Pan Pacific Singapore

Hi kokeishun,

Can I know if you have made a booking with PP oredi? When is ur AD? And what extras have you bargained for? Btw is your package $638 nett?

Sorry for asking so many questions...

Cheerios!
Rocher

hi lynn,
hehe..u r even more unlucky than me...:p

hi DK,
must have bz preparing ur wedding. do feedback to all of us abt PP services after ur wedding, okie?

hi rocher,
join us in the yahoo grp, then all ur qns will be ans...

hi lynn,
oh dear, muz have read the thread too fast..hmm..if that's the case, then u r indeed lucky..so envy..

Hi blurq,

Yup I wanted to join the gp, and chubby asked me to email my details to her and I have just emailed to her this morning... so maybe then she will authorise me or give me the ID to search for u guys
or if dun mind, can you authorise me or give me the gp ID? my yahoo id is rocher_ho same as here

Thanks alot

Cheerios!
Rocher

hi Rocher,
I'm sorry, cos I am not the moderator of the yahoo grp..and I have no idea on how to create the account too..
Not to worry, cubby will authorise you later..she's very helpful..

Btw, the package is 638nett..no hidden cost..when is ur wedding? U got to book fast, cos the dates are running out fast..

Hi blurq,
okie, no problem, I shall wait for chubby to get back to me

I just received an email from PP - Priscilla. I think the package is quite good as well
I have tentative bookings with Juliana on two fridays..Btw, when is your AD? And what other perks have you gotten?

Thanks alot

Cheerios!
Rocher

hi rocher,
Yes it's definitely a gd package for a wkend rate..considering also the seat covers and free flow of beer.
I think 638nett is really worth it.

My AD in Oct 04, as for other perks, think is mostly on the invitation cards and carpark coupons.
Have u met up with Juliana already? Btw, which Juliana did u liase with?

Hi blurq,

ya I oso think its worth it..
So urs on weekends?

Have not met her yet, maybe once everything is confirmed that meet up wit her... I liaise with Juliana Tan and Priscilla Mok. Are they good? So u liaise with who?

Cheerios!

hi rocher,
yes, mine is on a fri.
After you meet up with her, am sure u will get more perks.Not to worry, PP is very flexible.

Not so sure about Juliana Tan, but acc to the rest, she's very flexible too. My coordinator is Juliana Tay.
C u in the yahoo grp soon.

sigh.... think my negotiating power really bad, cos kokeishun n i got the same coordinator but kokeishun got so much more perks than i do. if i'm not wrong from the database in the yshoo grp, her no of tables n mine is abt the same, the only diff is tat i'm having my dinner in the pacific n hers is in ocean, i think.
when i asked my coordinator for some extra stuff like waiver of corkage, complimentary use of projector, n extra flowers for the ballroom, she jus tell me NO NO NO, so sian n fed up n my wedding is a mth away. going for food tasting soon, thinking of changing the fish but really no mood cos i guess i'll hear a big NO again...
sorry for talking abt unhappy things here cos like spoiling ur moods as we should be talking abt happy things. but really need a place to spill everything out. thx....

but dun worry, i din quote any example i saw from this thread as i think it's not very nice n fair for u gals. guess it's jus my luck.... becos of this, i dun even have the mood to prep for the wedding sigh.....

kokeishun, can teach me some nego skills? haha... cos seems like u r the only one who can get so many perks...

Hi boo boo,

sorry to hear your plight..
maybe u can tell ur coordinator that your friend (in SB) oso using the same hotel and y are both of ur packages so different...

I think this shld be transparent and let every PP brides or potential PP brides know what are the perks that can be negotiate for. As wedding itself costs a bomb, this little bargaining is just a little bit that we can save but it meant quite alot.

Anyway, the hotel wont make a loss if they compromise with you cos they have been making so much out of the banquet!

So boo boo, just tell ur coordinator, if your friend can have it and y can't u? Ask some experts for nego skills to help u

Cheerios!
Rocher

Hi Boo_boo

Sorry to hear about your encounter. Is your coordinator Delia too?

For me, I am more fortunate because I dun really negotiate with her that much. Mostly is she propose then I accept. Initially, when I ask for things like overnight room for helpers I get the BIG NO too.

However, when we met up for the second time, she suddenly offer most of the things to me. So I guess I am just being lucky.

How much you pay for your tables? Pacific should have more bargaining power than Ocean because its more expensive, isnt it?

About the waiver of corkage charge, I actually told her that most of my friends are wine person and if she charge me, I will go bankrupt. I got to call her twice before she agreed.

Why don't you calculate the likely number of bottles that you going to open and ask her waived it off? Hotel like conrad, they will waive about one bottle per table and if yours is 30 tables, then you can request for waiver for 35 bottles.

For Delia, you have to use soft approach towards her lor.. Sometimes, when I call her and she don't sound friendly, then I would cut the conversation short.

From my experience, I think it is easier to negotiate with her face to face rather than call her. She is much more friendlier when she sees you.

Booboo.. i thght that wedding couples who is holding their wedding at pacific ballroom should have more perks.. since my co-ordinator told me that i can only loan the projector if there is no wedding at pacific ballroom or if the couple is not using it..

then again, i think it also depends on the time that you have signed up your package.. normally will get better deals when there is promotion going on.. but think it all depends on the co-ordinator on how far is she willing to help you.. maybe you shld try toking to your co-ordinator again...

thx for all the advise. but willtry to talk to her again but am not hopeful. then my stupid HB always sit down there listen only, ask him to help to nego kept saying pai sey, dunno how to! as if i do! then like everything i have to do on my own. it' not like we have alot of time left but to him, there's still enuff time to do ALOT of things, sigh.... he's not abit kan cheong n he's so bo chuup over things. feel like jus stopping wat i'm doing since he said still got time mah, so leave it all to him. but i'll feel uneasy sigh.......

kokeishun,
my table is 638+++. guess u r really lucky lor. me have got abt 40-45 bottles of wine n i think all will be open so if i'm going to pay for the xtras, think i'll die man! agreed tat she relly dun sound too friendly over the phone. will try to talk to her again when i see her during the finalisation. thx...

totto,
when i signed up, she told me the projector is already very old so no guarantee it'll still be working, n if it is she'll lend it to me. but when i asked her abt the projector a few mths ago, she told me it's spoilt. but i saw so many pp brides getting the projector FOC, tat's y i feel so sad. at first i also thot since i'm getting the pacific i shld be able to get more perks but now i really regret not getting the ocean, cheaper with free flow beer some more n so many other things sigh.....

I have confirmed a date with PP and going to sign contract with them this weekend. I've gotten the Ocean Ballroom Promotion Package. Anyone care to share what are the perks that you have gotten? Thanks.

boo boo

U sign up recently or last yr? Food taste already? Maybe u take the food tasting opportunity to change the dish?

As for wine and beer, u sure u need so much beer? I am estimating that 1 bottle per table and excl relatives. Projector should be able to get at cheaper source, mkt rate is less $200, ask them to waive that away.

Maybe your date is too near to have much bargaining power, just try your best lah. My perks are also pretty standard, nothing much to talk abt too. But if u need maybe extra few cards, PP shld be ok to give FOC. Wont be so gam!

FH is like tt one, guys got something abt bargaining.. always say paiseh, later grumble why so expensive. *faint* can't stand him at times. I am the one who is doing all the liasing, dun feel safe letting hubby do also.

i m the new pan pac bride.....wedding is nex year. book early cos face some unpleasant problems.

i hear that some one is getting rom outside....i would like to recommend grand plaza parkroyal. i held my there this may. my solemnization was at the courtyard n followed by hightea indoor. i guests commended that the atmosphere was very good n because i book 30 pax i got to have the indoor dinning place with waterfall backview almost to myself. n quite cheap too.

Hi Boo

Do you think you really need to open that much bottle of wine?

I heard from another PP bride and I think it is a good idea to share.

It happens that she went to this wedding recently and she noticed that the waiters only fill up wine glass once. They do not offer any refill unless the guest request unlike soft drinks, they just refill once its half way gone.

It really help to save a lot on wine. Maybe you can request for Delia to advise the waiters on this.

You can also check out wine suppliers for consignment so that you only pay for what you have opened.

As for your HB, forget about asking men to negotiate especially if the other party is female. They will just clam shut because its a girl thing to them. 90% of men are the same so dun have to be angry with him. If not you cannot be mei mei bride liao.

Hi Boo

One more thing is that I realized the corkage charge that PP quoted varies between coordinators so you have to be careful when negotiating.

When you meeting up for finalization?

Hi twinkle

From my own personal experience, I think most of the PP coordinators are nice people as compared to some other hotels, therefore if you talk nicely to them and only ask for what you need and not because other people has it, they will be please to help you in making your perfect wedding.

Hi Boo,
Seek solace in the fact that Pacific Ballroom is more superior than Ocean Ballroom. Don't drain energy on regretting not choosing the Ocean package. Concentrate on being mei mei bride.

I'm a potential Pac Pac bride and I've seen both ballrooms. Pacific has higher ceilings, the lightings are nicer and overall more majestic than Ocean. Of course, Ocean also nice lah but if you compare both, sure got difference mah. The Pacific stage is also higher. Ocean stage is lower: only 2 steps. For short brides like me, I worry guests at the back cannot see me. For people with a more critical eye, they may say Ocean Ballroom is more like a conference room converted just by looking at the lightings. As well, for your smoking guests at Pacific Ballroom, they can just stepped out in the open for a puff. The smoking area is just outside the ballroom. For Ocean on the 2nd floor, the smokers will don't know run-go-where.

It may sound a little too late to negotiate for certain perks. But at least you might be able to try for more parking coupons (keep guests happy) or wine corkage waiver for a number of bottles (important!). Forget about wanting more flowers. If I remember correctly, the Pacific ballroom has sufficient flowers to brighten up the place.

All the best for your wedding,
Belinda

hi boo boo,
am not so gd in comforting pple. but do try to negotiate with ur coordinator again. I'm sure they are willing to help us.

For the projector, my coordinator also said she needs to check out whether the pacific ballroom is using it 1st before she let me have it. I think you can ask her again, not a problem.

Dun be sad, ur wedding is coming soon. Must be a happy bride, okie? Tell urself, everything can be solved...

Anybody know anything about PP intend to have a new deco for Ocean?

I like Ocean but after seeing the setup a bit disappointed but I also know it is difficult to compare the standard between Pacific and Ocean since we are paying so much lower. If PP has a new deco then it would be so much better.

Hi kokeishun,

I have booked PP. My coordinator told me that Ocean ballroom will be having a new deco but it's not out yet. The invitation card will oso have new design coming out. I heard that the existing deco, the Zen one, is nice?

My personal comment, I think Ocean ballroom is not as grand as Pacific Ballroom but the foyer area is better in the sense that you can have the foyer area all to yourself and it's right at the end (more privacy). But the foyer at Pacific Ballroom is near the entrance and taxi stand + I understand from my coordinator that if u r not allocated all the 3 Pacific room (Pacific room 1, 2 and 3), you may end up having to share the foyer area with others should there be another event going on in the other Pacific room.

yes i agree with orosalind about the Ocean foyer. it's much more exclusive. The Pacific foyer is next to the taxi stand and road and doesnt seem very nice when u can see the road from the foyer...

for the Ocean ballroom, the decor is actually alright and pretty romantic. The main thing is not to make the lights too bright. dim the lights a little and try to emphasize on the 'cozy romantic' feel and the low ceiling would seem reasonable and not a hindrance anymore.

hello boo
try to get d best out of it at dis hour, ur wed day abt 2 mths away. don't brood over it, try to b positive at dis time, n bargain again...
just realise u r oso in PP yahoo grp n ur wed day is coming soon. congrat to u lah :-)
stay happy n be a beautiful bride...:p

act i feeling better already. if i get then i get if i dun then gotta think of other solutions lor. thx for all ur comforting words. jus need to vent it ot

recently jus signed up the ocean package...but didn't heard of the new decor..... i was going to choose the zen garden.

i think the cards so so only, good that they change,

i was only told that they going to change the wedding favour.....

Hi twinkleglint,

Just to check if your sales co-ordinator from pan pac efficient and accomodative? coz mine din send me the weddding package proposal for over a week already and I couldn't get hold of her (always out meeting clients) and never returns my calls
: (

Any recommendations of other sales co-ordinator coz I kinda like the pan pac decor. Thanks.

Hi Puccagal,

You can try Juliana Tay. She's my coordinator and is quite helpful and friendly. I got quite a no. of perks from her.

I oso have the wedding package (email format) from Pan Pac, if you want, I can email you.

Hi orosalind,

Thanks for the recommendation : )

I do have the standard wedding packages. I actually asked her to customised the costings to my budget and met up with her previously. She is suppose to just finalised the perks and email to me.

Customer service is rather important and if the wait is too long, I might just decide on Grand Copthorne Waterfront . . .

hi puccagal

i heard Juliana not bad. might is Delia, ok too...i do have the the package just giv us ur email.

hi orosalind

hve u book urs? which date?

Hi Puccagal,

Could there be some miscommunication or they could be too bz? I understand that a lot of sales coord in PP are v bz, probably a lot of wedding and enquiries due to the promotion.

If u r really interested in PP, you can try my cood, she email me the finalised perks the next day after our discussions and she is prompt in replying to our enquiries and as and when we needed her assistance.

Hi twinkleglint & orosalind,

ya . . . perhaps she is just too busy. I'd wait a little while longer, maybe I should check if my date is still reserved? : S

I dunno if it is nice to change the co-ordinator.

Hi orosalind,

can you give me your coordinator's name?

Cos I tried to contact Juliana but she on leave & will be back only on Monday. (she has helped me to make two tentative bookings). But now I need to confirm the date with PP cos my FH & I have decided on the date...

And btw, you are having the $638 nett promotion as well? Can I know what perks are you offered?

Thanks alot.
Cheerios

Hi twinkleglint,

I have booked mine on 17 Oct 04 (Sun). When is urs? Who's ur coord?

Hi Puccagal,

I think u better make tentative reservation first and make sure that she really reserve that date for you.

hi puccagal, rocher

when is ur target WD? betta be fast if u wan PP. even if they reserve a date it will not be confirm till u pay....i had my experience so i kn....

hi orosalind,

do u agree? my coor is Delia.....n my WD is 05 Dec.

Hi twinkleglint,

Now that my FH and I have confirmed the date I want to call Juliana so that she can confirm the date for me but she will not be in till monday... now me very worried cos I'm afraid the date might not have and might be taken up by someone who will be confirmed later...

Do you think I can call Delia? And can I hv her DID? Thanks

Cheerios!

Hi orosalind & twinkleglint,

My WD is 6Mar04, I am taking the buffet lunch package, think it shouldn't be a problem as lunch is not as popular as dinner : )

Hi twinkleglint,

Not sure abt that. I was given 2 dates from a temple, one on 26 Sep 04 which is the best date and the 2nd best is 17 Oct 04. I wanted 26 Sep 04 (Sun) v m but was told by Juliana that it's taken. 17 Oct 04 (Sun) oso taken. So I choose 27 Sep 04 (Mon) or 18 Oct 04 (Mon). Was told that 18 Oct 04 was booked and 27 Sep 04 has a tentative booking. But Juliana did not promise to let me book 27 Sep 04 (even if the couple did not confirm but are just considering), she said that she will check with the couple who has made tentative booking on that date if they still want it and promise to reply me the next day. She indeed replied but told me that 17 Oct 04 was available cos the couple who was abt to sign the contract backed out. Dunno how true in that. Hence, I am not sure if u reserve a date it will not be confirm till u pay (think it depends on individual coord) but I do agree that those who wanna booked PP needs to act fast cos Juliana told me that almost all or in fact all weekends are booked oredi. Ya, I rem u said abt some unhappiness with PP due to the booking of date. So u finally decided to choose PP.

From my experience, I dun think they will release the tentative booking without telling you so maybe you dun have to worry so much. When someone interested in my tentative booking date, my coor called me and ask me whether can confirmed.

Heard that recently they very busy with the wedding show and so maybe you need to chase after your coor for the contract.

The perks that PP offer is quite standard and comprehensive so you just need to go through and see is there is anything else you need to request.
I would advise that you ask for something that you need rather than what others have. For example, you might need more wedding cards than what they offer so maybe you can request for 70% instead of 60%.

Delia is my coor and she can be reached at 68268248.

Hope it helps. ;)

I think i am a bit lost, what happen in the past about unhappiness regarding booking date?

Can help to refresh my memory?