Pan Pacific Singapore

hi icy,
you managed to get more day rooms or more rooms for your helpers to stay in at night?

i'm also in the midst of confirming PP for my dinner

Hi Icy,
But free flow of beer is a no-no for wkends leh. Tried so hard till I gave up! Also, wine waiver is impossible but managed to get a flat corkage but still cost me a bomb! sigh...any good lobang to get cheap and good wines like no more than $15?

Hi ooshi,
I totally agree with u cos Pauline told me the same that there may not be any weekend pkge during the fair. If there is, there is only 1 weekend avail for 2005 unless guests are lookin for 2006.

Hi furry,

Pauline is your coordinator? is she helpful coz i was thinking that mine's not so good ...but i guess coz i havent been able to communicate much with the coordinator hee you mean there is only one weekend left for 2005? hmmm so there will be perks for the weekend in 2005? but anyway i will still do it in 2006 06/06!!!
you signing up during the show?

furry, a friend of mine just had her wedding this last sunday and has 20 bottles red wines for sale. she bought for abt $38ea now looking to let go everything for $16ea. i can get her to mail u

Iso,
mine is old package so have day time helper room only.

furry,
just see what they offer u at the wedding fair. I got lobangs for wine.. but roughly $15 (excluding gst) is Eagle Hawk Cabernet Sauvignon.

anyone noe the payment mode for the whole wedding, i noe $3K for deposit and then the rst of it? after the wedding or what?
thks!

waa...no extra perks for the wkend??? Oh no, thats what the point of signing during the fair! Mine will be on 11/11/2006. Its a sat!

And heard there will be a increase of min $30/table for ocean ballroom package for 2006. There wun be any increase for pacific ballroom.

Hmm..now I'm wondering izzit worth to sign up with PP....anyone had spoken to Ivan Tan before??how is he like?He's the one handling my case, but that day he's not free, hence met up with Bonnie instead.

KSbride,
i dunno lah, just see the wedding fair, I had been to few wedding fairs and normally they will have extra perks for people who sign that day.

my coordinator is Ivan Tan.. he quite okie to me, pretty prompt and friendly. :D

hi KSbride.... wah ... your wedding 11/11/2006 i think you sign up this yr better so that you will be entitled to the old pricing ....
how you know that pacific ballroom got no increase? inside news? coz i was thinking of confirming the details before the show but ask for the perks of the show
any suggestions?

Hi ooshie, as I signed up long time ago, they did not ask for the 50%, just 3k deposit, the rest to pay after dinner i think.

Ooshie,
Bonnie told me they are unlikely to increase the price for pacific ballroom for 2006. Only ocean ballroom will be increase.

Duno will they allow us to secure the price for 2005 if I signup at the fair. Think the chances are slim leh..

I'm also thinking of confirming on the packages and perks before the show, so that I can decide if I wana attend. Cause if I'm attending, most probably will signup with PP liao. That why I requested Ivan to sent me the 2006 package asap when they got the pricing and also meet up with him before the show.

Hi KS,
But if they send you the 2006 package, will they insist that you confirm on that package instead? I'm trying to "confirm" my package asap, and have not seen the 2006 rates, so that they can't say they want to charge me 2006 rates cos i don't even know the new rates... does that make sense?

But is ur wedding in 2006? If yes, think they dun even let you book a date coz they didnt even release booking for 2006 in the first place.

When they are ready with 2006 pricing, then they'll start to accept booking for 2006 dates.

But if u are having ur banquet in 2005, ofcoz its more easy to negotiate for 2005 package.

Has anyone asked their coordinator about the charges for the stage to be setup in the centre?

How much will that be? Bonnie quoted such an exhorbitant price! I dunno whether she's trying to axe me...

hi KS,
if like that hor, then maybe i wait until the show to sign up coz i will be taking pacific ballroom .
coz i also most likely thinking of changing my date to weekday also ...
anyway if you do get the pacakge can you post the details asap i will do also when i get it ... see which coordinator more efficient haha i think they said like one week before the show

hi winnie ... how long ago is long ago ... coz if i can i was thinking of also not forking out the 50% first ... its stressful to be left poorer by so much .. haha wait i got no money to pay all the sisters and brothers ang pao

ooshie,
u taking Pac ballroom ah..so good...me like Pac ballroom alot..but I dun have so much tables...
..and the price....too high end for me liao..

who is ur coordinator?

hi KS,
my coordinator is ivan.
eh ... i got no choice leh coz my family got about 20 my FH got 20 then between me and FH got 15 haha cannot fit in leh i havent been able to see the whole set up for pacific but hopefully its okay coz i had a D&D there before but i dun remember it being so short in width leh ... do you noe if they did renos ?

Iso,
PP wun accept confirmation for yr 2006 if the 2006 pkg not released. When i looked for yr 2005 pkg in May 2004, they told us the price of yr 2005 pkg will b & allow us tentatively book the date in advance. They den arrange us for signing contract when yr 2005 pkg is released.

I have asked the coordinator whether i can start booking for my wedding in 2006 based on this year's rate but he says no...So i guess if really ocean ballroom is going to increase another 30 bucks per table for a 8 course dinner and not much freebies, I am starting to think whether it's worth it...It's seems like we r paying extra for the hotel's "name" only. By the way, how much are they charging for the corkage charges for wine?

OoshiE,
My payment is $3k deposit, the balance of the total bill is to post to room account and to be settled by credit card or cash upon check-out.
I made my payment on deposit ard end of Dec 2004.

hi jean
thanks for your info. hopefully like what KSbride said the prices wun increase for pacific ballroomi'm not sure about the corkage waiver for wine .... sorry

hi garfield,
thanks for the info think i will ask for the same thing also ...

Jean,
I have the same feeling. If PP really just increase the price per table and during the fair, no extra perks are given to weddings holding in wkend, guess it's really not that worth it liao.

Ooshie,
We are having the same coordinator. That time Ivan was not free, that's why we met up with Bonnie instead. Haa guess when I know the 2006 package, u shld also have gotten one at the same time.
Not sure if pacific ballroom was reno before. I just know they did quite a major reno to the area near pacific ballroom, which they now called it 'Atrium'.

garfield,
wah PP so strict! i had the impression from the few hotels that i've met with that if i could be confirmed enough they might let me have a 2006 date with the 2005 price... but i guess i never really went into advanced negotiations with all of them on this to confirm it.. if i'm kiasu enough to book so early, shouldn't they "reward" me? hee, just kidding...

icy,
I looking for yr 2004 pkg ard May, but my date is taken so i defer to 2005. Ard early Dec, JC told me 2005 pkg should b increase by $30 & the pkg details should b abt d same as yr 2004 except food menu & will send us pkg detail later. We tentatively booked the date & wait for him send us 2005 pkg detail. We got it 2 weeks later & signed up end of Dec 2004.

hi Maybride,
Are you taking Ocean Ballroom? I am looking at Ocean Ballroom with the stage to be set up in the centre and was quoted like $500 extra. Hahahah...so expensive.

ying,
huh!!?? so expensive ah. Likewise, I'm also looking at placing my stage in the center. Better view of the montage and highlights. No point paying so much for the slideshow and yet pple cannot really view from the other end. In that case, I will have to find alternatives... either no center stage or find my own projector and cable

garfield,
mmm. perhaps because that my ballroom is pacific ballroom so din increase price, i remember 2005 price increase to 2 times..

ying,
why so ex?? can get outside people to do and hence cheaper?

hi ying11,

ya i m taking the ocean ballroom. she quoted me the LCD projector alone already 450+++ (she added 3 pluses behind) and cable another 350+++. I thought this is absurd.. can add almost another table already!

yr package is the 2005 one?

she told me there'll be a centre stage set up this sat. so maybe i'll go down n see whether it's really worth the 800+++ top up...

hi ying,

some videographers / photographers will provide the projectot etc upon request leh .. you can try sourcing around first i think if you take their services they should be able to give these free..... 800+++ is absurb

hi maybride
wow, that price is really absurb !!!!
initially, my FH & i tot of having d stage at centre... now, if d cost is so HIGH, might s well give up... like wat u said, can have another table liao... at least, d extra table can still get back d angbao $$... d projector doesn't!
What a way PP is doing business !!!

hi all, for the montage contacts,
If you are interested, you can email Lynn at mod(underscore)[email protected] for more details. Just mention tat recommended by crystal. Just received the cd but file too big can't send out, sorry

Hi, ying11

Decided to pop into this thread and saw yr post about haveing to pay extra for centre stage setup. How come now like this? In my opinion, both setup are almost the same in terms of logistical and manpower usage. If u want to save cost, might want to source for yr own projectors and cables. Might be cheaper thatg way.

Hi, iso

PP will only let you block the date if bookings for 2006 are not released. Only when the rates for 2006, would your booking be confirmed. B4 that, any price increase is still applicable. That's what happened in my case when i was looking for jan 2005 package in aug 2003. at that time, ocean was $638, but rates for 2005 not out yet. Pestered them for it and they finally released the rates but with a $30 increase and no additional perks. Think it's a common practice for hotels to increase their rates annually, something like inflation

hi sean,
can check with you, that time did the rates for pacific increase? gosh, i so kan cheong to know the increase ... so that i can at least determine my budget and all that

Sean,
ya.. wat were the rates they gave u? i m going down to see the setup today and ask the events people how much they project it to be, see whether BT is trying to "kar" me.
They're already so stingy about their cards, then now like dat. so angry with them

btw, the marina renovation seems to be proceeding quite fast. Some of the barricades are down, dunno whether there'll be a more obvious link to pp. They stationed a security guard at the junction to direct people to pan pac.
The signs in the shopping centre are pointing in the wrong direction at the moment..

hi sean,

that makes sense! except for the inflation part - i've also heard the same story from other hotels, but anyone who knows inflation knows that the projected rate for inflation is only 2-3%, not (in your case) 4.7%. think hotels sometimes really all out to make as much money as possible from us... sigh!

checked out the rates for 2006 recently,minimum for ocean's around $798 for weekend, apparently they were mentioning that there's gonna be a huge increase for 2006 as they are planning to have 1 function per day, instead of using pacific and ocean ballroom consecutively..

hi chermin,
$798 for weekends is about $20 increase...quite okay right ... i mean its the stipulated 2-3% increase right? what you mean by one function a day ? is it that they will be making both ballrooms same price?