Pan Pacific Singapore

hi convoy,

depend on whether is exam period or not. coz alot of the waiter/waitress are students.. if nt exam period then shd be 1 to each table.. if nt, then 1 to 2 tables..

hI PPGROOM & Demio,
Yes, tat is provided when ur actual is more than guaranteed. Wat if ur actual is less than guaranteed? They sure will charge for the guaranteed instead of actual. Has anyone here check wif ur co-ord if this case happen? Wat will they do for the extra table we pay? Can we redeem back some other day for it? Tats wat my fren told me to look up for. No offence mean.

Hi celestine

If tt's wat u are talking abt, then PP doesn't allow us to so-called fold table and come back another day to redeem. The extra table food will be distributed to the other tables.

Thus it'll be better for u to confirm lesser tables, rough est shld be 80% of ur guest list and play with the reserve tables. I'm not sure tot that if u let PP know in advance say 1 mth of the reduced no of tables, they will accept and not charge the guarantted no.

hi celestine, when your actual is less than guaranteed, you have to pay for your min guaranteed.... it's called guaranteed for a reason ya.. there's a profit margin that they'll need to maintain.. they charge you any lesser than that and they're not goin to earn money or lugi...

for PP i understand that u can distribute the food to the other tables.. of cos that wun look nice.... u can see if they allow u to da bao.. if u want to consume the tables on other days, maybe you'll want to discuss with your coordinator b4hand.. but to be fair i think you may need to "sacrifice" in a sense that perhaps for 2 tables less you consume 1 on another day... i do know that some restaurants allow u to consume it other days... but this usu applies to restaurants and not hotels..

Hi celestine,

lynn is correct. PP do not allow you to 'come back' another day... they will either distribute the food of the reamining tables to the rest of the guests or you can 'da bao' these 'empty table' food... i've asked already...

as for informing them of the reduction one month in advance, i'm not sure... if only reduce 1-2 tables, i think PP can still accomodate, but dun think 3 tables or more is acceptable lor...

hi angie,

thanks i have recieved your mail. thanks! btw your name is exactly the same as my friend! same name and surname. hmm the only diff is that she is already married for a year.

hi celestine,

dont be shocked when i tell you the dates. i have tentatively booked one in Nov 05. hee hee ks right? actually it is johnny who told me to book one...

so exciting, cos we are going down to take a look at the place. my bf went for a wedding at PP last sat and he was pretty impressed. just that some of the waiters did not give a fair portion of food to the guests. some got lots of meat, some got lots of bones.

Thanks for the info provided, no experience at all, onli can listen to wat frens told me, my FH dun bother much.
Hi Chel,
Actually u r not KS, is the PP package is too hot selling. I oso intend to take oct 2005, but my FH grandparents don allow us to do so.

oh he went to the Pacific Ballroom. he said the service is ok as it was expected for them to always change the plates. the only thing is abt the waiter thing. but i suppose it is just coincidental that the waiter did not portion the food properly. maybe he is new in this line.

as for decor he told me quite contemporary. seems like there isnt any theme...

hi celestine,

my bf parents and my parents do not allow us to take june 05 so we push to Nov 05. why dont they allow oct? for my parents they feel that June is not good becos in chinese it means 'not complete'.

Hi Chel,
His grandparents wan us to get married ASAP, best is next yr. Too bad our ideal venues all taken up, so onli can push to 2005. During 1st meet up, Jonny told us our date for early Jan is unavailable.Feb is CNY month, a lot of ppl spend $$ during these period, budget must b tight.The earliest date we can choose is end of March, i think everyone's finance has recover from CNY.

oh i see...

well i think March is just nice. i think it has that spring mood. hee hee.

btw, we are not given a choice for the menu for ocean package, am i right? cos my bf parents tot tung lok is good... i don know whether they think pp is good.

Hello All,

Me and Koolinc had just confirm with PP and paid deposit just now liao.....kekek...we are so happy that we have a big load off our mind liao...kekke...now can concentrate on looking for BS and other stuffs

Hi Chel,

not say i wanna bad mouth others or wat... but i've been to wedding banquets at Tung Lok, and frankly... the food's not that great... and if you're looking for good ambience... not sure if they can fight with PP in terms of decor etc...

Just my 20 cents worth (dun mean to offend anyone) Wedding is once a lifetime event and the bride and groom shd be the ones that are most comfortable with the place where the banquet is held. We shd not hold it at a place just to please the elders, else later might regret lor...

helloz all... wow, this thread is really active!!!

hi Angie... replying to ur earlier query. yup, i hv paid my deposit and signed contract already. how bout u?

Hi Chel,
I'm quite areed wif PPGroom, unfortunately my FH is a filial child. Juz becoz of waiting them to find someone get d date from tong shu, took us more than a month. In d end, lot of venues have taken up, we had no choice have to push to 2005.
If try to please everyone, tats will onli make urself suffer.

Hi Brambles,
I just signed my contract this afternoon...keke...feel soo glad and at least abit more relax liao

Btw, i heard from Johnny today that there is this new Zen3 theme for Ocean Ballrm...anyone of you seen it before? nice?

Hi febride, noticed that I missed out your question abt the AD photography..*paisay*..
Well, I quite like Bernard's work from Beetles@Work leh...we r considering them...their rate is $1200..not sure if this is ex, wat u tink?

Hi orosalind, seems like you r currently the earliest among us here to be using Ocean Ballrm huh? Your AD is Oct 04 rite?
And oso thanks for your email on GHA leh, seems like a gd deal leh..I happened to pop by Camelia Haute to enquire abt their price and was surprised to hear that she hv couples whom r having weddings in 2005 oredi startg to sit dwn for designg of WG liao..sure will be a real fast and bz year for us all next yr with all these...

btw wat u all tink abt PP's wedding cards huh? abit plain hor? was abit surprised but neber mind lah...keke

Hi Angie

In fact, I will be the earliest amongst us to use the Ocean Ballroom. My AD is June 04. Just signed my contract last week. Cool right? Earliest to hold my banquet and latest to sign. Ha.

I have been hanging ard these days, just reading the postings. Rosalind, you went to see the ballroom Zen 2 Design? How was it?

hi all if you all got photo wif decor in ocean room kinly let me have a glimpse.

yesterday went down to Pan pac, due to function Ocean Ballroom have not set up yet, and so i went to pacific ballroom and take a look nice leh

My AD in March 2004! So Miata in June 2004 and Meixue in Aug 2004? Then Rosalind in Oct 2004?
Perhaps can take some pictures for the 2005 couples to have a preview huh...

Yet to collect the wedding cards leh... They have new designs?

Based on responses in this thread, looks like Johnny is among the best PP coordinator?

Chelsea, how come June means "not complete"? Anyway, your bf parents should be assured with Pan Pac cos using Hai Tien Lou which is also another ding3 gua1 gua1 restaurant...

I only know their chefs are all cantonese... so for food tasting, do bring along someone who nows cantonese, easier to 'negotiate' kekeke...

Hi Cutiebear, yes from Hai Tien Lou. In fact, you'll be going there for food tasting leh..

Heard that the chef is more conversant in Mandarin than in English.

So PPGroom.. you very happy with Johnny thus far?

oops.. salah again.. prob skim through the thread too fast. You'd prob discern that I'm brewing something in the witch's cauldron liao..

PPGroom, the wedding banquet preparations going to pick up speed soon. Our wedding in March-04 means very soon we need to collect cards lah, food-tasting and comment on menu lah, ballroom theme lah and other details. We super worried our coordinator cannot handle well, based on what we experienced thus far...

Petals you still reading forum?

long time never hear from Petals!!! are u there?

Perhaps blim can share with us on the wedding banquet preparation. It will be very useful guide to 2005 brides/bridegroom here...

Hi blim,

is your coord Johnny then? if so, then i believe you shd be fine cos if i'm not wrong, he's the boss of quite a few coords in here.

so blim, you're the earliest amongst all of us to have your banquet liao lor

need your advise cos i believe most of your BS, PS blah blah blah all done right? need to ask you, how many months ahead did you book your BS huh?

My coord is not Johnny and is not Julianna. But both appear to get good feedback from you all huh... I think Lynn and I have the same coord. Heaven help us!!

hi angie,

shd be fine with me.. heard frm others tat sometime the photography will have screwed up like the negative being dispose and etc..

so must find a professional 1... is ther any thread for "beetles @ work" here?

Blim,
if you're not comfortable with your current coordinator, i think you shld request for a change...

after all, it's your big day and i'm sure you wouldn't want to work with someone you have no confidence in... you'll already be stressed enuf at that time... better dun let ur coordinator stress u further...

Thanks Convoy. Yeah... better to work with a coord we feel more comfortable with..

PPGroom, we booked our BS in Oct. Gown fitting in Nov and PS in Dec. Have you selected your BS already?

WG is MTM and EG is OTR brand new. "Chop" the EG the moment it arrived at the shop because it caught my eyes... Now left tea dress to select.

Salah again.. heheh I meant to say the chef is more conversant in Cantonese...

Something wrong with me recently... always have to double check my stuff these days... for eg, obviously set out to buy something for my colleague's baby BOY and ended up with a set of PINK baby clothes. If I'm taking exams during this period, sure fail miserably...

Hi blim, miata and meixue....so you are the earliest few among all of us here?
Mine is 29th Jan 05...far far away from all you pple...anyone later than 29th Jan 05? we can form a line liao...kekeke..

Hi brambles, I hv some pics for Ocean Ballrm Zen2 (the one with the flower ball on stage one loh)..i shall email to you in a while...anyone else wants a peek? btw cannot expect too fantastic pics hor..coz I took the pics with my PDA instead of D.cam...

Hi PPgroom...i tink no nid to wait until 6mths before AD then find leh...yesterday I pop into Camelia Haute(a BS in City Hall) and was told by the lady that she oredi fixing dress for brides whome r having their wedding in Jan 2005!! Imagine that? I was shocked to hear that and hence now oso buck up in trying to look for one liao...luckily oredi steele our banquet stuffs liao... *phew*

Hi febride, If I am not wrong hor, u can hv the option to ask Beetles@Work to take your AD photos with D.cam too...then u wont nid to worry abt negatives being exposed or they gt to stop half way to load in films...kekke..i tink most photographers are able to do that liao..and i tink its better as well coz they can edit them on their computer and effect looks great

btw, i heard from Johnny yesterday that there is a new theme for Ocean Ballrm called Zen3...anyone seen it before?