Orchid Country Club

piggylover

emy, u mean wat to do list. issit for wedding preparation??

restless, gd tat u reserve le. it is gd to make book early, especially fall on those peak date.
yup!! im hav free flow of beer for my BQ. function room pkg come wit it?

restless_sian

i mean the package they give u..not bad got function room oso... i try to ask for free beer but they say cannot,need to top up for free beer..

hai forget to ask them for ROM room.

piggylover

hi restless, oic. my pkg do include free flow of beer. frm wat i can see in the pkg only wkend fuction in grand ballroom entitle, wkday do not include de.

im getting the room beside the foyer for my ROM before BQ start. u can request n discuss with them de. rem everything mention n agreed must b indicate inside ur contract, avoid unnecessary issue aft tat.

restless_sian

okok thank alot. i have tok to her liao anyway she say will fight for mi the function room for my Solemnization and Complimentary food testing..

piggylover

hi restless, food testing cannot? hmm.. so they charging u 1 full table or special dicount?

i didnt go vivo le, dont wanna go too crowned places nw, dont like BS pull u in n talking non stop. hehe..

sorry.. i oso 4get my WC le. cos 1st time they assign a chinese lady but later change to a malay gentleman. gotta chk my mail den can rem. hehe.. i chk den let u knw.

restless_sian

ok ya they give mi 50% off for 10 ppl

anyway u book ur BS..? juz wanna check wif you for outdoor shooting they normally give how many outfit..?

piggylover

restless, 50% sound still ok de.

yup yup!! booked my BS in 2007, im with Bridal concept.
hmm..hw many outdoor outfit? it is depend on ur pkg included de. for mine, im having total 5 outfit (for studio hav 3 set: 1 AD WG, AD EG, 1 their in-house + for outdoor having 2 sets: 1 outdoor WG & 1 outdoor EG). u can bring ur own outfit if wan.

restless_sian

oic okok. coz i happen to c mine n i saw i got 3 outdoors location but onli one outfit.. dun u feel stupid. therefore i call them up n check n they say normally is come wif 1 outfit after talking they say nvm de, tat is not a problem to have more outfits...

wendycsk

Hi, i just went to OCC today to meet up with Serene to show me the ballroom. Both of us love the high ceiling and spacious ballroom. This is teh first ballroom we have seen as we just decide the date. I check with a number of hotel and our dates are hot in Jan 2010! I am overall pleased with Serene's attitude and besides i will be checking with PinSi as Gim Tim have now separated into two. =) My bf's mum wanted the best food for the banquet. I am in dilemna now.. seems like we only have 32 tables so far.. =( I have not yet neg with serene, cos i am checking the package from outside caterer.

piggylover

hi restless, hmm.. diff BS pkg is diff de. like for mine actually is 1 WG outfit only but im having nite shoot so i hav got 2 outdoor outfit. if nt indoor i will hav 4 outfit le, it is depend hw u n ur BS wan it to b arrange de. which BS u wit?

hi wendy, welcome joining!! im having the same problem as u when we firstly sign up with OCC. my FIL wan to get outside caterer to cook. i had discuss with OCC before too, the cost indeed is too high as compare with their pkg offer. they will chrg u renting of their venue only, forget other den service staff, drink n place to cook like nt included. so u gotta ask them n caluate the cost if u can accept it. OCC banquet for grand ballroom are prepare by the chinese restaurant chef downstair, they will cook at the ballroom kitchen.

restless_sian

piggylover>> my BS is golden house lor.

Hi weddy>> for OCC caterer is Peach Garden n as i heard their Regur. food is not bad.. maybe u can ask ur in-law, go to their regur. to dine-in and try their food.. to save more cost...

piggylover

hi wendy, dont mention abt it! do compare n discuss wit them ya!

hi restless, GH at yishun, MS or Tampines? hehe.. always passby their yishun shop as my frez is staying ard there.

tulipmelody

Hi wendy, i tink u should consider abt pin si becoz they are taking over the restaurant at yishun safra. Think the new restaurant at safra will be open in apr 09, the old restaurant at yishun central will cease operation in dec 09.

ryanmel

Hi wendy,
When is your AD in jan 2010?

Cos im planning my AD to be in Jan 2010 too.

Why jan 2010 is such a hot date?

wendycsk

Hi tulips, my in-law keep saying that too... but we like OCC Grand ballroom.. and i am thinking of putting all overseas relatives at the resort hotel.. =) We will be neg with the pinsi boss once he is back from overseas cos i think after counting we only got 30 odd tables.. Sad! Hopefully, we can hold there.. Most of the hotels are booked and i didnt see any that catch my eyes.

Hi Ryan & Melissa (ryanmel) , my AD is on 16th Jan 2010, how about yours?

ryanmel

wendy,

We have not 'calculate' our dates yet,
the temple has not open for the calculations yet.
Got to wait till after lunar mid 2nd month.

We plan to held our dinner at Peach garden
restaurant itself...

Cheers, Melissa

wendycsk

Hi Ryan & Melissa (ryanmel), hehe.. Oic.. Hope to recieve good news from you.. Peach Garden food is not bad, i tried it last week. =)

wendycsk

hi piggylover.. ya.. i didnt realise it was a hot date till i find most hotels are booked.. hehe.. Where your fren will be helding at? where is yours?

piggylover

hi wendy, last time heard from him is FRF but nt sure if settle le. mine is 26 Dec 09, 1 mth earlier. normally gotta make booking much more earlier like 1yr 9mths. haha.. singapore wedding gotta b KS. :p

dur30cat

Piggylover, no need to worry about my request. My hb's friends already emailed us some lists of things to look out for when planning actual day.

We confirmed our wedding venue and bridal package in just 2 days. So now can just chill a bit and work on the invite list.

tulipmelody

wendy> u can try to nego with OCC regarding the min table requirement. I have spoken to one of their sales personnel some time ago, she told me tat as long as i confirm 35 tables she will allow me to use the grand ballroom.

piggy> my wedding is actually one month b4 urs :p 26 nov 09

piggylover

hi Emy, great to hear tat. congrat on settle 2 task le. when u having ur pre-wedding PS?

hi wendy, haha.. ya lor. gotta b really KS being a bride. not only in s'pore, just got to knw from another frez tat she is looking for ur same AD in KL, all venue fully book n even MUA too.

im holding my wedding dinner at OCC grand ballroom.

hi tulips, wow.. we r just 1 mth diff. hehe.. so u hav settle most of ur thing too?

hi restless, MS is new outlet. very nice too! Pre-wedding PS is in MS or yishun?

solemniser u nd to book 3mths in advance. example ur AD, earliest u can book fall on 16 Oct 09. u can chk in ROM website, there is indication of the info. guess outdoor or in their premise there is diff, i gotta read through more 1st. hehe..

wendycsk

Hi piggerlover, hehe... that is nice to hear.. i am looking forward to see your photos!! =) I better inform my bridal studio on my date fast!

tulipmelody

hi piggy, tink i m the most slag one here... will be going to MBR for gowns selection next wk end. as for dinner venue, most prob will be at pinsi at yishun safra.

piggylover

hi wendy, hehe.. mine still early nw. real excited!!

hi tulips, no no.. u nt slag le. at least u hav already got ur appt wit ur BS le. u r nt having at OCC??

tulipmelody

piggy>>> hubby have not decide on where he wan it yet... but we will be choosing either OCC or safra coz our parents place and our new place are all in yishun and 90% of his relatives are also living in yishun

piggylover

restless, dont worry both branch hav got lot of nice nice gown. my htb frez was ex-groom there too, pic are nicely taken.

wendy, decor staricase? hmm.. dont tik so. the staricase look already very nice le, not sure if OCC provide the decor there. shd talk to them again n keep u update ya!

tulips, wow.. tulips we r staying north area. hehe.. me n my htb stay in sbw n most of his frez n relative staying this area too. another reason for chosing OCC as our wedding venue.

wendycsk

piggylover. me too. most relatives staying in north thus choose OCC.. =) Besides, i really love that place.. Relaxing mood compared to city..

piggylover

wendy, wow.. we are sharing the same idea & thots too! hehe..

i prefer it to b out of city, not so much cars on road, no nd to worry jam n travel time.
hmm.. only thing for country club which i found is tat not easy to request or negociate things as compare to hotel.

wendycsk

Hi piggylover, hehe.. exactly! I went to several hotels in city but didnt feel much about the ballrooms esp the high traffic! I do agree that there is not much space for agreement for country club.. hehe.. I have not start neg yet.. I just hope to get additional stay for bridal suite and a helper room. =)

piggylover

hi wendy, yup yup!! toward town always hav problem on road n ERP.

for me i did req but was not accepted, guess cos my date fall on long wkend. they cant fulfill my request.

wendycsk

Hi, need some advise from you guys.. i am pretty upset now.. We went down to OCC with PinSi to discuss the food and extra $ to pay to OCC in order to have PinSi in the kitchen.. The additional costs on top of the food is $400 per table ( min must pay 40 tables), which means we have to pay 16k extra to rent the ballroom which does not include beer, helper room, decoration of ballroom is additional $500+++ and wedding favours is extra $1.50+++ per pc for guests!!! The 16k just include complimentary parking, decorations of VIP table and setup of tables, one night stay in DELUXE room, free flow of drinks ( does not have free barrel of beer) and free use of projectors. As my mother-in-law is very particular about food and she insisted to have Pinsi, thus she is going for $688 package with Pinsi.. So total price per table is $1068 but it does not include beer, wedding favours and decorations yet. My in-law was upset that we need to pay additional 16k for the rental of grand ballroom and we have a problem where we might only got 35 tables.. OCC says no matter how many tables, we still need to pay them 400 per table for minimun 40 tables as Andrew says that actually for Pinsi to come in to cook, need to have min 55 tables!!! =( Andrew is hard to neg and he keep telling us the price 400 per table is very good le and cos we got OCC Membercard, so he can give 5% discount, so only save about 1k, which ended up about 15k... Andrew is very strict and there is no room for neg. He says that since out dates are in Jan 2010, he felt that he can clinch a bigger deal ( no of tables) with another couple so he cannot give anything else.. THis makes my mother-in-law very pissed off.. Because my mother-in-law die die want Pinsi to cook cos she is very particular of food ( and she got business relationship with Pinsi boss) so she and the boss ended up bringing us to Yishun Safra cos PinSi will be a new place there (level 2) and she wants us to save that 15k of renting the ballroom and wanted us to have our banquet there instead.. The ballroom will be ready in around late April/May this year.. I am so sad now.. I really love OCC Grand Ballroom and i am strucked in between. My HTB is very nice and told me if i want OCC, he will get it for me, and he tell his mum we dun like Yishun Safra.. But cos my HTB is not those who is particular about the place of banquet le ( easy-going) thus i believe that his mum sure know i dun like there.. I scared that if i insisted to spend 15k in rental she will not be happy and she will think that as a wife i didnt think of saving money for hubby.. And since she only want Pinsi to cook, so there is no way we can go to other hotels also..

I felt that it is once a lifetime for wedding but i also know 15k is alot to pay OCC to have banquet there.. I dun know what to do.. I am thinking should i just do my chinese traditions and skip the wedding banquet instead.. so his mum wont have hard feelings about me.. I just dun like to hold it in chinese resturant and i dun feel romantic at all!

wendycsk

Hi, need some advise from you guys.. i am pretty upset now.. We went down to OCC with PinSi to discuss the food and extra $ to pay to OCC in order to have PinSi in the kitchen.. The additional costs on top of the food is $494 per table ( min must pay 40 tables), which means we have to pay 19,760k extra to rent the ballroom which does not include beer, helper room, decoration of ballroom is additional $500+++ and wedding favours is extra $1.50+++ per pc for guests!!! $19,760k just include complimentary parking, decorations of VIP table and setup of tables, one night stay in DELUXE room, free flow of drinks ( does not have free barrel of beer) and free use of projectors. As my mother-in-law is very particular about food and she insisted to have Pinsi, thus she is going for $688 package with Pinsi.. So total price per table is $1157 but it does not include beer, wedding favours and decorations yet. My in-law was upset that we need to pay additional close to 20k for the rental of grand ballroom and we have a problem where we might only got 35 tables.. OCC says no matter how many tables, we still need to pay them 494 per table for minimun 40 tables as Andrew says that actually for Pinsi to come in to cook, need to have min 55 tables!!! =( Andrew is hard to neg and he keep telling us the price 494 per table is very good le and cos we got OCC Membercard, so he can give 5% discount, so only save about 1k, which ended up about 18,760k... Andrew is very strict and there is no room for neg. He says that since out dates are in Jan 2010, he felt that he can clinch a bigger deal ( no of tables) with another couple so he cannot give anything else.. THis makes my mother-in-law very pissed off.. Because my mother-in-law die die want Pinsi to cook cos she is very particular of food ( and she got business relationship with Pinsi boss) so she and the boss ended up bringing us to Yishun Safra cos PinSi will be a new place there (level 2) and she wants us to save that close to 19k of renting the ballroom and wanted us to have our banquet there instead.. The ballroom will be ready in around late April/May this year.. I am so sad now.. I really love OCC Grand Ballroom and i am strucked in between. My HTB is very nice and told me if i want OCC, he will get it for me, and he tell his mum we dun like Yishun Safra.. But cos my HTB is not those who is particular about the place of banquet le ( easy-going) thus i believe that his mum sure know i dun like there.. I scared that if i insisted to have in OCC she will not be happy and she will think that as a wife i didnt think of saving money for hubby.. And since she only want Pinsi to cook, so there is no way we can go to other hotels also..

I felt that it is once a lifetime for wedding but i also know 19k is alot to pay OCC to have banquet there.. But i cant even choose any other hotels! I dun know what to do.. I am thinking should i just do my chinese traditions and skip the wedding banquet instead.. so his mum wont have hard feelings about me.. I just dun like to hold it in chinese resturant and i dun feel romantic at all!