Pan Pacific Singapore

hie garfield,
ohhh.. i really like the pacific ballroom.. but the thing is my mil wants saturday and the min tables is like 50 tables.. too many..

issit true that pp will serve the portions to the guest?

ppgroom: ooooohhh when is your WD? can you share with me which package you took?

hi chomecc,

my AD's in early Jan 2005
and i took the thumbelina package.

yes, it is one waiter per table and they serve all dishes individually

i am thinking of only normal printing....so not worth it har? ok....thanks folks!

will check out PPgroom's recommendation!
But any contact number? how long will they take...gosh! my wedding is in early jan...nw super kancheong!

hi bubblegum,

can call Siew Ling from Hi-Tech. 6458 9455

very friendly lady.

forgot to add one more thing, some printers charge $10 for those icons to be printed (eg those Precious Moments icons), but Hi-Tech is FOC and you can have unlimited icons (but there's limited design to select from lor) to be printed on your inserts somemore!! (but of course put too many icon will make the insert look ugly la keke)

oops, forgot to add, they take 2 weeks for mine only. if you go to them in Dec still can make it, but then you'll be too busy by then lor...

hie ppgroom...

ohhh jan.. wow its coming really soon.. wahhh.. how are your preps? hope that everyting is well and in order.

oohh thumbelina??? which one is it?? i dwnload the packages from the net and which one is the thumbelina one? how many themes do they have? and how is the portion of the food?

just wanna check is it normal to pay for an extra headcount on top of the per table price if we need to have 11 persons to a table??

gigi,
normally will have to pay, else their portion might not be enough for that 11 pax, but if ur 11 pax is a child then can forget it, guess I will just add on a chair the last minute. :p

gigi

For my wedding, we hv almost equal no of tables of 11 n 9, actually request PP to waive of this charge if i inform them in advance. For those last min addition, we will pay. Note, last min addition might not hv the wedding favour.

In any case, the portion served shld be sufficient for 11, unless it's dishes like clams (pixie menu) where it's just 1 piece per person, if i'm not wrong. Anyway i hv my doubts whether PP really increase much food portion, just my tots.

i'll be attending wedding at PP this coming sun.
1+ mth after mine.

Hi Gigi, so long as yr guests are seated in the adult chairs and there are 11 chairs, you will need to pay for 11 persons. That's what Pan Pac coor. told me.

Only for child that sits on high chair, they won't be charging. If your child sit on adult chair, the child will be charge as adult price.

hi chomecc,

now collating guests lor... food tasting not yet over, but it's a 8 course, portion shd be ok cos i attended PP banquet before.

Thumbelina... how to explain to you leh?
i remember the first dish is the fresh prawn salad. the rest can't really remember offhand

Hi icy and ying, thanks for your replies...

Hi lynn,

i agree wif u in the portion part.. i asked ard my frens who are married before and they told me no charge even if adult... so i was a bit surprised when PP told me there's additional charge.. moreover, how do we determine if the food portion will be more? they may even mix up the dishes since all are the same.. hmm.. will talk to my co-ordinator again... btw, who's ur coordinator?

thanks...

hi Gigi

I feel that the hotels are trying to safeguard pple who hv taken advantage of 11th "FOC" pax. Imagine 10 such tables = 1 table loss for hotel.

My reasoning with my coordinator is that our table of 11 is not on deliberate, it's rather because of the no of 'frens' in a group, they would rather cramp together than be separated into 2 tables! In any case, we did wat we promised, to shuffer n arrange as much as possible in 10s. In the end only hv 1 table of 11, so i request PP to waive off. Did agree tot that any last min addition is chargable. Can't disclosed who's my coordinator, wait i kena 'chop'. Well if it's not too much, PP shld just waive.

hi lynn,

for me, guess there will only be 1 or 2 tables with 11 pax... i dun wish to put 11 too but no choice, with an odd one out of the group.. so have to put them together lor...

hi gig20,
juz met up wif the coordinator last night... they r still solving the pigs' issue... so at the moment still no update

Hi poohie,

solving the pork issue for your AD you mean? when's your AD?

for my coming food-tasting, PP told me confirm dun have pork, but for my AD, will have to see situation leh... cos i intend to change my first dish from fresh prawn salad to assorted cold dish (which have roast suckling pig). so for my food tasting, it'll be prawns liao.

Hi poohie,

Mine 100% confirmed dun have.. my AD on 12 dec.. both my co-ordinator and chef said shld not have even though i see one whole suckling pig at the next table while i was having food tasting.. think they dun wanna pay extra for it.. so i also didnt push much cos dun wanna fight over this issue also... did they give u alternative dishes?

Ah? Izzit? Have asked my coordinator last week when met up with her about this thingy. She told me not so sure. If there is no suckling pig, then she will inform us and replaced it with pacific clams. So far, have not heard from her yet. My wedding will be next week.

PPgroom,

yup... my dinner's on 13Dec.... the coordinator told us that they still solving the issue...
for the foodtasting also dun have pork for us... got a replacement, but dun really like it, so changing to pacific clam.....

gigi20,
the coordinator told us as above... we changing to pacific clam if there's still no pigs...

hie all.

went down to take a peek at the ballrooms yest.. the pacific ballroom is absolutely WOW!! i love it..
duno how will be the theme be next year though..
the only problem i have with pan pac is that they are renovating now and its a bit noisy

think i will have to consult them again ahh.. coz the pricelist for year 2006 is not out yet..

hie PPgroom,

ohh thats reassuring.. thanks
but can i check with you if they are only going to reno the foyer? coz i tot that the hotel is a bit old.. but food wise and ballroom wise.. nothing to say..

hi chomecc,

no idea leh... but from the looks of it, they are renovating the foyer and main lobby area lor...

I just had my food-tasting, my comment was -NICE!

now just need to concentrate on guest lists and a few other stuff

yup, but minor changes.. eg change the type of vege to be used, changed the sushi roll to fried chicken roll lor... i also changed my first dish totally...

my fish was steamed garoupa... ok lor... but a bit sweet...

btw, anyone had pacific clams in their cold dish? how was it? good?

cos i intend to change my prawn salad to cold dish, but there might not be any suckling pig, thus need to change that...

comments anyone?

hie..
just talked to the catering manager today.. sigh.. they are not open for year 2006 reservations yet and their prices are also not out yet. sigh

ppgroom,
is black garoupa hor? *blur* liao. :p

i see a lot of u saying not suckling pig? what was the reason har?

Hi all, can check wif all of u.
Any idea how PP will charge if the number of my muslim guests is less than 10?
I noe tat muslim table of 10 is same price as non-muslim, is PP going to charge for per head cost or pay the full amt for table of 10 even if my muslim guests is less than 10?

hi icy,

yup, it's black garoupa... not bad taste, quite fresh.

their reason was the price of pork too ex... what a reason for a 5 star hotel...

icy,

they say partly it's due to shortage of pork too... but i still see pork being sold EVERYWHERE leh... anyway, my coord say they will try their best to retain the suckling pig. we shall see...

your food tasting over?

Hi maybride,

thanks for the info. BTW, do u know if it is true that we need to pay Pan Pac 50% 1 mth bef AD?

Jamie

walau... what is PP doing???? another coord resigned???? somemore she's my coord.... with all these resignations, it is making PP look bad...

gigi,
wat!!! another one! she was my coordinator.. no wonder she seemed no bochap and keep passing everything to Kevin.

ying,
do we have to let them know in advance abt this request, else they dun hacve enough??