Pan Pacific Singapore

On my contract with PP, it stated that there's a 5 tier cake and a personalised cake!!

what is that mean?? The 5 tier cake include a tier of real cake or not??

Thanks PPgroom for your response.

but hor, this Johnny man beri the popular leh. his appointments are quite packed. still didn't managed to arrange to meet up with him. he's going on leave soon

looks like i'll just have to be patient and wait.

Haro PP groom,
Thanks for the info! then how about the personalised cake?? what is that??

Hi Bride 2004,
u might want to look for Priscilla, she's my coordinator, and she's real good too!!

cutiebear,

i think it means for that top tier, you can have it your own design, type of cream etc lor... kekeke

bride 2004,

have you booked? you intend to have it in 2004? just for your info, 2004 from Sep to Dec, all the weekends fully booked liao...

Just a point to ponder:

Is anyone getting a real cake for the whole 5 tiers? then this cake will be the dessert course for all the guests. Thus we can take out the dessert from the original menu, wonder how much will PP deduct off the price? wonder if this way more 'wu hua' or not? HAHA
38184.gif

PPgroom,

just a thinker, it might not be nice or rather presentable after the cake have been cut lor!!

What do u think?

Thanks to cutiebear & PPgroom.

Sept to Dec 2004 all full? aiya... thats the dates i want leh.
then i may have to look into year 2005 liao, if thats the case.

btw, can you ppl share with me the kind of perks that we can ask for? if not convenient to post here, can email at [email protected]

Many thanks :P

Hi Bride 2004,
Cutiebear is right, u can look for Priscilla if u really cannot get Jonny. Btw Jonny will be on leave during CNY period.

hi bride 2004,

u can ask for the waiver of corkage charge for wine.

as for the carpark redeem is 100% and wedding card also 100%. food tasting is for 10 ppls instead of 6ppls. 1 night stay for coodinator instead of certain period.. so juz confirm with them on this 4 things coz it is standard perks tat they will give b4 u ask them.

The PP deal itself is already attractive. If you can also get a flexible coordinator, it'll be perfect.

It's the Bridal Shop that is trickier... I'm having so much trouble with my BS I'm considering letting CASE represent us... Sigh... why can't things be more smooth-sailing. Brrr....

Kiam Sia (Thank u in Hokkien) to you ppl for responding to me on the perks. really appreciate it.

me gotta act fast liao b4 the promotion is gone
wish me luck

hi bride 2004 (or shd i start calling you bride 2005??? kekeke!!!),

how many tables you looking at? there might be a diff in pricing lor...

Hey all,

Wish you ppl Merry X'mas

sad to say that the dates that i want, PP all fully booked liao. cannot join your PP gang liao

now gotta start searching for alternative hotels. *sianzzzz*.....

Dear all PP Grooms and Brides

Wishing you a wonderful Christmas and a year that is filled with peaceful times--moments when you can enjoy the beauty of the earth and the company
of those you love.

Wishing all a Merry Merry Xmas and a Wonderful Happy New Year!

As for the cake, I heard it is very very expensive to have a 5 tier real cake, the cake that is on stage for you to cut is a dummy, there is a slice for you to action only. The personalised cake is given to you (real cake) and there is a symbolic reason, ie. you have to keep your cake for one year, that's why that cake is filled with icing to "preserve" it. This is based on hear-say, k.

hi ppgroom and blim... it's true! the wedding cake is supposed to be able to last for a year. but i'm not exactly sure how they preserve it. maybe it's like wat miata says loh... wif icing.

anyway... i did get to eat one of such cake. but it was not a year old, probably only about a few months old. not v nice leh cuz it's not those normal sponge cake. it's walnut cake, if i rem correctly. not as tasty.

but it's meaningful loh to keep ur wedding cake for a year

FYI

The cake is kept for celebration of your first born after 1 yr, ang mo custom. A bit similiar to chinese Nu Er Hong, for which the father will brew the wine and keep till the daughter gets married.

interesting...

but if i dun intend to have baby immediately, shld i still keep it for a year? or do i keep till the baby comes? heehee..

hi ppl,

we really need to keep that cake for "A YEAR"????

then after that we suppose to "eat" it or throw it away???

hey cutiebear... dun really think u need to keep it for a year. it's up to individual. some prefer to keep it for symbolic reasons like wat lynn mention.

my friend ate it few months later
if u'd ask me, i would. unless my fridge is running out of storage space

No lah, this custom is applicable because those days pple dun practise family planning, expect to immediately hv kids once married. Can keep the cake for 1 yr if u want but must say it's not tt tasty.. too sweet for me. I think will get hubby to eat, then his mouth will be sweet sweet for the rest of our marriage. Haha..
It's special tt PP actually gives us this wedding cake, first time i hear of. Normally i think u need to special order on your own.

Hi people from my favourite thread!

Did you all have a great Xmas?
I had a fun Xmas.
We invited people to our place yesterday.
Scrub and clean the place nice nice.
After the party ended, place messy messy.
Guests incl 17 adults and 7 kids.
So jolly and I was kept so busy and didn't have much chance to eat.
But I was a lousy host.
After most guests left, then realized forgot to take out the Christmas log.

Actually the keep-1-year wedding cake custom reminds me a little of nian2 gao1.
Nian2 gao1 keep long long also never mind... can fry it with egg and eat hor?

dun think i can keep the cake from myself for ONE WHOLE YEAR... kekeke!!! most likely the cake will be in my stomach the next day liao WAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!! think i'll buy my baby another cake then kekeke!!!!!!
38327.gif

haha blim...
seems like we had the same X'mas experience...
Think I was worse, not only did I forget the log cake, i also forgot about the fruit tarts and shepherd's pie...

so now fridge is stuffed full full... house is also still messy messy...

Alamak... just found out David Loh no longer available when we wanted him to come over to Pan Pac to solemnize our wedding. He not in the ROM JP list anymore leh... Hmm... now looking around for another JP.

Anybody else also intending to solemnize on AD day at Pan Pac?

Blim, Convoy

My Xmas also spent at my new place. Colleagues and babies all bao dao. But the log cake and all are in the stomach except the 3 tubs of ice cream are still in my fridge. *Drool*

ya, did that too but still, there was much leftovers... worse still, i had a housewarming yesterday too... so had to get rid of those leftover from X'mas and make space for the 'new' ones... 2 lovely half cut turkeys are lying side by side in the fridge now... haiz...
very fun overall... to have ppl come and 'admire' ur new nest.. heehee... but very very tiring...