Pan Pacific Singapore

Just wanna ask those whom had signed up with PP for their OB package...anyone intends/or had change the menu? if yes, can u share wat dish u had changed and if there is any cost incurred? coz the menu looks abit plain to my mom...

Thks : )

the one that we have looked at advised us that OTR gowns are actually better cos you can try till the cows come home (i.e. till you're satisfied) and then once you found your perfect gown, just amend abit here and there and voila!! your WG and EG is done... is this true? Or MTM WG and EG still a better choice? cos what they said is although MTM, the design and everything is new, but it may not come out as nice as on the paper cos you dun have anything to see in the first place...

hi PPgroom,

if u & ur wife oredi hv a great design u like then i tink you can go for MTM packages but if u hv no idea yet then i suggest go shopping around those boutiques tat both of u like and then try to look for something u love OTR...coz the thg with MTM is that even if u hv a design on mind and they done up the whole thg according to wat u wanted, some brides/grrom mite find that the physical WG or EG did not reli turn out to be as great as tehy think so end up hv to pay extra for OTR...tatz wat happens to couple of my frens...moreover some OTR are not entirely worn off or even worn before, they could be completely new which they had bought or sewn to add to their collection...not sure this is true though ..hope this helps

So many postings in a short monday morning. I'm busy sitting back reading your postings rather than preparing my stuff. :P

Most of my things are confirmed. Gowns are in the process. Waiting for the next fitting (very excited!!)

Will be gg to PP tonight to sign the agreement (Hey, I'm the earliest of us all but latest to sign, ha!) And at the same time, am attending a dinner tonight at Pacific Ballroom, anything you guys want me to look out? Reply before 3 pm else I wont be logging in already, will be off for appts liao.

PPgroom, which BS have you decided? 6 months from your AD is tooooo risky lei. Moreover year end more weddings, the rest agree? Year end also rainy season, outdoors shoots may be delayed due to lousy weathers. Maybe you can consider booking in Mar 04?

OTR is good as in you can get the actual look and feel but what if, QiQi doesnt find the gown she fancy? What if, your photos dont turn out as you expected. Not scaring you but you have to plan for contingencies. This is my personal opinion. For your thoughts.

Hi cutiebear,

din receive your email leh... wat's your email add? mine's [email protected] (pls note the 'Z' behind cos alot of my frens forgot abt that little 'Z')

Hi Miata,

WOW!! you mean you haven sign the contract yet?? how abt deposit? pay liao? you good man!! kekeke... hmmm... i agree with all of you on the early signing part, but...

so tonight you're going to PP for dinner huh? i'm gonna whack a whole list liao WAHAHAHAHAAHA:
1) can help see if the food is tasty and filling?

2) can help take note of the audio/visual (i.e. is it good and clear)?
3) can see if they really use one waiter per table?
4) can also help me check how many tables are there and if it's abt 40 is it quite empty still?

i think that's all
37222.gif

Hi All, surprised to see so many postings here. More or less we have decide on a BS liao. It's at IMM double-up. My mum n aunt 'sort-of' knw the boss lady there so intend to get my mum to negotiate on the pricing etc. Actually me n PPgroom intend to book this mth but my mum said it's far too early
so bo bian lor....Meanwhile we r still looking around n comparing the package.

Hey Miata, remember to share PP service after your dinner tonight. Think it would be very useful especially those held at Pacific ballroom.

PPgroom

I ask ask only. You whacked me with a list! :P
Okok, will look out, you owe me big time man!

I think my fren's only 20 tables. I'll come back and report to you accordingly. Oh, contract havent signed, deposit havent pay yet lei. Cool right? Can pay by credit card?

Hehe...my FH is like that one..waiting for those who had dinner at PP to share experience with us :P Yes can pay by credit card.
Miata, you really gd! last to sign contract n pay deposit...ours all settled liao lor!

Hi PPgroom, yr FW replied my email w/o knowing who she reply to
. i have given her my advise on the BS part.

Hi Miata, can help me to see if i would like to have the video montage, will it be block by the settings? Thank you huh!!

Hi Miata,

HUH?? 20 tables can book Pacific Ballroom ah? sure or not?

WASAY!!! you really good!!! your coord allow meh?? to pay deposit and sign contract so late?

No prob... i already owe you lunch liao, now add in dinner lor wahahahaha...

PPgroom & Qiqi,

Ya, Angie is rite. The cons abt MTM is that even if you hv a design in mind, the actual thing may not turn out to be what u imagine it to be. But this problem can be easily overcome if u communicate well with ur designer. I had many frens and coll who are with the same bridal shop as me and some other forum brides who are with the same bridal shop as me, they all commented that their MTM gown turned out to be v nice. That makes me more confident of their designer. Although like what Miata mention, OTR is good as in you can get the actual thing and put it on, but if u intend to take OTR, u must like what they have in store or their new stock. If none caught ur fancy, then u got to make do with what the BS has. So if u 2 are intending to take OTR package, then u nid to shop ard more BS to see what they have in store. If u 2 are looking at MTM package, the tailor work will be more impt factor to look out for. The best is to find one BS with nice gowns in store and good tailor work and then get them to let u keep the choice open betw MTM and OTR cos it's still quite long away fm ur AD.

thanks for the advise Angie, rosalind...

wonder where's Miata? kekekeke.....

one thing i hate abt finding out abt BS in this forum... some of the negative comments are actually by the BS's competitors!!! they weave such a disgusting storyline abt the BS till nobody got confidence in them anymore... it also makes decision making difficult for greenhorn like us... tsk tsk tsk... what ppl would do to gain an edge in business...

Hi PPgroom, you're welcome...one more thg to add...if u & Qiqi looking wana take up MTM, try to look for BS that r well-known for their design & worksmanship to give u two an ease of mind loh

btw im still hoping someone to whom able to share with me on my earlier posted msg...
"Just wanna ask those whom had signed up with PP for their OB package...anyone intends/or had change the menu? if yes, can u share wat dish u had changed and if there is any cost incurred? coz the menu looks abit plain to my mom..."

also koolinc and I wishes to find out abt the lighting & effects in OB during the walk-in & fanfare...can any kind souls help us? Thanks

PPgroom,

Agree with u on that. So it's beta to use the forum as a guide but go down personally to tok to the pple there and then make a decision fm there.

Angie,

Me has taken up OB package and is def gg to change some items on menu but have not make up my mind what to ask for in replacement of org ones. Maybe changing to Pixie menu as well.

Lighting oni one type (unlike Pacific ballroom). Fanfare, not sure abt that.

Angie

I have changed the cooking methods for the prawn dish, to 'baked live prawns in chinese herbs n wine'. Any other changes will wait till food tasting then decide. OB package is quite competitive, i think it's not going to be easy to say change to a more expensive dish at no cost. Most likely need to top up. Hope this helps

Note: i did try asking to change from Garoupa to Red Garoupa... and guess how much it'll cost me? $50 per table!!! *faint*
37329.gif

Thus, better think very carefully and ask abt the pricing before any commitments...

i have juz booked my wedding @ PP. still have not got the chance to negotiate on the actual package given by the wedding coordinator.. care to share on wat of the things tat can be negotiated.

For those who r intending to hold their wedding @ PP during yr2004, ther are no more fri, sat and sun slots.. only available is yr2005.. think u gals need to act fast coz the deal is great...

Hi all, reporting reporting! Had a busy day, early am system down, cannot log on lah. then pm went out for whole appts. okie, let's start.

I was at the banquet (PB) pretty early cos met up with the two Juls to sign my contract. When I went to "take attendance" the receptionist was so blur, dont have my table number cos the guestlist was with the bride and the bride was somewhere taking pictures (she actually came down pretty early). So I stood one side and waited. Pls hor, brides & grooms, pass the guestlist to your helpers early & brief them, you just sit back and enjoy the attn lah.

While waiting, I asked my complimentary carpark coupon. Apparently they will pass you a paper note and at 930 then the waiter will bring the machine to validate your coupon. Strange hor, but it seems like they do it this way. So your emcee has to announce when the machine "arrives". Also your receptionist will have an add'l task (ie. to tell your guests that)

The fanfare at PB is good, cos the lighting can "dance" to the music. But I'm not sure who will coordinate that. PB brides and grooms, you can check that out. For OB, no choice loh, cos only one color. Maybe play with brightness, like a lounge.. hahahaha

Sound system is clear. Projector is good, big and clear. They occupied PB 2 and 3 with 30 tables. Looks just nice and spacious. So PPgroom, cant tell if 40 tables in PB1-3 is okie.

Waiter one to one table, plates changed after each dish, food is apportioned by your personal waiter, even the vinegar and pepper will be served! Good attn!

Overall rating, one word, HAO! But not sure if OB will get such service standards, since the package is lower, but cant be right? Cannot be sub standard one mah, hor?

Hi Miata!!! was waiting for your 'report' whole day liao!!! WAHAHAHAHAAHAHA!!!!
37349.gif

think your friend happy till blur liao la... still hold on to the guest list hahahaha...

hmmm... if 30 tables in PB2/3 is just nice then for me 40 tables occupy PB1/2/3 might be abit spacious liao...

WOW! so they really have such good service ah?... that's comforting to hear!!!

and the Audio/Visual's (AV) good too!! WONDERFUL!! hee hee hee... my coord actually told me that for the coordination of the lightings and the AV, they have an AV coord... you'll need to pass all your music etc (exclude the montage presentation though) to him/her and 1-2 days prior to your AD you'll need to 'rehearse' so that you know when to come in, and also when the waiters come in for the first dish blah blah blah...

i'm VERY SURE OB will receive the same standards cos be it whichever Ballroom, ultimately it reflects on PP's standards on the whole mah...

KUDOS Miata!!!!
37350.gif

The couple has placed the stage in the centre of the ballroom, ie short aisle for them. But the stage is centralised so it is equally divided for attn. If you place the stage at one far end of the ballroom, it has a nice L-shaped long aisle, but pple sitting right at the other end will be "stranded".

Who do you pple feel? Let's have a vote.

although put at the end and ppl at the other end may feel stranded. I still prefer at the end of the ballroom... 3 simple reasons:

1)for the march in, only half the guests will see the march in, the other half will not get to see the couple up close.

2)when toasting... no matter where the couple stand, their back sure face some of the guests and this is not very nice lor...

3)(no offense to anyone) there might be a significance for marching all the way to the end... it signifies walking together forever till the end...

there you have it... i've cast my first vote hee hee

Hi, Miata

What abt the wedding favours? Is it still the bear couple in the pink box? Or have they changed the favours?

As for the siting of the stage, I also prefer putting at the end for the same resons that brudder PPgroom has mentioned.

Hi Miata,

I read your interesting reporting. I would personally prefer the long march where the stage is at the end of the ballroom. I agree with PPgroom's view. That's also where you get all the attention and everyone stands for you and look at you once in a lifetime !!
And most of the ballrooms I have seen have very short march. You don't feel shiok loh cos' it ended so fast.

By the way, how is the food? Is it a 8 course dinner? Is it enough for everyone especially for guys who have great appettite?

What theme did they use last night? So far I have only seen Fairy Gardens where there is a white tent on top of the stage and many pple say it is the most popular theme.

Hi Miata,

Thanks for the report! for me to chose, i also prefer the long march in. all guest will have a chance to see the bride and groom!!

Can you share with us yr views on the theme?

Hi feb bride 05,

standard things you can ask for lor... more carpark, more invitation cards and corkage waiver for wine... maybe can try asking for nett discount on the menu (but dunno if anyone's ever been successful? hee hee)

Hi Miata,

Thanks for the wonderful report.

I prefer stage rite at the front as I like long march-in and all guest (those sitting at the back and front) wld be able to see us walking down the aisle. I have seen OB setup and the couple oso place the stage at the front and I was standing at the back to observe, not too bad lah, still can see the front clearly. But the couple oni uses OB 1-4, not sure if it will be the same if OB 5 is oso added in.

hi starlet,

how many in the queue now?? dont worry lah, the last time also got 4 couples infront of me. And they also kind enough to let me have the ballroom.

Good Luck!!

Hi starlet,

if you have CONFIRM CONFIRM on that date, then just inform your coord that you're willing to pay deposit liao... then he/she will check with the other couples... if no one wanna pay deposit yet, then you'll get your date liao

Hi Cutiebear,

Thanks for yur reply..
I din ask them how many couples are infront of me..

Btw..ask all of u someting...(no offence to anyone)
Will the hotel think tt we are very desperate har?? Cos is like intially for eg..i wan Date A,
then already taken, so i asked Date B, also taken..left Date C...already booked...

It's like we are postponing our wedding date just because we want tt particular hotel...
If let say, we are lucky..got tt final date...will the hotel staff be "cocky" & dun allow any room for negotiation??

Hi PPgroom,

thanks for yur reply too...
Really happy to have someone replying me..

hmmm..cos i haven view their ballroom..so i dun dare to confirm confirm...(but looking at this thread..Pan Pac seems to have many good feedback)

Actually i think Pan Pac is so "hot" because of the superb promotion..cos it is really a good deal.

hmm...AM i right har...???

Hi PPgroom,

Thks for ur comment..
wat they told me is tat there will be 100% complimentary carpark passes...
i will try to ask for more invitation cards...
i dun think they will give further discount for the menu..

Btw, do any1 here know abt how do they charge for the vegetarain and halal food.

Hi Starlet,

think u can start to choose other date juz in case. or maybe u can juz ask them to put u on waiting list..

Hi starlet,

no la, PP coord are a friendly bunch from what i see in this forum... and besides, that's wat i went thru too... initially i wanted Dec 04 Saturdays... dun have, so asked for Nov 04... dun have, so asked for Oct 04... also DUN HAVE!!! then i one shot jump to Jan 05, and FINALLY got my date
must be persistant if you really want your date.
Why dun you meet up with your coord asap to have a look at the ballroom? if you like what you see, then staightaway tell him/her that you're willing to pay deposit lor... and you're right, PP is hot cos good service, good ambience and good deal

Hi feb bride 05,
i did not ask abt vege and halal price, so can't help you much...

HI feb bride 05

Actually i have changed ny date several time already. Tt's Y m quite tired abt the whole ting and find myself very desperate...

Partly becos i only have a few dates to choose from, tt's y not many choices.

AM thinking maybe i should look for other hotels already....cannot deny tt the deal from Pan PAc is really great & tempting.

Hi starlet,

if you have not went down to PP and taken a look, i STRONGLY suggest you do... it will affect your decision one... this is just the beginning and you so soon tired liao? cannot la... remember what PM Goh once said, 'lau kui bay see, bo kui jia ay see!' (lose face wun die, no breath then will die) hahahahahaha
37399.gif

Hi PPgroom...

Heehee glad tt you are in the situation with me (just kidding)..But u are lucky ...managed to get yur date in Jan 05. Btw..yurs is weekday or weekend??
For my case...intially i wan Dec 04, dun have, for Jan i can only choose 10 Jan and it is available(weekday)so happy at tt time but then according to lunar date..it is 1st day of the mth....then my parents said..if can dun choose tt day.. No choice..so last alternative is Mar 05..to my dismay...oso booked..
It's very disappointing keep postponing & postponing...DUn have tt excited mood liao...

Hi starlet,

me and my FW also want Saturdays only.

You only want weekends only as well? if you dun mind weekdays, i'm sure there're plentiful dates available...

Hi PPgroom...

Really appreciated yur reply..heeehee..
I already email the coord..tt i wan to view their ballroom..so waiting for their reply...

Actually agreed that they coord are quite patient..Btw..you communicate with them thru email or phone har??? Any diff??

Hi PPgroom,

I agree...tt weekdays will be plentiful..
Prefer weekend too...cos weekdays might be inconvient for relatives..

Anyway...really thanks for yur reply...
hope tt i can view the room asap..

Hi starlet,

fyi, i didnt have any appointment with the coordinator to view the ballroom... i juz pop in on sat evening to see the setting of tat day wedding... so maybe u can try this sat.. i think u will like it lor.. trust me.. u can't get such good offer lor.. maybe u try after march lor.. i believed tat mar 05 onwards sure have slot ha.

Hi starlet,

du email liao... email sometimes slow. call via their phone much much faster... by maikng an appt, the coord can walk you thru the ballroom and also answer any queries that you have in mind lor... once you've made up your mind, just give a firm decision that you wanna put deposit for which date, and your coord will handle the rest of the details