Orchard Hotel

Hi wendy,

I too signed the contract with OH just now. What time were you there? Perhaps I may have seen you. hehe.. Who is your CO? When is your AD? My CO is Cleo.

Anyone who has paid deposit to secure the UOB promotion? What is the standard deposit amt for wedding banquet cos I paid $5K which I find quite steep.

Hi mar07bride,

My CO is also Cleo, she is a very nice gal ya~ any additional perks you get beside all those from UOB promo? i am going to sign under UOB promotion too but hubby went overseas so talked to Cleo she agreed to help us secured the place and perks but can pay the deposit later on leh~ hehe~ but i already signed the cantract and faxed it back to her liao, although only have my signature but once hubby is back will go down immediately to sign(hubby) and pay the deposit.

Yes, it s stated in the cantract that all the deposit made under UOB MCIL promotion is min SGD5k.

Hi yin yin,

I was offered $25nett per opened bottle of wine, on top of my free flow of beer and the rest as stated in their proposal. Not sure if this is considered other perks? Btw, how about yourselves? Care to share?

Hi Chere,

I'll be away during the weekend, so maybe you will like to liase with yinyin, we already exchange our contact number. So I'll see you gals on Monday...... Happy holiday!

Hi mar07bride,

Oh~ so you took the free flow of beer instead of the one bottle of wine per table free? at first i would like to do so but is provided they agreed on waiver of corkage, but they died died not agree leh, so i stick to a barrel free and 1 bottle per table free cos my banquet will be on Sun nite, so dont think my guest will drink a lot, and Cleo also offered additional bottle of wine will be at SGD25nett.
On top of this i will get an additinal nite stay in bridal suite (cos know dada will definitely get dead drunk, and me will count AP till vy vy late, wahhahahaha!) and also manage to get 2 day use room for my helper and the carpark coupon will increase to 30%.

Hi mar07bride,

I am also using BR3 (end of tis yr), min table 25. It is also not so easy for me to get all those extra perks, but my character is 'if you ask for it, you deserved it' may use for good side 2, so i just try to 'ask' loh, depended vy much on my bargaining power 2~
. How many reserved table you will get? mine 2 leh, a lot of other hotel only give 1~ i need more reserved table cos i have a lot of overseas guest, dun know they coming o not so better have more reserved table~

If you have not sign yet you will get more bargain capital (but since you signed already i think chances for asking more now are vy slim already), so before i sign i ask for MORE~ hahaha~~

Hi Yin Yin,

R u sure u use the UOB package? I understand UOB offer free flow of beer, or 1 complimentary red wine per table. And it also came with a standard room for wedding helpers. If this is the case y don't u use these perks instead of 1 barrel of beer, which kind of sounds risky if your guests drink more beer than wine.

Hi mar07bride,

Yes... I have signed the contract and made the deposit on 11 May (the last day of the UOB promotion). I was there at around 8pm. The deposit is $5K and my co-ordinator is Yoke Mei. I actually wanted to view the Bridal Suite on that night but she claimed that they are running high occupancy and the suites were occupied.

Hi Wendy,

I was there too on 11 May with Cleo. Saw yoke Mei too at the front office doing some payment stuff. Btw, what are the perks she gave you?

Hi mar07bride,

mm~, i think i am using UOB promotion, i took 1 camplimentary red wine per table instead of free flow of beer, dun know leh~ cos if let says 1 table will consume 1 bottle of red wine then 25table x 25 bottle= SGD625+++(SGD728) already, then the ariginal package already have a barrel free, so i just took loh~ what do you think? i not sure my friend and relative normally drink what leh, at first also think better take free flow of beer then can start to sever during cocktail time, but after the calculation think take both beer and wine together better leh~ ???

Hi mar07bride,

mm~, actually i have a friend selling wine at 18nett per bottle, and he told me that he can help me to check with OH c whether can get a waiver of corkage o not, if he can help me to neg. to free corkage then think will change to free flow of beer too.

I'm new to this thread but am considering Orchard Hotel for wedding dinner....But I've sadly missed the UOB promotion...not sure what perks to check for now as the price quoted to me did not come with a menu for it yet...just wondering if anyone of you can let me know your thoughts re the food? And its service? :-D

Thanks!! :-)

Hi Yin Yin,

My thinking is that not all tables will comsume wine so I choose free flow of beer to play safe. I guess we cant control the beer consumption on that night so better to settle the beverage stuff first, then wine will be charged $25nett for each opened bottle. At least monitor the wine only. My concern is that how come both of us with the same min tables of 25, using UOB promo and same CO, entitle to different perks? You have addl bridal suite & 2 std rms for your helpers right? Hmmm..

Btw, how was your trip to TC went? Have you decided to sign with them? What are the items they proposed to you? I am still considering Printemps or Dawn at JB. (Wanna save $$$)

Hi mar07bride,

Normally the CO will provide the same package to all the wedding couple at the first meeting, till further discussion then come to neg.~ I think i put in a lot of effort to squeeze them lah, some more for what i know the date i chose at first there is no other waiting list, so i get more bargaining power, till there are 3 behind of me they dun bother about me liao~

It s a pleasant journey to TC
, they showed us the dresses done by them and the other dresses(MTM by BS) that the brides brought there to do the alteration, a lot of difference. But think that the design are quite the some (TC design), no big different between customer A and customer B CS, but if you have good idea/design for your own gowns, think should worth to try cos the workmenship is good. I think most likely i will sign with them, once in a life time mah, wow this word cost me a lot of money liao~

How much is the package from Printemps and Dawn? saw quite a lot of good comments from other thread to them 2~ I think i will MTM from TC then go to JB engage a BS to do PS, can save $ also, then the dresses all will look nice in the photo and of cause look better in the AD~

Hi Reb,

The food should be very nice cos the Hua Ting Restaurant awarded the championship in yr 05 & yr 06 leh~ thats y the package increase more than a hundred dollars a table since last yr! the 3rd floor will under a reno in this yr chinese lunar 7th month, they will change the entire floor carpet, the ballroom partition, wall light and will install plasma tv outside the ballroom to show your wedding info and PS~ Did you view the BR already? the BR is huge with high ceilling, pilarless and beautiful chanderlier~
i popped by when there was a wedding dinner before, the ambience is very nice~

Hi mar07bride,

The package TC qouted(yr 06) was 1 WG, 1 EW and 1 tea-dress together is SGD2500 if you placed your order 1 yr before your wedding, SGD2800 if you placed your order less than a yr to your wedding, beside they will also introduce you other services (optional)- photographer (SGD1800) for a wedding PS album (unlimited shots, 28 pages in the album and dun know can choose how many pose, think is more than 28 pose but nv ask the max limit,hehe~) florist for bridal car, two hand bouquet and corsages SGD250, MUA SGD650(4 makeup in total), a suit for your hb SGD500 etc.... cant remember liao~ think only this lah....

Hi YinYin,

have Dreams contact you? See when you going in to JB you let me know, I can go down KPO with you again....
But just to let you know that Dreams will be close on Monday.
Glad that you happy with TC services, sure you will be a pretty bride on your wedding day.

I didnt know that OH renovated their ballroom, should have marry one year later to enjoy all these....

hi Yin Yin,

Wow thanks for your assurance! Yalor...price increase quite abit and am now thinking of how to nego with them....

yeap! saw the BR and love it alot :-P but I dinno about the renovation details you mentioned!! sounds great! :-D

And just wondering, do you all know if the complimentary 1 bottle of wine per table is transferable? ie. two tables can share a bottle if their consumption is low?

hee Janice! Think many hotels are renovating this year due to the 2 mths ghost festival bah....

yes.. OH will be having a minor renovation.. changing of ballroom carpets and wallpaper in this yr's 7th month.

So you gals have already signed up for the bridal package as well? I signed up with Sophia Wedding Collection not long too.

Hi Janice,

No, Dreams haven contact me yet thou i already sent them 2 email last week, might give them a call next week, let you know again. So happy that i have signed with OH just now! now an official OH btb liao~

Hi Reb,

I think is transferable bah, dun know leh, i nv check with my CO before, just asume that is transferable, think should check with her better, once got the answer i update you~

Hi Wendy,

How is the Sophia package look like? mind to share? thanks~

hi YinYin,

*welcome* heheh, officially an OH bride

So fortunate to have a facelift for the BR.. I think it shd be worth the increase in price of the package
Moreover food is so well raved

hi Janice,

heheh, we din get to enjoy the new features hor? heheh, maybe next time when i celebrate my xx wedding anniversary? kekeke

Anyone had Siew Li as coordinator? I was just being informed that she has left Orchard Hotel!!!! And she is my coordinator! Quite upset initially that she had left without telling us. We only found out after hubby called the hotel and was told that another lady would be attending to us. Such a waste since Siew Li seemed so experienced.

hi, ladies..
wow.. 1 week nvr logged on.. so many postings.. too lazy to read the above posts liao..
keke.. juz glanced thru the recent ones..

Hi, Wendy,
I m a sophia btb too.. AD is in Nov.. urs?

Hi, mehmeh..
I muz count myself lucky then.. kekeke.. paid the price of last yr, yet get to enjoy the fruits of the renovation.. phew..

Hello! I'm juz beginning to plan for my wedding. Looking at min 60 tables so shortlisted Orchard Hotel cos I'm looking at ard $800 a table for a Sunday banquet next year. Glad I found this forum!
Any advice? What to look our for, what perks to ask for etc. *headache*

Thanks Janice & mehmeh, i am vy vy happy too

meelu, think 07 package on Sunday nite will be SGD871nett bah, if you scroll up to this page, u can see a lot of great advices~ happy reading~

hi ffbear,

ooh,wat a coinicident! my AD is in jan 2007. So who is your co, PG and designer in sophia? Have you done your PS?

hihi ffbear

Oh yes, among the brides here, i think u've got the best deal! heheh

hihi yinyin,

One more thing off ur to-do list
heheh, so what's next? Prob settling for a BS & an AD PG & VG, coz once taken, got to settle for the 'next best' alternative

Hi mehmeh,

Yalor, so happy at least one (first) thing settled for my wedding, now think will place deposit to TC for my 3 'beautiful' dresses ha~ then follow by searching BS in JB. Oopss~ first of all think must on diet first cos now the 'LOOK' totally can not make it~

Ya yinyin,

you will need to act fast to source for your wedding stuff cause your wedding in end of this year..... feel so happy for all of you.... must enjoy this moment,happy searching...

Hi Meelu,

Yes, 2007 wedding package for OH is $871 (9-course) for weekends and it is quite ex...
There is no way to reduce the price cos OH is very determined not to lower the price.. but you may ask for more perks.
Otherwise, you can get the weekday rate which is lower in price, or if you prefer weekend, you may like to choose Friday instead. Fridays rate is lower (about $50 lower) but it's 8-course. Weekdays rate(i.e. monday to thursday) will be even lower and it's also 8-course.

Hi meelu,

Email sent, happy planning~

Hi Reb,

I have sent my CO an email but she haven get back to me yet, so i am not sure whether the wine can be transfered or not, still waiting for her reply....

Hi Janice,

I have signed the cantract and it stated that the perks i chose was complimentary wine, can i still change to free corkage but buy the wine from you?

Yinyin: thanks!

Wendy: thanks for your advice! we want to have it on that particular sunday cos my fiance proposed that day. :P going down to OH later, hope I can get more perks. *fingers crossed*

Hi Yin Yin,

Thanks!! :-) Who's your CO? Mine's Yoke Mei and I'll remember to ask her when I meet her this Sun too..

Hi Wendy,

Gee.....the package quoted to me for the Aug 07 wedding is S$892 nett, for weekends :-( The price actually increased again I guess..? :-(

Hi Meelu,

When will your wedding be for 2007? :-)

hi YinYin,

Ur current look cannot make it? *LOL* No lah, u've got beautiful features.. At least fr ur ROM pix. U gotta trust the MUA who did ur beautiful MU for the ROM & the beautiful gowns tt Ted Collection's going to create for u

Read up on TC, seems like Don wld even go down to the banquet venue to make sure everything is alright for u 2. And prior to the AD, in ur gowns teach u how to walk etcetc.. Sounds like u're going to be in very safe & professional hands!

All the rave reviews abt TC make me want to MTM a WG for keeps.. heheh

hi Muffin,

Rem i had my coordinator Shirley who left & Siew Li took on my case with professionalism.. So far I heard gd comments on Serene as a coordinator. The other coordinator I'm aware of is Cleo. She's pretty quick with email replies too

Hey mehmeh,

Unfortunately, the coordinator that took over Siew Li is Eileen. She's a complete greenhorn. maybe it's good coz we can sort of bluff bluff her.. haha.. anyone under Siew Li but now transferred to Eileen?

Hi Reb,

When did you get that weekend rate? Recently is it? If so, they have increased their rate now? So how much is the weekday and friday(weekend) rate now?

Hi meelu,

How was your meeting with OH yesterday? Managed to get many perks?

Just wanna check with ex-OH brides, current ones also can.

Does your contract state that we are subject to 10% service charge, 1%cess and PREVAILING GST?

Coz I heard that GST is going to increase to 7% soon.. dunno will affect us or not?