Orchid Country Club

Good morning ladies

I have not seen the little bear yet but compare to chocolate, of course, bear bear la

For wedding cards, like not much change from the last time tt we saw. Nice or not huh... the ivory ones nicer but we know our parents a bit traditional so we chosen the red ones. Also not bad

The insertion we printed with the same printer as where OCC get their cards from. Its easier
costing wise very reasonable.

The Golden thread, Jellytots, I ask them to do it for us so will not hv extra. Its 300 over cards we are talking about here. Since the thread plus labour cost is $0.10, plus I dun think we got the time to do all these, thus ask them to do. Total we spend less than $150 for everything with normal print. By the way, u wan to tie the cards urself or u using for other things. Even u get from outside, I think its not so expensive. Try the big florist

Will update you all with the food tasting

yo pierced... i know but bery sound so sad like seperate the couple like tat... here we celebrate our wedding then the favour is so lonely... so contradicting leh...

yo rabbit.... okie lor... oh i need the strings for other use lah... so dun1 2 spent those $$ to buy lor so think of getting fm ppl ard here and there lor... so which printer did u use hur...
oh dun get wat u mean leh... wat nbr see the bear.. i thought u changing fm bear to the pot purrie rite...

Jellytots,

U read wrong la... i say bear has replaced pot purrie. Last time when they show us was pot purrie u see

Understand ur need for thread
but say u not enough then get from big florist loh. Cheaper

Printer use is the same as OCC card printer: Ad Focal at Ubi.

Hi Evon,

Saw gin's PS pix liao....heehee....such task must act fast else miss it den cry....hahaha

WOW u MTM EG huh? Any chances to see it boh?
So end up with which BS huh?

Hi rabbitwsk,

Can u give us the contact of the printer from OCC?
Can I do without insert where I print on the card itself???? I hate insert leh....I would prefer one card alone.....

Hi Jatling

Its very simple card, a 'XI' word inside a heart shape made of orchid mofit in front of the card. Comes with red envelop.

Aiya, the time of your wedding maybe the cards change liao

Hi Jatling,
hahaha....ok ok...

Most likely going to MTM but I duno when will it be done cos I will be goin only this friday...BS i will send u via email

Hi Everyone

Just realised they have an bridal fair last sunday...it wasn't advertise publicly so many of us din know..happen to know on another thread line.wat a good chance to miss to enjoy the special rate at the bridal fair.

I just went to see their setup, no arch flowers at the grand ballroom leh.my understanding is if u want, have to request .but bear in mind that it comes form the yishun lake garden resturant..u can view the arch from the outside of the restaurant.i think they will remove the arch for the second entrance buggy ride.

flowers along the aisle are real flowers, can chose frm differnet color of roses, accompanied by white lighted candles at the sides.there will be 6 pedestial column along this long aisle,with three on each side. the aisle will take abt a minute to reach the stage if you march normally.

they have a huge cake, abt five tier tall, taller than normal human height at the right side of the stage(if u see from the entrance directions).it's a dummy cake but they will give u a real fruit cake at the end of your function. they also have a four tier champagne fountain near the podium area.

the table cloth color is different for bride n groom family.can chose from red or ivory color. crockery use is those normal chinese ware and the centrepiece is floating candles.menu card is big.only Vip tables have pews tied around alternate seats.others just white cover seats.

their first fanfare was great.they will turn off the light and in total darkness, they will get their banquet staff to walk down the aisle with the first course, then the captain will perform the fire torch on the stage..very grand feeling.

heard that their wedding favors change every quarterly,wat u see now may not be wat u get when yr times comes.their stage decor change only once a yr when they renewed their decor supplier.

hope all these info helps in those planning to have yr banquet here..

oh ya...teo got any discounts or perks not on dat day of bridal show?
if have, all of us will bang our heads and regret missing it. hehe..
jatling, i saw the cards they provide the other time. not bad, even the red ones.
but for us 2005 brides, heard from the sales that the stuff they show might change. like favours and cards and they say most likely the guest bk since itz quite ugly now.
rabbit, the bear is really quite cute. comparable to wad other hotels give. hehe but like wad jelly say, so sad to separate them up.
so i guess nx yr we need to request to see all the stuff like favours and decor again since now wad we view is for tiz yr.

yo pierced... maybe we shall keep on tell them not nice ask them to change... maybe they might take our feedback into consideration... just jelly wishful thoughts

Yoho Teo......

WOW great info and very details as well......thks for it and let me really understand the whole banquet details........

Rabbitwsk,
Ok thks for ur info.....I shall check with Andrew again next year which is more accurate.

Jean

Just for laughs...

I attended a wedding at OCC 2 mths ago, the waiters there were mostly schoolboys on vacations.

The particular waiter serving our table was so bad that his manager kept yelling at him through his walkie talkie 'WAKE UP YOUR IDEA!' etc...which amused us greatly....and his hands were trembling as he tried to serve the food...

The last straw came at desert, we had almond jelly which is like a huge chunk of the almond jelly with longans and fruit cocktail floating around. After he did the servings, everyone was saying 'How come my bowl got no almond jelly?' We looked into the big bowl, the whole almond jelly was intact, he served us only the fruit cocktail!!!

wow yuuri.... bet u must hv enjoy ur dinner tat nite.... with all the jokes and laughter... btw... care to comment on the food and svc as well as the embiance... can....

yup yup jelly, we should try and see wad we do not like n tell them.den nx yr we can get those things that we like. hehehe...

hi yuuri, that sounds so terrible. luckily, the waiters did not spill anything over the guests like wad happened during mi frenz wedding somewhere else. yes yes...like jelly, i wana know if the food there is fine.

Hi Jelly and Pierced,
IMO, the food was not bad (but later heard that the waiters served the vip table food to our table by mistake)....place looks grand and atmosphere is good!

Hi Teo

Food was good (execept for the Herbal chicken... anyway, we have changed) and portion was huge... i think 12 person serving man
Not to worry... and I chk w Andrew and the captain to confirm that the portion will be the same as the AD.

Parents and sblings like tt pl a lot... everyone was very happy that day.

Also tested their sound system and it was great! Tested also my photo montage... I believe I will have a beautiful wedding there.

Hey all, glad to have some action in here again.
juz paid up mi deposit last wk....$$$ gone...
Rabbit, great to hear the fd is gd.
ur menu izit the $538 one?

ok, got a qn for u guys, so how do u go abt changing the items or contacting them aft u have handed in the contract? like for example, if u decide to have things in the menu changed? coz i neva did request anything yet for menu change. or do we hafta wait til nx yr to arrange? forgot to ask Trevor on dat.

Ok jelly, u can oso add mi BS in liao as 'Mr and Miss wedding club'.( sounds a bit 'cheena though')
Rabbit, i popped into Dang dat day but didnt commit.
then when i walked along Tanjong pagar, signed up wif tiz new BS. seems like they gonna offer mi tiz photog fr 'In wedding' Prof Tan.

wow pierced.... the BS name so special one hur... so where isit located and how much ur package

aiyo... i also duno leh... cos i nbr bother abt the menu lor... other things i request them to send me email as black and white lor... other then tat think they will onie entertain u when ur AD coming lor... i think onie lah...

Hey jelly, mi BS is at tanjong pagar. The package is 2888. supposed to be some opening special.

i oso neva bother abt contacting them. so juz wondering when u want to change those things on the contract aft u paid up, wad u hafta do?

oh pierced... tats quite a good package so is all MTM or OTR... how many pix....

hmm... duno leh... think still too long way to discuss so many things with them leh... think they dun bother to entertain us also leh...

yup,jelly,quite a gd deal as mi WG n EG both MTM. I thk they said something abt using our pics as samples so they throwing in ROM package as well for free. I thk the pics are the normal amt of 20.

heh heh anyway both our AD nx yr, so when itz time, we can discuss on it again.

yo pierced... okie okie... i will remember to update the chart when i go back office on mon....

glad tat u hv fine a good BS lor... yap yap we can discuss more again...

Hi guys... newbie here... I just want to find out if those that took up the OCC Ballroom packages are happy with their services?

I have recently approached one of the sales exec but am not particularly impress by their "bo-chap" attitude, the type of "you want take, dun wan done" kind. It has also been 3 weeks since I heard from them. Have you guys experienced this before?

We really like to hold it there but am dishearten by their lack of enthusiam. Anyone has a contact to whom I can talk to? Would appreciate it very much.

Thanx

Hi Jay

Welcome to the thread

I m going to have my wedding in Oct! So far very happy with their service cos they are flexible and some of the impt things can be negotiable lei
Overall we feel good working w him, but at times, his reply for our mail is a bit slow... still its ok as its no more than 2 days

Who is ur Ex? Mine is Andrew
If u hv not sign anything, maybe can jus call or email him to talk to him

If u need his contact, can write to me at [email protected]

<table border=1><tr><td>Nickname</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>No of Tables+Reserve</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>AD Video&amp;Photographer </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rabbitwsl</TD><TD>24 Oct 04</TD><TD>40+2</TD><TD>Dang Bridal</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Evon</TD><TD>12 Dec 04</TD><TD>55+2</TD><TD>Popular Honeymoon</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Matthew</TD><TD>22 Jan 05</TD><TD>40+2</TD><TD>Golden Horse Awards</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Teo</TD><TD>24 Jan 05</TD><TD>40+2</TD><TD>U Bridal</TD><TD>Focuspoint </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jatling</TD><TD>29 May 05</TD><TD>60+2</TD><TD>In Wedding</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jellytots</TD><TD>11 Sep 05</TD><TD>40+2</TD><TD>Z Wedding</TD><TD> Mirage Picture &amp; Yew Kwang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pierced</TD><TD>17 Dec 05</TD><TD>40+2</TD><TD>Mr &amp; Miss Wedding Club</TD><TD>-</td></tr></table>

yo jay... think they are quite busy and u cant wait for them lor... so who ur coordinator btw.... u got to email them lor... if not think hard to get them on phone lor... well so far mine still okie... hope u wont be dishearten by tat... looking forward 2 see u joining our family... so hv u set ur AD already...

yo rabbit... u so happy hur... post so many smiling face... so hws ur wedding preparation getting on...

Hi Jay, so far everything is fine wif them la. in the beginning I tot i faced the same prob in getting the person to contact but datz coz they are act quite bz wif their events. mine's Trevor and he's quite helpful. like jelly says, u gota email them instead. much beta than calling them. hope u have a better experience...

Hi rabbit, jellytot and peirced,

Thank you for your feedback. I believe in first impressions, especially from a sales person. If they do not even show interest to a potential customer, how can we expect them to even follow thru to the end. Yes, I have emailed to them, called them and left them messages, but still...... :^)

I have approaced other venues and they have been very helpful and very open to negotiations. Only reason why OCC appeals to us both is the settings and of coz the buggy ride... :-). OCC was our first choice and would really love to have it there but sad to say, if they do not buck up, I will definitely change.

I heard that Regent is an excellent place. Their co-ordinators plans everything for you. Bit more pricey but think might be worth.

Anyhow, thanx for the recommendations, hope to join the family too.

sorry jellytot, which coordinator are you referring to? Regent... i need to get the name from my friend. But from what i hear... its part of their focus to the customer... As for OCC, I would prefer not to say... as i would still like to have it there

yo jay no worry... i also use to encounter similar problems like u... but think okie already cos i hv already sign contract... and now no need to check with them anything until later stage near to my AD lor... okie... u consider probably lor... anyway feel free to ask help fm us if we can offer lor...

yo rabbit... hmm... can tell me the exact place of ur OD PS hur... cos now my friend is gog to hv hers ask me where got nice nice place to go lor...

yo evon... how u... seem busy hur... got drop u email leh... got time reply me okie... hv u taken ur PS already... if yes where did u go for OD hur...

hey there ladies,

long time no see.. I have been with hse reno, furniture buying and business lor. Correct or not rabbit??

How are wedding preparations for everyone so far? Mine is just 4 mths away but I have confirmed my photographer oredi...

Matt

Hello Matthew

Indeed u long time no come here talk... Correct la... u busy for ur good future mah

Hey, if u need photo montage lobang, i hv lei... u know where to write to la hoh ...

Hey Matt, guess u muz hv been really bz. wow 4 mths more...luckily mine still long way in dec nx yr, so can afford to sit back n relax.heh...

hey Jay, hope everything will wk out for u n join us here..
like jelly say, ours settle liao so dun really hv to contact them til nearer to AD

Hey rabbit, since got photo montage lobang, hmmz can share. mi fren act offered to help out but dunno if can be produced.haha...

oh ya, the photog u guys post up is for ur PS rite? so wad abt ur actual AD? u guys get a pro or friends to do it?

Good morning pierced,

Can leave your email so that I can send you the contact that I have enagaed... both on photo montage and AD photographer

Hi Evon,

According to OCC checklist is 3mths before ur wedding to collect invitation card. But den I think u hv to be @ least one mth ahead to look @ their card 1st.....so to day 4mths before ur wedding?

Me also headache abt outdoor venue..need somewhere special....not so common leh.

Hi matt
What montage lobang u hv huh? keke......
For me i DIY leh......

jatling..

I am around 3.5 months to the wedding and haven't taken a look at the invitation cards la. We will take a look as the time comes nearer.

For mine, photographer is a professional and got it through my wife. He only does professinal shoots but helping my wife as a favour la.

Still thinking abt videographer, contemplating whether to have it or not la.. PS for mine is next mth on the 8th.. Decided on one venue and left one more to think of.

so matt.. so fast hur ur turn also coming soon... hmm... still remember tat time we still chatting to finalise which hotel or resturant... now u onie hv 3.5 months left... so where hv u decided to go for OD PS... care to share...

hee rabbit, txs a lot!
here's mine email: [email protected]

jelly itz def diff to thk abt OD places to go. seems like mostly the common ones ppl go to onli.
unless rich enuf to pay to go overseas to take. haha.. so mebe we shld do up a list of OD places to hehe..