Orchard Parade Hotel-Club Chinos

Hi Joyce & Sweetie,

Thanks for the notes, will take them down into considerations during my venue hunting

Hi Sweetie,

When's your Big Day?

BTW, if you were to choose the other entrance near to the lift, will the path from entrance to the stage be L-shape? Were you given the choice to relocate the stage, such that you just neach a straight path instead of a L-shape?

Hi Hwee,

My big day is going to be on 1st Jan 2002, new year day... =)

I think the position for the stage is fixed... but that's also becoz I'm going to have a church thingy before the dinner, and we are using just half of the function room (think Antica II), therefore we decided to just keep the stage there. You can always talk to Eric and see if they are flexible with the stage location.

When's your wedding?

Hi Sweetie,

My wedding is likely to be in Jun 02 or Dec 02 cos FH is a teacher... so can only have it during sch holidays.

BTW, your is a PH package... how many tables did you take? Did CC insisted the minimum 25 tables? Just realised that for weekend package, CC will require a min booking of 25 tables... I probably have only 20 to 22 tables.

Hi Hwee,
I had my wedding there on June 03 2000. Lastyear.
I had 23 tables. 23+2. It still make 25 but the 2 are reserves. No need to pay for the extra 2 if not used. Will they allow that. Maybe you can check with them.

Hi Hwee,

Yes, i think if you take a weekend or PH package, you have to take 25 tables min. I booked 25 with them.

Frankly, if you are looking for hotels in town, not many will allow booking of less than 30. I know Regent has smaller ballroom for around 20, but it's probably more expensive per table.

That's why I eventually decided to go with CC@OPH. It's accessible, has a good car park, and quite good food.

Thanks for the feedback. Will be arranging with CC to go down to take a look at the venue this Sat.

BTW Monica, I heard that the lighting there is very dim. Is that so during your wedding?

Hi Hwee,

CC is one of the places that we are considering and my husband and I had just gone down to CC to take a look at the wedding setup.

The decor of the ballroom is okay and according to Eric, you have a choice of either a gold backdrop or a white backdrop. The white one looks ok, as for the gold one, I got to see it on pic and hence can't comment much.

There are 2 pillars in the ballroom and according to Eric, no tables would be blocked by the pillars if the no. of tables is less than 28. The couple holding their banquet has about 23 tables. It seems to me that it is quite impossible to put in another 5 tables without having any tables blocked by the pillars but maybe they have a way to arrange it such that this is possible.

Another thing to note is that the ceiling is quite low. As for the lighting, I have asked Eric abt it and after turning up the dimmer, it is not too bad. In fact, my husband thought that it is quite bright after the dimmer was turned up.

As for the stage setup, CC will not be providing ice carving as well as names of bridal couple on the stage.

The foyer is quite open and it is very near to the lifts and washrooms. Not very sure if the restaurant has its own washroom. If not, u may have restaurant guests walking into the foyer area to use the washrooms. While I was there, I noticed that most guests come from the staircase rather than the lifts. In fact, we ended coming up via the staircase too when we follow the signages. It seems to me that the signages leading to the lifts are not very prominent. Hence, the chances of restaurant guests strolling into the foyer area might not be very high and the foyer area might be more exclusive for your guests.

Hope these observations help.

Hi Monica,

You have gotten quite a good deal for your wedding last year. 3rd June 2000 was a Sat right?

I was given the option of either free food tasing or free barrel of beer. Maybe I should bargain for both items. : )

Hi Jean,

Have checked with Eric on the renovation that you mentioned earlier on. According to him, the reno was done to the restaurant and not the ballroom. The ballroom belongs to OPH and reno was on the exterior of the hotel, not on the interior of the hotel.

Hi Pang Pang,

Thanks for sharing your observation. But I was wondering, if they do not provide the names of the couple on the stage, will the stage look empty? Is there any other deco on the stage?

BTW, what date are you booking and how many tables are you getting?

Hi Hwee,

I thought the backdrop do look a bit empty. Thought I saw some flowers on the backdrop as well but not too sure as there were guests sitting in the ballroom and we felt very "pai seh" to look see look see inside the ballroom for too long.

I am looking at sometime in June too. I personally find the ceiling a bit too low... the 2 pillars didn't help too... But my husband likes that place cos he places alot of emphasis on food and since it is under Tunglok, he feels that the food should be quite good.

Hi Pang Pang,

Nope I only got to know CC had their revamp through a magazine..
I've not seen Eric personally yet but talk to him over the phone once..
I've also got to know from their previous manager (Sun Sun I think)that CC will "re-decorate" their ballroom every year..After hearing all yr comments, think this yr will still be the same as the one I saw last year..hmm..

Hi Pang Pang,

Have you signed up with them already? How much desposit are they requesting for? Will yours be a weekday or weekend one?

BTW, I also spoke to Eric yesterday. If you want to do a slide show, CC can only project it on the wall or stage, but you will need to pay $250 to loan the projector as Orchard Parade Hotel do not have one. Sounds odd, how come a hotel do not have a projector? I thought a projector is quite a common office equipment nowadays! They should have at least one for companies who are holding a conference at their premises.

Hi Hwee Hwee,

I have yet to sign up with them. Will be meeting up with MM on Sun. Am still considering other hotels as I do not really like the ballroom at OPH. But the food issue is something that my husband emphasizes a lot on. May try and see if there are other better places. I would prefer a weekend date as I believe the turnout would be better.

Yes, I asked about the projector and LCD too. According to Eric, they will only provide the OHP screen.

Thought that it is strange that a hotel do not have a projector too. Understand from Eric that the companies holding their seminars and conference there will bring their own equipment.

The deposit required is $2,060 regardless of number of tables held.

So have you fixed a date to view the ballroom? Something which I forgot to mention earlier was that one of the design of the invitation cards was quite unique. It is basically a square paper whereby after folding in the four corners, you get a wedding invitation card. The insert is to be placed inside the card. But somehow find that the insert might be easily misplaced if you do not tie it to the card. But if you tie it, it does look a bit strange.

Hi Pang Pang,

I will be going down to OPH to take a look tomorrow. Kinda of worry when there seems to be quite a lot of pple not considering OPH because of the ballroom.

If eventually I also do not like to ballroom, I may consider MM too, but will not be able to take a weekend date because of budget constraint. BTW, who from MM will you be meeting? I met up with Pauline during the fair at Ngee Ann City and spoken to her a no of times, she's quite a nice person!

Hi Hwee,

How did your meeting with Eric go? How do u find the ballroom?

I have met up with Irene of MM yesterday. She is quite friendly and nice. As there were 2 weddings going on yesterday, I managed to see both the silver and gold theme yesterday. Both themes both pretty nice but somehow I find that the ceiling of the ballroom at the 5th floor is pretty low. According to Irene, the ballroom is formerly a restaurant and hence the ceiling is low. Have taken a look at the ballrm at the 1st floor too. The ceiling is slightly higher but not too much too. However, it has been booked for the day that I am looking at. Moreover, the min capacity is 35 tables and I definitely can't meet it.

By the way, MM is having a promotion and if you book before 6/8/2001, you will be entitled to free flow of beer. But do take note that the free flow beer will only be served during dinner and not during the cocktail reception.

Thought that MM's package is quite good as compared to the other 5 star hotels. But have seen quite alot of negative comments on the food. Don't know whether to take a risk or not...

Hi Pang Pang,

Met with Eric on Friday and made a tentative booking for 9 Jun 02. Tentative booking = temp reservation. The date will be released if I did not sign up by this Friday.

Well... everything there seems quite alright except that the aisle is a bit short. There was a wedding going on and the couple chose the Gold backdrop, looks quite nice as it bring put the constrast with the white lace deco. Ceiling is a bit low, but still acceptable. Overall, the ballroom looks rather nice when the light are dim down slighty. I think that's why some commented that the lights was too dim. But, i personally find it nicer with dimmer(but not too dark) lights. Accoring to my bf, the deco is comparable to Grand Plaza Parkroyal.

Discussion with Eric was quite okay. He agreed to reduce the min. reqt for weekend to 23 tables, but no free barrel of beer unless I take 25 tables. However, I will be able to take the $500 discount by weddingfair.

I also had a discussion with my bf last night whether we should consider MM instead as MM's deco (based on the pictures) looks nicer and the aisle maybe longer. However, MM's pictures are kind of misleading as it shows that there are laces/ribbons on every alt chairs, but in actual fact, laces/ribbons are only given for VIP tables. It also may not be worth paying more for the sake of having a longer aisle. Also, heard some bad comments about MM food. As for Orchard parade, the food are somehow of a certain standard and deco is above average (though not that fantastic). However, my bf leave the final choice to me, & I still can't decide. How? What do you think after seeing both venues? Which one is better?

Have you decided for yours already? Or still intend to see some more? Orchard Hotel? Crown Prince? What date are you looking at?

Hi Hwee,

Glad to hear that you find CC nice. If you like the place, must book fast as weekend dates are snapped up like hot cakes. I am looking at either 1st or 2nd June 2002. It seems that 1st June is quite a popular date. I can't say the same for 2nd June 2002, though.

You are right. Only the chairs at the VIP tables are dressed in lace/ribbons. The price difference between a Sat and a Sun package at MM is $50nett per table. If you are looking at 9/6/2002 which is a Sunday, the price is at $739nett. I reckon that with the no. of tables that u are looking at, they will give u the one at 5th floor with the low ceiling.

Actually, I did some calculations and find that the difference in cost per table for MM and CC is only a mere $8+. The assumption is that u book MM bef 6/8/2001.

Actually if not for the negative feedback on MM's food, it seems quite value for money for a 5-star hotel.

Btw, I will be attending a friend's wedding at MM this coming Sunday. Will let u know my feedback on the food.

Another hotel which I am quite interested in is Sheraton. The person whom I speak to (Roger) is quite nice. The price is quite good too plus have heard quite good comments abt the food. The only prob is the min no. of tables. Though he is willing to reduce the min no. to 25 tables of 12. I am not too sure that we can meet that no.

Will be checking out Orchard Hotel next Sat...

Hi Pang Pang,

Can you share with me how you work out the diff btw MM and CC is only $8 per table? *puzzled* If you book with MM before 6 Aug, the promotion is only free flow of beer, isn't it? What menu at CC are you using for comparison? The one with the Rolls Royce? BTW, in case you are not aware, for the $680 menu, there is no problem negotiating for hte rolls royce.

BTW, for CC, 2nd Jun and 15 Jun has already been booked. There is a couple who make a tentative booking for 1st & 8th Jun too. As such I make a tentative booking for 9 Jun... however, I'm still keen to take 1st Jun. That couple has not confirm their booking yet and Eric will only be able to let me know if I can get that date this Sat.

For Sheraton, my friend has also booked with them. She took the minimum tables, 25 too. But according to my collegue, the shape of their ballroom is L-shape and the stage is in between the horizontal L and vertical L and as such the entrance to the stage is also very short.

Orchard Hotel is not bad, got free flow of beer for weekday package too. Not sure whether can negotiate for weekend. Been there before, the ballroom is quite nice but the reception area is quite small, and it is only a few steps away from the escalator. There were more than 1 wedding that time, and there are guest who went to the wrong reception area. All the ballroom are in teh same area, ans there is a likelihood that the reception area has to be shared. But, that was 2 years back....do let me know how your observations.

Are you considering Crown Prince? My friend said it's not bad, but I can;t take that place as I have less than 25 tables.

I quite like Hyatt too, but it's very expensive for a weekend package.

Have you seen Traders before? Heard that the foold is quite good too.

hi Pang & Hwee,

Well, let mi juz share how how i decided to book with CC...

In fact my search was not as xiong as the rest of u... i did not go ballroom viewing at all. In fact, i juz get all the quotes and shortlist by price and quality of food.
My choice was pinetree club and cc. too bad pinetree club was already taken up... so too bad and left wif only cc. Well i don find OPH ballroom very fantistic but i suppose i can do no wif it since i'll have a very long aisle to walk on for my church wedding. besides my concentration is more on the church wedding and the dinner is more to please my parents and relatives
So i made my deposite on my first visit there

BTW, my wedding is on the 23 Mar 02 and yes, looking forward to it...

Heard quite good comments about Tunglok gp, but still prefer to have my wedding in a hotel ballroom.

Do you mean if you hold your baquet at CC, it will be in a ballroom and not their restaurant? How do all of you find the deco of the ballroom? Is is very traditional? or modern?

Hi greena

What I did was i booked my banquet with Club Chinois, and they would rent the ballroom from OPH to have the banquet held there. You can refer to the earlier postings for more info.

Hi Hwee,

Sorry for the late reply as I can only access the net at nite.

The assumptions that I have set to arrive at a price difference of $8+ per table are :

CC :

1) Menu - $680++ which works out to $707.40 nett

2) Beer consumption of 60 litre (1 barrel complimentary due to >25 tables for my case)
Hence, 1 barrel of 30 litre beer works out to $$603.37

3) Food tasting at 50%. This works out to $353.70

4) Assuming the total no. of tables is 25, the ave cost per table = 707.4+(603.37+353.7)/25 = $745.68

MM:

1)Wedding on a Sunday. Hence, banquet cost=$739 nett

2)Food tasting at 50%. This works out to $369.50

3)Book before 6/8/2002. Hence free flow beer

4) Assuming a total no. of 25 tables, average cost per table = 739 + 369.5/25 = $753.78

Hence difference between $753.78 (MM) and $745.68 (CC) is $8.10

Of course, the assumptions above are purely based on my beer and food tasting needs. If your requirements differ from mine, the difference will definitely differ.

Moreover, CC's package comes with scallop and prawns but no abalone which is present in MM's menu. Some pple might think that MM's menu is better. But of course some might argue that if the culinary skills are no good, what is the point in having good raw materials to begin with. Well, alot depends on what matters to you.

Will let u know my observations on OH after next Sat.

Didn't consider Crown Prince as I don't like the idea of not having enough car passes for my guests in the hotel itself. Also find it too much of a hassle for my guests if they have to park elsewhere and walk to the hotel. As for Traders, find it abit of the the way.

Actually I quite like Hotel Inter-con but they are asking for a min of 35 tables on a weekend date. Not very sure if they can reduce it to min of 25. I think chances quite slim. Did call them up and left msgs but no reply yet.

Hi Alpha,

U are really one decisive woman unlike me. I originally decided on a budget of not exceeding $800 nett for a weekend date but after looking thro' abt 7 quotations, still can't make up my mind. Am now toying with the idea of upping the budget to more than $800 in order to get those places that I really like. But like that sure lugi alot. Sometimes think of all this very sian.. rather spend the $$ on honeymoon somemore can spend until xiao... but for sake of the older folks... no choice lor...

I think if your dinner is more to please the older folks, u have made a very gd choice indeed considering the fact that the review on the food there is good. Somemore, normally the elders would prefer good food than ambience. U will def get alot of gd praises...

Hi Geena,

If u book with CC, u have a choice of either the restaurant or the ballrm. The restaurant has a max capacity of 26 tables while the ballrm is abt max 30. I understand that the restaurant has just undergone some reno. But didn't go in to visit the restaurant as I am more interested in having it in a ballrm.

Hi Pang Pang,

Well i suppose firming on the decision with the banquet and the bridal boutique had really taken a huge load off me
so now i'm feeling so relex and friends juz don believe that i'm getting married soon :p now I'm juz patiently looking forward to my first appt which is only due in Sep...

Well, i suppose the next worry is when my house come sometime towards the 3rd or last quart of this year.

I can't imagine myself with everything coming at the same time... taking care of the reno, more intense prep for the wedding since its nearing the date and of cos the worst of all the $$$. But well, i've got God to count on
thankfully...

Hi Alpha,

Your sourcing of banquet venue is really simple & easy, unlike me got too much factors to consider....like accessibility, ambience, food. o Probably mine is a bit difficult as I'm having less than 25 tables.... most hotels require a minimum booking of at least 25 tables. Moreover, I have never been to CC for wedding dinner, kind of worry whether their style will be too restaurant-like. Have you ever been there before?

Pang Pang,

If you are still considering CC, really have to be fast, as almost all weekend dates have been tentatively booked. Have you book a tentative date with them already?

Alpha & Pang Pang,

Have both of you booked your wedding gowns already? I have signed up with Thomson Wedding Design. Sourcing of bridal boutique was really easy for me. I wnet through the bridal magazines and shortlisted 3 companies which I like their photograph style, go through their portfolio and decide within 1 weekend! Don't understand why I need to take so long to decide for my wedding banquet!

hi hwee,
in fact one of the reason we choose CC was oso becos of their min 25 which we thot we cld barely meet but aft the confirmation wif them and we did some headcount for the guest, we now may be facing a problem in the shortage of table... so got to selatively choose guest.

yes i've settled the bridal gowns too. Decided on Bridal Veil aft visiting 5 places. Like i mentioned in the other threads, loved Divine's bare/low back but BV's design, so i finally decided to take BV since i'm more confortable there but wld still want my low/bare back to incorporate into their design...so i'm really looking forward to my 1st appt.

Hi Pang Pang,

Checked with MM yesterday and realised that they also do not have a projector and you will need to loan it from their contractors. Odd isn't it? Luckily, both my bf and me can get one from our office. My preference dates has also been taken up!
But may consider taking a weekday package from them. Still can't decide btw MM and CC! urgh...

BTW, for Orchard Hotel, I understand they have the facilities for video screening and it's free.

Hi Hwee,

I have booked my bridal package somewhere in 1999. I have signed up with Santiago at Parco. Quite ks rt... Actually abit worried abt their service after hearing so much negative feedback...

I guess will just stick with it cos no time and energy to look around. Already the searching of a venue for the wedding banquet coupled with a heavy workload is draining my energy dry...

So u have visited MM. So who did u meet up with? Were u shown the ballrm at 5th floor? Did u manage to look at all the themes that they hv? Most imptly, do u like the ballrm? Sorry for the string of qns cos quite excited to hear comments fr u as I think that the venues that we are looking at are pretty much the same.

I met up with Irene the last time and she told me that the booking charge for the LCD is $450+3%GST. But didn't remember her saying that the LCD is fr an outside vendor. Thot that it is theirs...

So your preferred date is 1 Jun? So we are looking at the same date... The last time I spoke to Irene, she said that there were 3 couples interested in that date. Didn't know that it has been taken already...

Which do u prefer more? MM or CC? Was just thinking abt the ang pao value that pple would attach to both places... maybe MM will fetch a higher price?

Hv u thought of considering OH?

Hi Pang Pang,

I will be going down to MM tonight to see Pauline and to view the venue. Based on the floor plan for the 5th level ballroom which Pauline faxed to me, I'm already quite impressed....It's appears to me that it is quite grand esp the 2 stairs which leads you to the reception area. But, better wait till I see it tonight, maybe not as what I presume. But the march-in is also quite short isn't it. On pictures, the stage & lightings definitely looks better than CC.

Yesterday, Pauline also called me to informed me that one of the dates which I'm interested (9 Jun) has been released and she has tentatively booked it for me. (see I more ks than you... reserve dates for both CC and MM) For MM, I don't think it's worth taking the Sat package as the menu is not as superior (?) as the Sun and yet it is $50 more per table.

I actually consider ambience more important than food....(once a lifetime mah). For MM, I hope the food for the smaller ballroom is better than the bigger ballroom since there are less tables to handle (let me confirm with MM on this tonight).

I believe that you somehow can tell that I prefer MM to CC. But, the thing that is holding me back from taking MM is that I'm kind of worried of the price will be a financial burden for my bf. We have already spent a lot on house reno...and my mum prefers weekend and she is asking for 10 tables. After seeing MM package, my mum commented that it is very expensive....and say it's okay if we take a weekday, but I think she still prefer weekend. I worked out and the difference betw MM and CC for a Sunday package will not exceed $2,500 (based on 23 tables, considering CC cheapest package). I think it's worth paying as MM's Sun menu consist of more superior dishes.

As for AngBao... don't expect the older generation to give "market-rate" angbao. As what my parent say.."you want to hold the dinner in a 5* hotel, but don't expect that your guest have to give you 5* angbao". Only your friends or closer relatives will probably give you a market rate angbao.

My bf's brother has his wedding at OH... the ballroom is okay, but hear that the deco nowadays is kind of cheena. Don't really like the reception area, as your guest have to go and search for the correct reception when there are more than 1 wedding.

May I know what is your budget? Ever consider Regent? Heard fm my friend that it's really classy (4-seasons hotel standard) and food is above average. The events mgr, Evelyn is also a very nice and accomodating person. If you don't mind the location, Concorde and Century Roxy are not bad too.

Hi Pang Pang,

Just to share with you my comments for Marina Mandarin. I went to both ballrooms. Similarly, I find the bigger one at Level 1 a lot nicer than the one at Level 5.

For the one at Level 5, I was quite impressed with the reception area as I was walking towards it from the lift. As I looked down along the corridor, it is the lounge and the pianist is playing the piano... very romantic.... BUT, the ballroom is very disappointing. It looked more like a restaurant than a ballroom, no crystal light and the aisle is very short (shorter than OPH). The hall looks smaller than that at OPH too. I don't really like those windows of the ballroom with the white translucent curtains. Really very restaurant-like. Similar to OPH, there is also a restaurant at Level 5 and therefore there is no privacy as the restaurant guest can see the reception area.

The one at Level 1 is more impressive, with private reception area and on Sat, there are 2 musicans playing the violin and cello. The hall looks a lot better than that at level 5. However, I am not able to get the one at Level 1 as it requires a min booking of 35 tables.

After viewing MM, both my bf and me went down to OPH to take a look again and we agreed that there is no point paying more for MM as the hall and deco at OPH is comparable to MM apart from the nice reception area at MM. In any case, most guest do not come for the pre-dinner cocktail and if they do, they spent at most 10-20mins there compared to 3 hours in the ballroom. Hence, we have decided to go for OPH. Coincidentally, Eric also call me today to inform that I can book 1 Jun 02 for my banquet.

Kind of relieve now as I have already decided on a venue...Will you still be seeing Orchard Hotel? Do share with me your observations!

Hi Hwee,

Sorry for the late reply as I was too tired to log in after work.

I have attended a friend's wedding at MM last Sunday and I must say that the food is quite good. In fact some of my other friends felt that the food that nite is among one of the best for hotels.

I share your sentiments on the ballroom too. The march-in is about max 4 tables and the ceiling is really low. The low ceiling is due to the fact that the ballroom was previously a restaurant.

I find that MM's ballroom is only slightly bigger than that of OPH and there won't be any tables that will be blocked by the pillars as the pillars are at the side.

Irene has called me today to say that someone else is interested in the date that I am looking at. Am supposed to give her an answer real soon. But I have yet to look at OH, Sheraton and Hilton. Don't know whether to continue looking or settle on MM...

So when are u going down to sign the contract with Eric? Better do it fast cos weekend dates are being snapped up real fast...

Will let u know my observations of OH after this Sat.

Hi Pang Pang,

I have already arranged with Eric to sign the contract this Sat.

U are looking at 1st June isn't it? It is a Sat... very expensive!!! If you are really interested, try to get MM to hold on to the date for you till next week. Give them some silly excuse like your husband is not in S'pore now and you can't make the decision until he returns next week...

Meanwhile try to view all the ballrooms by this week. If you are going for food, I would say that you can drop Hilton Hotel, as I find the food so-so when I had my D&D there last year. OH's food is also average only. However, Sheraton's food is quite good. U may want to also consider Le Meridian?

Hi Hwee,

Good to hear that you are settling on CC. So will you be booking 1st June 2002? Will you be getting Eric to let you use the Roll Royce for free? Sorry for the string of questions cos I'm very excited for you.

Come to think of it, it is quite tiring to search for a venue to hold your banquet. So many factors to consider and there seem to be no venue that can fit all your criteria... with the signing of the contract, you would be able to get one load off your mind. By the way, have u chosen your bridal studio?

When signing the contract, make sure that whatever Eric has promised you is written down in black and white.

Have told MM that we will be giving them an answer next week. Now come to think of it, MM's offer is really quite value for money with all the free flow beer, as well as a deluxe rm thrown in in exchange for a real 3-tier cake. I think I am quite likely to take MM. Already very sian with the whole venue hunting exercise... perhaps age is taking its toll on me... : )

Might drop Hilton totally as the ballrooms are either too long or too big with pillars for my liking. As for OH, find that the menu is not impressive at all. As for Sheraton, I am quite keen too but am afraid that I will not be able to meet the min no. of tables. Moreover, Sheraton does not provide free flow beer and I have to pay for beer as well as an additional room rental for my MIL on the banquet nite itself. Looks like MM is able to accommodate to most of our needs.

Didn't really think of Le Meridian. Is it good?

Sorry for the long mail... do keep touch and I think since our weddings are about the same time, we may be able to share our woes, findings as well as our joys on the preparation process...

Hi Hwee,

Sorry for the question on bridal studio. I think you have mentioned earlier on that you have signed up with Thomson Wedding Design.

So any idea when will be your first appt with them?

Hi Pang Pang,

Since you really like MM and it is one which really fits your need, why not just settle for it? I really like the people from MM and they are really very friendly. But somehow, I find it very expensive for a Sat package.

For Le Meridien, I just realised that if you want to take a weekend package, the min is 30 tables. Went there once, the ballroom is quite big and nice, but that time, there is something wrong with the sound system. Food is above average too.

Yes, will be booking my banquet for 1st June. I will not be getting the Rolls Royce from CC, as I'm selecting the $600++ menu and probably upgrade the fish and the vegetable to better ones. Not sure how much more are they charging me.

Do you have any idea whether CC can give more parking coupons? I thought 20% is quite little. Thought of negotiating with Eric on this. Also thought of negotiating with them to provide 2 of my guest with vegetarian food FOC.

I have not met up with my bridal boutique yet. Will be going down this Sat to select my ROM dress. I'm ROMing in 2 weeks time....Nowadays very busy with a lot of things...House renovation, ROM, Banquet etc. Very tired also!

Will you be staying with your in laws or have you got your house aleady?

HI Pang Pang,

I have booked MM and read in your msg that you can get a delux room in exchange for the 3-tier real cake. I would like to do that too. Would they give you the room for the whole nite or just for day use?

HI Angie,

I understand that you can exchange the real 3 tier cake for an extra night stay. I don't think it's the day room. Check with the events mgr who handle your case. I think this is an offer which they give to all who signed up with them.

I am a first-timer to this forum. Feeling kind of discouraged now. It seems like a lot of hassle just to get married. My FH and I are planning for wedding next year, but cannot confirm date as the almanac is not out. Then, I realise other pple have already made bookings for June 02 and we have not done anything. The wedding banquet is going to be very costly and there are so many factors to take note.

We are planning to have only 25-30 tables. It has to be less than $700 nett and presentable. So maybe we will go to OH this weekend and take a look. Any other recommendations ?

Wedding Banquet already so messy, not to mention the house reno and the wedding package....... Very sian liao ! maybe it is better to be a guy, they dont seem to worry so much like us.

Hi Hwee,

I spoke to the banquet manager from Sheraton today and I am quite happy with their prompt service. Moreover, they are willing to reduce the min no. of tables as well as seat cover charges. Am quite tempted to take Sheraton too due to the good comments on the food, but abit worried about the L-shaped ballrm. We will be checking out the place tom to take a look at the ballrm. Moreover, you can choose the dishes you want from the menu, so you can tailor-made your menu. The price difference is about $2k assuming that the beer consumption is 60litres. Was wondering if it is worth paying additional $2k for Sheraton.

Just wondering if you are invited to a dinner in Sheraton and MM, would you give a bigger ang pao for Sheraton or MM? Sorry to sound so mercenary, just want a feel on how pple perceive the std of Sheraton and MM.

If I take MM's package, I will be taking the Sun one cos I find that it is not worth paying $50nett extra for a Sat package.

I didn't ask Eric abt the possibility of increasing the car passes, you can always try to bargain for more before u sign the contract tom. But I think 20% is the std for most places. Somehow I felt that Eric is not that flexible in giving in... but u can always try asking for FOC vegetarian food. Most of the hotels that I have asked are charging me on a per head basis and the price that they are quoting for both muslim and vegetarian food is not much lesser than that of the normal food. Actually it is not very "hua suan" to take muslim or vegetarian menu cos the dishes are simpler but price abt the same. But no choice if you have guests with this kind of dietary requirement. Try bargaining with Eric... if u can get it, u will save some $$$, at least u have tried... better than not even trying, rt ?

So your ROM is in 2 wks time. Congratulations... u must be feeling very excited. So when is the exact date? Will the bridal shop be collecting more depo from u if u borrow the ROM dress from them? My bridal studio tried to make me pay another $300 depo when I collect my ROM dress the last time. The reason they gave was that they need to alter the dress as well as send for dry-cleaning after I have used the dress. But I very thick-skinned one and I argue and bargain until they gave up on me... I was quite reluctant to pay additional depo cos my wedding date will be at least another 2 years down the road from my ROM date and I am afraid that the shop might go bust and there goes my depo...

So how's your reno coming along? Now that you have settled on a venue and your ROM is coming, u would have less to worry abt until maybe beg of next year.

I have gotten my flat abt 2 yrs ago and my in-laws are staying with us. But I didn't move in cos I find Sengkang very out of the way. Also I do not want to start staying with my in-laws so soon... can drag then drag lor...

Hi Angie,

U may want to check with the banquet mgr on this. I think they extend this to everybody who books with them. By the way, the 3-tier real cake will be exchanged for a 5-tier dummy with 1 geniune cake plus a deluxe rm. I have confirmed with them that it is one nite stay and not a day rm.

Hi Agnes,

I can understand how u feel. Already I find it so much of a hassle and my MIL has to worsen it by asking for a nite stay for her as well as a lunch reception venue. All these will jack up the cost of the banquet further and we will prob end up lugi-ing even more...

Understand that the almanac will be out quite late. If u are looking at weekend dates, u might not be able to get them by then. U may want to go to some fortune teller to give u an auspicious date based on the horoscopes of u and yr husband, as well as the parents of the bridal couple. This is what my hubby and I had done.

Are u looking at wkday or wkend date? R u considering restaurants or hotels? Most prob u are looking at hotels rt? If it is wkend, it may be quite difficult to get at < $700 nett. U may want to up your budget a little bit. I have done some homework on this and my findings are as follows :

Wkends:

1) MM (Sun package $739 nett) plus free flow beer if u book b4 6/8/2001

2) CC (2 menus that suit your range : $600++ and $680++). The menu for $680++ will come up to $707.40 nett.

3) OH ($718 nett)

4) Hilton ($738 nett)

Wkdays :

1) Goodwood Park Hotel ($706.56nett)

2) Hilton ($638 nett)

3) OH ($618 nett)

4) MM ($649 nett)

5) CC(Menu ranges from $540++ to $675++)

6) Mandarin (8 course $688 nett)

7) Pan Pac ($706.56 nett if wedding date is b4 Jul 2002)

8) Sheraton (Table of 12 - $728+++ which works out to $693.60 nett for 10 persons)

Sorry for the long email. Hope this helps. If u need any of the quotes, do let me know...

Hi Pang Pang &amp; Hwee,

Thanks. However, I'm not keen on an additional night stay.

It would be better if it's an additional room on the same nite as my wedding nite so that my friends can stay over.

I will check with the Events Manaager.

Good luck to your search for the venue Pang Pang.

Hi Pang Pang,

Wow... u stay up till 2 am+?? I thought it was already quite late when I post my reply! So today seeing OH &amp; Sheraton? My angbao for both ST and MM should be about the same lah. I probably only give more for hotels like Raffles, Conrad, Ritz or Fullerton. Do let me know your decision!

My ROM will be on 16 Jun (Sat). Today will be going down to my bridal boutique to select the dress. BTW, my package cost $4,488 and I paid a deposit of $2,288. See.. I've paid more than 50% which is not the market norm. B'cos I also "gong gong" and just pay as requested. In any case, due to this $2,288, my bf stike 4D for $500. hahaha..... so at least feel better over it.

My reno has not complete yet. Now painting the house (by oursleves.. save $$$ mah) before my contractor do the kitchen cabinet etc. My reno also give me a lot of headaches...cos a lot of coordination work with my 2 contractors. I will stay on our own in future. My flat is in Sembawan
g.

Why you so scare of staying with in laws? Are they very demanding? Sometimes, there are benefits of staying with them, got someone to help to do housework, take care of kids and cook your meals, but at the price of your privacy. But think on the bright side, it good to stay with them in the long term. I personally prefer not to stay with my in laws under 1 roof, but I don't mind them staying near to my place, even next door. Anyway, my in laws are staying in the west.

Hi Agnes,

YOu can also consider Le Meridian. Weekend menu is only $658nett, but I remember they need a minimum booking of at leadt 30 to 35 tables for weekend and 25 tables for weekday.

If you have 30 tables, consider Hotel New Otani. Their price is about $578+++ for weekend.

Concorde Hotel is not bad too except it is a bit inaccessible.

H,

Hi Pang Pang &amp; Angie

Thanks for your advice and very detailed info. I really find this forum useful so we can share tips.

Always thought Hilton is quite xpensive, didnt realise it is within my budget. Well,we are plannign for a weekday banquet, hopefully a Friday will be good. You are right, Pang Pang, by the time the almanac is out in Aug, it will be very difficult to get a weekend date.

Pang Pang, I have the same feeling bout staying with in-laws. it's a long story but eventually my problm was solved - am staying on our own but inlaws will stay nearby (maybe even next door). As long as they dont stay with me i am ok how near they stay to me.

But anyway, think on the bright side lor. Like what Hwee said, there are adv like they can look after baby and you dun have to do housework.

Agnes

Hi Agnes,

In case you are nor aware, if you are holding your banquet on a Friday, it will be charged based on weekend rates.

Weekday - Mon to Thurs
Weekend - Friday to Sun &amp; PH.

I'm considering CC too. Just went down yesterday to take a look. Quite a nice and cosy place.

Hi Hwee,

I went for coffee on Friday nite and I end up very energetic... actually I only sleep at 4am on Sat morning... anyway, I am an owl by nature...

Went to see OH and Sheraton on Sat. Both hubby and I were very impressed with the deco as well as the table setup at Sheraton. Though the ballrm is L-shaped, none of the tables will be blocked. It's just that the table at the longer side will get a lop-sided view of the stage. As for OH, the ceiling is very high but I find the ballrm a bit too empty and the decor not to my liking. Both hubby and I fell in love with Sheraton and most likely we will take Sheraton.

So it is another 2 weeks to your ROM. How's the dress selection? Have u selected a white dress? Must be very pretty right? So did u manage to bargain for more car passes from Eric? How's the contract signing? U manage to squeeze out more things from him?

It must be quite tiring painting the house by yourselves... do u normally paint during the weekends? Renovation work does indeed pose alot of headaches. We have been through that the last time we did our reno... somemore, we are only dealing with one contractor and we have so much problems...

Hi Agnes,

If I have a choice, I would rather stay on my own. But the problem is my FIL is wheel-chair bound and as my hubby is the eldest child, the responsibility of taking care of the parents lie with him. My MIL is quite ok with me now but her temper is quite hot and quick. Moreover, now the house is so full of her things that it is no longer the kind of home that I have wanted it to be. Initially I thought that at least I still have the study rm to myself but now, I realise that she has started to treat it like a store rm and start stacking her stuff there... really don't know whether I have enough space for my stuff when I move in. As for the part on housework, I think it's even worse staying with in-laws cos when they are doing the housework, it is not so nice to just idle around rt? At least also must help out abit. I felt that if we stay on our own, we can do the housework as and when we like. But if u stay with in-laws, it's quite paiseh also if they start doing the housework and u are sleeping in the rm...

I guess I really have no choice... will "kan zhe ban" lor...

pang pang,

why be paiseh when they start doing housework and you are still sleeping? I very thick skinned one.. leave all the housework to my hubby and his parents to do. I hate doing housework

Hi Pang Pang,

Signed the contract with CC on Sat. Finally a load off my mind! Did asked Eric for more car passes, but he told me that it is very seldom that there is insufficient car passes. Although the contract states 20%, he say they will try to get us a few more on the actual day, in the event if we need more.

I was too pai seh to asked for FOC vegetarian food as my bf is going to add in 2 more vegetarian/Muslim person. However, I did get a discount of $50 off per barrel of beer.

I heard quite good things about Sheraton's food. So your husband need not worry about the food My colleague signed up with them and they treated them dinner at that very day! Is the date you are look at available in Sheraton? Are you still looking at 1st June? How much is the package at Sheraton? Do they provide the chari covers FOC, or do you have to pay for it?

Went down to my bridal boutique on Sat to slect my gown. The pple there pick 2 designs for my to try, one with a train which I find a bit too grand for an ROM occasion. The other one is quite simple and gold in colour, which fit me well. I didn't requested to try more gowns. Not feeling excited or nervous about the ROM yet, maybe too occupied with the renovation. Just completed the second coat of paint and now left with 1 coat to do after the carpentry is completed.

I can feel how you feel about having in laws staying with you, esp they put things which look not appropriate for the house. For housework, just act act a bit loh.. do your laundry and wash up the dishes after dinner will do! Do worry.. sure can cope one!

Hi thick skinned and Hwee,

Nowadays if I am in a gd mood, I will act act abit and help out... if not, I will stay inside the rm and don't come out... quite jia-lat lor... haven't officially move in already like that...

I think u have managed to get quite alot fr Eric... at least he is willing to give u a discount of $50 per barrel on top of the $500 discount. Sheraton is charging lower price for Fri and Sun. If we take Sheraton, our dinner will most probably be on 2nd June 2002 cos cheaper on Sunday. Moreover, Sheraton is willing to allow me to have a min of 22 tables of 12, seat cover FOC as well as intelligent lighting FOC. I think they are more flexible as long as the wedding is not on a Sat. The package at Sheraton is $788+++ on Sunday and $850+++ on Sat.

I think as the date draws nearer, u will get more excited. Was just wondering why did u choose your dinner to be 1st June and not the day of your ROM. ie. 16 Jun?

As for housework, will "kan zhe ban" lor... hopefully next time after I have moved in, she will not expect me to help out after looking at how late I get home from work everyday...

Hi Pang Pang,

Have you decided to sign up with Sheraton already? Have they reserve a date for you tentatively? But I find the price very high for Sheraton! Almost the same as Pan Pac. U didn't consider Pan Pac?

Great! Seems like both of us are getting married at the same period! My banquet has to be held during the school holidays as my bf is a teacher. If I were to hold it on the anniversay of my ROM, I will only be left with 1 week holidays before school re-opens. Then no time for honeymoon. So I selected 1 Jun 02 from the chinese fortune calendar website, but this is still a tentative date as there may be a need to change if the date is not suitable when the tong shu is out! Hopefully there is no need to change! I selected 1 Jun 02 from the chinese fortune calendar website.

So have you got any plans/places for honeymoon already?

Hi Hwee,

We are more or less settled on Sheraton. But recently heard that Hyatt's package is comparable to Sheraton. Was wondering if I should get Hyatt to email me their quotation.

As my min no. of tables is 25, PP requires me to take the more expensive package which comes up to $878 nett.

I went to a fortune teller and based on our horoscopes as well as our parents', this date 1/6/2002 was given to us. I think this should be quite a good date.

Was planning to go to either Europe or States for honeymoon. But not quite willing to pay the sch hols surcharge. Very cheap skate hor... If we actually go, it should be after sch hols to avoid the crowd as well as the surcharge... Now abit too early to plan for honeymoon anyway, who knows by then we might have lugi so much for the dinner that we have no money for honeymoon liao...

How abt u?