Orchid Country Club

I went to buy immediately this morn as I had made an appointment with OCC this afternoon to cfm the package. Just to make sure I get the better deal. haha..anyway, the promo is nothing much lah. more for solemnisation. i won't say it is exactly a promo..more like advertisement to me.

Just confirmed my package with OCC for 14 Oct. Im using the garden for solemnisation followed by dinner at the foyer beside it.

I saw the bridal suite, decor is normal but it is BIG! its basically the size of 2 rooms. one of which is used as the living room, with sofa, tv, table and chairs for eating or watever....and a mahjong table!

So far quite please with them as the person whom I deal with seems pretty flexible and pens down all my other requests, so that he can include them into the contract.

I went to OCC today as well, and saw both presidential bridal suit and normal bridal suit. Still, I dun like the furnishing as I prefer hotel's bridal suit (saw Merchant court & Raffles The Plaza and prefer Raffles best).

The price of the wedding package has rised. So has the deposit (to $4k)

Anyone has heard of any roadshow or any promotion coming up? Still finding ways to cut cost.

The sales staff are not customer service oriented (personal opinion).

i think the one i saw is the normal bridal suite? dunno what is the difference between the presidential and the normal.

I'm going for the menu 1 (cheapest). After +++ is alightly above 600. my deposit...is definitely not as high as yours leh? I think we spoke to diff person? shall not post my deposit amount here.

i find occ package is quite value for $. I've been to some other places like legends, amara...also got quotations from gwp, carlton, conrad etc. all quite ex and seems pretty inflexible in their packages.

So far, quite fine with the person i spoke to from occ.

congrads to the new brides of OCC!!!

hmmm... From so many weddings I have help to run or attended, OCC service is considered v good le.
Everything provided for.... projector, sound system so good (sure no cork up type) etc... whats more can we expected at that good price

The person we liase with also provide good service and flexible.

Hey, even some good hotels do nt provide such good facilities and sound system... dun want to say too much la... to us, march in is of great importance... we dun know sound delay or wat wat to happen lor :P
kekeke...

Hello gals,
agree with rabbit regarding service. for mi i found that everything was very good, sound system was the best so far i have gotten, the technicians were oso very helpful and i get to go down one of the days to test for as long as i liked. even provided ffedback to us as in what should we use, DVD, MP3 in order to get the best march in.

our coord was very flexible as i only confirmed mi menu the last min, a wk bef, plus we act had a lot of demands made to them.
When we told them about service, on our AD itself the staff was concerned that we will find the service substd and assured us that everything would be done properly.

ribena, dun thk they might have any rdshow coming up, tot there was a bridal show done no too long ago. last yr, they didnt even have any during mi preps for AD. maybe regarding the deposit, u can discuss with ur coord and neg with them as 4 K is quite high compared to the previous amount.

i got the suite as GCY said, act i thk that is the presidential suite that they gave us. it was huge. still thk the decor is quite ok sicne i didnt really get to enjoy the facilities and room for the nite. dim really mind regarding the rm decor. usually they might upgrade to the presidential one if there is no one using it for ur AD.

nt trying to compare la...
Even rasa sentosa cant beat OCC for its facilites (no projector) sound sytem nt v good plus no spot light on the couple when march -in...Food nt as nice as OCC's :P

*hi five* pierced
how's life after marriage?

hi rabbit...yup guess we juz commenting on the various hotels too...
ididnt like rasa too when mi fren got married there.
some hotels dun even provide projectors foc...

life aft marriage still the same... hee... back to routine wk too...
so u still travelling a lot?

hi rabbit...yup guess we juz commenting on the various hotels too...
ididnt like rasa too when mi fren got married there.
some hotels dun even provide projectors foc...

life aft marriage still the same... hee... back to routine wk too...
so u still travelling a lot?

OCC is country club, hence it is under different category with the hotels. Can we hear any comparison with the country clubs like Raffles Country club?

Anyone can share the promotion details on Her World Brides? Which issue and any expiry date?

It will be good if someone can scan me a copy of it. Thanks.

raffles deco nt as good as OCC... go check out the grandball room

plus raffles needs member endoresem to hold wedding there wor... OCC much open

anyway if u r particular abt facilites like parking, sound system etc, then bettter to consider more on OCC...
OCC is where many ministers and ministry holds their functions regularly... their facilites cannot afford to have happening :P

Pierced, me good good lor...
Flying ar... because of the thai land chaoz, trip delayed... so perhaps from nx mth bah

ribena, i attended a wedding at RTC too bef, but i dun really find the food very gd. oso the chevrons club which is supposedly under gim tim.
plus the ballroom is nt as impressive. mi frenz were saying the march in was too short and ballrm not as big.
that's one of the considerations when we pick OCC, coz a lot of govt functions held there.service should be up to par.
wont have chances of running out of glasses and so on like i attended on at a rest. hee...

rabbit, ic..ic...good that trips are postponed. better to play safe first. enjoy in Sin first.
wonder howz matt nw? wifey should be giving birth soon rite?

glad to see some good comments about occ. I haven get down to plan the detailed programme yet. Anyone has got any recommendations?

Im thinking of doing away with the yam seng...but dunno what to replace it with. Mostly likely will be engaging a band kinda. anyone has any interesting ideas to share?

Hi GCY, what kind of programme rec u looking for??

mine was juz the so-called normal wedding march in.
act i got a few ideas fr the technician when i went for mi sound sys test. there's act a staircase by each side of the front entrance, where the sound room is, so i thk a couple act walked down the sides of the stairs. maybe u can do that with the band playing?

instead of yamseng, u can juz do a toast with 'cheers'. but maybe get hte band to play a song, or sing.

im looking at solemnisation at 6.30pm at the garden. Im having my dinner in the foyer, not the ball room. So its more open concept. then prolly 6.45 start cocktail reception till 7.30. try to start dinner proper by 7.45 to 8pm. this is just the skeleton....thinking of replacing yam seng with sth else..

hi GCY and rabbit >> may i know who's your co-ordinator?? I have not really discuss the details with OCC yet.

Btw, sorry for the confusion caused abt the promo tingy. Tot its a promo ... GCY's right tt it looks like an ad.

Hi huey, thk that's an ad that advert free flow isit?
mi coord trevor. he's quite helpful wif things. and he waived off our corkage charge for wine totally when we guaranteed one more barrel of beer. but since they advertising free flow, can try to neg for free flow if u havent discuss any details yet.

mine is Andrew. Looks quite fatherly to me. hahahaha... my corkage also waived and will get one barrel of beer free (this is in the std package i think). haven decide whether to take their wedding cards or not. he will advise us of latest design as the date draws nearer.

For favours, I found one i like a lot from outside. So i think I will exchange for sth else. I saw this kit kat wrapped with very nice personalised wrappers. Each at $0.75. Decided not to get those gifts as mostly will end up in the bins...at least choc still can eat. hahaha..

andrew is the banquet mgr so he's able to decide on hand what can be given.

so if u be taking the favors from somewhere else, will be able to neg for something else like another barrel of beer? coz the favors oso cost $$ mah, herd fr another bride from another club act did this.

oh ya, if any of u bride to bes need extra invitation cards, i do have a pile of unused ones that i took.

he mentioned to me that can exchange for something else or rebate. i intend to exchange for a wedding arch leh. i am not having a big size dinner, so maybe will not exchange for beer. but the favours wun cost as much as beer bah i think?

The price of the wedding package has been increased. I had met OCC rep at last yr end, due to no confirmed date, OCC discouraged us to put deposit. Now we have a confirmed date, but the price has increased. We tried to appeal to Andrew but in vain. Duno how else can we appeal. Did anyone manage to revert back to the last yr pricing? Can share with me?

GCY, u mean the arches are not included in ur package. tot it should come with the decor. depends on how many favors u act are entitled to have coz a barrel is ard $500, and favors act considered ard $2-2.50 per pc lei if follow the market rate. so maybe u can ask for something else since u not intending to get beer.

usually packages will increase yr to yr, same like hotels.so if u wana cfn, u have to do it for the yr's pricing otherwise they will follow the stipulated one. maybe try negotiating again to try ur luck. Andrew is the banquet mgr so dunno if u can try asking the rest of the coords. coz usually they will refer to him.

Increase another $10 (weekday) to $20 (weekend) per table which means at least $400 to $800 for the Grand Ballroom.

I understand that the prices will adjust yearly, but it is unfair to me since I already expressed my interest last yr end. Just about 2 months later, I have to pay another $800 (not including the 10%, 1%, 5% taxes) or almost $1000 (after taxes).

Anyone can help on how to revert to the old pricing? Or I can speak to Andrew's boss? I just want to stick at the old pricing!

pierced, yah arches not included. only got the std flower decor along the red carpet and on the stage.

but he also not charging me extra for additional chairs and tables in the garden for my solemnisation...

anyway, how much does an arch usu cost?

the wedding favour i'm looking at is only $0.75/piece. its kit kat with personalised wrappers. very nice.

whao i think i bet reconsider whethe worth to choose OCC with this increase in price. prob i shld look at nett price hotel packa

ribena i strongly fel u shld talk to the head. they shld giv u the privileg since u alrdy expres interest n on the verge of placing deposit. if lik he tel u b4 hand, but u dun 1 put deposit, then u cant fight but tis case seems u can lor

i dunno how much u 1 OCC? worst cm to worst go other places lor

ribena, ya quite unlucky that they dun allow u too, but i thk they did have this thing abt placing deposit first. dun even have temporary booking of date first, muz immed place deposit.

GCY, no too sure how much an arch usually cost but can ask them roughly how much it is charged usually first or check out some florists too. the favors sound very cute, where did manage to get this fr?

acct depends on how u feel abt OCC, coz i feel that even wif the increase itz still quite worth while coz the standard is act quite gd but depends on individuals as some may not like the idea of paying so much for a club dinner. guess there's pros and cons as some other hotels dun have the spaciousness of OCC's ballrm.

pierced, i found from yahoo auctions. the seller has a website of its own too. they have other favors too.

abt the issue on price increase...well, i dunno what was last year pricing. personally, i felt its a pretty good deal already, as compared to those better known hotels. Unless u want to compare to restaurants kind...

at least, it solved several of my problems. i wanted something outdoor..yet many popular outdoor venues are expensive and requires marquee, hence even more expensive! but at occ...i can do it at their foyer and garden.

other outdoor venues are also very limited in the no. of ppl that it can accomodate. but with occ's foyer, im not!

then compare to hotels...occ can exchange wedding cards and favours for other things...or even rebate..hotels cannot! at least the few i asked cannot...

liddat loh...

rainbow, i noe i should talk to the head. but who's the head? I know andrew is a manager. heard trevor is another manager (tt means they are peer?) i dun feel like talking to andrew as everything like cannot one. sian already - inflexible. so who is their head?? can someone pls enlighten me???

do occ hold wedding show/fair every year? if yes, maybe can wait till then.

Ribena, i believe trevor's either under andrew who's in charge, if i didnt remember wrongly.
should be andrew who's in charge of banquet but maybe under the whole F&B section.
sorry, cant really help u out on who's the head as I dealt mainly wif trevor only for mi dinner. maybe u should give a call to OCC to enquire str away on who u can tok to.

they may not hold wedding shows every yr. the yr i signed up they didnt have any at all. problem is even if they hold a wedding show, they will prob only throw in certain perks, they will still follow that yr's pricing coz of inflation.

actually i think if you really like the place so much....instead of getting so unhappy about it..just pay a bit more loh..no point getting so upset about it.

i just feel things do go both ways. the more u piss them off, the more they wun wanna be flexible to u. maybe instead of fighting so hard for the price...try fighting for other additional perks loh..

Hi pierced,

Can see you are actively supporting our OCC. I am back in to look see look see. I have been busy recently with work and coming arrival of my little princess.

Hi new brides,

Congrats on choosing OCC or in the midst of choosing one. I had mine last year and it was wonderful. No complaints and gave the THUMBS UP!!!

Matt

Hello ladies

If u check out other hotels, the price is also going up by a lot too... so its a trend...

Like so of them have say, if u like the place jus go for it as long as its within ur budget

Me n hubby like OCC a lot... tt is our one n common choice. Cos its like no other de lor

While reading, some one says want to exchange for arch? is it for the ballrm? Last time I commented this, the wedding person told me its no longer trendy to go for it le... of course if u like it... u can fight for one

hi art9,

yah my wife to be wants an arch. we are not holding the dinner in the ballroom. im having my solemnisation in the Tee Garden and followed by the dinner at the Foyer.

GCY, can u email mi the website which u got the favors fr? helping mi fren to source for it too.
thanks! [email protected]

thk the arch would be nice if in the garden for solemnisation or walk in...
u wil be the first here to have this foyer dinner.

Hi Jillian,

I don't have a lot of additional perks, just that they waived corkage (no. of bottles = no. of tables i have). flexibility to exchange or rebate wedding cards and favours. complimentary VIP carpark labels, no additional charges for chairs and tables for solemnisation...the rest of the things quite std...

Pierced,
http://auctions.yahoo.com/sg/auction/88614537

They told me to order 1 mth in advance. and can personalise the designs. I will cfm as my date draws nearer.

i think u can send a request at their website for the latest package. the stuff are pretty standard. the exact package details will depends on what u want and talk to them directly to see if they can give it to you loh...

anyway, what are the nicer dishes? i think i heard about the chicken in crispy rice...im taking the yam ring too...is the spinach nice? dessert im going for yam paste

Hi GCY, thanks a lot for the webby

jillian, like GCy said, the perks are pretty standard but they do include almost everything inside it so u dun have to neg much, only the no of corkage btls waived off, favors, rm nites etc.

GCY, the nicer dishes , heh heh, act we have discussed it bef, we love the yam dishes like what u took,yam paste is lovely!
the crispy roasted garlic chicken is very good, the spinach was good, no muddy taste like some restaurants and i love the mushrooms that go with it. i tried the crispy cereal prawns and the herbs prawns bef, both are quite gd too.
the red star grouper in soya sauce was gd as well.
main thing was no complaints from mi guests and everyone said that the portions are really really big, cannot finish for 10 pax.

hmm, my dad also say garoupa. but i take the cheapest package, no garoupa, dunno can change or not? else i'll settle for promfet.

the F&B mgr advised mi bef that if u pick promfret might be not an acceptable fish for everyone as it has a particular taste, oso, itz not as meaty as other fishes. what are the other fishes in ur package?
u can change the fish in ur menu, but u hafta check witht he coord regarding price of each table then.