Pan Pacific Singapore

hi ppgroom,

tried caling a few times liao..but always nobody pick up...
nmind..i try calling later again..
Btw..yur coord Juliana or Priscilla??

No prob. Cos we're all part of the PP 'family'
37405.gif

Hi Starlet,

3k is the deposit.. i also try to call but always no 1 pickup.. think u call johnny.. direct line 6826-8278 or mobile 9186-0836.. he is very friendly lor.

Hi bubblegum,

no, they dun. they'll only indicate the standard % in the contract due to some contractual thingie with the carpark's management or something like that...

but reading Miata's report in an earlier posting, we can safely say that they do let you have 100% passes for carpark.

Halo, here I am, back! Kakaka... Some of you must be waiting for another of my "interesting report". Sorry sirs and madams, I was on course today so no access to puta.

Okie, wedding favours, a pair of bears in this translucent porch (dunno what you call that). I think not very cute lei, anyone knows if they have other things to offer?

Vegetarian & muslim guests right, say if you have 1 V or M guest, you have to pay $63.80 per pax + $638 per table. I'm quoting based on OB 2004 package. It's easier calculation, just take your package price, divide by 10. Then your per table price + the additional V or M guest loh. But if you can form a table of 10 then they will take it as one table price. Understand? If 5 in a table, then better check with your coordinator and work out something.

The setup that night was ey, dunno what you call that lah, maybe fairy garden, there is a white tent on the stage loh, flowers along the aisle and centrepieces also flowers. But it looks too cramp for yum seng, when you have families, friends, brothers on the stage. Oh, come this sunday, there will be a new ZEN setup for OB. Rosalind, maybe you can go see it, I cant go cos will be in KL, shopping, yeah yeah!

Thanks for all your "votes". Looks like stage at one end of the ballroom is more preferred huh. Cool! PPgroom, I have this feeling you interpreted my centre of the ballroom salah. Centre-doesnt mean centre of the ballroom lei, it will still be tucked against the wall, so backside face the wall.

Dinner was 8 course dinner, I think the menu is quite good, see if I can recall,

1) Cold Dish
2) Drunken Prawns (with shells)
3) Six Treasures Soup (Real good!)
4) Crispy Chicken
5) Braised sea cucumber w Black mushroom & Spinach
6) Sea Perch with Black Soya Bean (Boneless, sth different, no head, no tail, tasty)
7) Ee Fu noodles
8) Cant recall the dessert cos didnt stay thru, was having gastric.

Hmm.. comprehensive report huh. That's all folks.

hi all... not been here for a longgg time..

starlet...don't be discouraged... mine is worse... i told my coordinator any weekend from sep to dec 04, I'll take... also dun have... *see how desperate we were* .. but lucky someone gave up their date in Oct.. so we snapped the date up...

I've not paid my deposit yet, gonna do so next week... dun worry about coordinator not being flexible cos they think you're 'desperate'... they're actually pretty nice and accomodating...

Many thanks Miata for the feedback. Very much needed!

How was the response to the prawns with shells? Did the ladies give this dish a miss?

Are the guests more punctual with all the recent emphasis on punctuality for wedding dinner?

My AD is in March-04.

Hi Miata, thanks for your wonderful n detailed report!

Initially my FH and I tot that "centre of ballroom" means something like indoor stadium concert whereby the stage is in the centre of the guests...haha!!

I vote stage at end of the ballroom.
Means for more people can see us close-up as we march in.
Sounds so vain huh... hahahah

Hi Miata,

hmmm... if the stage is still tucked against the wall, then where the couple march in from? From the centre of the length cutting across the width of the ballroom? (imagine the ballroom is a rectangle) hmmm... actually if like that also considered 'stage at the end' pattern mah cos they still walked to the end, thus guests from both sides shd be able to get a good look at the happy couple

Hi blim,

you not vain... dun say bride ah... even i as a groom also wan my guests to see how handsome i am that day wahahahahahaha... it is a once in a lifetime experience and the couple shd soak up ALL the attention that they can get hee hee...

Hi, Starlet

You are not alone too. I was also like you once back in end Aug. At that time, my wife and I had done quite a fair bit of scouting for banquet venues and was getting a bit tired of it. Somemore, both my wife and I wanted a auspicious date. Be warned: grandfather story ahead.

1st preferred date was 5th Dec. Called up PP but was told 2nd on the list. Then chose 20 Nov. Even worse, 3rd choice. Changed again to 9th Jan 05. At that time, the Ocean package was still not out for 2005. And the price was indeed very attractive at $638nett/table for 2004. I remember pestering my coordinator almost non stop every few days to ask for 2005 packages. And if release, would it be at the same rate since my wedding just a few days past 2004?

Finally, my coordnator got back to me. Ocean package remains but increase of $30 for 2005 to cater for increase in wine duties or something. Bargained till mouth dry also cannot lower price.

My wife and I were considering whether is it worth it to pay an increase of $30/table even though my AD just 9 days past 2004. Deliberated for close to 1 month before deciding that $668 is still reasonable when considering the entire package. Finally signed the contract last month with my coordinator. End of story.

Don't worry, you are not desperate. It's just human nature to want the best for this once-in-a lifetime event. If you really want the date, you can do what Cutiebear did. Chop chop curry pok, confirm with your coordinator and say you want to place deposit. If the others before you still deliberating, then you get your date. Case closed.

After signing up with PP, my wife and I have never regretted our decision. With the new decor that's coming out, I'm sure that it will better bring out the beauty of the Ocean ballroom (although my wife will still say that Pacific is nicer.)

Thanks very much, appreciate it.Felt better after hearing all these.
I have requested to view the ballroom , however no reply from them yet. I called Priscilla, but she said i need to liase wif Julianna directly.
Left a voice message & email, no reply yet.
Still waiting........

Feb Bride 05,
Who is Johnny har?? heheee..

hi starlet..

Johnny's the director of catering or something like that... you can try contacting him on his mobile as listed in the earlier postings...

or maybe you can ask priscilla to inform juliana to call you back...

Hi feroy,

Priscilla did say she will inform Juliana(called up yesterday noon time) However,din recd any email or call from her yet..
Maybe i m too "gan cheong" (anxious)liao.Think Juliana is quite busy one hor..

Hi starlet,

share wif u my kiasu experience again!!

Told u b4 that when i decided on the date, there are 4 couples before me right?? PP have to call all of them to ask for their permission to release the date to me. priscilla promised to let me have the answer by the same day itself, so in the evening i go straight down to the hotel and take alook at the ballroom (no need to make appt). then go look for priscilla directly. Since is a good grab, i think u should go find them instead of waiting for them to call u!! they are real busy esp Christmas is coming!!

Good Luck

Hi cutie cutie...
Hmmm...in tt case...maybe i should go down one day..and if i like the place..i can look for Julianna straight away then tell her i wanna confirm..?? (but of cos she need to check with couples infront of me.)

hi! I was told by PP that the golden and silver sash do not come complimentary. Is that true? Isn't that part of the package? Please advise..thanks v much!

Hi bubblegum,

i keep hearing abt this Gold and Silver bow (sash) thingie... i have no idea what's that... anyone can tell me what's that for? heard alot of ppl wanted that, so now i also curious kekeke

HI PPgroom! the sash is used to tie a bow around the chairs...gold for VIP tables and silver for all guest tables...i thot they were complimentary......feel a bit cheated leh......

Hi starlet

No need to feel paisey, hotel also wont play 'hard-to-get' either. I also changed my wedding date to accomodate PP. Think i have changed about 4 times, cos the first 2 dates i tentative dates upon consulting tongshu were not gd for us. When we finally got down to signing the contract, had a gd laugh at how we 'jumped' abt just to get PP. We also managed to get the perks we wanted too.

Let Jul know tt u are willing to pay deposit now, so that she will help u chase the couples in front to make decision soon.

Hi bubblegum,

dun email la... sometimes take them 2-3 days to reply one... PP coord very busy ppl... i'd prefer calling them direct...

Hi lynn,

i will vist the ballroom soon..and will place deposit if i like it..hearsay there are 3 couples in front of me...unless they willing to give up...if not...me confirm oso no use..

PPgroom and Bubblegum,

I ask liao. Nid to pay $2 for each sash. $3 for each stalk of flowers behind the chair (like the pics under fairy garden theme in their website or info package).

Hi starlet,

just tell your coord hat ou're willing to confirm, and she'll follow thru with the rest, i.e. 'chase' other couples if they're willing to give up etc... the earlier you know this, the better, cos easier for you to get another date just in case one of the couples decides to pay.

Hi rosalind,

these sash are for VIP tables only? if so meaning i have to fork out additional $20 per table for the sash and $30 for the flowers liao loh?

For VIP tables, it's FOC. For non-VIP tables, they dun provide but if u want it, for decorative purpose, u nid to pay $2 per chair if u opt for sash or $3 per chair if u opt for a stalk of flower. If u want to have it, u can save cost by gg for alternate chair. My fren did that, in fact, it's nicer than havin for all chairs cos otherwise, ur VIP tables wun stand out (this is oso what my coord told me).

Anyw, have gathered feedback fm frens and sister. They told me no one will go and notice teh sash cos they cant even recall if there's sash for non-VIP seats for all weddings they been to. My fren who attended a wedding at PP oso cant recall if there's sash. So I think no nid to spend that kind of money unless u r the v particular on the deco all the way to minute details.

think this is depending on indiv. For me, I'm quite particular cos I do notice of those sash, as mentioned earlier, I even noted that my fren uses sash for alternate seats for non-VIP tables.

Agree with u, meixue. I think it will oso makes the ballroom looks less empty. The wedding setup I've seen in OB, the couple did not have any sash for non-VIP tables and I think the whole thing looks too simple leh.

Me thinking of gg for sash on alternate seats. But again, my guests may not even noticed it. Haahhhhaaa....

Hi orosalind and meixue,

i also find that OB ballroom abit plain, esp there's no lightings to play around too! and to pay for the sash abit wasteful leh!

my idea is go buy balloons and ask PP to tie on alternate chairs,,,, will look great!! BUT it might cover the stage view!! or just let the balloons fly up to the ceiling,,will be nice too!!

Balloons definately cheaper then sash right??

Yeah leh, rosalind... i scared it might be a waste if all the guests din even take note of the sashie thingie... anyways the guests shd be focusing on the couple and not on the chairs haahhahahahahaha......

Cutiebear,

But will it looks more like party? I show frens and family the pics of bubble theme of PP and they say the balloons look like party. But maybe it's indiv pref lah cos I find it unique, not many wedding has it. In fact, I never attended one with balloons.

Feb bride 05,

For me, I din use tong shu, went to this temple at paya lebar and get the china shi fu to check this book for me (not tong shu).

Hi orasalind,

so scare tat if the result is neg..i mean after checking the date and is not suitable. then i dunno wat to do. really got to pray hard.

hi orosslind,

i agree wif u that it looks like a party and also not many weddings will do that!! so that's the special part!!! ha ha ha

PPGroom, i prefer emailing leh....cos i will have written proof liao mah.....but anyway, the coord called me liao...they say no charge wor...but i am taking the OB package, not the Pacific package so maybe different terms and conditions?

tong shu is out for the lunar year 2004. so if ur 05 date falls within lunar 04, u can chk if the date is gd or not from the tong shu...can get it from any shop selling joss sticks and stuff.....

*cheers*