day... i'll check for u and let u know ya? for video u jus need the basics, ie. 1 wedding MTV of the entire wedding or would u need things like xpress highlights to be screened during the dinner?

hi christine,
din see ur msg earlier, okie, will let u know too... hehe... i'll post here then everyone will know liao...

ya, agree with u, they're all out to kill one... wat to do?? they know we've to spend mah... esp for flowers, if possible, dun reveal that you need it for a wedding... the price will go north sooner than you can blink!! that's what happened to me for my ROM... chose my bouquet, settled on a price already, then when the florist found out i need it so early for my ROM, straight away tell me orh, ROM different charges, cos we'll do this and that, easier for you to hold, blah blah...

PPgroom,
bu ke qi...

Sweet,
you shld be able to get the room for the entire night... negotiate with your coordinator... think of it as a 'reward' for your helpers or jie mei...

Hi ppgroom and garfield,

Thanks for the advise, initally they only willing to give me free 12 bottles cockage free. Now I see I can fight for more... heehee

I intend to take up the Ocean package with Pan Pacific too and sign the contract with them on this Thursday. Most of the dates on Sat are all taken up. All the way till Dec 2005, wah! Mine will be in May 05 then..initially looking at June 05.

I went to see the Ocean room yesterday. Its very nice. Also, thanks for sharing your ideas. At least, I know what to ask for.

For my actual day photographer, my BS charge me $30 per roll of film. No service charge. So, guess will most likely take this with them because of budget constraints.

Hi ying11,

I am also going to sign contract with them soon. :D when is ur AD?

Hi fellow PP?
Do u know what to look out for in the contract?

Hi icy,

i guess it's the standard lor... wine corkage waiver, more invitation cards, ask for the projector, ask for a night's stay for your helpers, get 10 pax food tasting (instead of 6). think that's all...

Hi Icy,

Actually, what does AD stands for? If you are talking about my customary, I plan to have it on 7 May 05 as that is the only date that is not taken up. How about you?

Anyone experience a bad turnout one day before Mother Day? I am so afraid that I will have bad attendance on that day.

Also, heard that the food is not from Hai Tien Lou but its from their own cathering kitchen. Hope that the food is good.

Lastly, can anyone tell me what theme is nice for photography?

Hi ying11

You hv voiced out my thoughts abt the cathering kitchen. Tis is because i used to work in a hotel too. They hv their own catering kitchen and part time cooks. The cooks & assistant cooks are paid at an hourly rate. But of coz there is a full time banquet chief.

Hi Blueblue,

I hope the chefs are good on that day...initially I thought its from Hai Tien Lou (yummy) but guess should be alright as the price is really very good for the Ocean Room.

Hey, what does AD stands for?

Hi ying,
I thought the food is prepared by the hai tian lo. opps!! AD means actual day customary.. heheee

Mine date is on 3rd June 2005. Friday.. dated pick by geomnacer or not much to choose from.

The theme, i saw on sat is candles plus garden, I quite like it.

Hi ppgroom,
any small prints to look out for as well?

Hi Feroy,

Thanks!!! ya will definitely remind u... ;p

actually all i need is a photographer on AD and a videographer to record the whole day event for memorable sake... no need to express the highlights... and if possible a montage??

pom,
no prob. will inform you when we decided to meet.

orosalind, cutiebear,
when will be a good day to meet?

gigi,
okie, got it...

sweet,
you shldn't have much prob wif Juliana.. she's my coordinator too... very nice and flexible too...
but poor gal, seems like she's overworked now...

Hi icy,

small prints ah? shd be the standard small print lor... meaning if you cancel within how days gotta pay penalty etc...

pardon me, but i tot the chef for the wedding banquet is from Hai Tien Lo? That's wat my coord told me leh...

Hi PPgroom,

I also blur already abt the chef cos I saw ying post. *blur* Since ur coordinator told you that the chef from Hai Tian Lo, then should be quite safe. Phew!

Hi feroy,
Ya, my coordinator also Juliana, very hard to contact her nowadays.. but I understand that she very busy.. i am still trying to contact her abt the contract.

I'll go and check it out once again. That's what Sarah from Pan Pac told me that that for actual day dinner, they have their own cathering kitchen. But for sampling of food, guess will be at Hai Tien Lou. I'll check with her on that again as she is out for lunch now.

Will let you know soon.

Hey, spoken to Juliana. She's very nice and helpful. Icy, you will have a great wedding.

Latest lunch news that I heard from my colleague who attended the wedding recently were:

1. Ocean room is too cramp for 32 tables. Comfortable size would be 25 tables.

2. Waitress talks to the guests..like why sharksfins is sooo expensive, etc. Talks too much, I suppose. Haha...

3. Lastly, the waiters/waitresses serve every guests. What I mean is they will put the dish on the table, and them scoop and serve individual portion. At such, service is quite slow.

4. Waiters/Waitresses kept on changing glasses. This irritates my colleague the most.

Hope this helps and that you may like to alert your coor on actual day.

Ha, spoken to Sarah just now..She transferred me to Johnny as I think she wasn't quite sure on the cathering part.

Johnny told me that the chef for both food tasting and actual day is from Hai Tien Lou BUT they prepare the food at their Banquet Kitchen. Thats the difference.

So sorry for the confusion. In short, the best part is Chef is from Hai Tien Lou. Yea...

Hope this helps. Also, Johny told me that for Ocean Room, they have 2 themes namely Zen 1 & Zen 2.

If you like, can go and check out this sat as they are having Zen 2 theme.

Yar, that's what my colleague told me. She went for the dinner and they had 32 tables and its quite cramp. I did not see it but its her feedback.

But do not worry so much...sometimes the more cramp it is, it will create better atmosphere.

But, do not go beyond 35 tables. It will be definately too cramp. Check with Johnny, he is the expert.

ok, good to confirm that the chef is from Hai Tien Lo. That's wat matters most hehehe...

I tot keep changing glasses when they're empty means good service??

ying,
okie, will prob go and take a look at the ballroom again...

think maybe ur colleague happened to run into a talkative waitress... hehe..

ppgroom,
me have the same sentiments... good to know that they still have a ratio of 1 waiter/ess to each table even for OB...

Hahhaha..PPgroom

That's what I thought so...but she finds them irritating. Normally, just top up drinks will be enough. But they practically went to the extent of changing the whole glass. Hahaha...

Also, yar..They have 1 waiter for 1 table which I am most happy about.

So guys, me going to sign with them this Thurs. Is it okay if my AD is just one day before Mother's day? If you were one of the guest, would you come?

Also, I am so blur..What are the preparation thus far for all?

ying
Is the whole function room open, i.e. Ocean 1-5. My understanding is if Ocean 1-5 are opened, it's just right for 35 tables, 38 tables would be too cramped.

my coordinator is Juliana too, changed from Tan to Tay.
ya, tt's wat I told her when she called me.

ying,
i'd go for the dinner, esp if you're a close fren... cos i celebrate mother's day on the actual day... maybe wat u can do is to inform your guests a bit earlier, at least 1 month ahead (actually this is the norm for sending out wedding cards already) very few ppl will make their mother's day plans a month ahead, so it shld be fine...